Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Emma Goldman Clinic (Iowa City, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1971-2008
Creator: Emma Goldman Clinic For Women (Iowa City, Iowa)
Extent: 23.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0466
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Feminist health clinic.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 36, 49-50, 58-60
5 audiocassettes [AC1308-AC1312]
1 CD [d0052]
2 videocassettes [V385, V171]

Arrangement: Administration Boxes 1-30 EGC projects Boxes 30-48 Anti-abortion movement Boxes 48-50 Pro-choice movement Boxes 50-53 Publications, EGC Boxes 53-54 Publications, non-EGC Boxes 54-56 Newspaper clippings Boxes 56-57 Photographs Boxes 36, 59-50, and 58-60 Scrapbook Box 61 Artifacts Boxes 38 and 62-63

Access: The papers are open for research, except for boxes 5-7, 10-12, 15-16, and 63. Closed materials will be made available to researchers seventy-five years after the date they were created. You may request to see redacted copies of closed materials; it may take up to six weeks for the IWA staff to review your request and redact sensitive information. Researchers must sign a researcher agreement form to review this collection.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 687) were donated by the Emma Goldman Clinic for Women in 1999 and in subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Emma Goldman Clinic (Iowa City, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Emma Goldman Clinic for Women opened on September 1, 1973, at 715 N. Dodge Street in Iowa City, nine months after the passage of Roe v. Wade, the Supreme Court decision legalizing abortion in the United States. The Emma Goldman Clinic was the first outpatient abortion clinic in Iowa and the first feminist health clinic in the Midwest.

The idea for a feminist clinic began with a group of approximately twelve young women in Iowa City who were active in the Women's Center and had been providing abortion referral information to area women since the early 1970s. At the early meetings, members discussed their plans to open a clinic based on feminist ethics and funding for the project.

The Emma Goldman Clinic was organized as a non-profit feminist health collective. Its original structure reflected the feminist movement of the 1970s, and emphasized collective action and group effort. Conceptually, the clinic was grounded in a body positive, self-help model intended to empower women to be active participants in their own health care. The clinic provided abortions, birth control information, gynecology services, and counseling. It was staffed by physicians, laywomen trained as para-medicals, and counselors.

The clinic has been restructured several times and has adapted to social and political changes. Initially, the collective consisted of twelve women who made all decisions. The original organizational structure remained in place until 1977, when it was replaced with a modified collective structure. The modified collective structure consisted of committees led by co-directors, who took committee recommendations to a central committee that made decisions and set policy. This modified organizational structure maintained the spirit of the collective but in a more manageable fashion. It defined the clinic until 1995, at which time an external board of directors and executive director replaced the modified collective.

In 1991, the central committee enlisted an outside consultant to evaluate the clinic operation. Per the recommendation of the evaluator, the central committee recognized that another organizational change was necessary in order for the clinic to continue and thrive. Seeking voices outside the collective, the central committee established an advisory board comprised of Iowa City community members and Emma Goldman Clinic co-directors. The long-range goals, organizational planning, and policy making were determined by the board of directors and implemented by the executive director.

The Emma Goldman Clinic moved to its current location on Dubuque Street, Iowa City in 1985. Since its founding, the clinic has provided abortions, gynecological care, and testing for sexually transmitted infections and pregnancy. The clinic has offered healthcare to women of all ages; these services include artificial insemination, a trial of the cervical cap birth control method, and treatments for the symptoms brought on by menopause. During the 1980s, the clinic added outreach services to teenagers and began to offer HIV services. While most of the feminist health clinics that formed in the 1970s have closed, the Emma Goldman Clinic continues to empower women and their families by providing educational services and healthcare.

The records of the Emma Goldman Clinic for Women date from 1971 to 2008 and measure 23 linear feet. The records are arranged into the following series: Administration; EGC projects; Anti-abortion movement; Pro-choice movement; Publications, EGC; Publications, non-EGC; Newspaper clippings; Photographs; Scrapbook; and Artifacts.

The Administration series (1973-2001) is the largest series of the collection.  It includes information on the day-to-day operation of the clinic as a feminist health collective and as a business. It includes committee minutes, advertising brochures and posters, and correspondence between clinic staff and the general public.  The Quad Cities location subseries contains documents about a proposed expansion of EGC into the region in the mid-1990s and includes fundraising records, letters of opposition and support from Quad Cities residents, and newspaper clippings.  Materials that pertain to Iowa's parental notification law and a lawsuit filed by EGC against Operation Rescue complete this series. 

The EGC projects series (1972-2005) includes information about major projects sponsored by EGC, notably the cervical cap project and the safer sex kit project.  It also contains information about fundraisers and community events sponsored by the EGC, including annual Choice Dinners.  The services and information subseries is comprised of scholarly articles, brochures, and newsletters that relate to a variety of medical and health issues.

The Anti-abortion movement series (1978-2003) contains books, pamphlets, a videocassette tape, and newsletters from local and national anti-abortion organizations and activists.  It also includes materials about abortion providers who were targeted by anti-abortion activists.  This series contains materials about an effort to boycott businesses that worked with the EGC in the early 1990s.  Records include information about the types of tactics anti-abortion activists employed in Iowa City and throughout the United States.  Some of the correspondence, photographs, and brochures contain graphic images or threatening language. 

The Pro-choice movement series (1977-1996) is comprised of newsletters, correspondence, and memoranda related to feminist health centers across the United States and local and national pro-choice organizations. This series includes information about the types of tactics pro-choice activists used to protect clinic buildings, staff, and patients from harassment, bombings, and assassinations. 

The Publications, EGC series (1978-2008) contains newsletters, pamphlets, and medical booklets published by the EGC.  The largest newsletter in the series is Emma's Journal, which includes articles about topics ranging from clinic security to health issues to community events; most of the articles are written by clinic staff.  This series also includes student essays that reflect on the history and philosophy of the EGC.

The Publications, non-EGCOur Bodies, Our Selves, published by the Boston Women's Health Collective completes the series.

The Newspaper clippings series (1973-2000) contains newspaper articles from local, state, and national newspapers.  Most of the articles were pertain to the Emma Goldman Clinic, local and national anti-abortion activism, and responses to the vandalism of clinics and violence against clinic personnel.  The majority of articles are from Iowa newspapers.

The Photographs series (1970s-2000) includes an assortment of photographs, including interior and exterior shots of EGC buildings, annual Choice Dinners, anti-abortion pickets, and still shots of clinic staff and volunteers.  Many of the photographs are labeled according to event.  Approximately one-third of the photographs are not labeled.

The Scrapbook (1973-1986) consists primarily of newspaper clippings.  It also includes flyers and correspondence.  Many of the newspaper clippings pertain to the opening of the Emma Goldman Clinic in 1973.  The Artifacts series includes a t-shirt designed by EGC staff, birth control devices, and educational materials about safer sex practices.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATION
Series 2: EGC PROJECTS
Series 3: ANTI-ABORTION MOVEMENT
Series 4: PRO-CHOICE MOVEMENT
Series 5: PUBLICATIONS, EGC
Series 6: PUBLICATIONS, NON-EGC
Series 7: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 9: SCRAPBOOK - 1970s
Series 10: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATION
  • Sub-Series: Emma Goldman Clinic History
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information
  • Timelines - 1983-2003
  • Essays on history of Emma Goldman Clinic - 1976-1996
  • "Speaking the Politics of Reproduction: Discursive Practices at the Emma Goldman Clinic for Women," by A. Susan Owen - 1988
  • Jane Collective lecture by Jane Surgal at Cornell College - 1995
  • d0052: "Talk of Iowa" radio program, thirtieth anniversary of EGC - 2003
  • V171:"From One Place to Another: Emma Goldman Clinic Stories" - 1996
  • Sub-Series: Advertising
  • Box 1:
  • Advertising journal - 1985-1990
  • Brochures (folder 1)
  • Brochures (folder 2)
  • Budget and rates - 1985
  • Clinic services (folder 1)
  • Box 2:
  • Clinic services (folder 2)
  • Logos
  • Marketing, Chamber of Commerce - 1988-1990
  • Marketing, ideas and strategies - 1985-1997
  • Rates, radio - 1985-1986
  • Rates, print and television (folder 1) - 1985-1993
  • Rates, print and television (folder 2) - 1985-1993
  • Services, cervical cap and abortion - 1980-1984
  • Box 3:
  • Telephone directories
  • Sub-Series: Clinic meeting minutes
  • Box 3:
  • Abortion committee (folder 1) - 1974-1981
  • Abortion committee (folder 2) - 1974-1981
  • Abortion committee (folder 3) - 1974-1981
  • Abortion committee (folder 4) - 1974-1981
  • Abortion committee (folder 5) - 1974-1981
  • Abortion committee (folder 6) - 1974-1981
  • Box 4:
  • Advisory board - 1985-1996
  • All clinic minutes (folder 1) - 1980-1981
  • All clinic minutes (folder 2) - 1980-1981
  • All clinic minutes (folder 3) - 1980-1981
  • All clinic minutes (folder 4) - 1980-1981
  • All clinic minutes (folder 5) - 1980-1981
  • Box 5: [CLOSED]
  • All committee minutes (folder 1) - 1981-1983
  • All committee minutes (folder 2) - 1981-1983
  • All committee minutes (folder 3) - 1981-1983
  • All committee minutes (folder 4) - 1981-1983
  • All committee minutes (folder 5) - 1981-1983
  • All committee minutes (folder 6) - 1981-1983
  • Box 6: [CLOSED]
  • All committee minutes (folder 1) - 1982-1984
  • All committee minutes (folder 2) - 1982-1984
  • All committee minutes (folder 3) - 1982-1984
  • All committee minutes (folder 4) - 1982-1984
  • All Committee minutes (folder 5) - 1982-1984
  • All committee minutes (folder 6) - 1982-1984
  • All Committee minutes (folder 7) - 1982-1984
  • Box 7: [CLOSED]
  • All Committee minutes (folder 1) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 2) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 3) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 4) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 5) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 6) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 7) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 8) - 1984-1985
  • All Committee minutes (folder 9) - 1984-1985
  • All committee minutes - 1987-1992
  • Box 8:
  • Announcements - 1977-1979, 1998
  • Building committee - 1978-1979
  • Cedar Rapids Clinic for Women - 1977
  • Central committee (folder 1) - 1978-1979
  • Central committee (folder 2) - 1978-1979
  • Box 9:
  • Central committee (folder 1) - 1979-1997
  • Central committee (folder 2) - 1979-1997
  • Central committee (folder 3) - 1979-1997
  • Central committee (folder 4) - 1979-1997
  • Central committee (folder 5) - 1979-1997
  • Box 10: [CLOSED]
  • Central committee and administration minutes (folder 1) - 1985-1986
  • Central committee and administration minutes (folder 2) - 1985-1986
  • Central committee and administration minutes (folder 3) - 1985-1986
  • Central committee and administration minutes (folder 4) - 1985-1986
  • Central committee (folder 1) - 1986-1987
  • Central committee (folder 2) - 1986-1987
  • Central committee (folder 3) - 1986-1987
  • Central committee (folder 4) - 1986-1987
  • Central committee agenda book - 1987-1989
  • Box 11: [CLOSED]
  • Central committee (folder 1) - 1987-1988
  • Central committee (folder 2) - 1987-1988
  • Central committee (folder 3) - 1987-1988
  • Box 12: [CLOSED]
  • Central committee (folder 1) - 1988-1990
  • Central committee (folder 2) - 1988-1990
  • Central committee (folder 3) - 1988-1990
  • Central committee (folder 4) - 1988-1990
  • Central committee (folder 5) - 1988-1990
  • Central committee (folder 6) - 1988-1990
  • Central committee, gynecology committee, other notes
  • Central committee policy notebook - 1981
  • Box 13:
  • Clinic committee - 1974-1977
  • Development and planning committees - 1992-1998
  • Doctors' committee - 1978-1980
  • Education committee - 1992-2000
  • Finance committee - 1974-1979 and 1996
  • General staff (folder 1) - 1973-1981
  • General staff (folder 2) - 1973-1981
  • General staff (folder 3) - 1973-1981
  • General staff (folder 4) - 1973-1981
  • Gynecology committee (folder 1) - 1974-1977
  • Gynecology committee (folder 2) - 1974-1977
  • Box 14:
  • Gynecology committee (folder 1) - 1978-1994
  • Gynecology committee (folder 2) - 1978-1994
  • Gynecology committee (folder 3) - 1978-1994
  • Gynecology committee (folder 4) - 1978-1994
  • Gynecology committee (folder 5) - 1978-1994
  • Gynecology committee (folder 6) - 1978-1994
  • Gynecology committee (folder 7) - 1978-1994
  • Box 15: [CLOSED]
  • Abortion and gynecology (folder 1) - 1985-1988
  • Abortion and gynecology (folder 2) - 1985-1988
  • Abortion and gynecology (folder 3) - 1985-1988
  • Abortion and gynecology (folder 4) - 1985-1988
  • Abortion and gynecology (folder 5) - 1985-1988
  • Abortion and gynecology (folder 6) - 1985-1988
  • Receptionist log - 1986-1987
  • Box 16: [CLOSED]
  • Minutes and notes - 1980-1982
  • Moving file - 1985
  • Office manager log - 1984-1988
  • Box 17:
  • Health services committee - 1977, 1995-1998
  • Lesbian health committee - 1976-1977
  • Minutes, reports, and policies (folder 1) - 1975-1978
  • Minutes, reports, and policies (folder 2) - 1975-1978
  • Minutes, reports, and policies (folder 3) - 1975-1978
  • Office manager meetings - 1989-1994
  • Patient advocacy committee, undated
  • Personnel committee - 1974-1977
  • Political action committee - 1976
  • Pregnancy, education, and parenting (PEP) committee - 1980-1981
  • Public relations committee - 1976-1981
  • Box 18:
  • Retreat - 1979
  • Therapy and well body committees - 1973-1976
  • Box 65:
  • Planned Parenthood log - 1987-1990
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 18:
  • Community organizations - 1982-1995
  • Deb Nye's file - 1981-1983
  • Des Moines Register article - 1993
  • How to start a clinic - 1977-1984
  • Incoming, general
  • Incoming thank you notes
  • Letters of support - 1977-1993
  • Intra-office notes and messages
  • Intra-office subscriptions
  • Mailing lists
  • Office manager files - 1981-1992
  • Box 19:
  • Outgoing, general
  • Organizational - 1973, 1990-1994
  • Personal and professional
  • Pro-choice organizations - 1984-1995
  • Requests for information
  • Sensitive letters - 1985-1994
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 19:
  • Fiscal
  • Balance sheets - 1982-1983, 1990-1994
  • Balance sheets (folder 1)
  • Box 20:
  • Balance sheets (folder 2) - 1995-2000
  • Budget planning - 1993-1994
  • Business operations
  • Fundraising (folder 1)
  • Fundraising (folder 2)
  • Goals - 1983-1986, 1992-1999
  • Grants
  • Box 21:
  • Iowa Shares - 1992-1994
  • National Network of Abortion Funds
  • Notes and proposals
  • Sub-Series: Legal
  • Box 21:
  • Clinic representation - 1975-1997
  • Clinical law program (folder 1)
  • Clinical law program (folder 2)
  • Correspondence regarding anti-abortion activism - 1990-1993
  • Emma Goldman Clinic v. Operation Rescue - 1991
  • Employment issues - 1974 and 1990
  • Freedom of Access to Clinic Entrances (FACE) Act - 1994
  • Freedom of Choice Act (FOCA), Catholic response - 1993
  • Hagen subpoena - 1991
  • Iowa Civil Liberties Union - 1975, 1979-1980, 1990
  • Box 22:
  • Living Word Fellowship zoning - 1990
  • Midwifery
  • 'No' on 10 Campaign - 1990
  • Operation Rescue injunction - 1991
  • 'Parental Consent: A Pro-Choice Challenge of the Nineties,' by Amy Elise Bender - 1997
  • Parental notification (folder 1)
  • Parental notification (folder 2)
  • Parental notification (folder 3)
  • Parental notification (folder 4)
  • Parental notification video - 1996
  • Box 23:
  • Partial birth abortion ban
  • Planned Parenthood of Iowa v. Miller - 1997
  • Property
  • Prospective Minor Parents Program - 1996-1997
  • Sand v. State Department of Social Services - 1977
  • Small claims against blockaders - 1990-1992
  • Summary and update of legal opinions - 1994
  • Webster v. Reproductive Health Services - 1989
  • Women's Resource Distribution Company - 1983-1984
  • Box 65:
  • Janet Napolitano - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Media
  • Box 23:
  • Alan Guttmacher statistics and Ann Landers - 1982
  • Media binder (folder 1)
  • Media binder (folder 2)
  • Media binder (folder 3)
  • Box 24:
  • Media binder (folder 4)
  • Box 25:
  • Media organizing - 1983-1999
  • Newsletter projects
  • Press release - 1973-2001
  • Sub-Series: Personnel
  • Box 25:
  • Calendars, schedules, and forms
  • Complaint and grievance procedures
  • Dr. Herman Falsetti - 1978
  • Harassment claims and mediation - 1991, 1995
  • Mary Ellen 'Elle' Huth
  • Job descriptions (folder 1) - 1981, 1986-1994
  • Job descriptions (folder 2) - 1981, 1986-1994
  • Job evaluation forms
  • Box 26:
  • Karen Kubby
  • Management strategies and resources (2 folders)
  • Memoranda and internal proposals
  • Personnel manual - 1982-1985, 1991
  • Policies
  • Proposals, political director and support staff - 1990-1992
  • Staff contact list
  • Unemployment claim
  • Volunteer program
  • Box 65:
  • Gayle Sand - 1992-1995
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 26:
  • Planning
  • Clinic security - 1989, 1993
  • Dubuque street widening project - 1986
  • Box 27:
  • Restructuring ideas - 1975-1995
  • Sub-Series: Quad Cities location
  • Box 27:
  • Analysis of Quad Cities project (folder 1)
  • Analysis of Quad Cities project (folder 2)
  • Building plans (folder 1)
  • Building plans (folder 2)
  • Box 28:
  • Certificate of need - 1995-1997
  • Correspondence
  • "Planned Parenthood of Iowa v. Atchison" - 1996-1997
  • "Planned Parenthood of Iowa v. Atchison" - 1996-1997
  • Committee to investigate Quad Cities - 1994
  • Davenport City Council minutes - 1995-1996
  • Emma Goldman expansion committee
  • Fundraising
  • Opposition to clinic
  • Parental notification
  • Pro-choice supporters
  • Publicity
  • "Quad Cities Coalition for Choice" [newsletter] - 1997-1998
  • Quad Cities Committee for Common Ground - 1995
  • Volunteer applications
  • News clippings (folder 1) - 1995-1997
  • Box 29:
  • News clippings (folder 2) - 1995-1997
  • Box 65:
  • Life and Family Coalition [anti-abortion] - 1995
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 29:
  • Services and information
  • Clinic operations, ideas and projects - 1984-1992
  • Clinic statistics
  • Gynecology: Coordinator's notes - 1990
  • Gynecology: Correspondence - 1989-1990
  • Forms and information - 1977-1991
  • Information and notes - 1980-1990
  • Service budget - 1990
  • Training information - 1988-1995
  • Box 30:
  • Office manager
  • Referral questionnaire - 1979
  • Visitor questionnaires, undated
  • Series 2: EGC PROJECTS
  • Sub-Series: Billboard and birth control kit projects
  • Box 30:
  • Billboard project information - 1995-1996
  • Birth control kit information - 1983, 1988
  • Sub-Series: Cervical cap project
  • Box 30:
  • Cervical Cap Handbook - 1981, 1988
  • Data, annual study results
  • Data for reports - 1985
  • Data, women fit
  • Data, women not fit
  • Box 31:
  • Forms, follow-up questionnaire and responses
  • Correspondence: Cedar Rapids Clinic for Women, study results - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence: The Phil Donohue Show - 1981
  • Correspondence: Future of the cervical cap - 1983 and 1987-1988
  • Correspondence: General
  • Correspondence: New Hampshire Feminist Women's Health Center - 1981, 1983
  • Correspondence: Press requests - 1979-1981
  • Correspondence: Requests from medical professionals - 1978-1981, 1984
  • Correspondence: Dr. E.M. Stim - 1980-1987
  • Correspondence: University of Iowa Family Practice - 1982-1984
  • Correspondence: Clinic (folder 1) - 1977-1980
  • Correspondence: Clinic (folder 2) - 1977-1980
  • Correspondence: Clinic (folder 3) - 1977-1980
  • Box 32:
  • Correspondence, Clinic (folder 1) - 1980-1987
  • Correspondence, Clinic (folder 2) - 1980-1987
  • Correspondence, clinic (folder 3) - 1980-1987
  • Correspondence, clinic (folder 4) - 1980-1987
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA) informational file
  • FDA correspondence and applications
  • Fitting: Follow-up
  • Fitting: Models and problems
  • Fitting: Returned questionnaires
  • Box 33:
  • Fitting: Training and inquiries
  • Training, instructions and information - 1976, 1990
  • Grants - 1980
  • Interviews
  • Investigational Review Board, University of Iowa
  • Box 34:
  • Investigator agreements and resumes
  • Journal articles and essays - 1965-1988
  • National Cervical Cap Advisory Committee
  • National Women's Health Network, Depo Provera and cervical cap
  • Pre-marketing approval and investigational device exemption
  • Presentations - 1980
  • Protocols
  • Research literature
  • Studies: National Institute of Health - 1978, 1980
  • Studies: Northwestern University, collagen sponge
  • Box 35:
  • Studies: Other fitters, Dr. U.E. Freese and Dr. Robert Geopp
  • Studies and notes: Colorado, Cedar Rapids Clinic for Women, Emma Goldman Clinic - 1980-1981
  • Studies and notes: Johns Hopkins University (folder 1)
  • Studies and notes: Johns Hopkins University (folder 2)
  • Studies and notes: Medline search
  • Studies and notes: University of Michigan - 1982
  • Studies and notes: Trainers' workshop
  • Studies and notes: Vimule issues
  • Sub-Series: Events
  • Box 35:
  • Choice dinners - 1996-2005
  • Clinic anniversaries - 1983-2003
  • Flyers - 1974-1992
  • Box 36:
  • Flyers - 1993-2004
  • Female genital mutilation awareness event - 1994
  • Iowa City Chamber of Commerce business PM - 1994
  • Iowa Women's Music Festival - 1994-1996
  • Dr. Robert Krentzschmar dinner - 1994
  • Spring benefit - 1997-2002
  • Take Back the Night - 1979
  • World AIDS Day - 1995-1998
  • Sub-Series: Workshops and conferences
  • Box 36:
  • Childbirth class drawings - 1976
  • Conferences on families - 1980, 1982, 1991
  • Diversity workshop, undated
  • Family Planning Conference, Des Moines, IA - 1978
  • Infection control workshop - 1988
  • Menopause workshop - 1993
  • National Black Women's Health Project Conference - 1991
  • Nonprofit management training - 1988
  • Sexually transmitted diseases (STD) workshop
  • Box 37:
  • Smoking cessation workshop - 1991
  • Various conferences - 1978-1998
  • Workshops for abortion providers - 1990-2000
  • Workshop evaluations - 1975-1997
  • Box 65:
  • Human Rights Commission of Iowa City - 1997
  • Sexuality classes - 1976-1977
  • Stanley Foundation, Beijing and women's human rights - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Outreach
  • Box 37:
  • Cedar Falls, Cedar Rapids, and Dubuque
  • Cedar Rapids Clinic for Women
  • Iowa Women's Correctional Institution project - 1982-1983
  • Speaking engagements (folder 1) - 1978-1995
  • Speaking engagements (folder 2) - 1978-1995
  • Speaking engagements (folder 3) - 1978-1995
  • United Action for Youth and EGC support group for young women - 1983 and 1991
  • University of Iowa College of Medicine
  • Sub-Series: Political
  • Box 37:
  • Congressional Votes on Abortion - 1979-1981
  • Box 38:
  • Electoral strategies
  • Family Protection Act - 1982
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women - 1981-1982
  • Lobbying - 1975-1995
  • Sheila McGuire Congressional campaign - 1994
  • Newspaper clippings and magazine articles - 1981-1985
  • Parental notification - 1982-1994
  • Public Action Training Manual: National Abortion Federation - 1979
  • Reproductive Rights Resource Kit: National Organization for Women - 1982
  • United Way - 1995-1996
  • Box 65:
  • The Getting It Gazette, feminist newsletter - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Safer sex kit
  • Box 38:
  • Evaluations
  • Grants
  • Kit contents
  • Box 39:
  • Media - 1995-1996
  • Requests - 1995-1996
  • Sub-Series: Services and information
  • Box 39:
  • Abortion advocate training and memoranda
  • Abortion information
  • Abortion client profile - 1985
  • Abortion and fathers' rights - 1984
  • Abortion and religion - 1979-1991
  • RU-486
  • Abortion, scholarly articles
  • Abortion statistics - 1979-2000
  • Box 40:
  • Adoption information - 1993
  • AIDS counseling
  • AIDS education (folder 1)
  • AIDS education (folder 2)
  • AIDS 101 workshop materials
  • Alternative medicine and self-help
  • Box 41:
  • Anatomical reproductions - 1979
  • Birth control, general information and notes
  • Birth control movement
  • Box 42:
  • 'Contraception,' by Lawlor McDonald and Susan R. Johnson
  • Natural Birth Control Instructor's Notebook - 1984
  • Birth control methods (folder 1) - 1982-1992
  • Birth control methods (folder 2) - 1982-1992
  • Birth control methods (folder 3) - 1982-1992
  • Box 43:
  • Birth control methods (folder 4)
  • The Politics of Birth Control 1920-1940: The Impact of Professionals,' by Linda Gordon - 1975
  • Black women's healthcare
  • Breastfeeding, 'Babies Grow On Milk and Kisses,' and Johnson County Breastfeeding Coalition - 1979, 1995
  • Breasts, cancer, disorders, and self-exams
  • Chlamydia
  • Community health - 1995
  • DES and Dalcon Shield - 1975-1996
  • Diaphragms
  • Disability and sexuality
  • Box 44:
  • Domestic violence and rape
  • Feminist healthcare
  • General health information
  • Infertility - 1981-1983
  • Lesbian health issues
  • Menopause
  • Midwifery
  • Midwifery, The Des Moines Birthplace - 1984-1985
  • Box 45:
  • Mifepristone and Norplant - 1983-1994
  • Morning After Pill
  • Pap testing
  • Patients' rights, undated
  • Pregnancy
  • AC1311 and AC1312: Pregnancy, 'Positive Pregnancy I and II' - 1981
  • Premenstrual syndrome (PMS)
  • Prostate cancer - 1990-1992
  • Race politics - 1992-1994
  • Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) (folder 1) - 1983-1994
  • Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) (folder 2) - 1983-1994
  • Sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) (folder 3) - 1983-1994
  • Box 46:
  • Sliding scale
  • Sterilization - 1977, 2000
  • Teen healthcare
  • Teen pregnancy
  • Teen pregnancy, Pregnancy Prevention Coalition - 1989, 1992, 1995
  • AC1309: Johnson County Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition ads - 1994
  • Teen sexuality
  • Toxic shock syndrome - 1978, 1984
  • Urinary tract infections - 1979-1994
  • Box 47:
  • Vaginal imbalances - 1989-1991
  • Women's health issues
  • Wellness, nutrition, and diet
  • Women's health, Campaign for Women's Lives - 1993
  • Women's health and sexuality - 1972-1989
  • Box 65:
  • EGC abortion services report by Chris Randall - 1974
  • Menstrual sponge - 1977-1981
  • Self-help, "Sister", newsletter of the Los Angeles Women's Center - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Video productions
  • Box 47:
  • Video productions (folder 1)
  • Box 48:
  • Video productions (folder 2)
  • EGC informed consent video - 1994
  • Series 3: ANTI-ABORTION MOVEMENT
  • Box 48:
  • 'Abortion As Insurrection,' by Dr. Warren M. Hern - 1989
  • Abortion providers - 1989, 1991, 1993
  • Activist profiles - 1991
  • Anti-abortion literature - 1983-2003
  • Box 49:
  • "Army of God", 3rd edition, undated
  • Brochures
  • Correspondence, in-coming - 1979-1993
  • Correspondence, mail fraud - 1983-1988
  • "Denying the Right to Choose: How To Cope With Violence and Disruption at Abortion Clinics" - 1978
  • Carol Everett - 1988-1989
  • Fake clinics - 1987-1992
  • "Feminist Health Centers Under Siege," by Lynn Johnson - 1981
  • Firebombing - 1984
  • Johnson County Right to Life boycott of EGC - 1993
  • V385: Hard Truth - 1991
  • A New Rite: Conservative Catholic Organizations and Their Allies - 1994
  • Newspaper clippings - 1982-2003
  • The Plain Truth - 1985
  • Operation Rescue - 1988-1994
  • Operation Rescue, To Rescue the Children - 1989
  • Box 50:
  • Picketing - 1982-2000
  • Right to Life Committee, Iowa
  • Silent Scream and Revelation and Nightmare - 1985
  • Sisterlife, newsletter of Feminists for Life - 1990-1991
  • Threats of violence - 1984-1998
  • News clippings - 1991-1993
  • Box 65:
  • Violence and the provision of abortion - 1992-1994
  • Series 4: PRO-CHOICE MOVEMENT
  • Box 50:
  • Domino's Pizza boycott - 1989
  • Letters to the editor - 1977-1990
  • Responses to anti-abortion tactics
  • Action for Abortion Rights, University of Iowa
  • Alan Guttmacher Institute
  • AC1308: American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Campaign to Secure Reproductive Freedom radio advertisements, circa - 1988-1992
  • Catholics for a Free Choice, Conscience - 1982-1995
  • Box 51:
  • Center for Reproductive Law and Policy, Reproductive Freedom News - 1992-1996
  • Coalition building ideas
  • Feminist Majority, Becky Bell and Rosie Jimenez campaign - 1990, 1993, 1996
  • Feminist women's health centers, CA, GA, IL, MN, MI, NC, NH, NY, OR, TX, VT, and WA
  • AC1310: Imhoff, Antoinette, interview - 2002
  • Iowa Voters United for Choice - 1989
  • Iowa Women's Political Caucus
  • League of Women Voters of Johnson County - 1989-1995
  • Little Rock, AK, Family Planning, 'Parenting By Choice'
  • Medical Students for Choice
  • Montreal Health Press - 1978-1992
  • Muscatine, IA, Coalition
  • National Abortion Federation
  • National Abortion Rights Action League (NARAL)
  • NARAL Iowa
  • National Coalition of Abortion Providers - 1991-1995
  • National Council of Negro Women and National Women's Law Center - 1994
  • Box 52:
  • National Organization for Women (NOW) Iowa - 1989-1995
  • National Women's Health Network, The Network News - 1987-1994
  • November Gang - 1991-1992
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa, The Source - 1990, 1994
  • Pro-Choice Action Fund, Networks - 1993-1994
  • Pro-Choice Network - 1989
  • Pro-Choice Resource Center, Pro-Choice Idea - 1991-1994
  • Rainbow Coalition - 1989, 1991
  • Religious Coalition for Abortion Rights
  • Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (folder 1)
  • Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (folder 2)
  • Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (folder 3)
  • Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (folder 4)
  • Statements of support
  • Box 53:
  • Various organizational newsletters - 1982-1994
  • Women's Coalition, Iowa City - 1993
  • Box 65:
  • Reproductive Rights National Network - 1984
  • Series 5: PUBLICATIONS, EGC
  • Box 53:
  • EGC library
  • 'Conflict of Color,' undated
  • Fertility Awareness and Endometriosis
  • 'Health Care Pack,' by Theresa Lawlor McDonald, circa - 1982
  • 'How to Publish a Small Booklet,' - 1979-1982
  • Mama Gives Birth Coloring Book - 1978
  • Pricing and notes - 1983, 1988
  • Student essays about EGC - 1980, 1993
  • Emma Goldman Clinic Newsletter and Inside Emma - 1978-1979, 1991-2001
  • Emma's Periodical Rag - 1979-1983
  • Emma's Periodical - 1990-1995
  • Box 54:
  • Emma's Journal - 1995-2008
  • Series 6: PUBLICATIONS, NON-EGC
  • Box 54:
  • Abortion Cartoons On Demand by Signe Wilkinson - 1992
  • American Health Consultants, Contraceptive Technology Update and Women's Health Center Management - 1994 and 1996
  • The Body Politic: Monthly Pro-Choice News Report - 1993-1994
  • Family Planning Perspectives - 1985-1990
  • Feminist periodicals, tables of content (folder 1)
  • Feminist periodicals, tables of content (folder 2)
  • International Women's Club handbook, Iowa City, undated
  • "Iowa's Abortion Battles of the Late 1960s and Early 1970s", by James C. Mohr - 1989
  • Box 55:
  • Iowa high school newspapers - 1990-1994
  • "Legal Abortion: A Speaker's Notebook", by Jimmye Kimmey
  • "Off Our Backs" - 1989, 1996
  • "Our Bodies, Our Selves" - 1971
  • Physicians' newsletters - 1992-1995
  • "Socialist Worker", International Socialist Organization - 1989
  • "Women Against Racism: Packet of Readings"
  • Box 56:
  • Miscellaneous periodicals (folder 1)
  • Miscellaneous periodicals (folder 2)
  • Box 65:
  • 'A Play in One Act' by Carole Dornblaser, undated
  • Series 7: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 56:
  • General (folder 1) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 2) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 3) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 4) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 5) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 6) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 7) - 1973-1992
  • General (folder 8) - 1973-1992
  • Box 57:
  • General (folder 1) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 2) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 3) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 4) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 5) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 6) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 7) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 8) - 1992-2000
  • General (folder 9) - 1992-2000
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 58:
  • Negatives
  • Photo album [removed from binder] (folder 1)
  • Photo album [removed from binder] (folder 2)
  • Photographs, circa - 1970s-2000s
  • Photographs, circa [CLOSED] - 1970s
  • Box 59:
  • Fifteenth anniversary - 1998
  • Spring benefit - 1993
  • Kretzschmar dinner
  • Spring fundraiser - 1994
  • Vision conference - 1995
  • Choice dinner - 1995
  • Spring benefit - 2000
  • EGC collective members, circa - 1970s
  • Twentieth staff reunion - 1993
  • Twentieth anniversary novelties and displays - 1993
  • Take Your Daughters to Work Day - 1998
  • EGC action shots, novelties, and displays
  • Box 60:
  • Dubuque street location, interior shots
  • Clinic security in parking lot
  • Leap year party - 1992
  • Dodge street house
  • Anti-abortion picketing
  • Photographs, circa - 1999
  • Series 9: SCRAPBOOK - 1970s
  • Box 61:
  • General
  • Series 10: ARTIFACTS
  • Sub-Series: Reproductive rights
  • Box 62:
  • Bumper stickers
  • 'Clinic Escort' t-shirt
  • EGC t-shirt
  • NARAL canvas bag
  • Stamps
  • 'Young Ones' doll
  • Sub-Series: Safer sex kit
  • Box 63:
  • Buttons
  • Cervical cap
  • Contraceptive information
  • Female condoms
  • Pro-choice bumper sticker
  • Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City rubber stamp
  • 'This uterus belongs to me' apron [donated by H. Woodford]
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 64: [CLOSED]
  • List of closed documents
  • Original closed documents