Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Trimble Family papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1879-1999
Creator: Trimble Family
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0427
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Reminiscences of Gladys Trimble Leith and Marie Jeffers about their mother, Mary Pyle Trimble as well as their own childhood.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 240) were donated by Marie Jeffers in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Trimble Family papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary Pyle, born March 20, 1884 moved to rural northwestern Iowa as a child. She married James Trimble in 1906, had thirteen children and farmed as a family until they retired to Rolfe, Iowa in1948. Their eldest daughter, Gladys Trimble Leith was born in 1907. She also married a farmer and raised six children on their family farm. Her younger sister Marie Trimble Jeffers also became a farmer. Jeffers wrote "Memories of My Mom" and compiled and contributed this collection.

The Trimble Family papers date from 1879to 1999 and measure one linear inch. The collection contains the reminiscences of Gladys Trimble Leith entitled, "Stories Told by Gladys, 1989" and "Memories of Mom," by Marie Jeffers. The sketches contain the sisters' recollections about their mother Mary Pyle Trimble as well as their own childhood experiences. They also recount intimate details of growing up female on a northwestern Iowa farm-farm chores, health and illness, marriage, childbirth and other humorous incidents. This collection also includes photocopies of letters from Mary Trimble to her grandson about his intention to become a jet pilot and photocopies of family photographs, a brief Pyle family history, and death certificates of various family members.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.