Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Browning Literary Club (Atlantic, Iowa) address

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1901
Creator: Browning Literary Club (Atlantic, Iowa)
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0459
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Speech delivered at the 9th District Convention of the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The history ishihshistory is open for research.

Use: Copyright has been retained by the owners.

Acquisition: The history (donor no. 673) was donated by Joan Underhill in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Browning Literary Club (Atlantic, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Browning Literary Club of Atlantic was begun in 1899 as the Tennyson Club by a group of local teachers. Within the first year they changed their name to Browning Literary Club. They met to study literature and current topics and were instrumental in encouraging support for a town library.

The address by Mrs. C. G. Walner was delivered between 1901 and 1906 at Council Bluffs at the 9th District Convention of the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.

The collection contains one undated address written between 1901 and 1906 and measures one linear inch. The address,  "The Library from the Household Economic Standpoint,"  compares the varieties of reading material to the contents of a woman's well-stored cupboard.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SPEECH

  • Series 1: SPEECH
  • Box 1:
  • Mrs. C. G. Walner, "The Library from the Household Economic Standpoint" - 1901

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Walner, C. G., Mrs.

Corporate Names:
Browning Literary Club

Dates:
1900-1909

Topics:
Book clubs
Books and reading
Intellectual life

Occupations:
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Atlantic
United States -- Iowa -- Council Bluffs

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women
Teachers and Teaching