Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Sioux County Women's Chorus (Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-1955
Creator: Sioux County Women Chorus
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0363
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Choral group that was invited to represent Iowa at the New York World's Fair in 1939.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 627) were donated by Melvina Mulder in 1999.

Preferred Citation: Sioux City Women's Chorus, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Iowa State College Cooperative Extension Service and the Iowa Farm Bureau organized the County Women's Chorus program in 1937 to provide social and cultural opportunities for rural women. Choruses met two to four times a month to practice under a volunteer director. They performed at various functions throughout the year, culminating in a statewide festival performance and competition at the Iowa State Fair.

The Sioux County Women's Chorus was organized in 1938 under the leadership of Mrs. Roggen. That year, it was rated one of the top four choruses of the state's sixty-four women's choruses.

In 1939, the Sioux County Women's Chorus was invited to represent Iowa at the New York World's Fair. The chorus raised funds for the trip from various County Farm Bureau offices and extension services across the state, as well as many Sioux County businesses. The chorus women went to New York, sang on a nationally broadcast radio program, and sang on stage at the world's fair before Eleanor Roosevelt gave the keynote address for the Rural Women's Day on May 23, 1939. The chorus continued to perform at the local and state level until the County Women's Chorus program was phased out in 1993.

The Sioux County Women's Chorus collection consists of a scrapbook about and a handwritten reminiscence of the chorus's trip to the New York World's Fair in 1939 and measures 1 linear inch. The scrapbook includes newspaper and journal articles about the trip to New York. It also includes newspaper articles about the 1955 Festival Chorus at the Iowa State Fair, plus photographs, memorabilia, and other records. The handwritten history is an undated, first-person account describing many events during the trip to and from the1939 World's Fair.
Neil Bjurstrom Rural Music Collection, Parks Library, Iowa State University.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.