Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cloverleaf Club (Cass County, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1918-2002
Creator: Cloverleaf Club (Cass County, Iowa)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0397
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: A social and benevolent women's club near Atlantic, Iowa.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 566) were donated byThe Cloverleaf Club in 1998 and 2002.

Preferred Citation: Cloverleaf Club (Cass County, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Cloverleaf Club began May 9th, 1918 in West Benton Township in Cass County, Iowa under the name "West Benton Red Cross Club." The group was initially formed so women in the area could get together and knit sweaters and other garments for men serving overseas in World War I. Early meetings often lasted all day; members brought their husbands to socialize and share potluck meals.

Club meetings were a major social event for the women where they could work together to help the community and accomplish goals, socialize, and share common interests such as sewing, cooking, and gardening.

In the early 1960s the club had its largest membership at thirty-five members, but as the farming population declined and more women worked outside of the home, the group's membership also declined. In 2002 the Cloverleaf Club reorganized under a new name, the Cloverleaf Coffee Club, intending to meet at restaurants to drink coffee and socialize.

The Cloverleaf Club records measure five linear inches and date from 1918 to 2002. They primarily consist of record books that contain minutes of meetings (1918-2002). A history, newspaper clippings and anniversary programs are included in the collection. The history of the Cloverleaf Club describes the major events that formed and changed the club through the years. Newspaper clippings and program booklets from the 50th, 70th and 80th anniversaries of the club's formation are also included in this folder.

The record books contain the minutes of the club's meetings, roll calls, membership lists, and agendas. The final folder consists of the 1947 handmade booklet of club members and the club moneybag. Club member Marcella Jensen recalled that the moneybag had been in the club for as long as some could remember, which was over sixty years.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLUB RECORDS

  • Series 1: CLUB RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings and club history - 1968-2002
  • Minutes - 1918-1923, 1933-1942
  • Minutes - 1942-1950, 1950-1954
  • Minutes - 1954-1970, 1954-1975, 1971-1981
  • Minutes - 1981-1993, 1993-2002
  • Member booklet and club moneybag - 1940-1947

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Cloverleaf Club

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Clubs

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cass County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women