Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Kathleen Wood Laurila papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1956-1999
Creator: Laurila, Kathleen Wood (1940- )
Extent: 34.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0458
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa activist involved in the peace movement as well energy conservation and environmental protection coalitions.

Alternate Extent Statement: 6 videocassettes [V302-V307]
19 audiocassettes [AC942-AC960]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 672) were donated by Kathleen Wood Laurila in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Kathleen Wood Laurila papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

J. Kathleen Ulku was born on November 28, 1940. In high school, Ulku broke the "male only" barrier in the school's drafting class. During high school she was also active in leadership roles for Future Homemakers of America (FHA). Ulku earned a B.A. from the University of Minnesota in design and journalism. While attending the University of Minnesota, she became a charter member of the first interracial sorority at the school. Ulku moved from Minneapolis to Des Moines, Iowa in 1965 after marrying Robert Wood, Jr. They raised their three children in Des Moines. Kathleen Ulku Wood earned her M.A. from the School of Journalism and Mass Communications -- Media and Public Policy, Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. In addition to her academic degrees, Wood received training in grant writing and fund raising, conflict resolution, and leadership. She also became a Certified Contract Interior Designer (CCID). In 1969 Wood began her own design business, Interior Planning; adding public affairs services in 1984 she changed the business name to Creative Enterprises.

Wood's long history of activism included involvement locally, nationally and internationally in environmental causes, women's equity, peace initiatives and national security issues. Wood participated on, chaired, and organized many task forces representing her wide range of political activism. A lifetime member of the American Association of University Women (AAUW), Wood held numerous local and national leadership roles for the organization, including president of the Des Moines branch (1978-1980), president of the Iowa State Division (1982-1984), and International Affairs Director. (For more on Wood's paid and voluntary positions see the appendix at the end of the finding aid.)

Wood received numerous awards and honors for her activism and leadership. In 1982, she received the first Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) award as "Des Moines Woman of Achievement." In 1985, Wood received the "Women in Business Advocate Award, Des Moines" from the U.S. Small Business Administration, and in 1992, Wood was named the "Des Moines Business Woman of the Year" by the Business and Professional Women.

Following her divorce, Kathleen Wood chose the surname Laurila, a maternal family name.

The Kathleen Wood Laurila papers date from 1956 to 1999 and measure 34.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Biographical material, Business and professional material, Energy and Environment, Miscellaneous Volunteer Projects, Peace and National Security, Women's Issues/Advocacy, American Association of University Women, and Artifacts. These series follow the original order of materials as organized by Laurila.
 
The Biographical material series consists of sorority materials from Laurila's years as a student at the University of Minnesota. Included are articles relating to the first interracial sorority at the University. Also included in the series are the various honors and awards presented to Laurila for her business acumen and attention to women in business.
 
The Business and professional material series focuses on the activities of Laurila's two businesses: Interior Planning and Creative Enterprises. Several projects comprise these two sub-series, including the Iowa Veterans Home, Security Bank, Hotel Pattee, the Iowa Caucus Project '88, Neighbors for Good Government, and the G.W. Carver Center for Pioneer Hi-Bred International. Design projects consist of floor plans, correspondence, and numerous files for every décor decision, including carpeting, furnishings, moldings, draperies, light fixtures, and art work.
 
Public affairs services such as the Iowa Caucus Project '88 and Neighbors for Good Government (the 1994 campaign to change Des Moines and other Polk County communities in Iowa to a commonwealth form of government) include brochures, mailings, slides, audio and videocassettes, editorials and articles, presentations, strategies and correspondence.
 
The Energy and Environment series represents Laurila's environmental activism and includes information on several organizations and conferences. This series also includes research materials regarding synthetic fuel, solar energy and nuclear energy.
 
The Miscellaneous Volunteer Projects series includes many of Laurila's political activities along with leadership conferences and workshops.
 
The Peace and National Security series pertains to Laurila's peace activities, including international outreach programs. This series is divided into several sub-series including the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, the Iowa International Council, the Iowa Peace Institute, the National Peace Institute and the Iowa Sister State Program. Materials include conferences, workshops, board meetings, and presentations. There is also a set of audiocassette tapes from the National Security Conference Laurila attended.
 
The Women's Issues/Advocacy series includes Laurila's activities with the International Federation of University Women, Planned Parenthood and several other groups focused on women's issues and advocacy. Laurila attended several conferences dealing with women and international development; included are materials from the Fourth United Nations World Conference on Women in 1995 (also known as the Beijing Conference), and the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development in 1992 (also known as Earth Summit).
 
The largest series in the collection is the American Association of University Women. This series is sub-divided into the Des Moines Branch, Iowa State Division and National and follows Laurila's organization and filing system. Materials include conferences and conventions, newsletters, directories, board minutes, projects, and research files. The General files contain a mixture of correspondence, memos and notes.
 
The Artifacts series contains buttons, tote-bags, tee-shirts, and posters relating to Laurila's wide range of activism, including the American Association of University Women, Planned Parenthood, Anita Hill, Iowa Caucus Project '88 and the Des Moines Commonwealth campaign.
AAUW National Archives, AAUW Educational Center, 2401 Virginia Ave., NW, Washington, D.C.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL
Series 2: INTERIOR PLANNING
Series 3: CREATIVE ENTERPRISES
Series 4: ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT
Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS VOLUNTEER PROJECTS
Series 6: PEACE AND NATIONAL SECURITY
Series 7: WOMEN'S ISSUES/ADVOCACY
Series 8: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN (AAUW)
Series 9: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL
  • Box 1:
  • University of Minnesota: Nu Sigma Pi - 1959
  • University of Minnesota: Lambda Delta Phi, general - 1961
  • University of Minnesota: Lambda Delta Phi: The Open Door newsletter (2 folders) - 1962-1970
  • Honors and awards: Woman in Business Advocate - 1985
  • Honors and awards: American Association of University Women (AAUW) educational grant - 1988-1989
  • Honors and awards: Business Woman of the Year - 1994
  • Honors and awards: Woman of Achievement - 1982
  • Series 2: INTERIOR PLANNING
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • Arts Council - 1984-1985
  • Arts reception - 1985-1986
  • Banker's Life (Principal) [slides only] - 1980
  • Burger Kings, undated [slides only]
  • Conference Center opening - 1985
  • D. Jacobson/Barbicon, undated [slides only]
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa House (2 folders) - 1977-1979
  • Box 5:
  • John Carey Oil Company, undated [slides]
  • Lloyd-Jones, Jean - 1988-1990
  • Murphy, June - 1981
  • Overholser, Geneva and Mike (2 folders) - 1989
  • Security Bank: Art I, II and III - 1989-1994
  • Security Bank: Conference room - 1988-1989
  • Security Bank: Expansion of lower level - 1993
  • Security Bank: Plans and furniture - 1988-1989
  • Box 6:
  • Security Bank: Plans and furniture - 1988-1989
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Veterans Home (Marshalltown, Iowa)
  • Box 2:
  • Activity room - 1977-1978
  • Bedspreads - 1976-1977
  • Billings - 1975-1983
  • Budget - 1976
  • Building finishes - 1976-1978
  • Canteen - 1976-1978
  • Carpet - 1976-1977
  • Chapel - 1976-1979
  • Color schedule, undated
  • Crafts - 1976-1977
  • Dining room - 1976
  • Elevator area - 1976-1978
  • Floor plans (2 folders) - 1979
  • Box 3:
  • Floor plans - 1979
  • Floor plans notebook - 1979
  • Furnishings - 1975-1976
  • Gift shop - 1977
  • Graphics/Art - 1976-1981
  • Library - 1977
  • Loftus Building - 1978-1979
  • Main lounge - 1976-1977
  • Notes (4 folders) - 1980-1988
  • Box 4:
  • Notes - 1980-1988
  • Offices - 1976-1978
  • Patient lounge furnishings - 1976
  • Patient room furnishings - 1976-1980
  • Personnel dining room - 1976
  • Planters/lamps/clocks/ashtrays - 1976-1978
  • Purchase orders - 1976-1977
  • Sheeler and 180-bed projects (Sheeler/180): Drapery - 1978-1981
  • Sheeler/180: Finishes (2 folders) - 1977-1996
  • Sheeler/180: Floor plans - 1979
  • Sheeler/180: Floors - 1977-1979
  • Sheeler/180: Furnishings specs/orders - 1978-1980
  • Sheeler/180: 180 furnishings - 1977-1980
  • Sheeler/180: Sheeler furnishings/floor plans - 1977-1980
  • Box 5:
  • Sheeler/180: Specs - 1977-1978
  • Signage - 1977
  • Newspaper article - 1978
  • Series 3: CREATIVE ENTERPRISES
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 6:
  • General - 1997
  • Chrystal, John - 1997-1998
  • Downtown Partnership - 1997
  • Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (ELCA) Peace Conference - 1990
  • Flapan rugs - 1998
  • Global Ventures: Home Hosts - 1998-1999
  • Global Ventures: International Center for Community Journalism (ICCJ) - 1994-1998
  • Global Ventures: Korean businessmen (2 folders) - 1994
  • Global Ventures: Korean businessmen (2 folders) - 1995
  • United Nations Association/U.S.A. - 1997
  • Sub-Series: Hotel Pattee (Perry, Iowa)
  • Box 6:
  • Amana
  • Art/Olson-Larsen
  • Artwork
  • Box 7:
  • Asian rugs/carpet
  • Ballroom/massage
  • Baths/restrooms
  • Beds
  • Bowling alley
  • Brochures
  • Budgets
  • Building color schedule
  • Box 8:
  • Building color schedule
  • Cabinets/rooms
  • Campbell Steele Gallery
  • Carpet layout
  • Color/finish notes
  • Conference areas
  • Custom rugs
  • Descriptions of artwork and furniture
  • Desk tops/shelves – RCS Millwork
  • Dining rooms
  • Durkan Hospitality carpet
  • Box 9:
  • Fabrics
  • Fireplaces/special cabinets
  • Floor covering
  • General notes (2 folders)
  • Graphics/signs
  • Guest room carpet
  • Guest room furniture
  • Hardware
  • Humpty and friends – proposals
  • J.R. Burrows and Company (carpet and wallcovering)
  • Leino, Phil
  • Lichinsky, Tanya (Russian artist)
  • Lighting notes
  • Lighting pix
  • Lobby
  • Lobby fireplace screens
  • Lobby rug
  • Box 10:
  • Master lamps (2 folders)
  • Media coverage
  • Meetings with Roberta G. Ahmanson
  • Memos from Bill Clark and Robert G. Ahmanson
  • Notes (notebook)
  • Notes for building specs
  • Pattee Enterprises notes and minutes
  • Percival contract/plans
  • Printed carpet
  • Prism glass
  • Public area floor plans
  • Quilts
  • Room floor plans (notebook)
  • Ragbrai/Brrr. (salmon) and Scandinavian
  • Russian (wheat)
  • Southeast Asian (salmon)
  • William Morris room
  • Box 11:
  • Spa
  • Special furniture
  • Stationery
  • Stenciling
  • Sticks
  • Suite floor plans
  • Suites: Armstrong suite
  • Suites: Armstrong suite and East African room
  • Suites: Green suite
  • Box 12:
  • Suites: Green suite
  • Suites: Pattee suite (2 folders)
  • Suites: Soumas suite
  • Suites: Travel suite
  • Taylor's/Ottumwa
  • Box 13:
  • Themes
  • Tile
  • Vaske, Barb
  • Visual arts
  • Walls
  • Williams, Brian (painting)
  • Willis library
  • Window coverings
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Caucus Project ‘88
  • Box 13:
  • Background kit
  • Brochures
  • Group mailings
  • Insider's guide
  • Iowa Caucus Project Contacts, July 13-February (2 folders) - 1987-1988
  • Box 14:
  • Iowa Caucus Project Contacts, July 13-February - 1987-1988
  • Lifestyle Media
  • Media lists
  • Presentations
  • Presidential campaigns (2 folders) - 1988
  • Box 15:
  • Slides
  • Summary materials (2 folders)
  • Newspaper articles (5 folders)
  • T-shirt and campaign button [see Artifacts boxes 81-82]
  • Sub-Series: Neighbors for Good Government
  • Box 15:
  • Ad hoc phone bank
  • Ballot
  • Campaign Design
  • Debates
  • Videocassette: Des Moines Chamber debate [V302] - 1994
  • Direct mail
  • Box 16:
  • Editorials/OpEds
  • Employer strategy
  • Endorsements
  • Final Meeting
  • Finances
  • Fundraising letters
  • Media campaign: Advertisements, print - 1994
  • Radio [audiocassettes]
  • Martha Willits, chair - Polk County Board of Supervisors, testimonial (October 26) [AC942] - 1994
  • Neighbors for Good Government (sixty second spots) [AC943]
  • Neighbors for Good Government (thirty second spots) [AC944]
  • Testimonial radio – Mayors of Polk County communities (October 13) [AC945] - 1994
  • Television [videocassettes]
  • Martha Willits II (chair - Polk County Board of Supervisors), Bob Ray (former Governor of Iowa), Sheriff, Mayors of Polk County communities, Neighbors IV [V303]
  • "Red Tape" and "Duplication," Polk County Commonwealth promotions [V304]
  • "Shared Wealth: The Commonwealth," full version promotion [V305]
  • Sheriff [V306]
  • Testimonial Television – Mayors and Martha Willits [V307]
  • Media campaign: Communications Plan (4 folders)
  • Media campaign: Media Firm Selection
  • Media campaign: Other press releases and broadcasts
  • Media campaign: Press releases
  • Miscellaneous and letters to editor
  • News articles (2 folders)
  • Box 17:
  • News articles
  • Newsletter articles on Charter proposal
  • October court decision and statements
  • Opposition information
  • Organization (2 folders)
  • Polk County Commonwealth Charter facts and summaries
  • Polls (first, second and third) (2 folders)
  • Presentation schedule
  • Research
  • Speakers' bureau [include General Kit and Speakers' Kit] (2 folders)
  • Box 18:
  • Sponsors/Endorsers/Contributors
  • Yard signs
  • Sub-Series: Pioneer Hi-Bred International – G.W. Carver Center
  • Box 18:
  • Auditorium
  • Budgets
  • Carpet
  • Executive summary – schematic design
  • Finish schedule
  • Floor plan notes
  • Furniture memos (3 folders)
  • Planning
  • Request/Responses
  • Kiosks
  • Kitchen/cafeteria
  • Lecturns
  • Lighting
  • Box 19:
  • Messages (2 folders)
  • Kiosk messages
  • Message notes
  • Messages/Old
  • Miratec
  • My notes
  • Other building finishes (3 folders)
  • Quotes/Specs
  • Room names and numbers
  • Sign copy/display
  • Signage
  • Structure/Exterior Envelope Budget
  • Box 20:
  • Wall coverings
  • Windows
  • Series 4: ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT
  • Box 20:
  • Fifth annual report to the legislature - 1979
  • Sixth annual report to the legislature - 1980
  • Articles on energy (4 folders) - 1974-1980
  • Biomass - 1979
  • Breeder Reactor (2 folders) - 1982-1983
  • Citizens United for Responsible Energy (CURE) - 1974-1975, 1998
  • Energy Education Conference - 1983
  • Energy Policy Forum - 1981
  • Energy Research and Information Foundation (ERIF) - 1976-1977
  • Box 21:
  • Energy Research and Information Foundation (ERIF) (2 folders) - 1976-1977
  • First Annual Utility Conservation Conference - 1980
  • Governor's Conference: "Building Blocks to Progress: Iowa Economic Opportunities in the ‘80s" - 1981
  • Iowa Energy Policy Council policy statements - 1975-1978, 1981
  • Iowa 2000: Land, Water, and Energy – An Examination of Policies and Issues - 1978
  • Box 22:
  • Life Cycle Purchasing Advisory Committee (7 folders) - 1980
  • Nuclear energy (4 folders) - 1973-1982
  • Oil "Crisis" - 1978-1979
  • Box 23:
  • "Resources" Speeches - 1979
  • Solar retrofit - 1982
  • Synfuel/Gasahol - 1974-1981
  • Series 5: MISCELLANEOUS VOLUNTEER PROJECTS
  • Box 23:
  • Alliance for Our Common Future (2 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Architectural Advisory Committee - 1989, 1991
  • Chrystal for Governor - 1989-1990
  • Des Moines Register Advisory Council (2 folders) - 1996-1998
  • Final Report of the Title XIX Perinatal Services and Obstetrical Access Program Study Advisory Group - 1985
  • Governor's Youth Conference - 1984
  • Grievance Commission - 1983-1987
  • Imagine Iowa - 1986-1993
  • Iowa at the Property Tax Crossroads: A Conference on Local Government Finance - 1977
  • Iowa Resource for International Service (IRIS) - 1997-1999
  • Box 24:
  • Iowa Tax Reform Action Coalition (ITRAC) - 1976-1977
  • Iowans for Democracy (2 folders) - 1993-1994
  • Iowans for Democracy Conference: Unmasking Religious Extremism in Iowa - 1993
  • Leadership conferences and workshops (2 folders) - 1985-1990
  • Local Government Finance Education project - 1976
  • McCormick for Governor - 1995
  • Mayor Economy Committee - 1981
  • Newton Dialogues - 1995-1996
  • U.S. 88: A New Road to the White House - 1988
  • Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) - 1982-1994
  • Box 80:
  • Correspondence with elected officials (2 folders) - 1982-1993
  • Iowa Department of Human Resources: Report of the Human Services Leadership Roundtable on a Medically Needy Program for Iowa, prepared for the Human Services Leadership Roundtable - 1984
  • Iowa Department of Human Resources: Final Report of the Medically Indigent Program Study Advisory Group - 1985
  • Series 6: PEACE AND NATIONAL SECURITY
  • Sub-Series: Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA)
  • Box 25:
  • Brochures, undated
  • Christian peace articles - 1988-1992
  • Congregations Together in Mission V (workshop-conflict resolution) - 1996
  • Council of Judicatory Executives - 1991-1992
  • Ecumenical Ministries: Embraced in God's Covenant (Bible study project) (3 folders) - 1992
  • Ecumenical Ministries: General (2 folders) - 1992-1994
  • Ecumenical Ministries: Notebook (3 folders) - 1992-1994
  • Box 26:
  • Ecumenical Ministries: Notebook (2 folders) - 1992-1994
  • Global issues - 1993-1995
  • Global Peace and Election Issues for the 1996 Iowa Caucuses (2 folders) - 1995-1996
  • Iowa ECLA Task Force on Peace and Reconciliation: Brochure, undated
  • Iowa ECLA Task Force on Peace and Reconciliation: General (3 folders) - 1991
  • Iowa ECLA Task Force on Peace and Reconciliation: Notebook (2 folders) - 1993-1997
  • Iowa ECLA Task Force on Peace and Reconciliation: Retreats - 1982-1997
  • Peace - 1984-1995
  • Peace newsletter - 1994-1996
  • Box 27:
  • St. John's Lutheran Church (Des Moines, Iowa): Advocacy workshop - 1986
  • St. John's Lutheran Church Council - 1984
  • St. John's Lutheran Church Council (2 folders) - 1985
  • St. John's Lutheran Church Council (2 folders) - 1986
  • St. John's Lutheran Church: General (2 folders) - 1986-1989
  • St. John's Lutheran Church: Long range plan - 1981
  • St. John's Lutheran Church: Our Congregation's Annual Report - 1984-1987
  • St. John's Lutheran Church: Peace - 1983-1985
  • Sub-Series: Iowa International Council
  • Box 28:
  • American Center for International Leadership (ACIL): "Beyond Chautauqua," U.S.-U.S.S.R. leadership conference (4 folders) - 1991
  • ACIL audiocassette: "Conversations with ACIL fellows: Regarding China and Regarding Russia," undated [AC946]
  • ACIL: Iowa Consultation on Soviet projects - 1990-1991
  • ACIL: Sixth Conference of the Representatives of Soviet and American Public - 1991
  • Box 29:
  • General - 1993-1994
  • Charting Iowa's International Course - 1992
  • Iowa International Council Forum (4 folders) - 1993
  • Iowa International Development Foundation annual report - 1992
  • Iowa International Task Force report to the governor - 1991
  • International Policy Board (2 folders) - 1991
  • Issues for forum (2 folders) - 1992-1993
  • Box 30:
  • Legislative hearing (2 folders) - 1993
  • Notebook (4 folders) - 1992-1993
  • Outside reports and correspondence (3 folders) - 1988-1993
  • Staff work plan and calendar for fiscal year - 1994
  • Statements, activities and surveys - 1983-1993
  • Box 31:
  • Stationery, undated
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Peace Institute
  • Box 31:
  • Board minutes - 1988-1992
  • Calendar - 1990-1992
  • Conflict Resolution conference - 1996
  • Conference: "Dispute Resolution Through Mediation" - 1987
  • Conference: "Integrating Conflict Management into Planned Organizational Change" - 1990
  • International Conference of Peace Institutes - 1990
  • Communications committee - 1988
  • Facilities - 1988
  • Media - 1987
  • Newsletter (2 folders) - 1987-1994
  • Notebook (2 folders) - 1991-1994
  • Box 32:
  • Planning (2 folders) - 1992-1994
  • Presentations - 1986-1989
  • "Pragmatic Peacemaking: A Negotiation Workshop" - 1987
  • Vision Workshop - 1985-1986
  • Year-by-year (memos, correspondence, programs, minutes, etc.) (6 folders) - 1988-1990
  • Box 33:
  • Year-by-year (memos, correspondence, programs, minutes, etc.) (11 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Box 34:
  • Year-by-year notebook (6 folders) - 1993-1995
  • Sub-Series: National Peace Institute Foundation/Midwest Chapter
  • Box 34:
  • Alliance for Our Common Future - 1990
  • Bylaws - 1988-1989
  • Brochures, undated
  • Conference: "Building Peace: A Midwest Approach" - 1989
  • Conference audiocassette: "Creating Peace through Middle America" [AC960] - 1988
  • Conference: "Getting to Peace: A Midwest Approach" (2 folders) - 1987
  • Box 35:
  • Conference: "Peacemaking Institutions in Canada and the United States" (includes six audiocassettes) - 1990
  • "North American Counterparts: The Roles of Our National Peace Institutes" [AC947-AC948] - 1990
  • "North American Institutions" [AC949] - 1990
  • "After the Cold War: Global Change, Global Peace?" [AC950] - 1990
  • "Sustaining Our Work for Peace" [AC951] - 1990
  • "Closing Plenary" [AC952] - 1990
  • General (4 folders) - 1985-1991
  • Box 36:
  • National Peace Institute Foundation: Board of directors notebook (6 folders) - 1985-1991
  • National Peace Institute Foundation: Financial reports - 1987-1988
  • Nominations for U.S. Institute of Peace board of directors - 1990
  • Notebook (3 folders) - 1986-1990
  • Box 37:
  • Peace Reporter (newsletter) - 1986-1991
  • Peacemaker awards - 1988-1989
  • "Planning for Peacemaking" journal, undated
  • Regional Council Program - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Other peace and security organizations and activities
  • Box 37:
  • Amber Waves project - 1988
  • Beyond War (2 folders) - 1988-1989
  • Business for Peace: B-2 Stealth Bomber - 1990
  • Business for Peace: Brochures - 1990-1991
  • Business for Peace: Memos (3 folders) - 1989-1990, 1993
  • Business for Peace: Papers, undated
  • Box 38:
  • Business for Peace: Steering Committee (2 folders) - 1991-1992
  • Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament and Comprehensive Test Ban - 1987-1990
  • Committee for National Security (2 folders) - 1979-1985
  • Common Ground conference - 1990
  • Conferences on the Peace Agenda in Iowa: III - 1985
  • Conferences on the Peace Agenda in Iowa: V - 1986
  • Conferences on the Peace Agenda in Iowa: VI - 1987
  • Conferences on the Peace Agenda in Iowa: VII and VIII - 1988
  • Conferences on the Peace Agenda in Iowa: XI - 1991
  • Box 39:
  • Conferences on the Peace Agenda in Iowa: XII-XIII (2 folders) - 1992-1993
  • Countdown on Conventional Forces in Europe: A Briefing Book - 1988
  • "First Choice '88: A Presidential Candidate Forum on War and Peace Issues" - 1987
  • Foreign aid - 1993-1995
  • Friendship Force: Australian exchange (3 folders) - 1984
  • Friendship Force: Board of Directors - 1984
  • Friendship Force: Exchange Directors' Manual - 1983
  • Ground Zero (2 folders) - 1982-1983
  • Box 40:
  • Ground Zero (4 folders) - 1982-1983
  • "Nuclear War: What's in it for you?"
  • A slide show with text and audiocassette, undated [AC953] [slides shelved in Box S-2]
  • Hiroshima/Nagasaki Commemoration - 1985
  • INF Treaty (Intermediate-range Nuclear Force) - 1987
  • International security/economics - 1984-1985
  • Iowa Conference on Disarmament Leadership - 1983
  • Iowa Women's Leadership Conference on U.S. National Security - 1983
  • Middle America - 1988-1992
  • Box 41:
  • Military budget/weapons including sanctions - 1984
  • National Defense (2 folders) - 1983-1994
  • National Security Conference tapes (audiocassettes)
  • Deterrence and Arms Control (Sheila Buckley and Ruth Adams) [AC954]
  • Elements of National Security (Elise Boulding) [AC955]
  • National Security and Political Realities (Jim Leach) [AC956]
  • Possibility of Change in Human History (Elise Boulding) [AC957]
  • U.S. Defense Spending (Patricia Schroeder) [AC958]
  • U.S./Soviet Relations (Condoleeza Rice) [AC959]
  • 1984 Presidential candidates (2 folders) - 1983-1984
  • Peace Links: Women Against Nuclear War (2 folders) - 1982-1987
  • Presentations - 1982-1983
  • Press releases - 1982-1984
  • Reinvest in Iowa campaign - 1992
  • SANE/FREEZE (Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy and Nuclear Weapons Freeze Campaign) - 1984-1988
  • Box 42:
  • SANE/FREEZE (Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy and Nuclear Weapons Freeze Campaign) - 1984-1988
  • Stanley Foundation - 1984-1985
  • "Star Wars" antimissile system - 1984
  • Waging Peace conference - 1989
  • Box 43:
  • Wingspread Conference on Women and the Nuclear Arms Race (2 folders) - 1982
  • News articles and clippings (4 folders) - 1982-1985
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Sister State Program
  • Box 43:
  • American-Soviet Peace Walk - 1988
  • Board of directors and advisors - 1990-1991
  • General (2 folders) - 1990-1991
  • Iowa State Fair project - 1991
  • Notebook - 1989-1991
  • Box 44:
  • Notebook (5 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Presentation material - 1989-1990
  • Sister State Program - 1988-1990
  • Soviet clippings (2 folders) - 1983-1990
  • Box 45:
  • Stavropol: Agreements - 1993
  • Stavropol: American Association of University Women (AAUW)/Stavropol exchange program (5 folders) - 1989-1991
  • Stavropol: Athletes - 1990
  • Stavropol: General (2 folders) - 1989-1993
  • Stavropol: Information (2 folders) - 1988-1992
  • Box 46:
  • Stavropol: Trip (3 folders) - 1988
  • U.S.S.R. programs - 1988-1990
  • Yamanashi Committee - 1987-1988
  • Yokohama conference - 1992-1995
  • Series 7: WOMEN'S ISSUES/ADVOCACY
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 46:
  • Consortium business club (6 folders) - 1980-1986
  • Box 47:
  • Consortium business club (12 folders) - 1987-1997
  • Sub-Series: International Federation of University Women (IFUW)
  • Box 48:
  • Canadian Federation of University Women - 1994
  • 23rd Triennial Conference (3 folders) - 1989
  • 24th Triennial Conference (5 folders) - 1992
  • 25th Triennial Conference (2 folders) - 1995
  • Box 49:
  • Council - 1997
  • Delegation - 1995
  • Directory - 1992
  • Dues (2 folders) - 1994-1997
  • Finance study - 1991
  • Box 50:
  • General - 1983-1986
  • IFUW/AAUW Dialog - 1998
  • "Peace, Military Budgets and Human Needs" workshop - 1989
  • Status of Women and Cultural Relations Committee: Notes (2 folders) - 1995-1998
  • Status of Women and Cultural Relations Committee: Study and Action Programme (SAAP): First round drafts - 1998
  • Status of Women and Cultural Relations Committee: SAAP: Second round drafts - 1998
  • Status of Women and Cultural Relations Committee: SAAP: Workshop proposal for 24th IFUW conference - 1990-1992
  • Status of Women and Cultural Relations Committee: SAAP: Workshop proposal for 25th IFUW conference - 1993-1995
  • IFUW News - 1989-1994
  • Sub-Series: Planned Parenthood
  • Box 50:
  • Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA): International Advocate program: Campaign '88 - 1988
  • PPFA: International Advocate program: International affairs committee - 1986-1987
  • Box 51:
  • PPFA): International Advocate program: Workshop (2 folders) - 1986
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa/Mid-Iowa: Annual reports - 1989, 1991-1993
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa/Mid-Iowa: Articles - 1990-1994
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa/Mid-Iowa: Brochures - 1983-1995
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa/Mid-Iowa: Community Programs meetings (2 folders) - 1993-1994
  • Conference: "A Healthy Planet: Peace, Population and the Environment" (4 folders) - 1991
  • Conference: "Healthy Planet Conference II": Business - 1995
  • Conference: "Healthy Planet Conference II": Co-sponsorships - 1995
  • Box 52:
  • Conference: "Healthy Planet Conference II": Facilities, displays, registration (4 folders) - 1995
  • Conference: Meeting notes/agendas: Printed items
  • Conference: Meeting notes/agendas: Program
  • Conference: Meeting notes/agendas: "Priorities ‘95" (conference on women and health) - 1994
  • Fundraiser: Joe Rosenfield Celebration - 1994
  • Resource files: Abortion - 1993
  • Resource files: AIDS/HIV - 1993
  • Resource files: Population issues - 1994-1998
  • Resource files: RU486 - 1994
  • Resource files: Sexuality: Sexuality and family planning, undated
  • Resource files: Sexuality: Sexuality education curriculum, undated
  • Resource files: Sexuality: "Sexuality Education for a Healthy World," IFUW conference workshop - 1995
  • The Source (newsletter) - 1987-1994
  • Speakers/experts - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Projects for Women in Iowa
  • Box 52:
  • Des Moines, Iowa – Metro Women's Network: Directory project - 1984-1986
  • Box 53:
  • Des Moines, Iowa – Metro Women's Network: Guidelines - 1980-1982
  • Des Moines, Iowa – Metro Women's Network: Symposium - 1979-1980
  • Iowa Women's Meeting "…To Form A More Perfect Union…" (2 folders) - 1977
  • Minority and Women Business Expo '85 - 1985
  • Roundtable - 1985-1986
  • Women entrepreneurs - 1994
  • Women of Achievement (2 folders) - 1983-1985
  • Women's Business Ownership Conference - 1984
  • Box 54:
  • Women's Business Ownership Conference (2 folders) - 1984
  • Women's History Month - 1996
  • Women's Prison Education Task Force - 1983
  • ZONTA International (2 folders) - 1981-1984
  • Sub-Series: Women and International Development Conferences
  • Box 54:
  • "Achieving Global Human Security," International Development Conference - 1995
  • "Equity by 2000: Meeting the Nairobi Challenge" (2 folders) - 1986
  • Box 55:
  • "Overcoming Poverty: Global Priority," International Development Conference - 1993
  • "Social Development: A New Definition of Security," 46th NGO/DPI annual conference (2 folders) - 1993
  • Sub-Series: Environment
  • Box 55:
  • American Association of University Women environmental network - 1988-1993
  • Environment/Theology (2 folders) - 1990-1995
  • Global Tomorrow Coalition (3 folders) - 1989-1992
  • Reports - 1992
  • United National Conference on Environment and Development (Rio de Janiero): After "Earth Summit" - 1992
  • Box 56:
  • United National Conference on Environment and Development (Rio de Janiero): Preparatory information - 1992
  • United National Conference on Environment and Development (Rio de Janiero): Testimony - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Fourth United Nations World Conference on Women: Action for Equality, Development and Peace (Beijing)
  • Box 56:
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW) - 1991-1995
  • Background information (2 folders) - 1995
  • Box 57:
  • Beijing conference (3 folders) - 1995
  • Media kit - 1995
  • Priorities '95 (2 folders) - 1994-1995
  • United Nations' drafts - 1994-1995
  • United States' report - 1994-1995
  • "Women Thinking Globally, Acting Locally: On the Road to Beijing and the 21st Century," regional preparatory meeting - 1994
  • "World Women and Media Workshop," 1995
  • Post-Beijing Conferences: Beyond Beijing - 1995-1996
  • Post-Beijing Conferences: "Bringing Beijing Back: Local Actions and Global Strategies" - 1995
  • Box 58:
  • Post-Beijing Conferences: "The UN Women's Conference at Beijing: What Happened and Will It Make a Difference?" (2 folders) - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Division, United Nations Association – U.S.A.
  • Box 58:
  • "An Earth Charter and Agenda 21 for Iowa" - 1993-1994
  • "A Social Agenda for Iowa for the 21st Century," a workbook for citizen action (2 folders) - 1997
  • "War and Peace and Iowa" - 1982
  • "Women hold up half the sky: visions and voices for the 1990s" - 1990-1991
  • Series 8: AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN (AAUW)
  • Sub-Series: Des Moines Branch
  • Box 58:
  • Branch notes - 1979-1981
  • Brochure: Mission statement and activities - 1996-1999
  • Directories (4 folders) - 1971-1989, 1997-1998
  • Iowa Council for International Understanding: Central Iowa Ethnic Organizations and International Services - 1995
  • Box 59:
  • Interest Groups program schedules, undated
  • International relations and global issues - 1985-1986
  • Newsletter - 1972-1981
  • Newsletter, Branching Out (7 folders) - 1970-1999
  • Box 60:
  • Presidential term (2 folders) - 1978-1980
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Division
  • Box 60:
  • Annual report - 1989-1999
  • Blue Ribbon Campaign, undated
  • Board of directors: Annual reports - 1990-1992
  • Board of directors: General - 1984-1985
  • Civil Rights Act of 1984
  • Conferences: Iowa Education Equity Roundtable - 1993
  • Women's Agenda Conference: Budget - 1987-1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference: Council of Presidents correspondence - 1987-1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference: General notes - 1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference: Graduate Woman - 1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference: Media - 1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference: Program - 1987-1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference: Sessions III, IV, and V (3 folders) - 1988
  • Women's Agenda Conference II - 1989
  • Box 61:
  • 26th biennial convention - 1972
  • 29th biennial convention - 1978
  • 30th biennial convention - 1980
  • 31st biennial convention - 1982
  • 32nd biennial convention - 1984
  • 35th biennial convention - 1990
  • Corporate Representative Survey: Correspondence - 1982-1984
  • Division Legislative Program Committee (3 folders) - 1974-1976, 1984-1985
  • Exchange programs: development, undated
  • Exchange programs: Sri Lanka - 1991-1992
  • Box 62:
  • 50th birthday celebration/AAUW 27th biennial convention - 1974
  • Five-on-five girls' basketball - 1983-1984
  • General (11 folders) - 1970-1974, 1982-1994
  • Box 63:
  • General - 1990-1994
  • International Affairs communications - 1992-1993
  • International Relations - 1990-1992
  • Mailing lists (2 folders) - 1982-1989, 1996
  • Box 64:
  • Manual - 1988
  • Newsletter: "Thoughts on Community Involvement," an article by Kathleen Wood [Laurila], undated
  • Newsletter: Iowa Initiative - 1992-1998
  • Newsletter: The Iowa University Woman (4 folders) - 1971-1992
  • Notebook (4 folders) - 1980-1983
  • Box 65:
  • Program development: Education topic (2 folders) - 1977-1979
  • Projects: AAUW Girls Computer Camp Model - 1984
  • Projects: The End Product - 1976
  • Posters, undated
  • State Division president: Conference of division presidents planning committee - 1986
  • Structural changes: Task force on structure - 1989-1991
  • Structural changes: Internal Review Committee - 1990
  • Structural changes: Internal Review Task Force - 1990-1991
  • Structural changes: Internal Review Recommendations, Stage I - 1990
  • Structural changes: Final work - 1990-1992
  • Box 66:
  • Taxes: Background information on property taxes - 1976-1977
  • Taxes: Tax study correspondence - 1976-1977
  • Taxes: Tax study for school foundation - 1976-1977
  • Sub-Series: National
  • Box 66:
  • AAUW Archives, 1881-1976 (brochure) - 1980
  • Board of directors information (5 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Box 67:
  • Board of directors information (8 folders) - 1993-1995
  • Board retreat - 1993
  • Boards and Committees - 1992-1993
  • Box 68:
  • Campaign for Choice (2 folders) - 1992-1993
  • Campaigns for various AAUW positions [Laurila (Wood) and others] (4 folders) - 1979-1993
  • Choices for Tomorrow's Women - 1989
  • Conference category lists - 1983
  • Box 69:
  • State Division Leaders Conference (2 folders) - 1983
  • State Division Leaders Conference - 1992
  • Upper Midwest Regional Conference - 1988
  • Upper Midwest Regional Conference - 1994
  • "Women: Caring About the Future" - 1986
  • 29th biennial convention - 1977
  • 30th biennial convention - 1979
  • Centennial convention - 1981
  • 32nd biennial convention (2 folders) - 1983
  • Box 70:
  • 33rd biennial convention - 1985
  • 34th biennial convention - 1987
  • 35th biennial convention - 1989
  • 36th biennial convention (2 folders) - 1991
  • Box 71:
  • 37th biennial convention (2 folders) - 1993
  • 38th biennial convention (2 folders) - 1995
  • 39th biennial convention - 1997
  • 40th biennial convention - 1999
  • California State Division AAUW convention - 1998
  • Minnesota State Division AAUW convention - 1994
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1984-1988, 1990-1992
  • Directories - 1980-1990
  • Box 72:
  • Directory of Fellows and Grant Recipients - 1991-1992
  • Educational foundation: Names honored - 1975-1976, 1990-1991
  • Expense reports - 1991-1996
  • General (2 folders) - 1987-1990
  • General Director's Letter - 1970
  • Global Perspective (newsletter) - 1996-1999
  • International affairs - 1982-1984
  • International Assessment - 1995-1996
  • International Federation of University Women: correspondence/members (2 folders) - 1991-1995
  • Leadership handbook, undated
  • Leadership on Loan: Alaska - 1998
  • Box 73:
  • Leadership on Loan: Arizona Fall Conference - 1995
  • Leadership on Loan: Assignments - 1994
  • Leadership on Loan: Idaho - 1997
  • Leadership on Loan: Information - 1992-1993
  • Leadership on Loan: Puerto Rico - 1996
  • Leadership workshops (2 folders) - 1985-1994
  • Memos to leaders - 1992-1993
  • Monthly letters (Jackie DeFazio and Anne L. Bryant) - 1993-1995
  • National Issue Committees: Action and process
  • National Issue Committees: Action for equity (2 folders)
  • National Issue Committees: AIDS/HIV
  • Box 74:
  • Articles about AAUW issues (3 folders) - 1991-1992
  • Campaign finance reform - 1991
  • Career development conferences: First Line Managers - 1983
  • Career development conferences: Re-entry Women - 1983
  • Economics
  • Empowering Women: Achieving Change through Advocacy Networks (2 folders) - 1983
  • Energy resolution (Association Committee on Managing Resources) - 1976-1981
  • Box 75:
  • Equal Rights Amendment - 1979
  • Gender campaign - 1987
  • Global relationships (food, population, security) - 1977-1981
  • Implementation guide for Global Interdependence: Budgeting for Earth - 1973
  • Leader's Guide - 1978
  • Program guide - 1977-1979
  • Topic guide - 1975-1977
  • Women as Agents of Change action plan workbook
  • Health care reform - 1994
  • Initiative for Educational Equity - 1991
  • International women - 1976-1980
  • Liberty issues - 1987-1988
  • Box 76:
  • Managing Resources Committee (4 folders) - 1978-1981
  • Money Talks Around the World (slide and audio presentation)
  • New Criteria: The Midwest Journal of Appropriate Technology - 1978-1979
  • Peace and National Security (2 folders) - 1981-1986
  • Planned Parenthood Federation of America: Individual Rights Committee - 1982-1986
  • Poster: United Nations Decade for Women (Copenhagen conference) - 1980
  • Promoting Individual Liberties - 1990
  • Reproductive health care - 1994-1995
  • Box 77:
  • Solar energy (2 folders) - 1978-1980
  • Title IX - 1992-1993
  • Transportation - 1979-1982
  • Value options/ethics - 1978-1980
  • Water - 1978-1980
  • Box 78:
  • Women (2 folders) - 1980-1986
  • Women's Work/Women's Worth: Background information - 1984-1987
  • Women's Work/Women's Worth: Presentations (2 folders) - 1984-1987
  • Women's Work/Women's Worth Resource kit (2 folders) - 1984-1987
  • Northwest Central Region Division: Business - 1985-1987
  • Northwest Central Region Conference - 1980
  • Box 79:
  • Northwest Central Regional Conference - 1982-1984
  • Northwest Central Regional Conference - 1986
  • Northwest Central Regional Division: General - 1985-1987
  • Phillips Petroleum Company tour - 1982
  • Program Development Committee (2 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Public Policy Committee (3 folders) - 1991-1995
  • Speeches [include some by Laurila (Wood)] - 1993
  • Strategic Plan AAUW - 1982-1985
  • Box 80:
  • Strategic Plan AAUW (2 folders) - 1992-1994
  • Strategic Planning Committee (2 folders) - 1986-1987
  • Travel visitor: General information - 1980-1989
  • Travel visitor: Kentucky Division fall convention - 1985
  • Travel visitor: Louisiana Division convention - 1986
  • United Nations seminar – "Equality, Development & Peace" - 1980
  • Series 9: ARTIFACTS
  • Sub-Series: Buttons
  • Box 81:
  • AAUW-related buttons
  • Embraced in God's Covenant
  • International Wood Affairs
  • Iowa Caucus Project ‘88 - 1988
  • Polk Commonwealth
  • Sub-Series: Tee-shirts
  • Box 82:
  • AAUW, pro-girls, undated
  • Iowa AAUW, "The Team," undated
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa (60th anniversary) - 1994
  • Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa (pink), undated
  • Population Institute, undated
  • Anita Hill
  • Sub-Series: Tote-bags
  • Box 82:
  • AAUW, "Columbus, Ohio" - 1985
  • AAUW, "equity" - 1983
  • Iowa ERA
  • Planned Parenthood of America book sale, undated