Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Linda Yanney papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-2000
Creator: Yanney, Linda
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0413
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City feminist and champion of LGBT rights.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 audiocassette [AC1326]

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 597) were donated by Linda Yanney in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Linda Yanney papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Linda Yanney attended Iowa Central Community College in Eagle Grove, Iowa, from 1972 to 1973 and Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa from 1973 to 1975. In 1978, she received a BA in English from the University of Iowa, where she received an MA in American Studies in 1984. Yanney's scholarly, activist, and volunteer interests coalesced around issues of equality, social justice, and advocacy.

While pursuing her PhD at the University of Iowa in the 1980s, Yanney designed and taught courses in American studies and women's studies, including courses on women in American culture and the history of farming in the United States. She also worked as a graduate assistant at the Labor Center, where she conducted research and taught continuing education programs. Yanney's research interests included social history and political movements. Her dissertation was titled, "The Practical Revolution: An Oral History of the Iowa City Feminist Community, 1965-1975." Yanney received a PhD in American Studies in 1991.

Yanney later worked as an advisor for several public interest organizations, including a statewide gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) AIDS policy group, the Emma Goldman Clinic for Women, and the Jean Lloyd-Jones for Senate campaign. While in graduate school, Yanney had worked on Jesse Jackson's 1988 presidential campaign. During the mid-1990s, Yanney worked as a co-director and HIV program coordinator at the Iowa City Free Medical Clinic. She recruited volunteers, trained staff, and organized community outreach for the clinic. From 1999 until 2001, Yanney directed the University Oral History Project at the University of Iowa.

Since the l970s, Linda Yanney championed GLBT and women's rights. In 1976, she lobbied the Iowa City Council to pass the first Iowa City Human Rights Ordinance, which included sexual orientation protections. In the late 1970s and early 1980s, she served on the advisory board for the Women's Resource and Action Center at the University of Iowa. In 1980, she was the co-chair of Citizens for Lighting and Safe Streets in Iowa City. She later served on the Johnson County Democratic Central Committee. In 1989, Yanney co-founded the Iowa Lesbian and Gay Political Caucus. Throughout this period, she was a member of the American Federation of Teachers, Local 716, AFL-CIO.

The Linda Yanney papers date from 1960 to 2000 and measure 3.5 linear feet.  The records are arranged in the following series: Academic files; Feminist activism; Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transsexual (GLBT); and Politics.

The Academic files series (1948-1991) includes program files, scholarly articles, and newsletters from several programs at the University of Iowa, including the Action Studies Program, the Afro-American Studies Program, and the Women's Studies Program, from the late 1960s until the mid-1980s.  The records of the UI Daycare Commission, which include minutes, newspaper clippings, and correspondence, complete this series.

The Feminist activism series (1974-1992) consists of organizational and academic materials.  It includes the agendas, minutes, correspondence, and newspaper clippings of organizations including the Women's Resource and Action Council and the Rape Victim Advocacy Program.  The series includes a 1989 interview conducted by Linda Yanney with Leona Durham, who served as an editor of the Daily Iowan in the early 1970s; Durham recounts being fired as editor because she was a feminist activist.  Durham also describes a demonstration held on the Pentacrest in the early 1970s to convince Student Health to supply birth control.  The interview also includes topics ranging from daycare at the University to the feminist movement in Iowa City.   Yanney's scholarly analyses of the Iowa City feminist movement, including her PhD Dissertation, complete this series.

The GLBT series (1972-2000) includes newsletters, newspaper clippings, and flyers from statewide and national gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender organizations.  The "Des Moines and Jonathan Wilson" folder includes information about a prominent Des Moines school board member who publicly acknowledged his homosexual identity in 1995.  Several small GLBT publications, most of which were published in Iowa City, complete the series.

The Politics series (1980-1992) consists of newsletters, flyers, and newspaper clippings that pertain to progressive politics in the 1980s and early 1990s.
The Women's Resource and Action Council (WRAC) records (IWA):  Women's center established in 1970 to serve the university and community. Yanney served on WRAC's advisory board in the late 1970s and early 1980s.
 
Jean Lloyd-Jones papers (IWA):  Yanney worked on Lloyd-Jones's unsuccessful bid for the U.S. Senate in 1992.
 
The University Archives Oral History Project Records  (Special Collections, University of Iowa Libraries):  Linda Yanney conducted or supervised interviews with forty-two people at the University of Iowa between 1999 and 2001.
 
Records of the New Wave Party (Special Collections, University of Iowa Libraries): Yanney was active in the New Wave Party, a progressive activist organization at the University of Iowa during the 1980s.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ACADEMIC FILES
Series 2: FEMINIST ACTIVISM
Series 3: GAY, LESBIAN, BISEXUAL, and TRANSGENDER (GLBT) ACTIVISM
Series 4: POLITICS

  • Series 1: ACADEMIC FILES
  • Sub-Series: Action Studies Program
  • Box 1:
  • Program files (folder 1) - 1968-1976
  • Program files (folder 2) - 1968-1976
  • Anarchism study group - 1972
  • O'Brien, "A History of the New Left, 1960-1968" - 1968
  • Women's poetry reading - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Afro-American Studies Program
  • Box 1:
  • Program files (folder 1) - 1968-1969, 1989
  • Program files (folder 2) - 1968-1969, 1989
  • Box 2:
  • "Afro-American History" course - 1969
  • "The Black Revolution and Its Leadership" course - 1948-1968
  • Sub-Series: Department of Physical Education and Dance
  • Box 2:
  • Women as Leaders: Feminism and Sport Workshop - 1982, 1983
  • Sub-Series: Women's Studies Program
  • Box 2:
  • Administration - 1981-1984
  • Notes and correspondence - 1980-1991
  • Event fliers - 1981-1990
  • "Iowa Women's Studies Newsletter" - 1979-1984
  • Midwest Region of the National Women's Studies Association - 1980-1982
  • National Women's Studies Association - 1980-1983, 1990
  • Box 3:
  • "Matrices: A Lesbian Feminist Research Newsletter" - 1982
  • Women at Iowa: Working, Teaching, Learning Conference - 1982
  • "Affirmative Action at the University of Iowa: The Distance Between Policy and Practice," UI Council on the Status of Women - 1987
  • Reading group - 1986-1987
  • Readings on employment, gender, and age - 1988
  • Readings on sexuality, undated
  • "Role of Women in America" course - 1971
  • "Topics in Women's Studies: The Feminist Movement" course pack (folder 1) - 1990
  • "Topics in Women's Studies: The Feminist Movement" course pack (folder 3) - 1990
  • "Topics in Women's Studies: The Feminist Movement" course pack (folder 3) - 1990
  • Pay stubs and telephone bill - 1988-1991
  • Sub-Series: American Studies Department, University of Iowa
  • Box 3:
  • "Farming in America: Myths, Reality, and Change" course - 1985-1989
  • Sub-Series: Student life and student services
  • Box 4:
  • Tuition boycott - 1969
  • Student Services/Academic Affairs Self-Study - 1975
  • Student Services Council (folder 1) - 1977-1978
  • Student Services Council (folder 2) - 1977-1978
  • Student Senate - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Daycare Commission
  • Box 4:
  • History and agendas - 1982-1983
  • Notes - 1971-1983
  • Correspondence - 1982-1983
  • Box 5:
  • Business records - 1979-1983
  • Financial records - 1981-1982
  • Personnel - 1982
  • Co-op daycare providers - 1980-1985
  • Newspaper clippings, articles, and reports - 1982
  • Series 2: FEMINIST ACTIVISM
  • Box 5:
  • "Iowa City Feminist History: A Working Timeline," by Linda Yanney - 1991
  • "The Practical Revolution: An Oral History of the Iowa City Feminist Community, 1965-1971," PhD Dissertation [shelved in IWA printed works: HQ1439.I59Y36] - 1991
  • PhD Dissertation celebration - 1991
  • Leona Durham interview [AC1326] - 1989
  • Iowa Abortion Rights Action League and Planned Parenthood - 1988-1990
  • Johnson County National Organization for Women (NOW) - 1979-1980
  • Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP) - 1982, 1989
  • Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC) Advisory Council (folder 1) - 1979-1983
  • WRAC Advisory Council (folder 2) - 1979-1983
  • Box 6:
  • Consciousness raising - 1974-1975
  • Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) (folder 1) - 1980, 1992
  • ERA (folder 2) - 1980, 1992
  • Rape awareness and lighting in Iowa City - 1979-1981
  • Woodfield's protest, undated
  • Newspaper clippings, magazine articles, and newsletters - 1979-1981
  • Series 3: GAY, LESBIAN, BISEXUAL, and TRANSGENDER (GLBT) ACTIVISM
  • Box 6:
  • Cedar Falls and Waterloo - 1995
  • Cedar Rapids - 1994-1995
  • Des Moines and Jonathan Wilson - 1995
  • Quad Cities - 1995-2000
  • Sioux City - 1995-1997
  • Box 7:
  • National Gay and Lesbian Task force - 1980-1994
  • AIDS - 1989-1992
  • Conferences, events, and organizations - 1980-1992
  • "Better Homes and Dykes" - 1977-1980
  • "The Furies" and "The Gaily Iowan" - 1972-1973, 1980
  • "Lesbian Connection" and "Full Moon" - 1977-1979
  • Box 8:
  • "The Women's Liberation Calendar: A Yearbook for Manic Lesbians", undated
  • Newspaper clippings - 1979-1991
  • Series 4: POLITICS
  • Box 8:
  • Johnson County Democratic Convention and Johnson County Democratic Party - 1980, 1989
  • Gay and Lesbian Political Caucus - 1982-1992
  • Jesse Jackson for President - 1988
  • Iowa Rainbow Coalition - 1989
  • Jean Lloyd-Jones for US Senate - 1991-1992
  • Presidential election newspaper clippings (folder 1) - 1991-1992
  • Presidential election newspaper clippings (folder 2) - 1991-1992
  • "Hawkeye Review" legal dispute - 1984
  • Nuclear proliferation and Star Wars - 1980, 1989
  • "Iowa City Magazine" premiere issue - 1989