Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Suzanne Bunkers papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-1999
Creator: Bunkers, Suzanne (1950- )
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: IWA0415
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: This English professor and diarist wrote about academic life, current events, politics, feminism, travel, sexuality, divorce, motherhood, grief, and health.

Access: The papers are open for research, with the exception of diary 50, which is closed until 2017.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been retained by the donor. Preferred Citation: Box #, Suzanne Bunkers Diaries, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 604) were donated by Suzanne Bunkers in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Suzanne Bunkers papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Suzanne Lillian Bunkers, English professor and diarist, was born in 1950 in Granville, Iowa, to Verna Klein Bunkers and Jerome A. Bunkers. She attended Iowa State University, graduating with a BS in English education with honors in 1972, and an MA in English literature in 1974. In 1980, Bunkers received a PhD in English from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She began teaching at Mankato State University (now Minnesota State University-Mankato) in 1980. Bunkers has written, edited, and co-edited several books about women diarists, several of which are at the University of Iowa Libraries (see below). She has one child, Rachel Susanna Bunkers.

The Suzanne Bunkers diaries date from 1970 to 1999 and measure 1 linear foot. In these fifty volumes of diaries, Bunkers wrote about academic life, current events, politics, feminism, travel, sexuality, divorce, motherhood, grief, and health. A folder of biographical information containing resumes and articles written by Bunkers completes the collection.
Iowa Women's Archives Records

Includes audiocassette of a panel discussion in which Bunkers participated at the 10th anniversary celebration of the Iowa Women's Archives on November 15, 2002. (AC 898)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Diaries

  • Series 1: Diaries
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information
  • 20 diaries - 1970-1980
  • Box 2:
  • 20 diaries - 1980-1987
  • Box 3:
  • 9 diaries - 1987-1990
  • Box 4:
  • 21 diaries - 1991-1996
  • Box 5:
  • 19 diaries - 1996-2002
  • Box 6:
  • 2 diaries [CLOSED] - 1990-1991

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bunkers, Suzanne L.

Corporate Names:
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Dates:
1970-1979
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
Women
Feminism
Motherhood
Sex

Occupations:
Diarists
College teachers
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Minneapolis -- Mankato

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Sound recordings