Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Friendly Neighbors Club (Deep River, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-1992
Creator: Friendly Neighbors Club (Deep River, Iowa)
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0377
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The club was organized in 1952 as a social and philanthropic forum for local women.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 1 and 2.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor 539) were donated by Mary Ann Snyder in 1998.

Preferred Citation: Friendly Neighbors Club (Deep River, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Friendly Neighbors club was organized in September 1952 in the home of Edith Mouchka. The members were farm wives living near Deep River, Iowa who organized this group as a social and philanthropic forum for local women. Club meetings enabled the women to do community work, socialize, and share common interests in sewing, cooking, and gardening. Through monthly and annual dues as well as outside fundraisers, the club was able to donate money to the Poweshiek County Home and American Home Finding Association, an organization in Ottumwa, Iowa that places school age children in adoptive homes.

The Friendly Neighbors Club (Deep River) records date from 1952 to 1992 and measure 3 linear inches. The records are arranged in three series: Correspondence, Minutes, and Photographs.

The Correspondence series contains club correspondence as well as a few personal letters to individual members. Included are various thank you notes from organizations that benefited from the club's philanthropy.

There are many handwritten Minutes from monthly meetings, as well as a condensed version of the minutes that was printed monthly in the local newspaper. Attached to many of the monthly minutes is a financial record or sales slips from club purchases. Sales slips are also included in the undated minutes folder.

The Photographs series includes a partially bound scrapbook as well as individual photographs of the members. The scrapbook records the names of all the officers and their positions, the names and number of members in a given year, as well as any visitors who attended the monthly meetings. There are photographs of the club officers as well as photographs of special events sponsored by the club.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FRIENDLY NEIGHBORS

  • Series 1: FRIENDLY NEIGHBORS
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1956-1957
  • Minutes (folder 1) - 1952-1965
  • Minutes (folder 2) - 1952-1965
  • Minutes (folder 3) - 1952-1965
  • Minutes (folder 4) - 1952-1965
  • Minutes (folder 5) - 1952-1965
  • Minutes (folder 6) - 1952-1965
  • Minutes - 1970-1971
  • Photograph - 1992
  • Loose items removed from scrapbook - 1964-1968
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbook - 1952-1963

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Friendly Neighbors Club (Deep River, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women in charitable work
Clubs

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Deep River

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Photographs
Scrapbooks

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations