Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cora Eversmeyer papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1848-1950
Creator: Eversmeyer, Cora (1876-1952)
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0418
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The daughter of a German immigrant who was born and raised on a farm in Lee County, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 1.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 609) were donated by Mary Helen Stewart in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Cora Eversmeyer papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Born July 4, 1876, Cora Wende was the youngest of the six daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Wende of Keokuk, Iowa. Her father Henry Wende was an immigrant from Germany and made his living as a farmer in Lee County, Iowa. Cora Wende attended Chicago University in Muscatine, Iowa where she received the Second Kilbourne Prize for her academic achievement. She married physician B. E. Eversmeyer in July 1909; they had two daughters, Margaret and Bernice. Bernice Eversmeyer become a physician and also married a physician. Cora Eversmeyer taught fifth through seventh grades in Keokuk. She died at the age of 76 in 1952.

The Cora Eversmeyer papers date from 1848 to 1950 and measure 2 linear inches. The papers are comprised of correspondence, family history, German books, and photographs. The correspondence in German comes from family members living in Germany and from a German immigrant family residing in Pennsylvania. The correspondence in English is addressed to the Eversmeyer family from Cora Eversmeyer's uncle and contains information about his life as a soldier. The family history folder includes biographical and professional information about Cora Eversmeyer's husband, B. E. Eversmeyer, her nephew Walter H. Peters, and her son-in-law Gerald Brown. Photographs of Cora Eversmeyer's uncle and his wife and two German books complete the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORA EVERSMEYER

  • Series 1: CORA EVERSMEYER
  • Box 1:
  • German correspondence - 1868-1874
  • Correspondence - 1898
  • Family history
  • Swedish books - 1847, 1851
  • Photographs