Guide to the Iowa Women in Educational Leadership records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1981-1997
Creator: Iowa Women in Educational Leadership
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0370
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: An organization to promote the upward mobility of women in educational management.

Administrative Information

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 527) were donated by Judy Hendershot in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women in Educational Leadership records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

The Iowa Women in Educational Leadership (IWEL) is a statewide organization that was formed in January 1983. The organization aimed at promoting the upward mobility of women in educational management by providinginformation, support and encouragement for women administrators and those seeking to be administrators. Members attended annual IWEL state meetings and regional and local meetings to foster a network amongst women to provide and receive job-related support and professional development.


Content Description

The Iowa Women in Educational Leadership records date from 1981 to 1997 and measure 1.25 linear feet. The papers are arranged in two series: Administrative Records and Related Organizations.

The Administrative Records series (1981-1997) consists of newsletters, memos, speeches, correspondence, minutes, and the IWEL constitution. Included are financial and tax records, membership directories, newspaper clippings, and photographs.


The Related Organizations series (1981-1992) includes four organizations that share the common objective to promote the advancement of women in educational leadership positions. The organizations include the Iowa Women in Educational Administration (I-LEAD), the American Association of School Administrators (AASA), Assisting Women to Advance Through Resources and Encouragement (Project AWARE), and Women in Educational Administration (WEA).

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Iowa Women in Educational Leadership

Dates:
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
Educational leadership
Career development
Women in education

Occupations:
College administrators
School administrators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Archives
Photographs

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations