Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Shale and Wolf Families letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1878-1999
Creator: Shale And Wolf Families
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0425
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Family correspondence recording farm life in northern Iowa and the Dakota territory, primarily from a farm woman's perspective.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The letters are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The letters (donor no. 620) were donated by Nita McLaughlin in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Shale and Wolf Families letters, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sophia Shale, Wisconsin-born, farm woman, married Henry Wolf and moved with him to Hampton, Iowa. One of her sisters, Mary Shale, married David Wolf, a brother of Henry Wolf; another sister Lizzie Shale married a cousin of David and Henry Wolf named William Seipp. The Wolf family had moved to Wisconsin in 1849 and their sons, in turn, moved with their wives to Iowa and the Dakota Territory between 1849 and the 1880s. The sisters continued to write to each other and to their parents, Christian and Margaret Shale, who remained near Baraboo, Wisconsin. A biographical sketch of the family members, written by the donor, is included in the collection.

The Shale-Wolf letters were written between 1878 and 1892 and measure one linear inch. The collection consists of typescript copies of the correspondence between the sisters and their kin, discussing important events in farm life in northern Iowa and the Dakota Territory--agricultural production, child rearing, family interactions, household chores, farm prices, and climate--primarily from a farm woman's perspective.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.