Guide to the Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1913-1952
Creator: McDonald, Helena Jongewaard (1894-1989)
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0390
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Teacher who attended Iowa State College in 1914.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in SCVF.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 560) were donated by Leslie M. McKinley in 1998.

Preferred Citation: Helena Jongewaard McDonald papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Helena "Lane" Jongewaard McDonald was born May 27, 1894 in northwestern Iowa to Ringert Cornelius Jongewaard and Jennie Ver Ploegh Jongewaard. She grew up in Sioux Center, Iowa and attended college in Cedar Falls, Iowa. In 1918, she married Thomas Fraser McDonald. They met in 1913 when she was a teacher at Sioux Center, Iowa and he was the superintendent of schools in her district. Helena McDonald died November 11, 1989.


Content Description

The Helena "Lane" Jongewaard McDonald papers date from 1913 to 1952 and measure 1 linear inch. The papers include a transcription of her diaries for the years 1913-14, 1917, and 1934 entitled "In Commemoration of her 100th Birthday, May 27, 1994: The Journals of Helena "Lane" Jongewaard McDonald." They mostly detail everyday life, growing up in Iowa and going to college in Cedar Falls, Iowa. The diaries contain photographs of McDonald and her husband at about the time the diaries were written. Also included in the collection is a 1952 obituary of McDonald's mother, Jennie Ver Ploegh Jongewaard.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
McDonald, Helena Jongewaard, 1894-1989
McDonald, Thomas Fraser
Jongewaard, Jennie Ver Ploegh

Corporate Names:
Iowa State Teachers College

Dates:
20th century
1910-1919
1930-1939

Topics:
Family life
Women in education

Occupations:
College students
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Sioux Center
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Falls

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Diaries

Browse:
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories