Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1978-2005
Creator: National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter
Extent: 3.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0372
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The local chapter gives scholarships to students interested in construction careers, sponsors an annual golf outing  and provides social networking opportunities for women who work in construction.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 9.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 530) were donated by Tammy Koeppel in 1998 and 2000.

Preferred Citation: National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) provides a forum in which women who work in the construction industry can meet and support each other. The majority of the members in the Cedar Rapids branch have professional careers in the industry. Their mission statement says, "NAWIC is an international organization of women employed in the construction industry which promotes that industry and supports advancement of women within it." The group's pledge is: "As material for the Construction for our building, I pledge the agility of my hands, the ability of my mind, and the integrity of my heart."

The Cedar Rapids/Iowa City Chapter was chartered on February 22, 1969 with four members. Officers and members of the chapter attend conventions and forums sponsored by NAWIC. In 1991, Cedar Rapids hosted the annual spring forum. Every year, the Cedar Rapids/Iowa City Chapter hosts a golf outing and a "Little Reno Nite" to raise funding for scholarships for students, male and female, who are interested in pursuing careers in the construction industry. In 1997-98, the group awarded scholarships and painted a masonry training lab for the Masonry Training Program at Kirkwood Community College. While mainly a social networking organization, NAWIC also promotes entrepreneurship, takes tours of facilities, and participates in the Block Kids program. Block Kids is a national competition hosted by the NAWIC Education Foundation that promotes early interest in the construction industry in which grade school students are allowed to build whatever they want out of Legos and other miscellaneous items such as string and foil. The chapter has also been active in sponsoring the Kirkwood Community College's annual "Beyond Rubies: A Woman's Conference" for a number of years.

The National Association of Women in Construction, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Chapter records date from 1978 to 2005 and measure 3.25 linear feet. The records are arranged in four series: Administrative, Financial Records, Publications,and Photographs.

The Administrative series consists of correspondence, annual reports, agendas, minutes, and other various administrative materials. The series contains material on the organization's annual golf outings. Hundreds of people participate in the golf outings, including men. Records for the 1996 golf outing are missing.

The Financial Records series contains ledgers, income statements, treasurer's reports, and materials relating to the organization's tax exempt status.

The Publications series contains a "Career Day Manual," copies of the NAWIC Image magazine, various newsletters from other NAWIC chapters from around the country, as well as the Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City chapter's monthly newsletter, "NAWIC Pipeline," which includes a professional directory for its 15-20 members. A few issues are missing.

The Photographs series consists of two photographs, one of which is from the 1999 NAWIC annual convention.
National Association of Women in Construction, Des Moines, Iowa Chapter records (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: FINANCIAL RECORDS
Series 3: PUBLICATIONS
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Activities: "Beyond Rubies: A Woman's Conference" sponsorship - 1983-1998
  • Activities: Block Kids - 1995-1997
  • Activities: Christmas party - 1996
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 1) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 2) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 3) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 4) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 5) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 6) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 7) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 8) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 9) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 10) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Golf outings (folder 11) - 1984-1997
  • Activities: Little Reno Nite - 1986-1993
  • Activities: "Training of the Trades and Other Educational Projects" contest submission, undated
  • Agendas and minutes - 1990-1995
  • Box 2:
  • Agendas and minutes (folder 1) - 1996-2000
  • Agendas and minutes (folder 2) - 1996-2000
  • Annual planning conference - 1991-1999
  • Annual reports - 1985, 1996-1997
  • Bylaws and standing rules - 1984-1997
  • Cedar Rapids bid for 2001 annual forum - 2000
  • Chapter announcements - 1991-1992
  • Chapter excellence - 1997
  • Committees: Committee lists - 1985-1997
  • Committees: Construction industry committee - 1992, 1996
  • Committees: Nominating committee - 1991-1997
  • Committees: Scholarship committee - 1984-1997
  • Correspondence - 1980-1997
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1998-1999
  • Correspondence: National mailings - 1990-1993
  • Correspondence: Reports - 1992-1999
  • Leadership directories - 1985-1997
  • Mailing lists - 1990-1996
  • Membership: Dues remittal - 1983-1995
  • Membership: Eligibility guidelines - 1991
  • Membership: New members - 1989-1997
  • Membership: Orientation packet - 1997
  • Membership: Promotion: General - 1991-1997
  • Membership: Promotion: Membership Olympics - 1996-1997
  • Membership: Rosters - 1991-1998
  • NAWIC conventions: General - 1991-1999
  • NAWIC conventions: Reports - 1990-1996
  • President: Files - 1989-1992
  • Box 4:
  • President: Handbook - 1989-1996
  • Professional education - 1986-1997
  • Protocol - 1978-1991
  • Recognitions - 1992-1997
  • Region 13 materials - 1991-1996
  • Spring forums: General - 1989-1996
  • Spring forums: 1991 Spring Forum hosted by Cedar Rapids/Iowa City chapter (folder 1)
  • Spring forums: 1991 Spring Forum hosted by Cedar Rapids/Iowa City chapter (folder 2)
  • Spring forums: Strategic planning - 1992-1996
  • Spring forums: Miscellaneous - 1980-2000
  • Series 2: FINANCIAL RECORDS
  • Box 4:
  • Audits - 1989-1996
  • Budgets: Chapter - 1985-1995
  • Budgets: National - 1985-1998
  • Income statements - 1990-1991
  • Box 5:
  • Income statements - 1992-1994
  • Ledgers - 1986-1990
  • Ledgers - 1990-1994
  • Registers - 1989-1996
  • Tax exempt status - 1981-1995
  • Treasurer: General - 1985-1995
  • Treasurer: Handbooks - 1982-1995
  • Box 6:
  • Treasurer: Reports - 1985-1991
  • Treasurer: Reports - 1991-1997
  • Miscellaneous - 1983-1995
  • Series 3: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 6:
  • Brochures, undated
  • "Career Day Manual" - 1990
  • The NAWIC Image magazine - 1990-1993, 1998
  • Newsletters: "Connection" - 1997-1998
  • Newsletters: "Front Sheet" - 1997-1998
  • Box 7:
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Director's Newsletter" - 1990-1998
  • Newsletters: "NEF [NAWIC Education Foundation] News" - 1997-1998
  • Newsletters: "Nuts and Bolts" - 1997-1998
  • Newsletters: "O'Hare NAWIC News" - 1997-1998
  • Newsletters: Miscellaneous newsletters - 1997-1998
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter - 1986-1988
  • Box 8:
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter (folder 1) - 1990-2004
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter (folder 2) - 1990-2004
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter (folder 3) - 1990-2004
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter (folder 4) - 1990-2004
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter (folder 5) - 1990-2004
  • Box 9:
  • Newsletters: "NAWIC Pipeline," Cedar Rapids/ Iowa City Chapter - 2005
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 9:
  • Photographs - 1999