Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1996
Creator: Scanlan, Winnifred Hiatt (1909-1997)
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0419
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Memoir of growing up in Stockport, Iowa.

Arrangement: Two books, shelved in printed works collection [99-373 and 99-374].

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been retained by the donor.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 603) were donated by Connie, Padget, and Kevin Scanlan in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Winnifred Hiatt was born to parents Emily and Arthur Hiatt in Stockport, Iowa in 1909. Her father owned the town pharmacy and also served as mayor and a bank official. After her mother's untimely death, an English aunt helped raise Winnifred and her older sister. Just after World War II, Winnifred Hiatt married Joseph Scanlan of Chicago, Illinois and the couple settled in Westchester, Illinois. They raised three children, Connie, Padget, and Kevin.

Winnifred Scanlan worked as a surgical secretary for a suburban hospital most of her adult life. She also participated in many courses and seminars to accommodate her love of writing. Throughout her life, she appreciated travel and the arts. She was a painter, pianist, and writer of prose and poetry. Besides her children, Scanlan considered her two books, Once Upon a Long Ago and Potpourri, to be her proudest accomplishments. She passed away in 1997.

The Winnifred Hiatt Scanlan papers date from1996 and measure 0.5 linear inches. The papers consist of two self-published books, Once Upon a Long Ago, a memoir of growing up in Stockport, Iowa at the beginning of the twentieth century, and Potpourri, a book of intimate poetry dealing with many of her life experiences.
 
Once Upon a Long Ago is an extensive look back at many aspects of Scanlan's childhood. She gives a broad glimpse into what life was like in Stockport during her youth, remembering unique citizens, movies, and shopping. Many memories are recollections of her father and of the pharmacy he owned and ran. The seasons are remembered vividly. Winter and summer elicit strong feelings and remembrance. Scanlan also writes of losing her mother at a young age but of her fond relationship with her Aunt Ettie. Various stories are recalled such as her tonsillectomy, the train, and school tales.
 
Scanlan's book of poetry, Potpourri, is organized into eleven categories: Once Upon a Time, Heartkeeping, God's World, Kaleidoscope, Pathways: Early Yearnings, Kith 'n Kin, Nature, Potpourri, and Shadows. This is an introspective look into all aspects of Scanlan's life as a child through adulthood.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.