Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dorothy Bondurant papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1999
Creator: Bondurant, Dorothy (1908-2002)
Extent: 3.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0451
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Waterloo music educator and multicultural programs coordinator.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 660) were donated by Dorothy Bondurant in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Dorothy Bondurant papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Music educator Dorothy Bondurant was born September 29, 1908, in Waterloo, Iowa. She graduated from West High School in 1926. Bondurant received a Bachelor of Music degree in organ, piano, and composition at the American Conservatory, Chicago, in 1929. In 1932, she earned an M.A. at the University of Iowa. She taught music methodology at the University of Dubuque from 1930-1932. Bondurant also taught summer sessions at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, and at the University of Nevada.

In 1935, Bondurant joined the Waterloo Community Schools as the Elementary Instrumental Music Supervisor. In the 1960s-1970s, she coordinated cultural programs for K-12 students in the Waterloo Schools. After retiring in 1976, Bondurant worked as Arts Coordinator at the Waterloo Recreation and Arts Center.

Bondurant published articles in a variety of state and national journals for music professionals. She also wrote and arranged music for instructing elementary school orchestras and bands. The Willis Music Company published this material in 1957 as Music of America. Bondurant also wrote about how to set up educational dance programs across the United States and worked with the Iowa Arts Council on evaluating Iowa arts programs.

Bondurant was involved in numerous community organizations. She served as president of the Waterloo Woman's Club, the American Association of University Women, the Friday Study Club, and the B Natural Music Club. She was also active in the LMI Music Club, the Cedar Arts Forum, the Delta Omicron Music Sorority, and the United Way. Bondurant also served on the Friends of the Symphony board, the Goodwill Auxiliary board, the Junior Gallery board, and the board of the First United Methodist Church. She also played in the Waterloo/Cedar Falls Symphony for 27 years. When she retired to Friendship Village, Bondurant offered music appreciation classes to the residents. Bondurant passed away in 2002.

The Dorothy Bondurant papers date from 1926 to 1999 and measure 3.75 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Teaching materials: Waterloo Community Schools; Waterloo Recreation and Arts Center: Biographical; Cultural explorations program; Iowa Arts Council; Photographs; Slides; and Scrapbooks.

The Teaching materials: Waterloo Community Schools series (1943-1983, and undated) includes music education journals, dance programs, directions for making instruments, newspaper clippings concerning cultural programs in the schools, and collections of music.

Newspaper articles, information about the 'generation to generation' program, and one pamphlet concerning the Waterloo Recreation and Arts Center are contained in the series Waterloo recreation and arts center (1981-1982; 1998).

The Biographical series contains several informational pamphlets about Friendship Village, the retirement center where Bondurant lived; graduation programs, a descriptive list of Bondurant's accomplishments and awards, and several newspaper articles about Bondurant; and Bondurant's diploma from the University of Iowa, along with various certificates of accomplishment and appreciation.

The Cultural explorations program series (1972-1985, scattered) contains newspaper clippings, annual reports, student poems, and thank you letters while programs and meeting presentation notes are contained in the Iowa Arts Council series (1974; 1978, and undated).

The Photographs series contains portrait photographs of Bondurant and photographs of Bondurant at work, as well as two photograph albums containing mostly unidentified photographs of family and friends.

The Slides series consists of two slide trays titled 'Cultural expo elementary' and two trays titled 'River Hills.'

The Scrapbooks series (1926-1993) constitutes the bulk of the Bondurant papers. Bondurant's scrapbooks contain letters, photographs, newspaper articles, theater programs, and ticket stubs, many of which concern her teaching.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Teaching Materials: Waterloo Community Schools
Series 2: Waterloo Recreation and Arts Center
Series 3: Biographical
Series 4: Cultural Explorations Program ( Waterloo)
Series 5: Iowa Arts Council
Series 6: Photographs
Series 7: Slides
Series 8: Scrapbooks

  • Series 1: Teaching Materials: Waterloo Community Schools
  • Box 1:
  • Grade school music festivals - 1943
  • Grade school music festivals - 1945
  • Music educator journals - 1952-1965, 1980
  • Instrument making - 1952
  • Cultural Understandings through the Arts - 1964
  • Community Schools Make News - 1967-1971
  • Midland Schools - 1972
  • Dance programs - 1972-1977
  • Photographs of program participants - 1972-1989
  • Presentations - 1977
  • Children with disabilities - 1981
  • Sepia arts - 1983
  • Elementary instrumental music, undated
  • Music of our land, undated
  • Music of our world, undated
  • Series 2: Waterloo Recreation and Arts Center
  • Box 1:
  • Waterloo Recreation and Arts Center - 1981-1982, 1998
  • Box 2:
  • "Generation to Generation" - 1982
  • Series 3: Biographical
  • Box 2:
  • Accomplishments - 1932-1999
  • Certificates - 1930-1993
  • Friendship Village - 1990-1999
  • Series 4: Cultural Explorations Program ( Waterloo)
  • Box 2:
  • Junior high school student poems - 1972-1977
  • River Hills arts program - 1983-1985
  • Children's thank you letters - 1968-1976
  • Cultural explorations program - 1967-1976
  • Series 5: Iowa Arts Council
  • Box 2:
  • Community arts councils of Iowa program - 1974
  • Annual state meeting presentation notes - 1978
  • Series 6: Photographs
  • Box 2:
  • Portrait photographs - 1988, 1997-1998
  • Teaching photographs, undated
  • Photograph album, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Photograph album, undated
  • Series 7: Slides
  • Box 3:
  • Cultural expo elementary - 1952, 1974-1976
  • Cultural expo elementary - 1969-1976
  • River Hills - 1952, 1974-1976
  • River Hills - 1981-1986
  • Series 8: Scrapbooks
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbook - 1926-1934
  • Scrapbook - 1930-1932
  • Scrapbook - 1934-1968
  • Box 5:
  • Scrapbook - 1930-1943
  • Box 6:
  • Scrapbook - 1941-1993
  • Box 7:
  • Scrapbook - 1951-1974
  • Box 8:
  • Scrapbook - 1970-1971
  • Scrapbook - 1971-1972
  • Scrapbook - 1972-1973
  • Scrapbook - 1973
  • Box 9:
  • Scrapbook - 1973-1974
  • Scrapbook - 1974
  • Scrapbook - 1976-1981
  • Box 10:
  • Scrapbook - 1974-1976
  • Box 11:
  • Retirement - 1976
  • Box 12:
  • Scrapbook - 1981-1986