Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Freedom Township Women's Club (Palo Alto County) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1998
Creator: Freedom Township Women's Club (Palo Alto County, Iowa)
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0383
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Social club founded in 1923. Presentations were given on food preservation, nutrition, sewing, and tailoring.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 1-4.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 547) were donated by Dorothy Place in 1998.

Preferred Citation: Freedom Township Women's Club records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Freedom Township Women's Club began in 1923 under the name "Swastika Club of Freedom Township," changing its name in 1942 to the "Freedom Township Women's Club." The early programs of this club demonstrate the influence of the newly formed Farm Bureau and the then-affiliated county extension programs. Club women heard presentations by extension agents on home economics skills such as food preservation, nutrition, sewing, and tailoring. The club's monthly meetings also provided township women with opportunities to socialize and work together for mutual goals. After mid-century, the programming more frequently included arts topics, craft projects, book reviews, and descriptions of international travel. The last meeting of the Freedom Township Women's Club was held June 2, 1989.

The Freedom Township Women's Club Records measure 1.75 linear feet and date from 1923 to 1998.  They primarily consist of secretary's books (1948-1989) and scrapbooks (1923-1989).  A history, as well as a few miscellaneous records, correspondence, and photographs complete this exemplary collection of a rural women's club from its inception in 1923 to its last meeting in 1989.  The records illustrate typical social and cultural activities of farm women throughout this period.

The history of the Freedom Township Women's Club, written by long-time club member Dorothy Place in 1998, describes the major events of the club. The secretary's books include minutes, records of meetings from 1948 to 1989, and loose papers taken from the books.

A scrapbook for 1923 to 1948 was compiled for the twenty-fifth anniversary of the club. Photocopies of this scrapbook follow the originals.  This and subsequent scrapbooks contain lists of elected officers, photographs, newspaper clippings, programs, project reports, plays, attendance records, the 1934 Swastika Club Cookbook, and other memorabilia.

Miscellaneous Farm Bureau papers (1960), correspondence from the fiftieth anniversary reunion tea (1973), 4-H Foundation honorary certificates (undated), and several loose photographs complete the club records.  Many more photographs of club activities and members can be found in the scrapbooks.
Dorothy Sprout Place memoir (IWA): "The War Years, 1938-1945: The Story of How World War II Shaped My Life." Autobiographical account composed by Dorothy Place from her diaries written during World War II.
 
Edith Sprout papers (IWA): "Memories." Published memoir of Mrs. Edith Sprout, charter member of Freedom Township Woman's Club.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: SECRETARY'S BOOKS
Series 4: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 5: FARM BUREAU DOCUMENTS
Series 6: 4-H FOUNDATION CERTIFICATES
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • History - 1998
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence [Responses to invitation to fiftieth anniversary tea] - 1973
  • Series 3: SECRETARY'S BOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Secretarys books
  • Secretarys books - 1948-1960
  • Secretarys books: loose papers
  • Secretarys books - 1960-1989
  • Secretarys books: loose papers
  • Series 4: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: original scrapbook cover - 1923-1948
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Originals (folder 1) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Originals (folder 2) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Originals (folder 3) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Originals (folder 4) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Photocopies (folder 1) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Photocopies (folder 2) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Photocopies (folder 3) - 1923-1937
  • Twenty-fifth anniversary scrapbook: Photocopies (folder 4) - 1923-1937
  • Box 2:
  • Originals (folder 1) - 1938-1948
  • Originals (folder 2) - 1938-1948
  • Originals (folder 3) - 1938-1948
  • Photocopies (folder 1) - 1938-1948
  • Photocopies (folder 2) - 1938-1948
  • Photocopies (folder 3) - 1938-1948
  • Photocopies (folder 4) - 1938-1948
  • Scrapbook [disbound], Original scrapbook cover - 1949-1954
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1949-1954
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1949-1954
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 3) - 1949-1954
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 4) - 1949-1954
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 5) - 1949-1954
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 6) - 1949-1954
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1955-1958
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1955-1958
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1959-1967
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1959-1967
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 3) - 1959-1967
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 4) - 1959-1967
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 5) - 1959-1967
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 6) - 1959-1967
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 7) - 1959-1967
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1968-1972
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1968-1972
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1973-1975
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1973-1975
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1976-1978
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1976-1978
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 3) - 1976-1978
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 1) - 1979-1989
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 2) - 1979-1989
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 3) - 1979-1989
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 4) - 1979-1989
  • Scrapbook [disbound] (folder 5) - 1979-1989
  • Series 5: FARM BUREAU DOCUMENTS
  • Box 4:
  • Farm Bureau Documents
  • Series 6: 4-H FOUNDATION CERTIFICATES
  • Box 4:
  • 4-H Foundation Certificates, undated - 1960
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 4:
  • [Four unidentified photographs. Most photographs are included in scrapbooks.]
  • Series 8: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 5:
  • Original clippings (folder 1) - 1960-1985
  • Original clippings (folder 2) - 1960-1985
  • Original clippings (folder 3) - 1960-1985

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Freedom Township Women's Club

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Rural women
Country life

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Palo Alto County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Scrapbooks
Photographs

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women
Women's Clubs and Organizations