Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Lucille Schlotterback Struve artifact

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1927
Creator: Struve, Lucille Schlotterback (1910-1938)
Extent: 1.00 item.
Collection Number: IWA0457
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Basketball jersey, 1927. Iowa farm girl and mother, who was a member of the 1927 Newhall girls' championship basketball team.

Arrangement: One box, shelved in artifacts collection.

Access:

Use:

Acquisition: The jersey was donated by Raea and Donald Struve (donor no. 671) in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Lucille Schlotterback Struve collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Lucille Schlotterback, member of the 1927 Newhall girls' high school state championship basketball team was born November 13, 1910, in Newhall, Iowa. She was raised on a farm located near the extended family of Schlotterback cousins in Benton County. She was a sophomore on the Newhall high school basketball team that won the state championship in 1927. Her cousins Luella Gardemann and Melba Gardemann, were forwards on the team. Schlotterback graduated from Newhall High School in 1929.

In September of 1929, Schlotterback married Arnold Luwe. They had one daughter, Dolores Luwe, before divorcing in 1934. The following year, she married Harold Struve. They had one son, Donald Struve, in 1938 before she died in September of that year. Harold Struve saved her high school jersey until Raea and Donald Struve donated it to the Iowa Women's Archives in 1999.

The Lucille Schlotterback Struve collection consists of one wool basketball jersey dating from 1927, worn by Lucille Schlotterback when she played on the state championship Newhall girls' basketball team.
Gwendolyn Johnson Hein papers (IWA): These papers include photograph albums and newspaper clippings from Newhall High School and its 1927 state championship girls' basketball team.

Melba Gardemann Olson papers (IWA): These papers include scrapbooks and photograph albums of Newhall High School and its 1927 state championship girls' basketball team

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Struve, Lucille Schlotterback, 1910-1938

Corporate Names:
Newhall High School (Newhall, Iowa)

Dates:
1920-1929

Topics:
Rural girls
Basketball for girls

Occupations:
Basketball players
High school students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Newhall

Genre/Form of Materials:
Cultural artifacts

Browse:
Girls' and Women's Sports
Rural and Farm Women