Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Nellie Booker papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1910-1919
Creator: Booker, Nellie (1918-2002)
Extent: 3.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0421
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Newspaper reporter and author of poems and essays. The collection includes scrapbooks and photograph albums.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 613) were donated by Nellie Booker in 1999, and through Evelyn Birkby in succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Nellie Booker papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Nellie Pakison Booker was born in 1918 in Riverton, Iowa. She was an only child and began reading books and writing poetry at the age of eight. She graduated from Riverton High School in 1936 and married James E. Booker in 1941. The couple had two sons, Norman and Roger. Nellie Booker became a newspaper reporter in 1934 and worked for six newspapers in the course of her career. She published her first poetry book when she was eighty years old. Booker died in 2002.

The Nellie Booker papers date from the 1910s to 1999 and measure 3.25 linear feet. The bulk of the collection consists of Booker's scrapbooks and photograph albums, which include family photographs, some of which are identified and dated, copies of Booker's columns, and clippings from local newspapers. The autobiographical writings consist of drafts of Booker's poems and essays; many are handwritten, and a few were written in her childhood years. A collection of essays from the late 1990s and the book of poetry Booker published in 1998 complete the collection. Booker's poems, essays, and reminiscences deal with religious beliefs, child-raising, farm life, Saturday nights in a small town, home remedies, early cosmetics, the 'funny papers,NULL holiday preparations, and many other topics.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Nellie Booker

  • Series 1: Nellie Booker
  • Box 1:
  • General
  • "Down Memory Lane" - 1999
  • Poetry by Nellie - 1998
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Box 2:
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Poems and autobiographical writings
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1910-1959
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1910-1959
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1910-1959
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1910-1959
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1910-1959
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Box 5:
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1950-1989
  • Box 6:
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Box 7:
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1980-1999
  • Box 8:
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1990-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1990-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1990-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1990-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1990-1999
  • Scrapbooks and photograph albums - 1990-1999

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Booker, Nellie, 1918-2002

Dates:
1910-1919

Topics:
Women

Occupations:
Reporters
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Riverton

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Scrapbooks
Photograph albums