Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary C. Neuhauser papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1968-1999
Creator: Neuhauser, Mary C. (1934-)
Extent: 13.80 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0455
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Democrat who served four terms in the Iowa House and one four-year term in the Senate (1986-1998).

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in box 5
1 audiocassette [AC 834]
1 videocassette [V290]
Photographs in boxes 1-6, 10, 13, 27

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 669) were donated by Mary C. Neuhauser in 1999 and 2000.

Preferred Citation: Mary C. Neuhauser papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary C. Neuhauser was born in New York City in 1934 to John and Eleanor Cameron. Neuhauser's mother graduated from Wellesley College and began, but did not complete, a Ph.D. in English at Yale; her father graduated from Williams College and worked as an actuary. The family moved to rural Connecticut, near Stamford, when Neuhauser was two years old. Neuhauser spent her childhood there, and attended high school at a private girls' boarding school which, she recalls, she "hated."

Neuhauser graduated from Radcliffe College with a degree in English Literature in 1956. She worked briefly as a secretary before marrying attorney Paul Neuhauser and starting a family. After three years in New York, the Neuhausers moved to Cambridge where Paul Neuhauser received an M.A. in law. When he was offered a faculty position at the University of Iowa Law School in 1963, the family moved to Iowa City.

The Neuhausers had three children by then -William, James, and Alice- and most of Neuhauser's time was devoted to their care. She had, however, been involved with the League of Womens' Voters in New York, and became involved in a number of civic organizations in Iowa City, including the Iowa division of the United Nations Association and the Architectural Heritage Commission.

Neuhauser's political career began with her 1973 appointment to the Riverfront Commission, a city-chartered committee. As she worked with city government, Neuhauser became increasingly frustrated by the City Council's inability to complete the urban renewal project begun in the mid-1960s. The resignation of a council member in 1974 required the council to appoint a member to fill out the term; Neuhauser applied for the position and won the appointment. She served until 1983 on the City Council and spearheaded the successful completion of the urban renewal project. During that time, Neuhauser was selected twice to serve as mayor-- from 1976-77 and again from 1982-83, becoming the third woman to serve as mayor of Iowa City. She also completed her J.D. at the University of Iowa Law School in these years, graduating in 1982.

After serving on the City Council, Neuhauser was urged to run for a seat on the Johnson County Board of Supervisors, which she did in 1984, but lost. Following the retirement of popular Democratic state representative Jean Lloyd-Jones, Neuhauser ran for her seat in 1986; she was elected and held the seat until 1994, when she ran for the Senate, where she served one term from 1994-1998. Neuhauser retired from the Iowa legislature in 1998 after twelve years of service. Two years later, when her husband retired, the Neuhausers purchased a second home in Florida, and they currently divide their time between Iowa and Florida.

Neuhauser focused on several issues in the legislature, but key among them was education. She advocated improvements to Iowa's school system, and championed a variety of issues related to children and early childhood education. She also was instrumental in re-writing laws related to ethics for legislatures, and spearheaded efforts to revamp the state's administrative code. Another focus was economic development; Neuhauser was nothing if not pragmatic, and she saw economic development as key to the health and vitality of a community. Neuhauser also served on the newly-formed governmental oversight committees in the late 1990s.

Although Neuhauser had always considered herself a Republican, she switched to the Democratic Party following the 1974 Watergate scandal. Her approach to government reflected strengths of both traditions: Democratic inclusiveness and concern for the less powerful, and Republican emphasis on strengthening the private sector and focusing on the common good. Neuhauser worked at the intersection of government, business, and education, and her records illuminate the ways in which these realms are connected. She believed that education prepared citizens to be valuable community members. She encouraged business and government to work as partners in developing the private and public sectors that depend upon each other to flourish. She understood the interdependence of these interlocking systems, and worked to bring them into harmonious and supportive partnerships. Neuhauser believed in progress?in the ability of good people to act for the good of all, and build a better world. Neuhauser devoted herself to that effort, and she rendered tireless and faithful public service to the citizens of Iowa for nearly thirty-five years.

The Mary C. Neuhauser papers date from 1968 to 1999 and measure 13.8 linear feet. The papers are arranged in five series: Biographical/Personal, Civic activities, Campaigns, Local government, and State government.
 
The Biographical/Personal series includes an oral history recorded with Neuhauser in 1991 and a hand-written letter to her children, undated, but apparently written soon after their move to Iowa. It would seem to be a letter she never shared with them, and is one of the few truly personal items in the collection. It also contains records relating to Neuhauser's years in law school and the course she took at the JFK School of Government.
 
The Civic Activities series documents Neuhauser's work with various organizations including the Architecture Heritage Committee, the Chamber of Commerce, Johnson County Democrats, Trinity Church, the Iowa Division of the United Nations Association, and the First Capitol Development Fund. Note the biography of Indira Ghandi in the Iowa UN folder--although the author is not specifically listed, it is most likely that this was written by Neuhauser. Neuhauser's interests ranged from local to international, from domestic to aesthetic to administrative. Neuhauser believed in progress--in the ability of good people to act for the good of all to build a better world. The seeds of Neuhauser's political career were sown in the work she did in these organizations.
 
The Campaigns series contains records from Neuhauser's many campaigns for City Council, County Board of Supervisors, State Representative, and State Senate, as well as a few campaigns she worked on for other candidates. These records are a marvelously-detailed look at the workings of grassroots politics: the fundraising, door-knocking, canvassing, leafleting, and phone-calling that must be done, as well as the amount of bureaucracy that must be endured by candidates for political office--even in local elections. Neuhauser accepted only personal contributions, so fundraising was especially time-consuming. Her campaign records show a broad-based, grassroots organization that was very loyal and committed. The correspondence in these series shows the warmth with which so many constituents regarded Neuhauser. See notes from Linda Kerber, Bev Hannon, Dick Myers, and Dottie Ray.
 
The Local Government series contains records of Neuhauser's work on the Riverfront Commission and her years as a member of the City Council and Mayor of Iowa City. The records demonstrate that Neuhauser's goal as a leader was to seek consensus and action, and that her style was non-confrontational, but firm and steady. The transcripts of her speeches are of special interest as evidence of her beliefs about democracy and government, and her use of literature as a source of inspiration. Neuhauser wrote a description of her trip to Israel in 1977 (in the International conferences folder) which gives a rare glimpse into her personal viewpoint; it reads like a short story, lingering on interesting details that official reports on conferences would not usually include. Neuhauser's leadership in both the League of Iowa Municipalities and the National League of Cities is also documented in these records.
 
The State Government series is the most extensive part of the collection. It covers Neuhauser's twelve years of service in the Iowa state legislature--eight in the House and four in the Senate, as well as her service on several state commissions. There is a rich and interesting collection of her correspondence with constituents; Neuhauser took the time to help people with problems and respond to their requests. She was much admired and respected for the personal attention and great sense of stewardship she demonstrated in carrying out her responsibilities. There are detailed files on the committees she served on as well as the bills she sponsored and supported.
 
The correspondence addresses many topics including gun control (following shootings in Physics Building), education, taxes, human services, especially funding for various programs, abortion, the environment. They demonstrate the wide range of issues a legislator must handle. Letters on 1993 Jessica DeBoer case and franchise law. Many on death penalty over the years as legislature considered this several times in the 90s.
 
There are detailed files on the committees she served on as well as the bills she sponsored and supported. Neuhauser's records indicate her belief in the value of education--she sought information to educate herself on the issues that she grappled with as a legislator. Her records teem with reports, articles, and information on the issues relevant to the bills before the legislature, or that she drafted.
 
Issues of particular interest were children, education, and ethics. Files show the complex bill-making process; how inter-related many social issues are (poverty, education, crime, welfare, work); the ever-present overlap of public and private and how to negotiate it (this was especially an issue in the development of the Iowa Communications Network); and the wide range of issues a legislator must educate herself about and be prepared to handle.
 
Neuhauser's records indicate her belief in the value of education--she sought information to educate herself on the issues that she grappled with as a legislator. Her records teem with reports, articles, and information on the issues relevant to the bills before the legislature, or that she drafted.
 
Issues of particular interest were children, education, and ethics. Files show the complex bill-making process; how inter-related many social issues are (poverty, education, crime, welfare, work); the ever-present overlap of public and private and how to negotiate it (this was especially an issue in the development of the Iowa Communications Network); and the wide range of issues a legislator must educate herself about and be prepared to handle.
 
Letter of congratulations to Vilsak in Legislative Career, handwritten notes.
A Political Dialogue: Iowa's Women Legislators (IWA): includes an oral history interview conducted with Neuhauser by Suzanne O'Dea Schenken.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL/PERSONAL
Series 2: CIVIC ACTIVITIES
Series 3: CAMPAIGNS
Series 4: LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Series 5: STATE GOVERNMENT
Series 6: TOPICAL FILES AND LEGISLATION

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL/PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Education: University of Iowa Law School - 1979-1982
  • Education: Continuing legal education - 1983-1989
  • Education: John F. Kennedy School of Government, Alumni list and meeting announcement - 1979-1986
  • Education: John F. Kennedy School of Government, Programs and participants - 1981
  • Education: John F. Kennedy School of Government, Readings and notes - 1981
  • Letters and invitations - 1965, 1990, 1991, 1995
  • Oral history - 1991
  • 'Remarkable Iowa City Women,' handmade book by Dave Hemingway - 1977
  • Resumes and job applications - 1973-1985
  • West High commencement - 1980
  • Series 2: CIVIC ACTIVITIES
  • Box 1:
  • Architectural Heritage Committee: Administration - 1968-1969
  • Architectural Heritage Committee: Resources and newspaper clippings - 1968, 1970
  • Chamber of Commerce - 1985, 1986
  • Council for International Visitors to Iowa City (CIVIC) - 1985, 1986
  • Economic development
  • First Capitol Development, Inc. - 1984, 1985
  • Box 2:
  • General (2 folders) - 1984, 1985
  • League of Women Voters - 1985
  • Iowa Division of the United Nations Association - 1969, 1970, 1971
  • Johnson County Democrats - 1982, 1984, 1986, 1988
  • Johnson County Historical Society - 1984, 1985, 1986
  • Newspaper clippings - 1973, 1985
  • Project Green - 1971, 1972, 1986
  • Shakespeare Club - 1971-72
  • Trinity Episcopal Church - 1971
  • Series 3: CAMPAIGNS
  • Sub-Series: City Council
  • Box 2:
  • Candidacy statement - 1974
  • Candidacy statements and positions papers - 1975
  • Correspondence - 1975, 1979
  • Fundraising: Disclosure reports - 1979
  • Fundraising: General - 1975, 1979
  • Fundraising: Ledger - 1979
  • Fundraising: Nomination petitions - 1975, 1979
  • Fundraising: Organization: Calling cards: Precinct 4, undated (2 folders)
  • Fundraising: Organization: Precinct 7, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Fundraising: Organization: List of voters and poll watchers: Precinct 7, undated
  • Fundraising: Organization: List of voters and poll watchers: Precinct 21, undated
  • Fundraising: Organization: Volunteers: Campaign workers - 1979
  • Fundraising: Organization: Volunteers: Precinct workers, undated
  • Fundraising: Organization: Volunteers: Miscellaneous notes, undated
  • Fundraising: Publicity: Flyers and brochures, undated
  • Fundraising: Publicity: Flyers of other candidates, undated
  • Fundraising: Publicity: Newspaper clippings - 1975-1979
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 3:
  • Fundraising: Publicity: Radio and print ads - 1975, 1979
  • Candidacy statement and positions - 1984
  • Correspondence - 1984
  • Fundraising - 1984
  • Material for speeches - 1984
  • Organization: Lists of workers and potential workers - 1984
  • Organization: Voter analysis - 1980, 1982
  • Publicity: Flyers and brochures - 1984
  • Publicity: Flyers of other candidates - 1984
  • Publicity: Newspaper clippings - 1984
  • Miscellaneous - 1984
  • Sub-Series: State Representative
  • Box 3:
  • Candidacy statement, position papers, speeches - 1986
  • Candidacy statement, position papers, speeches - 1988
  • Candidacy statement, position papers, speeches - 1990
  • Candidacy statement, position papers, speeches - 1992
  • Correspondence - 1986
  • Correspondence - 1990
  • Fundraising: Disclosure reports - 1986-1989
  • Box 4:
  • Fundraising: Disclosure reports - 1990-1994
  • Iowa Campaign Finance Disclosure Commission: Information and Materials - 1986, 1990
  • Iowa Campaign Finance Disclosure Commission: Manual for compliance, undated
  • Journal - 1986, 1988
  • List of potential donors - 1984-1992
  • Solicitations - 1986-1992
  • Nomination papers - 1986-1992
  • Organization: Assistance from Iowa Democratic Party - 1986
  • Organization: Mailing lists - 1992
  • Organization: Map of district - 1981
  • Organization: Yard sign placements, undated
  • Box 5:
  • General (4 folders) - 1990-1992
  • Publicity: Brochures and ads - 1986
  • Publicity: Brochures and ads - 1992
  • AC 834: Publicity: Brochures and ads, radio ads - 1992
  • Publicity: 'Mary Neuhauser' buttons - 1994
  • Publicity: Newspaper clippings - 1986-1992
  • Publicity: Photographs - 1986
  • Sub-Series: State Senate
  • Box 5:
  • Candidacy statement - 1994
  • Correspondence - 1994
  • Fundraising: Disclosure reports - 1993-1999
  • Fundraising: Guidelines from Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board - 1993, 1995, 1998
  • Fundraising: Iowa Democratic Party - 1994-1995
  • Fundraising: Lists of potential donors - 1990-1995
  • Issue papers - 1993
  • Nominating papers - 1994
  • Organization: Guidelines for candidates from Secretary of State - 1994
  • Organization: Iowa Democratic Party - 1994
  • Organization: Political consultants and public relations firms - 1993, 1994
  • Organization: Miscellaneous - 1993, 1994
  • Photographs - 1990-1999
  • Other candidates' campaigns: Jean Lloyd Jones fans, artifacts, undated
  • Box 6:
  • John Culver for U. S. Senate - 1980
  • Miscellaneous candidates - 1991, 1994, 1995
  • Series 4: LOCAL GOVERNMENT
  • Sub-Series: Citizens' Committee on City Revenues
  • Box 6:
  • General - 1986-1987
  • Sub-Series: City Council
  • Box 6:
  • Articles by Neuhauser - 1978, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1985
  • Background for articles and speeches, undated
  • Boards and commissions - 1968, 1971-1975
  • Correspondence - 1974-1984
  • Council-manager relations - 1975, 1976
  • Decision making procedures - 1975
  • Description of budget process, undated
  • Goals and objectives - 1976-77
  • Hearing on budget request before State Appeal Board - 1976
  • International conferences - 1977, 1983
  • League of Iowa Municipalities - 1981, 1983
  • Management by objective conference - 1975
  • National League of Cities - 1979
  • Newspaper clippings - 1975-1983
  • 'Notes on being mayor,' by Neuhauser, undated
  • Speeches - 1981, 1983
  • State of the city addresses - 1976-1983
  • Survey by Iowa Public Interest Research Group - 1977
  • Box 7:
  • Testimony before state and national committees - 1977, 1978, 1983
  • Miscellaneous - 1975, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1983
  • Sub-Series: Riverfront Commission
  • Box 7:
  • Projects and memos - 1973-1982
  • Reports and recommendations - 1973, 1979
  • Worksheets from inventory walks - 1971-1972
  • Series 5: STATE GOVERNMENT
  • Sub-Series: Commissions
  • Box 7:
  • Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations - 1982-1983
  • Merit Employment Commission: General - 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985
  • Box 8:
  • Affirmative action plan - 1984
  • Grievances: Mary Frances Linnane - 1985
  • Grievances: James Peterson - 1985
  • Reports: Iowa Merit Employment Department: Annual report - 1984
  • Reports: Iowa Merit Employment Department: Job analysis questionnaire - 1977
  • Reports: Iowa Merit Employment Department: Pay plans - 1985-1986
  • Reports: 'The Cost of Pay Equity in Public and Private Employment,' - 1984
  • Reports: 'The Implementation of Comparable Worth in Iowa,' undated
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence (6 folders) - 1987
  • Correspondence - 1988
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence (4 folders) - 1988
  • Correspondence - 1990
  • Correspondence - 1991
  • Correspondence (4 folders) - 1992
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence (4 folders) - 1992
  • Correspondence (6 folders) - 1993
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1993
  • Correspondence (4 folders) - 1994
  • Correspondence (6 folders) - 1995
  • Box 12:
  • Correspondence (3 folders) - 1995
  • Correspondence (4 folders) - 1996
  • Correspondence (3 folders) - 1997
  • Box 13:
  • Correspondence - 1997
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1998
  • Sub-Series: Legislative career
  • Box 13:
  • Administrative: Personal - 1988, 1991-1994, 1997
  • Administrative: Policies and programs - 1986-1987, 1992-1994
  • Constituent work: Media - 1986-1988, 1990, 1992
  • Constituent work: Newsletters - 1988-1989, 1992, 1994, 1997
  • Handwritten notes: Drafts of speeches, letters and articles - 1992
  • Handwritten notes: Legislative issues, undated (2 folders)
  • Handwritten notes: Summaries of articles, undated
  • Letter to Don Avenson - 1986
  • Newspaper clippings - 1987, 1990, 1994, 1997, 1998
  • Photograph, undated
  • Political events: Invitation to Clinton inauguration - 1992
  • Political events: Reception for Donna Shalala - 1994
  • Report on trip to Russia - 1995
  • 'Survive and Thrive at Decision-making Meetings,' by Neuhauser - 1984
  • Series 6: TOPICAL FILES AND LEGISLATION
  • Box 13:
  • Abortion
  • Newspaper clippings - 1989, 1991, 1992
  • Parental notification: Bills - 1991, 1994
  • Parental notification: Challenge to Davenport ordinance - 1996
  • Parental notification: Correspondence: Neuhauser - 1990, 1991, 1993, 1997
  • Box 14:
  • Parental notification: Correspondence
  • Parental notification: Correspondence: Wayne McKinney - 1991
  • Parental notification: Resource materials - 1990, 1991, 1992
  • Parental notification: Statutes of other states - 1989, 1990, 1992
  • Printed materials: Guide for Pro-choice Catholics - 1990
  • Printed materials: 'Hazardous Working Conditions and Fetal Protection Policies,' - 1989
  • Printed materials: National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League (NARAL)
  • Printed materials: State by state Review of Abortion Rights - 1992
  • Printed materials: State by state Review of Abortion Rights - 1993
  • Box 15:
  • Printed materials: 'Our Daughters' Decisions,' undated
  • Printed materials: 'Pregnancy Clauses in Living Will Statutes,' - 1987
  • Printed materials: Religious Coalition for Abortion Rights - 1991
  • Printed materials: 'Winning with Choice,' - 1992
  • Printed materials: 'The Battle over Abortion: Seeking Common Ground in a Divided Nation,' - 1990
  • Adoption - 1993-1995
  • Agriculture and natural resources budget - 1994
  • Alcohol - 1991, 1998
  • Alternative telephone regulations - 1993
  • Appropriations bills: Capitals and standings - 1994
  • Appropriations bills: Regulation - 1993
  • Budget: Bills - 1991, 1994
  • Budget: Impact of federal on state - 1992-1993
  • Budget: Reform and analysis - 1991, 1993
  • Budget: Spending limits - 1991-1992
  • Campaign finance reform bills - 1992, 1993
  • Campaign finance reform bills - 1995, 1997-1998
  • Children: Abduction of George children - 1991-1992
  • Children: Abuse - 1994-1996
  • Box 16:
  • Child Support: Advisory Committee - 1995
  • Child Support: Advisory Committee - 1996, 1998
  • Child Support: Bills - 1994, 1996
  • Child Support: Recovery (2 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Children's rights - 1989, 1994
  • Daycare: Capitol Complex Child Day Care - 1990, 1995
  • Daycare: Child care and development block grant - 1991-1992
  • Daycare: Federal programs - 1990
  • Daycare: Resources and clippings - 1985-1991
  • Daycare: Statewide child care advisory committee: Bills - 1992
  • Daycare Statewide child care advisory committee: Minutes - 1991-1994
  • Box 17:
  • Daycare Statewide child care advisory committee: Minutes (2 folders) - 1991-1994
  • Statewide child care advisory committee, standards subcommittee - 1991
  • University child care programs - 1989-1990
  • Foster care - 1994
  • Printed materials and agencies: Children's Agenda - 1989
  • Printed materials and agencies: Healthy Opportunities for Parents to Experience Success (HOPES) - 1994
  • Kids Count: Annual reports - 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995
  • Kids Count: Miscellaneous - 1991-1996
  • Miscellaneous - 1991-1994
  • Compensation Commission - 1997
  • Death penalty: Bills - 1993-1994
  • Death penalty: Bills - 1995, 1997
  • Death penalty: Correspondence - 1993-1996
  • Death penalty: Materials and statements opposing - 1992-1994, 1997
  • Death penalty: Newspaper clippings - 1991-1994
  • Dealth penalty: Scholarly work: Articles on deterrence - 1975, 1986, 1994
  • Dealth penalty: Scholarly work: Articles on Iowa - 1991, 1993
  • Scholarly work: 'Death Penalty Issues, An Ethics Course: Learning Both Sides' by Dale Miller of Drake University - 1990
  • Box 18:
  • Democrats: End-of-session legislative packet - 1997
  • Democrats: House Democratic caucuses - 1991
  • Democrats: Miscellaneous - 1991, 1994
  • Domestic abuse - 1993-1994
  • Drug testing - 1992-1993
  • Drugs - 1993-1995
  • Economic development: Alternatives to economic development incentive wars between the states - 1996-1997
  • Economic development: Community empowerment areas - 1992, 1998
  • Economic development: Complaint from Susan Reynolds, union steward - 1995
  • Economic development: Dispute with Clara Oleson - 1995
  • Economic development: Ipsco, Inc. - 1993-1994
  • Economic development: 'Making work pay,' - 1992
  • Economic development: Resource Enhancement and Protection (REAP) funds and other issues - 1993
  • Economic development: 'State and local initiatives on development subsidies,' - 1988
  • Economic development: Wallace Technology Transfer Foundation - 1992
  • Education: American Association of University Women report - 1992
  • Education: 'Assessing the Educational Needs of Iowa's Homeless,' - 1991
  • Education: At-risk: Bills - 1988
  • Education: At-risk: Complaint about Cedar Rapids program - 1991
  • Education: At-risk: Handwritten notes, undated
  • Education: At-risk: Iowa Business Council's Subcommittee - 1988
  • Box 19:
  • Education: At-risk: legislative committees - 1987-1995
  • Education: At-risk: Report from Iowa City committee - 1990
  • Education: At-risk: State-funded grants and programs - 1989-1994
  • Education: At-risk: Urban Education Network task force - 1989, 1991
  • Attendance - 1991-1992, 1997
  • Board of Education legislative initiatives - 1991, 1993
  • Board of Regents - 1993-1996
  • 'Building Ideal Schools,' speech by William Lepley, Director of Iowa Department of Education - 1989
  • Child Labor Alliance for School and Society at West High in Iowa City - 1991
  • Class size - 1995, 1997
  • Clear Creek-Amana merger - 1994
  • 'Computers in the Schools,' article by Neuhauser - 1998
  • Conference on property taxes and education - 1995
  • Correspondence - 1993
  • Department of Education outcome initiatives - 1992
  • Early Childhood (6 folders) - 1984-1998
  • Box 20:
  • Education Task Force of the Iowa Commission on the Status of African Americans - 1995
  • Enrollments - 1996-1998
  • Family resource centers: Bills (2 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Family resource centers: Des Moines Family Learning Center - 1974, 1978
  • Family resource centers: Grants - 1992, 1994
  • Federal and state programs - 1994
  • First in the Nation in Education (FINE) - 1994-1998
  • Higher education: Public hearing on graduate education - 1992
  • Higher education: Testimony of United Students of Iowa on public funding - 1992
  • House Education Committee minutes - 1993-1994
  • Iowa City Collaborative Integration Project - 1992-1993
  • Iowa Youth and Task Force - 1988, 2000
  • Phase III program - 1991-1992
  • Reform: Business and Education Roundtable - 1990-1992
  • Reform: 'Children in Need,' testimony of Owen Butler in Congress - 1987
  • K-12 Education Reform Study Committee: Final report - 1993
  • K-12 Education Reform Study Committee: Handwritten notes, undated
  • Box 21:
  • K-12 Education Reform Study Committee: Minutes and notes (2 folders) - 1991-1992
  • K-12 Education Reform Study Committee: Newspaper clippings - 1991
  • K-12 Education Reform Study Committee, subcommittee reports (2 folders) - 1992
  • New Iowa Schools Development Corporation - 1991, 1992
  • Policy Academy for Systematic Educational Reform - 1995
  • Box 22:
  • Policy Academy for Systematic Educational Reform: Miscellaneous - 1990-1991
  • Reports from school districts - 1988-1992
  • School safety - 1994
  • Special education funding - 1992-1993
  • State aid - 1991-1993
  • Summer education - 1990-1991
  • Vocational education - 1991-1992
  • Workplace learning - 1993-1995
  • Miscellaneous, bills and legislative priorities - 1992-1996
  • Miscellaneous, issues - 1993-1994, 1998
  • Elder affairs: Caregivers - 1996-1997
  • Elder affairs: Iowa Aging Coalition - 1993
  • Elder affairs: Long term care ombudsperson - 1996-1998
  • Energy and environment: Bills: Energy efficiency - 1990
  • Energy and environment: Bills: Energy efficient transportation - 1991
  • Energy and environment: Bills: Energy independence - 1991
  • Energy and environment: Bills: Environmental trust fund - 1992-1993
  • Energy and environment: 'Earth Charter and Agenda 21 for Iowa,' Iowa Division, United Nations Association - 1994
  • Energy and environment: Miscellaneous - 1995-1996
  • Box 23:
  • Ethics: Bills: Ethics reform - 1992
  • Ethics: Bills: Ethics rewrite - 1993
  • Committees: General - 1992-1994
  • Committees: Advisory opinions - 1992-1994
  • Committees: Minutes - 1992-1994, 1997
  • Complaints - 1992-1995
  • Miscellaneous - 1992-1994
  • Film office - 1992-1994
  • Flood of 1993: Anonymous speech - 1993
  • Franchise law - 1994
  • Gambling - 1990, 1993
  • Granny flats - 1986
  • Gun control: Bills - 1992-1993
  • Gun control: Brady Bill - 1992
  • Gun control: Conference: 'Handgun Injuries,' January - 1992
  • Box 24:
  • Handwritten notes, undated
  • Local organizations - 1991-1992
  • Newspaper clippings - 1991-1993
  • Task force, correspondence and testimony - 1992-1993
  • Task force, minutes and reports - 1991-1993
  • Task force, public hearings - 1992
  • Health care bills (2 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Conference, ' Iowa at the Crossroads' - 1991
  • Democrats' reports - 1991-1994
  • Input from organizations - 1993, 1997
  • Iowa Health Reform Council, summit meeting - 1993
  • Iowa Health Reform Council, subcommittee for children and adolescents (2 folders) - 1993
  • Box 25:
  • Maternal and child health - 1991, 1996
  • Medicare/Medicaid reform - 1995-1996
  • Medicaid and managed care in Iowa - 1995-1996
  • Mental health - 1990-1994
  • Rural health - 1990, 1995
  • Women's health - 1993-1994
  • Miscellaneous - 1991-1996
  • Helmet law - 1993-1995
  • Hog confinement - 1994, 1997
  • Independent living - 1990, 1992
  • Infrastructure - 1993-1997
  • Innovation zones (3 folders) - 1996-1998
  • Box 26:
  • International relations - 1992-1996
  • Iowa Administrative Procedures Act: Correspondence and comments - 1996-1998
  • Iowa Administrative Procedures Act: Iowa Bar Association revision - 1997
  • Iowa Administrative Procedures Act: Study committee - 1996-1998
  • Iowa Communications Network: General (3 folders) - 1990-1998
  • Iowa Communications Network: Bills - 1993-1994, 1997
  • Iowa Communications Network: Fiber optics and telecommunications study committee (3 folders) - 1993-1994
  • Health and educational applications - 1993, 1997
  • V290: Health demonstration video: 'ICN Demonstration at Iowa Methodist Center,' July 22 - 1993
  • Box 27:
  • History - 1993
  • Iowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission - 1997-1998
  • Newspaper clippings - 1991-1994
  • Part III implementation - 1995
  • Rate structure - 1997
  • Reports - 1995-1996
  • Iowa Prison Industries - 1996-1998
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Bankruptcy exemptions - 1996
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Crime - 1995
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Divorce - 1985-1995
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Exotic animals - 1996
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Family mediation - 1997
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Nonconsensual termination of pregnancy - 1995
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Sexual predators - 1997
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: State judicial nominating committee - 1993-1996
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Victims' rights - 1995-1997
  • Judiciary and law enforcement committee: Bills: Miscellaneous - 1993-1996
  • Crime and punishment: 6 th Judicial District Department of Correctional Services - 1994-1996
  • Box 28:
  • Crime and punishment: Iowa Corrections Association, undated
  • Crime and punishment: Senate crime committee - 1995
  • Crime and punishment: Sex offender treatment program - 1995
  • Crime and punishment: Tough on crime committee - 1995
  • Equality in the Courts Task Force Report - 1994-1995
  • "Juries: to be praised or damned?": Speech by Judge Harold Vietor - 1996
  • Juvenile justice: Bills (2 folders) - 1993-1996
  • Box 29:
  • Juvenile justice: Bills - 1993-1996
  • Juvenile justice: Bills: Children in need of assistance - 1992
  • Juvenile justice: Bills: Crime and punishment - 1990-1997
  • Juvenile justice: Bills: Female offenders - 1993
  • Juvenile justice: Bills: Juvenile court conference - 1997
  • Juvenile justice: Bills: Reports - 1994-1995
  • Juvenile justice: Minutes - 1993-1994
  • Juvenile justice: Miscellaneous - 1995-1996
  • Labor fact sheet, undated
  • Mary's bills - 1990-1998
  • Box 30:
  • Mary's bills (4 folders) - 1990-1998
  • Legislative Oversight committee (3 folders) - 1997-1998
  • Legislative Oversight Committee - 1998, 2000
  • Oversight, Audit, and Government Reform Appropriations Subcommittee, long term care review (7 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Oversight, Audit, and Government Reform Appropriations Subcommittee, minutes - 1995
  • Box 31:
  • Oversight, Audit, and Government Reform Appropriations Subcommittee, Neuhauser's notebook - 1996
  • Oversight, Audit, and Government Reform Appropriations Subcommittee, review of agencies and issues (5 folders) - 1996
  • Oversight, Audit, and Government Reform Committee (2 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Oversight and Communication Appropriations Subcommittee (5 folders) - 1997-1998
  • Box 32:
  • Oversight and Communication Appropriations Subcommittee (2 folders) - 1997-1998
  • Plum Grove Advisory Committee - 1994
  • Public employees' retirement systems - 1994
  • Rape victim confidentiality (8 folders) - 1977-1991
  • Same-sex marriage - 1997
  • Smoking - 1993
  • Solid waste - 1993-1994
  • Speed limits - 1996
  • Stalking - 1993-1994
  • Substitute decision-makers: Guardianship law reform - 1994-1996
  • Box 33:
  • Substitute decision-makers: Task force (2 folders) - 1991-1996
  • Taxes: General - 1987-1996
  • Taxes: Business - 1993-1997
  • Taxes: Citizens for Tax Justice - 1992, 1996
  • Taxes: Income - 1989-1997
  • Taxes: Machinery and equipment - 1993, 1995
  • Taxes: Property - 1992-1996
  • Taxes: Tax Increment Financing (TIF) (2 folders) - 1992-1994
  • Miscellaneous Bills - 1991-1996
  • Taxpayers' rights: Bill of Rights (2 folders) - 1993-1994
  • Box 34:
  • Taxpayers' rights: Bill of Rights (2 folders) - 1993-1994
  • Taxpayers' rights: Stanley Amendment - 1990-1993
  • Title insurance - 1995-1996
  • Tort reform - 1995, 1997
  • Transportation: Bills - 1992-1995
  • Transportation: Newspaper clippings - 1991-1992
  • University of Iowa - 1986-1995
  • Visiting Nurse Association grievance - 1997
  • Voting record (3 folders) - 1997
  • Ways and Means Committee: Bills and materials - 1991-1994
  • Ways and Means Committee: Minutes - 1993-1994
  • Welfare reform: Ad hoc task force - 1992
  • Welfare reform: Bills and programs: ' Iowa Works' - 1992
  • Box 35:
  • Bills and programs, State Human Investment Policy (SHIP) (2 folders) - 1993-1994
  • Bills and programs, welfare independence - 1992
  • Children's issues - 1992-1998
  • Domestic violence - 1996
  • Immigrants - 1996-1997
  • Reports: Profile of Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) Recipients in Iowa - 1991
  • Reports: Vocational-Technical Education in Iowa Focusing on Single Parents/Displaced Homemakers - 1991
  • Reports: Welfare Reform Advisory Group - 1997
  • Reports: Welfare Reform in Iowa: Options & Opportunities, by Iowa Business Council - 1989
  • Teen parenthood - 1995-1996
  • Miscellaneous - 1992-1998
  • Women: Insurance discrimination - 1983
  • Women: Iowa Commission on the Status of Women - 1990, 1993
  • Women: State ERA - 1998
  • Women: Miscellaneous - 1989-1996