Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary McDermott Shideler papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1900-2000
Creator: Shideler, Mary McDermott (1917-2000)
Extent: 11.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0404
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Theologian, writer and lecturer whose work encompassed religious theology, philosophy and psychology.

Alternate Extent Statement: Six audiocassettes [AC983-AC988].

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 575) were donated by Mary McDermott Shideler in 1993 and ensuing years. An annotated manuscript was donated by Thomas O. Mitchell in 2009.

Preferred Citation: Mary McDermott Shideler papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary Katharine McDermott was born on June 17, 1917 in Topeka, Kansas to Katharine Stewart McDermott and George Thomas McDermott. McDermott was the middle child, with an older sister, Jane (Hergeneter), and a younger brother, James, who was killed during World War II. McDermott’s father was a Federal District Court Judge. He raised his children to be aware of social justice causes and how these causes became political issues affected by public policy. Close to her father, his sudden death in 1937 at age fifty affected McDermott profoundly.

McDermott attended the Topeka public schools. She then attended Swarthmore College where she majored in psychology and minored in philosophy and zoology. McDermott graduated from Swarthmore College in 1938, earning a BA with honors in Mathematics and Natural Science. From 1939-1942, McDermott attended the Chicago Theological Seminary. She then attended Pendle Hill, a Quaker center for graduate study. After years of studying, writing and lecturing on issues regarding religious theology, philosophy and psychology, McDermott received an honorary Doctor of Divinity degree from the Chicago Theological Seminary in 1971.

McDermott married Emerson Wayne Shideler on June 8, 1940. At the time Emerson Shideler was a minister, and Mary Shideler assumed the role of minister’s wife in small towns in Virginia, Nebraska and Kansas. When Emerson Shideler accepted a faculty position at Iowa State University in 1950, the couple moved to Ames, Iowa. After Emerson Shideler’s retirement they moved to Boulder, Colorado in 1971 and built a home in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. Divorced on October 26, 1983, Mary Shideler continued to live in the Colorado home until her death on June 28, 2000.

Shideler was a prolific writer throughout her life, publishing articles in both theological and psychology journals, along with stories, poetry, and books. After her divorce, facing life as a single, older woman, Shideler set out to write her autobiography. The result was a five-volume series entitled, Visions and Nightmares, Ends and Beginnings. Shideler spent many years being mentored by Peter Ossorio, founder of the Society for Descriptive Psychology. Shideler was a member of Theta Sigma Phi and the Colonial Dames of America. She also served as president of the American Theological Society (1976-1977), president of the Society for Descriptive Psychology (1981-1982), and editor of The Descriptive Psychology Bulletin (1978-1979). Mary McDermott Shideler was a noted theologian, psychologist, writer, friend and committed feminist. Following her father’s earlier guidance, Shideler was vocal in her opinions on such topics as abortion rights, education, global warming and the right to die.

The Mary McDermott Shideler papers date from ca. 1900 to 2000 and measure 11 linear feet. The papers are arranged in sixteen series: Biography; Calendars; Diaries; Correspondence; Education; American Theological Society; Theology Notes; Society for Descriptive Psychology (SDP); Peter G. Ossorio; Lectures, Seminars and Conferences; Writing; Reference files; Transcriptions; Audiocassettes; Photographs and Guest Books; and Scrapbooks.
 
The Biography series consists of biographical and family materials. Shideler's birth certificate, marriage certificate, divorce decree, vitae, health records and obituary are among the items found in this series. Her health records include a 1928 lawsuit that then-eleven year old Mary McDermott brought against the surgeon, anesthesiologist, and hospital for a tonsillectomy that resulted in a lost tooth; basal temperature charts and correspondence with various doctors as Shideler tried unsuccessfully to overcome her infertility during the 1940s; and comments and concerns she had in her later years regarding her health, her medical care and Medicare. There are letters and newspaper clippings regarding her involvement in a lawsuit against telephone solicitations in 1963. Also included in the series are drawings Shideler made, cartoons she collected, and recordings of her meditations and dreams. There is also a handwriting analysis, horoscopes, and psychic readings Shideler had done for herself. Entries from biographical directories and Shideler's annual letters to friends and family, along with numerous articles about Shideler, provide a broad picture of her personal and professional lives and achievements.
 
The Biography series includes materials regarding Shideler's parents, siblings, and other relatives. Materials regarding her parents, Katherine Stewart McDermott and George T. McDermott, include their wedding invitation, correspondence her father sent home during his judicial travels, and a 1917 letter Shideler's mother wrote to her own mother. There is quite a bit of material regarding her father, George T. McDermott, a Federal District Court Judge. Materials include his own articles and speeches, papers written about him, correspondence containing his family's history, a letter from President Herbert Hoover, and copies of the numerous obituaries and testimonials that were printed throughout the United States when he unexpectedly died of pneumonia in 1937 at age fifty. Materials regarding Shideler's brother, James S. McDermott, include a paper he wrote on "the mobilization of science for defense," his obituary, the posthumous ceremony awarding him the silver cross, and a letter sent by a soldier who had served with him. The Biography series also contains papers written by Shideler's husband, Emerson Shideler, along with his 1992 obituary.
 
The Calendars series spans the years 1939-1996. These calendars are filled with appointments that cover both Shideler's personal and professional lives, along with those of her husband during their marriage. Entries include medical appointments, publication deadlines, lectures, personal engagements, and contact with family and friends.
 
The Diaries series covers the years 1929-1996, from adolescence though college, marriage, adult life, divorce, independence and aging. Some of the diaries are written in speed writing, so Shideler's 1945 Speed Writing Dictionary has been included in the series. The 1973-1977 diary, written in speed writing, was transcribed by Shideler in 1991; both the original and the transcription are included. Also included are the journal letters Shideler wrote when she and Emerson were in Asia, 1968-1969. These entries are filled with Shideler's impressions and experiences.
 
The Correspondence series is the largest in the collection. Shideler was a prolific correspondent and maintained files of both incoming and outgoing letters. The series reflects Shideler's own filing system. Sub-series include Family, Emerson Shideler, A-Z (incoming and outgoing), Outgoing, Letters to newspapers, and Correspondence with publishers. The Family sub-series is dominated by correspondence from Shideler's mother, Katherine Stewart McDermott. There is also correspondence from Shideler's father George T. McDermott, her siblings Jane McDermott Hergenreter and James S. McDermott, her uncle James H. Stewart, Jr. and an undated letter written by her maternal grandfather James H. Stewart to his wife. The Emerson Shideler sub-series reflects over fifty years of correspondence covering the Shideler's courtship, marriage, divorce, and their post-marriage relationship.
 
The A-Z (incoming and outgoing) sub-series is an alphabetized file of Shideler's correspondence with friends and colleagues. Particularly large files include Jan-the-witch (a pseudonym apparently used by several women over the years), Dr. Dorothy (Tommy) Macy (an old friend from Swarthmore College), and Betsy Pitha (a friend and designated literary executor, though she actually died before Shideler). Many of the folders contain correspondence with multiple family members. Photographs may be found in some of the folders. The Outgoing sub-series actually begins with letters Shideler received in the 1930s and 1940s, but the bulk of the sub-series consists of letters Shideler wrote between 1934 and 1969. Shideler filed the letters both chronologically and according to the places she was living at the time she wrote them, including Europe and Asia. They cover her years as a college student, a minister's wife, and a faculty wife. An assorted file at the end of the series contains letters Shideler wrote to companies, government officials and various other entities with her comments, complaints and concerns from 1950 through 1980.
 
The Letters to newspapers sub-series consists of letters-to-the-editor and letters Shideler wrote to specific columnists. Some letters written to journals are also included. The letters reflect a variety of topics and issues that concerned Shideler, including euthanasia, abortion, English-only legislation, and education. Most of the letters include copies of the original articles that riled Shideler, compelling her to write. The Correspondence to publishers sub-series consists of correspondence Shideler had with various publishers for both her books and articles. This sub-series reflects Shideler's own filing system. Additional correspondence with publishers may be found in the Writing series.
 
The Education series consists of four sub-series: Topeka High School, Swarthmore College, the Chicago Theological Seminary and the University of Colorado at Boulder. The Topeka High School sub-series consists of Shideler's 1934 graduation announcement and her National Scholastic Awards. The Swarthmore College sub-series contains Shideler's college papers and class notes, honors exams, correspondence, and her 1938 yearbook. There are also materials from her twenty-fifth, fiftieth and fifty-fifth reunions. In conjunction with her fiftieth reunion, Shideler organized a "free-for-all on Death," where she and her septuagenarian classmates could discuss end-of-life issues. The Chicago Theological Seminary sub-series contains papers and notes Shideler wrote during her time at the seminary, along with the honorary degree conferred upon her in 1971. The University of Colorado at Boulder sub-series consists of a certificate Shideler earned in 1980 for a continuing education course, "Effective Communication in Business."
 
The American Theological Society series contains correspondence, meeting announcements, membership lists, minutes and several papers written for the society by various authors, including Walter J. Kukkonen. The Theology Notes series consists of papers Shideler collected written by various theologians, including E. E. Aubrey, Charles W. Gilkey, and Paul Holmer. There are also materials concerning Shideler's involvement in revising the Standard Book of Common Prayer for the Protestant Episcopal Church. Shideler's notes regarding the sacraments of absolution and confession may also be found in this series.
 
The Society for Descriptive Psychology series consists of awards and citations Shideler received, along with papers written by both Shideler and other authors, articles about the society, Shideler's notes regarding the activities and philosophy of the society, and information on the society's Thirteenth Annual Conference in 1991. This series also contains materials regarding Shideler's book, A Primer (published under the title, In Search of the Spirit). These materials include a draft of the book, her contract, correspondence, notes, permissions and references, reviews, responses and royalty information. Additionally, this series includes a set of reference files concerning such topics as language, monasticism, mysticism, non-Christian religions, spiritual practice and theology.
 
The Peter G. Ossorio series contains materials pertaining to the founder of the Society of Descriptive Psychology. Materials include correspondence between Ossorio and Shideler, along with correspondence supporting Ossorio during his promotion process at the University of Colorado in Boulder. The bulk of the materials in this series are the papers and reports Ossorio wrote for the Society of Descriptive Psychology, the Linguistic Research Institute, and the Rome Air Development Center.
 
The Lectures, Seminars and Conferences series includes papers, sermons, and outlines for presentations Shideler gave over a thirty-year span. Many of the papers have Shideler's handwritten notations or comments. Also included is correspondence pertaining to the various conferences and seminars. This series follows Shideler's own filing system. It begins with titled seminars and conferences (e.g. Christian Commitment Conference), including those that Shideler filed according to the institution where they were held (e.g. Berea College, Kentucky). These seminars and conferences are followed by a titled listing of talks and sermons that include the location where they were presented if available (e.g. "The Faith of a Christian Skeptic," Central College, Pella, Iowa). Lastly there are outlines for various presentations.
 
The Writing series is divided into eight sub-series: Published works, Unpublished writings, Book reviews by Shideler, Fables and Stories, Poetry, Charles Williams, and Books. The Published works sub-series includes notes, multiple drafts, and correspondence pertaining to articles and papers that Shideler had published in various journals. These works include topics relating to theology, descriptive psychology, mystery, fables and stories. Also included are Shideler's written introduction and afterward to published collections of Dorothy Sayers' and Charles Williams' writings. The publication dates have been used to mark the articles in this sub-series. The Unpublished writings sub-series are papers that do not appear to have been published. Notes, multiple drafts and correspondence are included in this sub-series. The dates on these papers are based on Shideler's notes or the oldest draft, and reflect approximately when Shideler first conceived her ideas for these writings.
 
The Book reviews sub-series consists of the many book reviews written by Shideler. They are listed alphabetically according to the author of the book being reviewed. The Fables sub-series and the Stories sub-series follow Shideler's categorizing scheme. The sub-series include notes, drafts and correspondence. The dates are based on the notes or oldest drafts to reflect when Shideler first conceived of the story ideas. Some of the fables and stories were published individually or in her collection Mother and the Flying Saucer and other fables . The Poetry sub-series primarily consists of poetry and verse written by Shideler between 1932 and 1998. There are also poems and verse written by others that she kept in her files. For preservation purposes, Shideler's poetry has been removed from the notebooks in which she kept it and organized in folders.
 
The Charles Williams sub-series pertains to all the various essays and papers Shideler wrote regarding Williams, including her book, The Theology of Romantic Love: A Study in the Writings of Charles Williams. Research materials include copies of Williams' correspondence to John D. C. Pellow, articles by Williams, articles about Williams, biographies of Williams, and reviews of Williams' writings. Shideler's writings include various essays she wrote regarding Charles Williams, along with materials pertaining to her book, The Theology of Romantic Love. Book materials include permissions to quote, promotional materials, reviews, and correspondence from readers. Also included in this sub-series is correspondence pertaining to Shideler's research and publishing on Williams. Correspondence includes letters between Shideler and then-publisher T. S. Eliot. There are also several letters pertaining to a plagiarism issue that came up when Shideler's bibliography from The Theology of Romantic Love turned up in another text without acknowledgement of its source.
 
The Books sub-series contains copyright materials for Shideler's published texts. There are also notes, proofs, drafts, correspondence and reviews for three of her texts: Consciousness of Battle, A Creed for the Christian Skeptic, and "Form" (the working title for her autobiographical series). Copies of most of her published texts may be found shelved in the Iowa Women's Archives' printed works collection, including her five-volume autobiography, Visions and Nightmares, Ends and Beginnings. A draft copy of Spirituality: An Approach through DescriptivePsychology, 1988-1989, includes the comments of Thomas O. Mitchell in the margins. [shelved in Box 86]
 
The Reference files series consists of the many files Shideler kept on a wide variety of topics such as: abortion, art, education, manuscript preparation, narcotics, the right to die, C. S. Lewis, and Dorothy Sayers. The files contain articles, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and Shideler's notes.
 
The Transcriptions series contains the written records of Society for Descriptive Psychology conferences and assemblies, conversations, and counseling sessions that Shideler recorded. The bulk of the transcriptions cover the counseling sessions that Mary and Emerson Shideler undertook during the break-up of their marriage. Additionally there are transcriptions of counseling sessions Mary Shideler underwent long after the divorce. The transcriptions also include conversations Peter G. Ossorio had with Shideler and others, as well as various Society for Descriptive Psychology meetings and conferences. A series of eight bound notebooks, dating from 1974 to 1980, are also filled with transcriptions, some of which duplicate materials found in the other folders. The organization reflects Shideler's own filing system.
 
The Audiocassettes series primarily consists of recordings of Mary and Emerson Shideler's counseling and talk sessions. There is also a recording of Peter Ossorio and Mary Shideler discussing "A Primer," and a recording of Mary McDermott Shideler's memorial service.
 
The Photographs and Guest Books series consists of loose photographs, albums and guest books. The loose photographs include photographs of Shideler attending her fiftieth reunion at Swarthmore College in 1988 and a 1938 photograph of Swarthmore's President Aydelotte with Albert Einstein. Other loose photographs include Shideler's ancestors and Shideler herself as a girl, as a young woman, with her husband Emerson, and as an elderly woman. Two photographs show Shideler wearing the same dress, once in her engagement photograph and again as a woman in her eighties. There are also photographs of both Shideler and the car following her 1998 automobile accident.
 
There are four photo albums. One album contains family photographs, including those of ancestors on both the McDermott and Stewart sides, and photographs from Shideler's childhood. Another album consists of photographs taken of Mary and Emerson Shideler during their years in Ames, Iowa. Many of the photographs in this album were taken by noted photographer Joan Liffring Zug. The other two photo albums contain the pictures Shideler used in her autobiography. They span her life and include many photographs from her youth, including pictures of her parents and her siblings.
 
The guest books are from Shideler's years in Colorado and contain photographs and comments of the many friends and guests that visited her home, High Haven, in the foothills near Boulder. Each volume has been indexed by Shideler, listing names of guests and the page numbers where their comments may be found. Also included in this series is a scroll from the "1989 Midwest Morris Ale-in-Exile-in-Colorado" get-together, thanking their "enthusiastic benefactress" Mary Shideler.
 
The Scrapbooks series contains three scrapbooks filled with newspaper clippings covering the judicial career of Shideler's father, George T. McDermott, along with some correspondence and photographs. Loose materials have been removed from the scrapbooks for preservation purposes. Loose materials from Scrapbook I include letters and photographs from Vuko (Charles) Perovich, the man McDermott defended in front of the U.S. Supreme Court in 1927. Loose materials from Scrapbook II include a personalized invitation to Herbert Hoover's Presidential inauguration, letters regarding McDermott's possible appointment to the U.S. Supreme Court, several speeches McDermott wrote, and a memorandum pursuant to his estate, written the night before he left for World War I. Loose materials from Scrapbook III include several letters written by Shideler's brother, Jim McDermott, correspondence from U.S. Supreme Court Justice Benjamin Cardoza, and speeches written by George T. McDermott.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHY
Series 2: CALENDARS
Series 3: DIARIES
Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 5: EDUCATION
Series 6: AMERICAN THEOLOGICAL SOCIETY
Series 7: THEOLOGY NOTES
Series 8: SOCIETY FOR DESCRIPTIVE PSYCHOLOGY (SDP)
Series 9: PETER G. OSSORIO
Series 10: LECTURES, SEMINARS, CONFERENCES
Series 11: WRITING
Series 12: REFERENCE FILES
Series 13: TRANSCRIPTIONS
Series 14: AUDIOCASSETTES
Series 15: PHOTOGRAPHS AND GUEST BOOKS
Series 16: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHY
  • Box 1:
  • Ancestry (2 folders)
  • Annual letters (2 folders) - 1957-2000
  • Birth certificate [1938 copy] - 1917, 1938
  • Biographical directories - 1974-1992
  • Cartoons - 1943-1998
  • Drawings (3 folders) - 1968, 1978
  • Family: Hergenreter, Jane McDermott (sister) - 1942
  • Family: McDermott, George T. (father): Articles and speeches by George T. McDermott - 1935
  • McDermott, George T.: Correspondence to B.J. Sheridan (contains family history) - 1928
  • McDermott, George T.: "George T. McDermott" by Brian Moline - 1993-1994
  • McDermott, George T.: Letter from President Herbert Hoover - 1932
  • McDermott, George T.: Memorials - 1937
  • McDermott, George T.: Obituaries and tributes - 1937
  • McDermott, George T.: Quotations from speeches - 1913-1936
  • McDermott, George T.: "Some Significant Cases Handled by Judge McDermott as a Practicing Lawyer" by Robert L. Webb, undated [see also Scrapbooks, Boxes 85-86]
  • Family: McDermott, James S. (brother) - 1945
  • Family: Parents (Katharine Stewart McDermott and George T. McDermott) (2 folders) - 1914-1937
  • Family: Shideler, Emerson (husband) [see also Audiocassettes AC983-AC986] - 1940-1992
  • Family: Stewart, James H. Jr. (uncle) - 1966-1970
  • Family: Stewart, Lucy Shelton (mother's cousin) - 1962
  • Box 2:
  • Fortnightly Club minutes - 1961-1962
  • Graphoanalysis (handwriting analysis) - 1992
  • Health (2 folders) - 1926-2000
  • Horoscope - 1988-1989
  • Lapp, Kathryn (Katy) Benbrook
  • Lear, Anne (2 folders) - 1985
  • Marriage and divorce [see also Transcriptions, Boxes 73-74] - 1940, 1983, 1990
  • Meditations and dreams (3 folders) - 1954-1993
  • Memorial service and obituaries [see also Audiocassette AC988] - 2000
  • Newspaper articles about Shideler (2 folders) - 1962-1999
  • Organizational memberships - 1973-1987
  • Paulson, Genevieve (psychic) (2 folders) [see also Transcriptions, Box 74] - 1983-1992
  • Religion - 1932, 1940
  • Rolfing journal - 1975-1976
  • Box 3:
  • Telephone solicitation lawsuit - 1963
  • Theta Sigma Phi - 1967
  • Trip records - 1962-1966
  • Vitae - 1989, 1997
  • Series 2: CALENDARS
  • Box 3:
  • Chronological (9 folders) - 1939-1962
  • Box 4:
  • Chronological (8 folders) - 1963-1976
  • Box 5:
  • Chronological (6 folders) - 1976-1996
  • Series 3: DIARIES
  • Box 5:
  • Chronological - 1929-1933
  • Box 6:
  • Chronological (6 folders) - 1934-1976
  • Speedwriting dictionary - 1945
  • Box 7:
  • Chronological (2 folders) - 1974-1975
  • Box 8:
  • Chronological (4 folders) - 1976-1996
  • Series 4: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Family
  • Box 8:
  • Hergenreter, June McDermott (sister) (3 folders) - 1937-2000
  • Box 9:
  • McDermott, Charles W. - 1970
  • McDermott, George T. (father) (3 folders) - 1916-1937
  • McDermott, James S. (brother) (2 folders) - 1932-1944
  • McDermott, Katharine Stewart (mother) (14 folders) - 1934-1943
  • Box 10:
  • McDermott, Katharine Stewart (mother) (14 folders) - 1943-1956
  • Box 11:
  • McDermott, Katharine Stewart (mother) (12 folders) - 1957-1964
  • Box 12:
  • McDermott, Katharine Stewart (mother) (3 folders) - 1965
  • Stewart, James H. to wife (grandparents), undated
  • Stewart, Jr., James H. (uncle) (2 folders) - 1934-1965
  • Shideler, Emerson (husband) (10 folders) - 1939-1969
  • Box 13:
  • Shideler, Emerson (husband) (2 folders) - 1970-1992
  • Sub-Series: A-Z (incoming and outgoing)
  • Box 13:
  • Miscellaneous A
  • Andrews, Andy T. (4 folders)
  • Miscellaneous B (4 folders)
  • Box 14:
  • Bailey, Jan and Gil (4 folders)
  • Barnes, Jo
  • Box 15:
  • Beckman, Mary Pete (2 folders)
  • Benziger, Katherine
  • Benziger, Pat (3 folders)
  • Bennefil, Liliane and Leonce
  • Bowden, Larry (2 folders)
  • Brooke, Avery (Vineyard Books) (3 folders)
  • Brown, John (2 folders)
  • Box 16:
  • Brown, John (4 folders)
  • Brown, Robert McAfee
  • Burgess, Sid
  • Miscellaneous C
  • Carr, Perk and Janet
  • Cheng, Hanson
  • Box 17:
  • Cheng, Hanson
  • Christensen, Jane
  • Clasper, Paul and Janet (3 folders)
  • Condon, Deborah (2 folders)
  • Curtis, Jan Marie (3 folders)
  • Miscellaneous D (2 folders)
  • Dale, Maryal (2 folders)
  • Dallam, John Law
  • Box 18:
  • Dawson, Larry
  • Dendel, Esther (4 folders)
  • Miscellaneous E (3 folders)
  • Every, George (3 folders)
  • Miscellaneous F
  • Fahs, Charles H.
  • Fenner, Bishop Goodrich
  • Box 19:
  • Firestone, Tirzah
  • Franck, Esther
  • Francks, Joyce
  • Miscellaneous G (2 folders)
  • Garriott, Julie (2 folders)
  • Goffin, Raymond (3 folders)
  • Goodland, Father Paul
  • Gross, Ron
  • Miscellaneous H (2 folders)
  • Box 20:
  • Miscellaneous H (2 folders)
  • Hill, Jim
  • Hoard family (5 folders)
  • Hobbs, Helen (2 folders)
  • Box 21:
  • Hobbs, Helen (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous I
  • Miscellaneous J
  • Jan-the-witch (2 folders)
  • Box 22:
  • Jan-the-witch (11 folders)
  • Box 23:
  • Jan-the-witch (3 folders)
  • Jenkins, Daniel
  • Miscellaneous K
  • Keily, Pamela
  • Kellogg, Lois (3 folders)
  • Kruse, Karyn and Jerry (2 folders)
  • Box 24:
  • Miscellaneous L (4 folders)
  • Lafore, Larry
  • Lamm, Dottie
  • Lapp, Kathryn (Katy) Benbrook
  • Larson, Kay
  • Lasseter, Ruth
  • Leif
  • Lewis, Alison Shepherd
  • Box 25:
  • Lewis, Alison Shepherd
  • Long Hair, Lucy (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous Mc (3 folders)
  • McMenomy, Christine (2 folders)
  • McNown, Bob, Bernie and Connie
  • McRae, Genie (2 folders)
  • Box 26:
  • Miscellaneous M (4 folders)
  • MacLeod, Bob
  • Macy, Dorothy (Tommy) (7 folders)
  • Box 27:
  • Macy, Dorothy (Tommy)
  • Matthews, Stephen
  • Mitchell, Tom (3 folders)
  • Mowrer, Dr. O. Robert
  • Mythopoetic Society
  • Miscellaneous N
  • Nakamura, Irene
  • Newbrough, Bob
  • Newman, Lois (2 folders)
  • Box 28:
  • Newman, Lois
  • Nielsen, Charlie (2 folders)
  • Nohe, Camille
  • Box 29:
  • Nohe, Camille
  • Nute, Bill and Betty
  • Nute, Jr., William L. (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous O
  • Miscellaneous P
  • Patterson, Nancy-Lou
  • Peek, Mary
  • Box 30:
  • Peek, Mary (3 folders)
  • Pellow, John (2 folders)
  • Perry, Anne
  • Peterson, Trudy (4 folders)
  • Pierce, Edith Lovejoy
  • Pitha, Betsy
  • Box 31:
  • Pitha, Betsy (11 folders)
  • Box 32:
  • Pitha, Betsy
  • Prince, Jan
  • Miscellaneous R (4 folders)
  • Rapkin, Michelle (2 folders)
  • Ridler, Anne
  • Box 33:
  • Routley, Erik and Margaret
  • Rutledge, Alison and Mark (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous S (7 folders)
  • Box 34:
  • Sage, Charles and Priscilla (3 folders)
  • Sauer, Svea
  • Scaff, Marilee and Al
  • Shakeshaft, Emmy and Jerry (2 folders)
  • Sharman, Henry Burton (2 folders)
  • Shepherd, Margaret
  • Box 35:
  • Shepherd, Margaret
  • Sittler, Joe
  • Spiritual Life Institute (SLI) (3 folders)
  • Box 36:
  • Spiritual Life Institute (SLI)
  • Stevens, Martha
  • Stone, Maryal (9 folders)
  • Miscellaneous T
  • Box 37:
  • Miscellaneous T
  • Tai Chi Chuan
  • Miscellaneous V
  • Vande Kemp, Hendrika (4 folders)
  • Vanderburgh, Jan and David (3 folders)
  • Miscellaneous W (2 folders)
  • Box 38:
  • Miscellaneous W
  • Whitaker, Sue and Dick
  • Wilke, Kit
  • Williams, Edith and Michal
  • Wilson-Kastner, Pat and Ron
  • Miscellaneous X, Y, Z
  • Zieger, Carolyn (2 folders)
  • Miscellaneous (first names only)
  • Sub-Series: Outgoing
  • Box 39:
  • Letters to Shideler - 1936-1950
  • Assorted - 1924-1934
  • Freshman year [Swarthmore College] (4 folders) - 1934-1935
  • Sophomore year - 1935-1936
  • Junior year - 1936-1937
  • Minnesing [Camp Minnesing] - 1937
  • Senior year (2 folders) - 1937-1938
  • Summer - 1938
  • Home - 1938-1939
  • Seminary [Chicago Theological Seminary] - 1939-1940
  • Box 40:
  • Ames, Iowa [September-December 1953 missing] (10 folders) - 1950-1957
  • England and Europe (4 folders) - 1957-1958
  • Box 41:
  • Daleville, Virginia (3 folders) - 1940-1941
  • Minnesing and Chicago - 1942
  • Pendle Hill [Wallingford, Pennsylvania] - 1946-1947
  • Hamline [St. Paul, Minnesota] (2 folders) - 1947-1948
  • Northfield, Minnesota (4 folders) - 1948-1950
  • Ames, Iowa (3 folders) - 1958-1966
  • Box 42:
  • Ames, Iowa (5 folders) - 1958-1966
  • Box 43:
  • Ames, Iowa (5 folders) - 1958-1966
  • Europe - 1964
  • Asia - 1968-1969
  • Assorted - 1950-1980
  • Sub-Series: Letters to newspapers
  • Box 43:
  • Letters to newspapers (3 folders) - 1950-2000
  • Box 44:
  • Letters to newspapers (8 folders) - 1950-2000
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence with publishers
  • Box 44:
  • Association Press - 1966-1967
  • Ballantine Books - 1984-1989
  • The Christian Century - 1966-2000
  • Contemporary Writers in Christian Perspective (Charles Williams) - 1965-1966
  • Books & Religion - 1986-1989
  • Persons, Behavior, and the World - 1986-1993
  • "Primer" - 1989-1990
  • Spirituality: An Approach Through Descriptive Psychology - 1989-1993
  • Box 45:
  • Spirituality: An Approach Through Descriptive Psychology - 1989-1993
  • University Press of America, Inc. - 1987-1994
  • Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. - 1968-1974
  • Various publishers re: Charles Williams projects - 1966-1996
  • Series 5: EDUCATION
  • Sub-Series: Chicago Theological Seminary
  • Box 45:
  • Commencement - 1940
  • Honorary degree (2 folders) - 1971
  • Old Testament History - 1939-1940
  • Outlines of Christian Theology (Edwin Ewart Aubrey) - 1940
  • Religion of Jesus (Robinson) - 1939
  • Sub-Series: Swarthmore College
  • Box 45:
  • General - 1936-1938
  • Brochures - 1983-1990
  • Classes: Adams, D.K., undated
  • Classes: Camp Minnesing (2 folders) - 1937-1938
  • Box 46:
  • Classes: Camp Minnesing - 1937-1938
  • Classes: Classic Problems (2 folders) - 1938
  • Classes: Honors exams - 1938
  • Classes: Individual in Society - 1937-1938
  • Classes: Modern Philosophy - 1936-1937
  • Classes: Perception and Learning - 1937-1938
  • Classes: Philosophy - 1935-1936
  • Classes: Plays (2 folders) - 1935
  • Classes: Psychology notes - 1936
  • Classes: Seminars (2 folders) - 1935-1938
  • Box 47:
  • Classes: Sharman, Henry Burton - 1941
  • Correspondence - 1966-2000
  • Reunions: Twenty-fifth - 1953
  • Reunions: Fiftieth (2 folders) [see also Lectures, Sermons and Conferences, Box 55] - 1988
  • Reunions: Fiftieth-fifth - 1993
  • Symposiums and lectures - 1986-1988
  • Swarthmore College Bulletin (2 folders) - 1971-1992
  • Articles - 1980-1994
  • Box 86:
  • Yearbook - 1938
  • Sub-Series: Other schools
  • Box 47:
  • Topeka High School - 1934
  • University of Colorado at Boulder - 1980
  • Series 6: AMERICAN THEOLOGICAL SOCIETY
  • Box 47:
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1974-1991
  • Meetings - 1974-1996
  • Membership lists - 1970-1984
  • Box 48:
  • Minutes - 1965-1983
  • Papers (3 folders) - 1976-1985
  • Series 7: THEOLOGY NOTES
  • Box 48:
  • Assorted theologians - 1950-1965
  • Aubrey, E.E., undated
  • Gilkey, Charles W. - 1940
  • Holmer, Paul, undated
  • Prayer book revisions (2 folders) - 1968-1973
  • Sacraments - 1966
  • Series 8: SOCIETY FOR DESCRIPTIVE PSYCHOLOGY (SDP)
  • Sub-Series: A Primer (working title: published as In Search of the Spirit: A Primer)
  • Box 48:
  • Draft (5 folders) - 1983
  • Contract - 1984
  • Correspondence [see also Box 44] - 1983-1984
  • Direct sales and gifts - 1985-1987
  • Notes - 1983
  • Permissions - 1984-1985
  • Box 49:
  • Publicity (2 folders) - 1984-1986
  • References - 1983-1985
  • Responses - 1985-1986
  • Reviews - 1986-1995
  • Royalties - 1986-1988
  • Study guide - 1985-1986
  • Sub-Series: General SDP
  • Box 50:
  • Awards and citations - 1988, 1998
  • Notes (3 folders) - 1973-1989
  • Papers by assorted authors (3 folders) - 1987-1990
  • Papers by Shideler - 1984
  • Personal Concept Chart - 1980
  • Box 51:
  • Thirteenth Annual Conference - 1991
  • Articles [see also Boxes 55, 74, 57-58] - 1978-1987
  • Sub-Series: Published texts
  • Box 50:
  • Published texts [shelved in printed works]
  • In Search of the Spirit: A Primer - 1985
  • Persons, Behavior and the World: The Descriptive Psychology Approach - 1988
  • Spirituality: An Approach through Descriptive Psychology - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Reference files
  • Box 50:
  • Development - 1973-1987
  • Language - 1973-1987
  • Monastacism - 1973-1987
  • Mysticism - 1973-1987
  • Non-Christian religions - 1973-1987
  • Notes (2 folders) - 1973-1987
  • Box 51:
  • Prayer - 1973-1987
  • Psychology - 1973-1987
  • Resources (3 folders) - 1973-1987
  • Spiritual practice - 1973-1987
  • Theology - 1973-1987
  • Miscellaneous - 1973-1987
  • Series 9: PETER G. OSSORIO
  • Sub-Series: Articles
  • Box 51:
  • Articles recommended by Ossorio
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 51:
  • Regarding Ossorio promotion at the University of Colorado in Boulder - 1980-1981
  • With Mary McDermott Shideler - 1974-1991
  • Sub-Series: Linguistic Research Institute reports (LRI)
  • Box 52:
  • "Attribute Space Development and Evaluation" - 1968
  • "Cognition" - 1982
  • "Decisions and Decision Aids" - 1982
  • "Explanation, Falsifiability, and Rule-following" - 1968
  • "Ex Post Facto: The Source of Intractable Origin Problems and Their Resolution" - 1981
  • "A Multicultural Psychology" - 1982
  • "Notes on Behavior Description" - 1969
  • "Outline of Descriptive Psychology for Personality Theory and Clinical Applications" - 1974
  • "Pathology" - 1983
  • "Persons, Volume I" - 1966
  • Box 53:
  • "Rule-Following in Grammar and Behavior" - 1967
  • "State of Affairs Systems: Theory and Techniques for Automatic Fact Analysis" (2 folders) - 1971
  • "What Actually Happens: The Representation of Real World Phenomena In Behavioral Science" - 1973
  • "What There is, How Things Are" - 1996
  • Sub-Series: Writings
  • Box 53:
  • Outlines, notes and partial papers, undated
  • Sub-Series: Papers by Ossorio
  • Box 53:
  • "Appraisal" - 1972-1998
  • "Appraisal Again" - 1972-1998
  • "Being Me and Being Myself: I Am the Person Who..." - 1972-1998
  • "Cognitive Defects in Schizophrenia" - 1972-1998
  • "The Conceptual History of Descriptive Psychology" - 1972-1998
  • "Galaxies at 8:30" - 1972-1998
  • "The Human Condition: Some Formal Aspects" - 1972-1998
  • "More Three-Minute Lectures on Emotion" - 1972-1998
  • "Naive Baseball Theory" - 1972-1998
  • "Never Smile at a Crocodile" - 1972-1998
  • "An Overview of Descriptive Psychology" (2 folders) - 1972-1998
  • "Out of Nowhere" - 1972-1998
  • "Projective Techniques" - 1972-1998
  • "Rap Session: Dramaturgical Framework, Etc." (2 folders) - 1972-1998
  • Box 54:
  • "Religion Without Doctrine" - 1972-1998
  • "The Self Concept" (3 folders) - 1972-1998
  • "Status Dynamics" - 1972-1998
  • "Three-Minute Talks on Emotion" - 1972-1998
  • Sub-Series: Seminar
  • Box 54:
  • Personality Theory Seminar - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Rome Air Development Center
  • Box 54:
  • "Classification Space Analysis: Final Report" (microfiche), undated
  • "Dissemination Research" - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Transcriptions
  • Box 54:
  • Transcriptions of conversations and presentations [see Transcriptions, Boxes 71-72]
  • Series 10: LECTURES, SEMINARS, CONFERENCES
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 54:
  • American Theological Society (Aurora College, Illinois) - 1975
  • Berea College, Kentucky - 1974-1976
  • Christian Commitment Conference (Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa) - 1965
  • The Church and the Community Forum I (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina) - 1977
  • Colloquy on the Hallowing of Life (University of Notre Dame, South Bend, Indiana) - 1982
  • Colorado General Meeting of Friends - 1977
  • Contemporary European Theology (cosponsored by The American University and the Institute of European Studies (2 folders) - 1964
  • Green Mountain Folk Harp Workshop (Duxbury, Vermont) - 1979
  • Knox College (Galesburg, Illinois) - 1977
  • Lutheran Conference - 1965
  • Box 55:
  • A Requiem Mass in memory of David Matthew Pilgrim (Boulder, Colorado) - 1972
  • Seminar on Descriptive Psychology (Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, Illinois) - 1979
  • The Staley Distinguished Christian Scholar Lecture Program (Sioux Falls College, South Dakota) - 1974
  • Stanford University (California), "The Virtue of Hope" sermon - 1972
  • Swarthmore College (Pennsylvania): Guest lecturer - 1980
  • Swarthmore College: "Preparing to Die," a discussion at Shideler's 50th reunion - 1988
  • Swarthmore College: "Social Construction of the Person," symposium - 1983
  • Theology class, Congregational Church (Ames, Iowa) - 1960
  • Tokyo Conference on Ministry to Laymen Abroad - 1969
  • Sub-Series: Talks/sermons to various groups
  • Box 55:
  • Various audiences
  • Are These Myths True? (Santa Barbara, California) - 1971
  • The Blessedness of Receiving - 1974
  • Brotherhood in Serving (Women's Work Summer Conference, Church of the Brethren, First Church, Roanoke) - 1941
  • Christianity, Christian Love and Romantic Love (WOI Matins) - 1960
  • Christianity in Asia: A Biased and Limited View, undated
  • Christmas and Lent (presented to the Women's Fellowship of St Anthony Park Congregational Church) - 1948
  • Creative Writing (Creative Camping group) - 1974
  • Creativity (Central Colorado Branch, NLAPW) - 1974
  • Various audiences
  • Death and the Time to Die, undated
  • Euthanasia and Abortion ("Contemporary Conflicts" series, St. Thomas Aquinas, Ames, Iowa) - 1968
  • Faith in Crisis: "Chaos" (Park Hill Congregational Church, United Church of Christ) - 1973
  • The Faith of a Christian Skeptic (Central College, Pella, Iowa) - 1963
  • The Faith of Our Fathers or New Teeth for Old Saws (The First Congregational Church of theUnited Church of Christ, Boulder, Colorado) - 1973
  • First Aid for the Wounded Spirit - 1966
  • How to Read a Book and How to Write a Paper (Tri-Delta Sorority, Ames, Iowa) - 1967
  • Ministering Angels (ordination of Rosemary Morris, Mayflower Congregational Church, Englewood, Colorado) - 1979
  • A Modern Skepticism (for Professor Richard Van Iten's philosophy class, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa) - 1967
  • Various audiences
  • On Being a Hero (Grinnell College, Iowa) - 1971
  • On Spiritualism (Northglenn High School) - 1974
  • On Writing Liturgies (college youth group, First Congregational Church) - 1975
  • Perspectives on Women (Summer Institute, University of Colorado) - 1975
  • The Religious Roots of Russian Culture (FWC History and Literature Division) - 1960
  • Report on Contemporary Theology (Canterbury Club of St. John's-by-the-Campus Episcopal Church, Ames, Iowa) - 1967
  • Response to Jean Miller Schmidt's "The Rift in the Righteous Empire: Liberals vs. Evangelicals in American Protestantism" (Religion in America Series, Center for United Ministry) - 1975
  • The Responsibility of the Educated Woman in the Modern World (prepared for Margaret Warning's seminar for senior T & C majors) - 1965
  • Ritual (for Doris Havice's class) - 1975
  • Various audiences
  • The Role of the Modern Church (for the series: Christian Women in Action, Womens Fellowship of First Congregational Church, Boulder, Colorado) - 1974
  • Romantic Love (Unitarian Church of Boulder, Colorado) - 1979
  • Situation vs. Systematic Ethics ("Issues We Face" Seminar, College of Engineering, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa) - 1967
  • A Skeptical Look at Angels (presented to the Canterbury Club of St. John's-by-the-Campus Episcopal Church, Ames, Iowa) - 1963
  • Spirituality (Carbondale Unitarians) - 1985
  • A Story about Houses (YM-YWCA series for seventh graders and their parents) - 1971
  • Strictly Christian Principles, written 1947-1948, edited 1995
  • Symbolism in Creative Writing (Faculty Women's Club), undated
  • Various audiences
  • Testing Values in a Changing World (American Association of University Women, Canterbury Club of St. Johns-by-the-Campus Episcopal Church, Ames, Iowa) - 1967
  • That Damnable If-Clause (UCC) - 1978
  • The Theology of Romantic Love (Methodist Graduate Fellowship) - 1963
  • The Tribulations of Publishing a Book - 1962
  • The Vocation of the Church (Canterbury Club of St. John's-by-the-Campus, Episcopal Church, Ames, Iowa) - 1964
  • What Does a Theologian Do? (The Unitarian Church of Boulder, Colorado) - 1975
  • What Has Become of the American Dream? (Dames) - 1963
  • Various audiences
  • What is a Professional Person? - 1970
  • What is Theology? (Ames Jewish Congregation) - 1962
  • What Quakerism Isn't (Boulder Friends Meeting, Colorado) - 1995
  • Women Without a Name - 1961
  • Untitled (discussion prepared for Lay Readers, St. John's-by-the-Campus Episcopal Church, Ames, Iowa, regarding Christian Living by Stephen F. Bayne, Jr.) - 1966
  • Untitled (Kappa Kappa Gamma Vespers) - 1960
  • Untitled (Rawlins, Wyoming, Mental Health Center) - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Outlines
  • Box 55:
  • All-Dorm Women's Meeting (Central College, Pella, Iowa) - 1963
  • Christianity...for Dik's 260 class - 1967
  • Episcopal student group - 1960
  • Lutheran Student Association - 1957
  • Men's breakfast (Church of Christ, Ames, Iowa) - 1961
  • Theology Forum - 1977
  • Young adults (First Congregational Church, Boulder, Colorado) - 1973
  • Series 11: WRITING
  • Sub-Series: Published works
  • Box 55:
  • An Afterward on Charles Morgan and His Work for The Voyage by Charles Morgan - 1987
  • Allison Cheek's Achievement - 1974
  • An Amicable Divorce (2 folders) - 1971
  • Box 56:
  • An Ancient Word for Modern Churches - 1970
  • Are Sanity and Sanctity at Odds? - 1972
  • The Art of Theology - 1971
  • The Brutal Truth - 1965
  • The Churches Are Playing with Fire - 1956
  • Come Down from the Cross - 1963
  • Comment, undated
  • Comment on "The Priestly Vocation of the Church" by Timothy McCarthy - 1966
  • A Comment on Uzzah - 1956
  • The Concept of the City in Charles Williams - 1976
  • Box 57:
  • Coup de Grace - 1966
  • Creator and Discoverer - 1982
  • Discernment - 1988
  • Faith and the Single Mind - 1966
  • The Father and the Fathers - 1969
  • The Founding of the Society for Descriptive Psychology: An Inside Story - 1991
  • The Future of Religion - 1978
  • God Speaks to a Godless World - 1966
  • Inklings of Another World - 1966
  • Introduction to Dorothy Sayers' Essays on Women - 1970
  • Is Metaphysics Necessary? - 1962
  • Justifiable Homicide - 1982
  • The Layman's Role in Theology - 1961
  • Letters on the Liturgy by a Couple of Laymen Abigail and Tirzah - 1973
  • Box 58:
  • Letters on the Liturgy by a Couple of Laymen Abigail and Tirzah (2 folders) - 1973
  • The Lover and the Logician - 1981
  • George MacDonald - 1974
  • Male and Female He Created Them - 1974
  • The Man for Others and the Man from God - 1968
  • Mary had a Little Harp - 1978
  • The Mystic and the Theologian - 1975
  • The Mystic, the Psychic, and the Magician - 1977
  • Philosophies and Fairy-Tales - 1973
  • The Priest and the Psychotherapist - 1983
  • The Priestly Vocation of the Church - 1966
  • The Psychologist and the Theologian - 1978
  • Science, Religion and Religions (2 folders) - 1985
  • Six Papers in Descriptive Psychology - 1984
  • Box 59:
  • Spirituality: The Descriptive Psychology Approach [see also Correspondence, Boxes 44-45] - 1990
  • A Story About an Angel - 1979
  • Story Makers and Story Tellers - 1975
  • Supernaturalism in a Scientific Society - 1966
  • Take and Read - 1978
  • Thawing a Frozen River: Tolkien's Appeal to an Imprisoned Imagination - 1998
  • They Camped Their Way Through Europe - 1959
  • There Ought to be Someone to Guide an Awakening Spirit - 1956
  • Toward a Fulfilled Humanity: Spirituality, Psychology, and Sexism - 1988
  • Two Principles and a Prayer - 1981
  • We Clip Our Own Wings - 1963
  • We Saw You a Stranger - 1964
  • Weeding Carrots - 1972
  • What Quakerism Isn't - 1996
  • Who is Our Enemy? - 1969
  • The Whodunnit is Fiction's Most Moral Genre - 1987
  • Within Protestanism, Diversity - 1963
  • Sub-Series: Unpublished writings
  • Box 59:
  • America's Roots in Europe - 1958
  • The Body of Christ - 2000
  • The Brutal Truth and Other Essays - 1969
  • Christian Layman and the Lay Christian - 1964
  • Christianity and Witchcraft, undated
  • The Comedy of America and the Comedy of Dante, undated
  • Commencement Speech that I Shall Never Give - 1998
  • Contemporary Writers in Christian Perspective: Charles Morgan - 1965-1971
  • Do Not Go Gently - 1978
  • Ethics Without Religion - 1999
  • The Faith of a Christian Skeptic - 1963
  • A Guide to Christian Worship, undated
  • Homo Sapiens and Human Beings - 1989
  • Box 60:
  • Incarnation - 2000
  • An Irascible Old Bitch - 1990-1996
  • The Law and the Logician and Other Essays - 1977
  • A Layman Looks at the Laity - 1964
  • The Maternal Instinct and the Nestling, undated
  • Modern Poetry - 1998
  • The Order of the Laity - 1964
  • The Poet and the Philosopher - 1976
  • Riposte - 1959
  • The Sheep and the Little Lambs - 1964
  • The Sheep and Their Pastoral Shepherds - 1965
  • The Sheep and Their Theological Shepherds - 1965
  • The Sick, the Criminal, and the Sinful - 1977
  • The Trinity - 2000
  • Vain Repetition - 2000
  • Walking as Children of Light with Those of Other Faiths - 1953
  • The Way of Exchange, undated
  • Woman Without a Name - 1962
  • The Word and the Touch - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Book reviews
  • Box 60:
  • Book reviews by Shideler
  • Brabazon, James (Dorothy L. Sayers: A Biography) - 1981
  • Buechner, Frederick (The Alphabet of Grace) - 1970
  • Buechner, Frederick (The Magnificent Defeat) - 1967
  • Capon, Robert Farrar (The Youngest Day: An Island's Season in the Light of Grace) - 1983
  • Cavaliero, Glen (Charles Williams: Poet of Theology) - 1983
  • Cole, William Graham (The Restless Quest of Modern Man), undated
  • Davidson, Glen W. (Living With Dying) - 1975
  • Dyrness, William A. (Roualt: A Vision of Suffering and Salvation) - 1973
  • Fourez, SJ., Gerard (Sacraments and Passages) - 1984
  • Freeman, James Dillet (The Case for Optimism) - 1971
  • Griffin, William (Clive Staples Lewis: A Dramatic Life) - 1986
  • Gross, Marin L. (The Psychology Society) - 1978
  • Hartman, Olov (Holy Masquerade) - 1968
  • Book reviews by Shideler
  • Hartt, Julian N. (Theological Method and Imagination) - 1977
  • Holmer, Paul L. (C.S. Lewis: The Shape of His Faith and Thought) - 1976
  • Howard, Thomas (The Novels of Charles Williams) - 1983
  • Irish, Jerry A. (A Boy Thirteen: Reflections on Death) - 1975
  • Keen, Sam (To a Dancing God) - 1970
  • Killinger, John (The Failure of Theology in Modern Literature) - 1963
  • Kubler-Ross, Elisabeth (Death: The Final Stage of Growth) - 1975
  • Lewis, C.S. (The Joyful Christian) - 1978
  • Mueller, William R. (Celebration of Life: Studies in Modern Fiction) - 1973
  • Opton, Frank G. (Liberal Religion: Principles and Practices) - 1983
  • Ossorio, Peter (What Actually Happens) - 1978
  • Paz, Octavio (Conjunctions and Disjunctions) - 1974
  • Petrement, Simone (Simone Weil: A Life) - 1977
  • Book reviews by Shideler
  • Reilly, R.J. (Romantic Religion) - 1972
  • Seymour Jr., Charles, ed. (Michelangelo: The Sistine Chapel Ceiling) - 1973
  • Seymour, Jr., Charles (Michelangelo's David: A Search for Identity), undated
  • Sklar, Kathryn Kish (Catherine Beecher: A Study in American Domesticity) - 1975
  • Strunk, Jr., William and E.B. White (The Elements of Style) - 1959
  • Vanauken, Sheldon (A Severe Mercy) - 1978
  • Watts, Alan (In My Own Way: An Autobiography) - 1972
  • White, Helen C. (A Watch in the Night) - 1995
  • White, James F. (Sacraments as God's Self Giving) - 1984
  • Wilder, Amos Niven (Thorton Wilder and His Public) - 1980
  • Williams Charles (Shadows of Ecstasy) - 1966
  • Williams, Charles and C.S. Lewis (Taliessin Through Logres, The Region of the Summer Stars, and Arthurian Torso) - 1974
  • Single review of literature by multiple authors - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Fables
  • Box 61:
  • Adopted Son - 1967
  • Angel A Day of Rest - 1965
  • Destruction Noonday - 1964
  • Doctor - 1965
  • Dog - 1977
  • Failure - 1967
  • Gardener - 1948
  • Gift - 1966
  • God Men - 1977
  • Hand of God - 1965
  • Harrowing of Hell - 1972
  • King Who Had Ten Children - 1963
  • Legacies - 1969
  • Mary and Martha - 1983
  • Message - 1966
  • Mother and the Flying Saucers (2 folders) - 1960-1984
  • No Room - 1987
  • Outcast - 1980
  • Ring - 1966
  • Rites of Passage - 1967
  • Second Dream - 1947
  • Wine - 1967
  • Stories about Many Things (2 folders) - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Stories
  • Box 61:
  • Competition - 1960
  • Eve, undated
  • Mimi - 1963
  • Unfinished stories - 1935
  • Sub-Series: Poetry
  • Box 62:
  • Notebook of original verse - 1932-1948
  • Notebook of original verse and prose (2 folders) - 1932-1934
  • Poems/verse - 1966-1998
  • Poems and verse written by others - 1911-1953
  • Sub-Series: Charles Williams
  • Box 62:
  • Articles regarding Williams - 1948-1995
  • "Charles Williams: A Critical Essay" by Mary McDermott Shideler - 1966
  • Charles Williams: A Critical Essay [shelved in printed works] - 1966
  • "A Charles Williams Reader" selected by Mary McDermott Shideler, undated (2 folders)
  • Book jackets for Williams' publications, undated
  • Book reviews - 1951-1965
  • British research materials
  • Correspondence from Charles Williams to John D. C. Pellow - 1920-1933
  • "Descent into Hell" summary by Shideler - 1992
  • Flyers and brochures - 1958-1986
  • Reviews of "Charles Williams" by Shideler - 1966-1969
  • Shideler correspondence: Brown, Robert McAfee - 1955-1962
  • Shideler correspondence: Douglas, Margaret (2 folders) - 1959-1965
  • Box 63:
  • Shideler correspondence: Eliot, T.S. - 1958-1962
  • Shideler correspondence: Plagiarism question - 1977-1978
  • Shideler correspondence: General [for more correspondence see Correspondence, Box 44] - 1945-1991
  • Short biographies of Charles Williams - 1934, 1938
  • The Theology of Romantic Love: A Study in the Writings of Charles Williams by Shideler: Cartoons, undated
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Correspondence from readers - 1966-1983
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Permission to quote - 1960-1971
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Published text [shelved in printed works] - 1962
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Presentation - 1962
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Promotional materials - 1960-1962
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Research - 1961
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Reviews - 1961-1963
  • Box 64:
  • Theology of Romantic Love: Reviews - 1961-1963
  • Wheaton College, Marion E. Wade Center (2 binders of notes taken by Shideler)
  • Box 65:
  • Wheaton College, Marion E. Wade Center (3 binders of notes taken by Shideler)
  • Box 66:
  • Wheaton College, Marion E. Wade Center (2 binders of notes taken by Shideler)
  • Articles by Williams [photocopied in England by Shideler] (2 folders) - 1957-1958
  • Box 67:
  • Articles by Williams [photocopied in England by Shideler] (2 folders) - 1957-1958
  • Williams, Charles: "Outlines of Romantic Theology," undated
  • Williams, Charles: "The Recovery of Spiritual Initiative" - 1940
  • Williams, Charles: "The Ring and the Book" - 1934
  • Williams, Charles: "The Story of the Aeneid" - 1936
  • Sub-Series: Books, general
  • Box 67:
  • Copyright - 1978-2000
  • Sub-Series: Books: Notes, proofs, drafts for published books
  • Box 67:
  • Consciousness of Battle: Correspondence - 1967-1982
  • Consciousness of Battle: Notes, undated
  • Consciousness of Battle: Publicity - 1969-1970
  • Consciousness of Battle: Published text [shelved in printed works]
  • Consciousness of Battle: Reviews - 1969-1971
  • A Creed for the Christian Skeptic: Correspondence - 1962-1977
  • A Creed for the Christian Skeptic: Episcopal Book Club - 1967-1968
  • A Creed for the Christian Skeptic: Notes, undated
  • A Creed for the Christian Skeptic: Published text [shelved in printed works]
  • A Creed for the Christian Skeptic: Reviews - 1968-1969
  • Form (working title for autobiography series): Correspondence - 1994-1998
  • Form: Interlude 10 - 1993-1997
  • Form: Interlude 12 - 1992-1993
  • Box 68:
  • Form: Notes and drafts (2 folders) - 1984-1993
  • Form: Permissions to quote - 1984-1998
  • Form: Sonnet sequence - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Books: Autobiography
  • Box 68:
  • Autobiography [shelved in printed works]
  • Starting Out: Stage I - 1996
  • The Years of Confusion, Stage II [shelved in printed works, PS3569.H453Z477] - 1997
  • Years of Discovery: Stage III [shelved in printed works, PS3569.H483Z478] - 1998
  • The Struggle for Clarification, Stage IV [shelved in printed works, PS3569.H483Z479] - 1999
  • The Reconciling, Stage V [shelved in printed works, PS3569.H483Z4795] - 2000
  • Charles Williams: A Critical Essay - 1966
  • A Creed for a Christian Skeptic - 1968
  • In Search of the Spirit: A Primer - 1985
  • Mother and the Flying Saucer and other fables - 1976
  • Nine Visions: A Book of Fantasies, edited by Andrea LaSonde Melrose - 1983
  • Persons, Behavior and the World: The Descriptive Psychology Approach - 1988
  • Spirituality: An Approach Through Descriptive Psychology - 1992
  • The Theology of Romantic Love: A Study in the Writings of Charles Williams - 1962
  • Series 12: REFERENCE FILES
  • Box 68:
  • Abortion - 1963-1997
  • Aging - 1963-1997
  • Aphorisms, etc. (quotes) - 1963-1997
  • Art - 1963-1997
  • Education - 1963-1997
  • Forgiveness - 1963-1997
  • Global warming - 1963-1997
  • Humor - 1963-1997
  • Ideas for papers - 1963-1997
  • Iowa Women's Archives - 1963-1997
  • Jacopo Della Queria (Tomb of Maria of Lucca) - 1963-1997
  • Jung, Carl - 1963-1997
  • Box 69:
  • Kokkonen, Walter J. (2 folders) - 1963-1997
  • Lewis, C.S. - 1963-1997
  • Liturgies - 1963-1997
  • Manuscript preparation - 1963-1997
  • Miscellaneous notes - 1963-1997
  • Morgan, Charles (notes) - 1963-1997
  • Murdoch University (Alan Duttons thesis) - 1963-1997
  • Narcotics - 1963-1997
  • Notes (4 folders) - 1963-1997
  • Notes on reading - 1963-1997
  • Odds and ends - 1963-1997
  • Box 70:
  • Pattern Research
  • Privacy
  • Quicunque Vult (Athanasian Creed)
  • Religion (2 folders)
  • Right to die (2 folders)
  • Box 71:
  • Right to die
  • Russian Ikon
  • Sayers, Dorothy (3 folders)
  • Science
  • Thoughts on writing
  • Tolkien, J.R.R.
  • Women and religion
  • Words and writing
  • Young people and morals
  • Series 13: TRANSCRIPTIONS
  • Box 71:
  • Ossorio, Peter G.: Society for Descriptive Psychology conference - 1980
  • Ossorio, Peter G.: Notebook - 1982-1983
  • Box 72:
  • Ossorio with Damon Tempey - 1983
  • Ossorio with Mary Shideler (11 folders) - 1984, 1988-1989
  • Ossorio, Peter G.: Rap session at conference - 1994
  • Ossorio, Peter G.: Assorted - 1969-1977
  • Box 73:
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary: Conversations (excerpts) (4 folders) - 1975-1976, 1978
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary: Counseling sessions with Mary Resh (6 folders) - 1976-1977
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary: Counseling sessions with Peter G. Ossorio (2 folders) - 1977
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary: Counseling sessions with Jack (3 folders) - 1978
  • Box 74:
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary: Counseling sessions with Jack (5 folders) - 1978
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary: Talk sessions (3 folders) - 1976-1977, 1979
  • Shideler, Mary: Counseling with Genevieve Paulson (psychic) - 1984-1986
  • Shideler, Mary: Counseling with Mary Resh (5 folders) - 1977, 1982
  • Shideler, Mary: SDP (Tom) - 1989
  • Box 75:
  • Notebooks I-III - 1974-1980
  • Box 76:
  • Notebooks, IV-VI - 1974-1980
  • Box 77:
  • Notebooks, VII - 1974-1980
  • Box 78:
  • Notebooks, VIII - 1974-1980
  • Series 14: AUDIOCASSETTES
  • Box 78:
  • Audiocassette: PGO (Peter Ossorio) and Mary Shideler, "A Primer," undated [AC987]
  • Audiocassette: E, M & J (Emerson, Mary & Jack): Counseling session, September 1 [AC983-AC984] - 1978
  • Audiocassette: E, M & J (Emerson, Mary & Jack): Counseling session, October 9 [AC985-AC986] - 1978
  • Audiocassette: Shideler, Mary McDermott (memorial service) [AC988] - 2000
  • Shideler, Mary McDermott (memorial service) [AC988] - 2000
  • Series 15: PHOTOGRAPHS AND GUEST BOOKS
  • Sub-Series: High Haven Guest Books I-IV
  • Box 79:
  • Master index of guests - 1972-1996
  • Guest Book I (with index) - 1972-1980
  • Guest Book II (with index) - 1981-1986
  • Guest Book III (with index) - 1986-1993
  • Box 80:
  • Guest Book IV (with index 1993-1996) - 1993-2000
  • Sub-Series: Photographs (loose)
  • Box 80:
  • Family, undated
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary (loose photographs taken from photo album)
  • Shideler, Mary McDermott - 1980-1998
  • Swarthmore College - 1938, 1988
  • Sub-Series: Albums
  • Box 81:
  • Form I
  • Box 82:
  • Form II
  • Box 83:
  • McDermott Family/Stewart Family/Childhood
  • Box 84:
  • Shideler, Emerson and Mary
  • Series 16: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Sub-Series: Scrapbook I
  • Box 85:
  • Scrapbook I - 1908-1929
  • Correspondence (loose materials) - 1927-1929
  • Perovich, Vuko (loose materials) - 1925-1928
  • Newspaper clippings (loose materials) - 1908, 1925
  • Sub-Series: Scrapbook II
  • Box 85:
  • Scrapbook II - 1917-1932
  • Correspondence (loose materials) - 1929-1932
  • Dinner and banquet brochures (loose materials) - 1928-1931
  • McDermott, George T. and Katharine (loose materials) - 1917-1930
  • Speeches written by George T. McDermott (loose materials) - 1928, 1931
  • Sub-Series: Scrapbook III
  • Box 86:
  • Scrapbook III - 1928-1937
  • Correspondence (loose materials) - 1928-1937
  • Dinner and banquet brochures (loose materials) - 1933-1936
  • Speeches written by George T. McDermott (loose materials) - 1930, 1934
  • Sub-Series: Yearbook
  • Box 86:
  • Swarthmore College Yearbook - 1938