Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Vern Berry papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1980-1998
Creator: Berry, Vern (1906- )
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0354
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Newspaper columnist who co-authored a book entitled, ?Roots and Recipes: Six Generations of Heartland Cookery.?

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 498) were donated by Vern Berry in 1998.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Vern Berry grew up in Davenport, Iowa. She married Rex Berry, and the couple raised two daughters. Widowed at the age of 70, she became a writer. Without any training but the aid of a writers' group, she became a newspaper columnist, published several magazine articles and a book of poetry, and co-authored a book with Connie Heckert entitled 'Roots and Recipes: Six Generations of Heartland Cookery.' In this book she tells stories of six generations in her family and includes recipes reaching back to the 1700s. Berry is a member of the Quad Cities Pen Women.

The Vern Berry Papers measure one linear inch and date from 1980-1998. They consist of published magazine articles, biographical newspaper clippings, poetry, and correspondence. The book 'Roots and Recipes' is shelved in the Iowa Women's Archives printed works collection (call number TX715. B4888 1995).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Vern Berry

  • Series 1: Vern Berry
  • General - 1980-1998

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Berry, Vern, 1906-

Dates:
1990-1999
1980-1989

Topics:
Cooking
Women

Occupations:
Poets
Homemakers
Columnists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Davenport
Illinois and Iowa -- Quad Cities

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers