Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sheila Creth papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1957-2008
Creator: Creth, Sheila (1939-)
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0463
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Librarian who directed the University of Iowa Libraries from 1987 to 1999 and published extensively in the field of library and information science.

Access: The papers are open for research, with the exception of Box 10, which is closed.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 678) were donated by Sheila Creth in 1999 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Sheila Creth papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sheila Creth served as University Librarian for the University of Iowa Libraries from 1987 through 1999. In this capacity, Creth assumed responsibility for a collection of over three million volumes located in the Main Library and distributed throughout eleven departmental libraries, coordinated the work of a full-time staff of 228 employees, and oversaw an annual budget of over seventeen million dollars. Her most important contributions to the University of Iowa Libraries include the development of the Information Arcade in the Main Library, the Information Commons in the Hardin Library, the Iowa Women's Archives, the User Education Program, a massive reorganization project, development of sources of funding through the Friends of the Library group, recruitment and staff development activities, and organization of the Symposium on Scholarly Communication in 1991. During her tenure, Creth was awarded the LITA/Gaylord award for Achievement in Library and Information Technology in 1999.

Before her appointment at the University of Iowa, Creth held positions at the University of Michigan, the University of Connecticut, and Columbia University. Creth has published extensively in the field of library and information science, particularly on the subject of personnel. Her publications include the widely read text Effective on the Job Training: Developing Library Human Resources. In addition to her publications, Creth has enjoyed numerous professional speaking engagements and has conducted training workshops and performed consultation services for university libraries for more than twenty years. In 1999, Creth stepped down from her post with the University of Iowa to pursue a full-time career in independent consultation after thirteen years with the University of Iowa.

The Sheila Creth papers date from 1957 to 2008 and measure 3.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in five series: Biographical, The University of Iowa Libraries, Publications, Presentations, and Consulting.
 
The Biographical series (1957-2008) includes Creth's curriculum vitae; the transcript of an interview with Creth conducted in July 1998; newspaper clippings; and several snapshots and photographs of Creth with University of Iowa President Hunter Rawlings and Iowa Writers Workshop director Frank Conroy.
 
The University of Iowa Libraries series (1987-1999) includes correspondence and emails, presentations Creth made on campus, Creth's goals and activities, salary letters, notification of awards recognizing the Information Arcade, and material related to the Symposium on Scholarly Communication. Two folders containing letters of recommendation are closed.
 
The Publications series (1979-1997) includes Creth's published articles and writings arranged in chronological order. The series includes Creth's MA thesis and correspondence regarding the publication of her articles. The Presentations series (1987-2005) consists of talks on topics such as staff training, library automation, the electronic library, budgeting, and collaboration between librarians and technologists. The series is arranged chronologically.
 
The Consulting series (1981-2005) consists of records relating to Creth's work with her consulting firm, Progressive Solutions. It includes proposals, reports, administrative files, correspondence with clients, and details about the work Creth did for each client. The series is organized alphabetically by the client's name; the administrative files are located at the end of the series.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES
Series 3: PUBLICATIONS
Series 4: PRESENTATIONS
Series 5: CONSULTING

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Curriculum Vitae - 1999
  • Interview transcript - 1998
  • Donations - 1994-1995
  • Education certificates - 1957-1980
  • Honors - 1998-2003
  • Newspaper clippings - 1968-2008
  • Photographs - 1986-1999
  • Plaque, "Vita Veritas Victoria" - 1996
    [shelved in plaque box]
  • Series 2: THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES
  • Box 1:
  • Appointment - 1987
  • ALA/Meckler Award for Information Arcade - 1994
  • Campus discussion document: "Information Technology: Implications for Library and Information Services"
  • Conferences - 1988-1999
  • Correspondence - 1987-1999
  • Course taught: "Information Technology and the Organization" - 1991
  • Goals and activities [as reported to the UI Provost] - 1991-1999
  • LITA award (for Information Arcade) - 1999
  • Presentations on campus - 1988-1990
  • Retirement - 1999
  • Salary letters - 1986-1999
  • Box 10:
  • Letters of recommendation [CLOSED until January 1, 2015]
  • Box 2:
  • Symposium on Scholarly Communication - 1991
  • UI Faculty Senate Open Forum: "The Crisis in Scholarly Journals" - 1988
  • UI Strategic Planning Steering Committee, "New Initiatives, Directions, Priorities" - 1991
  • Series 3: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 2:
  • "The Effect of Job Complexity and Job Diversity on Organizational Communication Behavior and Satisfaction," M.A. thesis, University of Connecticut - 1979
  • Instructor manuals, University of Michigan - 1984
  • Job Training: Developing Training Plans for Your Staff (ACRL) - 1984
  • Effective on the Job Training" (American Library Association) - 1986
  • Personnel Administration in Libraries - 1989
  • "Personnel Issues for Academic Librarians," "College and Research Libraries" - 1989
  • "Alternative Credentials for the Academic Library Administrator, a Personal Essay," "Library Administration and Management" - 1989
  • "Staff Development: Where Do We Go from Here?" "Library Administration and Management" - 1990
  • "Personnel Realities in the University Library of the Future," manuscript - 1991
  • "The Organization of Collection Development: a Shift in the Organization Paradigm," "Journal of Library Administration, 2 manuscripts - 1991
  • "Beyond Technical Issues: the Impact of Automation on Library Organizations, from "Perspectives in Information Management" manuscript only - 1991
  • "Staff versus Collections: Assessing Budget Priorities for the 1990s," "Library Administration and Management" - 1991
  • "Information Technology: Building a Framework for Change," "Library Issues" - 1992
  • "Creating a Virtual Information Organization: Collaborative Relationships between Libraries and Computing Centers," "Journal of Library Administration [manuscript only] - 1993
  • "Virtual Collections: The Implications for Library Professionals" - 1993
  • "The Information Arcade: Playground for the Mind," The Journal of Academic Librarianship [manuscript only] - 1994
  • "Building Partnerships" - 1995
  • "A Changing Profession: Central Roles for Academic Librarians," "Advances in Librarianship" [manuscript only] - 1996
  • "Do You Have the Partners You Need to Survive?" - 1996
  • "Technological Change and the Implications for the Library and the Library Professional," undated
  • Reviews - 1984-1997
  • Correspondence re: publications - 1989-1997
  • Series 4: PRESENTATIONS
  • Box 2:
  • "Library Recruitment and Staff Development" - 1987
  • Box 3:
  • "Impact of Automation on the Organization," AMIGOS annual users meeting - 1988
  • "In House [Staff] Training," New England Technical Services Librarians Spring Meeting - 1990
  • "1990 and Beyond: Who We Are, Who We Will Be," ACRL Fall Conference - 1990
  • "Staff vs. Collections: Budget Priorities for the 1990s" - ALA/LAMA
    1991
  • "Building a Collaborative Environment: Understanding Our Similarities and Differences" - 1992
  • "Virtual Collections," N.C. State University Libraries' Seminar - 1993
  • "Shaping the Future," ALA/LAMA - 1993
  • "Changing Roles of Librarians and Support Staff," ALA/LAMA - 1994
  • "Who's Who: The Changing Roles of Librarians and Support Staff," ALA annual conference: [AC869] - 1994
  • "Keeping Everyone Informed: Communicating Change to Those Who Need to Know" - 1995
  • "Collaboration Between Librarians and Technologists," Iowa Research and Education Network annual meeting - 1995
  • "Future of Information Services and Your Place in This World," Minnesota Library Association annual meeting - 1995
  • "The Electronic Library: Slouching Toward the Future or Creating a New Information Environment" - 1996
  • Interview with Sheila Creth conducted by Frank Galligan, The Nine Line, BBC, Sept. 26: [AC868] - 1996
  • "A New World Order or Chaos: Implications of Electronic Information on Collection Development and Services" - 1996
  • "Conducting Effective Employment Interviews" - 1997
  • "Designing a Library Future: The U of Iowa Libraries in 1987-1997"
  • "Goals Writing" - 1997
  • "Securing Full Opportunity in American Society: If Affirmative Action is Not Our Best Strategy, Then What?" - 1997
  • "The Teaching Library and the Role of Librarian as Teacher" - 1997
  • "The Specialized Monograph in Crisis" - 1997
  • "University Publishing in the Electronic Age" - 1997
  • "Libraries of the Future," University of Iowa alumni - 1998
  • "Implementing Change: Skills to Survive and Thrive" - 1999
  • "A Scan of the University Libraries," Johnson County Area Women's Network - 1999
  • "Library System" - 1999
  • "Optimizing Organization Design for the Future" - 2000
  • "Minding the Generation Gap" - 2002
  • "Academic Library Leadership" - 2003
  • Keynote address to Triangle Research Libraries Network Symposium - 2005
  • "Do You Have the Partners You Need to Survive?" ACM talk, undated
  • "The Health Information Environment: A View of Organizational and Professional Needs and Priorities," undated
  • "Higher Education Must Plan Ahead for New Tech Libraries," undated
  • "Information Technology: Implications for Library and Information Services," undated
  • "Preparing for Technological Change," undated
  • "Scholarly Digital Resources Center," undated
  • Box 4:
  • "Securing Full Opportunity in American Society," ACRL National Conference - 1997
  • "Workforce Issues for Academic Libraries" - 2006
  • "Thinking Out of the Box," undated
  • "Wide World," undated
  • Miscellaneous (2 folders) - 1987-1997
  • Series 5: CONSULTING
  • Box 4:
  • American Library Association Special Committee on Personnel Resources - 1990
  • Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries - 1999
  • Association of SE Research Libraries, Atlanta - 2002
  • Australia - 1993
  • Brown University Library - 1998
  • "Building Partnerships: Library and Computing Professionals," undated
  • CAUSE Institute on Partnership (2 folders) - 1997, 2001
  • Concordia College, Moorhead, Minnesota - 2002
  • East Tennessee Library Association, "Self Training and Learning" - 2001
  • Emory University - 1995
  • Florida International University - 2000
  • Georgia State University, "Organizing and Assessment of Liaison and Research Services" - 2003
  • Indiana State University, "Imagining Library Organization for the 1990s," undated - 1990's,' undated
  • Irish Universities Information Systems Symposium, "The Electronic Library" (3 folders) - 1996
  • Long Island University Retreat - 1998
  • Miami Universities Library, "Appointment and Promotion Criteria and Process" - 2003
  • Box 5:
  • North Carolina LIVE - 2003
  • North Carolina State University, "Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning" - 2001
  • North Carolina State University, Fellows Retreat - 2003
  • Oakland University, "Organization of Information Technology" - 2001
  • Ohio University Library - 2000-2004
  • Palmer School of Library and Information Science, strategic planning - 1998
  • Rutgers University Library - 2004
  • San Jose public library (folders 1-5) - 2001-2004
  • Box 6:
  • San Jose public library (folders 6-10) - 2001-2004
  • South Dakota Library Association and Midwest Chapter of the Medical Library Association, "Strategies for Surviving and Thriving in the 21st Century Library" - 2003
  • Texas - 2002
  • Triangle Research Libraries Network, retreat - 1999
  • Triangle Research Libraries Network, "Information Commons" - 2005
  • United Way, Johnson County, 'Effective Meetings Workshop," undated (2 folders)
  • University of Chicago, Northwestern University, University of Illinois-Chicago - 1986-1987
  • University of Miami, "Assessment of Richter Library" - 1998
  • Box 7:
  • University of North Carolina Library, "Report on Organization Structure" - 2005
  • University of Notre Dame Libraries - 1995
  • University of South Dakota - 2002
  • Washington State University Library (4 folders) - 2005
  • East Carolina University, Joyner Library - 2007
  • Miscellaneous workshops - 1981-1988
  • Box 8:
  • Administrative: Contracts - 1999-2002
  • Administrative: Correspondence - 1998-2005
  • Letters of inquiry (2 folders) - 1997-2004
  • Library consultants directory - 1998-2003
  • McGovern, Gail - 2004
  • Box 9:
  • Proposals - 1999-2002
  • Proposals - 2003-2004
  • General