Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dorothy Paul papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1955-2014
Creator: Paul, Dorothy (1927-)
Extent: 4.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0349
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City peace activist and educator who was executive director of the UNA-USA Iowa Division from 1976 to 1996.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 480) were donated by Dorothy Paul in 2000 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Dorothy Paul papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Human rights activist and educator Dorothy Marion Bouleris Paul was born in Cohoes, New York, in 1927 to Elizabeth Frances Quinn Bouleris and Joseph Napolean Bouleris, a mechanic who was unemployed at times during the Depression. Dorothy Bouleris, the second of four children, graduated from Catholic Central High of Troy, New York, in 1944 and then worked at various secretarial jobs for nine years. She married physician David M. Paul in 1953, and the couple moved to Iowa City where David Paul joined the medical faculty of the University of Iowa. The Pauls raised two children: Phillip, born in 1954, and Elizabeth, born in 1957.

Dorothy Paul entered the University of Iowa where she completed a BA in general studies with a concentration in global studies in 1981 and an MA in American studies in 1984. Her graduate work focused on Third World women in the United States.

Paul became involved in the United Nations Association of the United States of America ( UNA-USA) in 1965 as a volunteer for the United Nations International Children's Educational Fund (UNICEF). She served as president of the Iowa City chapter of UNA-USA from 1972 to 1974, and was named executive director of the Iowa Division in 1979, a position she held for over twenty years. Following her resignation in 2000, Paul continued to serve the UNA-USA Iowa Division as chair of the program committee.

UNA-USA (known as the American Association for the United Nations until 1964) is a national organization dedicated to strengthening the United Nations and enhancing U.S. participation in international institutions. Paul stated in a 1990 speech that UNA-USA carries out its mission through a combination of "public outreach, policy analysis, and international dialogue." UNA-USA consists of a network of over 150 regional chapters and divisions, and belongs to the World Federation of United Nations Associations (WFUNA), which is composed of chapters from over fifty nations.

The UNA-USA Iowa Division began in 1953 after Eleanor Roosevelt, at the invitation of Dorothy Schramm, visited Iowa and spoke in Des Moines. Several local chapters were soon established across the state; the Iowa Division held its first Annual Assembly in 1955 and began publication of its newsletter, Iowa UNA Forum, in 1964. The UNA-USA Iowa Division also developed two annual statewide programs?Model UN and the Iowa Youth Symposium.

During Dorothy Paul's tenure as executive director, the UNA-USA Iowa Division organized numerous local and international conferences, and conducted several major studies. Paul emphasized the connection between global and local issues and actions in her speeches and essays about the work of the UNA-USA Iowa Division, and through the structure of the forums and conferences she organized. The executive director of the national programs of the UNA-USA praised Paul's work by stating, "The Iowa Division annual report [for 1991] is in a class by itself, not only because of its heft, but because of the truly outstanding work that it documents."

Paul's work reflects her interest in women's issues. She attended several UN conferences on women (including Copenhagen, 1980; Nairobi, 1985; and Beijing, 1995), and participated in "feminist" tours of China and Scandinavia. These tours, organized by Meg Bowman, a sociology professor at San Jose State College, highlighted women's work and their international connections.

Paul networked with many local organizations including the University of Iowa Women in Development Committee, the Iowa City Foreign Relations Council, the Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research, and the Iowa City Human Rights Commission. She played a central role in organizing local programs to celebrate International Women's Day for many years. In 2000, following her resignation as executive director of the UNA-USA Iowa Division, Paul took a volunteer position with the University of Iowa Center for Human Rights. From 2002 to 2004, she coordinated the local Spring Walk for Women in Afghanistan, a program initiated by the United States Committee for the United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM/USA).

Paul has received numerous awards and accolades for her work. In 1995, she received the Arnold Goodman Award from UNA-USA at the national convention in New York. The UNA-USA Iowa Division bestowed on her its highest award, the Scroll of Honor, in 2001. Numerous local organizations, including the Emma Goldman Clinic, the Iowa City Human Rights Association, and the Iowa City Human Rights Commission, have also honored Paul for her contributions to furthering women's and human rights.

The Dorothy Paul papers date from 1955 to 2006 and measure 4.75 linear feet. The papers are arranged in nine series: Biographical information, Writings, Speeches, Conferences, UNA-USA Iowa Division, Additional human rights activities, Resource files on women, Artifacts, and Photographs.
Beverly Everett papers (IWA): Board member of UNA-USA Iowa division and member of the United States National Commission for the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organizations (UNESCO).

Kathleen Wood Laurila papers (IWA): Laurila attended the Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing.

Dorothy Schramm papers (IWA): President and founding member of Burlington chapter of UNA-USA Iowa, chair of UNA-USA Iowa Division (UNA-USA was called the American Association for the United Nations at the time), and director of UNA-USA.

Marilyn Sippy papers (IWA): Long-time UNICEF volunteer from Marion, Iowa.

United Nations Association-United States of America, Iowa Division records. (Special Collections Department, University of Iowa Libraries): Includes Iowa UNA Forum.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: WRITINGS
Series 3: SPEECHES
Series 4: CONFERENCES: UNITED NATIONS DECADE FOR WOMEN - 1975-1985
Series 5: CONFERENCES: EARTH SUMMIT (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), 1992
Series 6: CONFERENCES: FOURTH WORLD CONFERENCE ON WOMEN, (Beijiing, China), 1995
Series 7: CONFERENCES: OTHER
Series 8: UNA-USA IOWA DIVISION
Series 9: ADDITIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS ACTIVITIES
Series 10: RESOURCE FILES ON WOMEN
Series 11: ARTIFACTS
Series 12: SLIDES
Series 13: CONFERENCES

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Awards and newspaper clippings - 1987-2010
  • "A Viviencia for Three Generations of Women in My Family: Victims of Change and Time" - 1983, 1984
  • Family - 1985, 1990
  • Box 11:
  • Newspaper profiles - 2009-2011
  • Series 2: WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • Academica papers: "Asian Women and Technology" - 1980-1989
  • Academica papers: "Don't Bet on the Prince" - 1988
  • Editorials - 1981-2010
  • Essays - 1986-2000
  • Letters to the editor - 1979-2013
  • Series 3: SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • "A Commentary on the Disarmament Demonstration in New York: A Duty to Hope" - 1984
  • "Building Blocks for the Future: Leadership Development and UNA," UNA-USA national convention - 1985
  • "Economic Development and the Fifth World: The World of Women," West High School, Iowa City - 1986
  • "Refugees," National Issues Forum - 1987
  • "Iowa Women Making a World of Difference," UNA-USA national convention, New York City - 1988
  • Statement at Iowa Humanities Board public hearing - 1989
  • "Who we are, What we are doing, and What the UN is doing" - 1990
  • "Security," Rotary A.M. Club - 1991
  • "Breaking Barriers, Building Bridges" - 1991
  • Iowa City Human Rights Commission - 1991
  • "The Real UN: What is it?" Iowa UN Day - 1991
  • "Remembering War: Envisioning Peace," Iowa City Ecumenical Peace Committee annual Hiroshima commemoration - 1992
  • "The Road From Rio," New York sustainable development workshop - 1994
  • "An Earth Charter and Agenda 21 for Iowa," Iowa Academy of Science annual meeting - 1994
  • "American Women and International Concerns," Beijing - 1995
  • "Poverty," Break the Fast Simple Meal, Iowa City - 1995
  • "The United Nations at 50: Creating a Social Agenda for the 21st Century," Unitarian Universalist Society, Iowa City - 1995
  • "From Rio, Cairo, Copenhagen and Beijng to Where?" San Francisco - 1995
  • "Human Rights USACEDAW," Washington, DC - 1997
  • Dorothy Schramm recognition luncheon - 1997
  • "Presentation on Human Rights Activities in Iowa City," UNA-USA national conventional, Washington, DC - 1998
  • "The Science of Climate Change, Closing Remarks," Iowa City - 1999
  • "Human Rights and Human Wrongs," League of Women Voters annual meeting - 1999
  • Unitarian Universalist Society - 1999
  • "Grassroots Globalism," Drake University - 1999
  • "The United Nations: A Social Agenda for the 21 st Century," Unitarian Universalist Society, Burlington, Iowa - 1998
  • "Why I Became a Paul Harris Fellow," Rotary Club of Iowa City - 2001
  • "United Nations at 60," University of Iowa Main Library - 2005
  • "The Earth Summit," undated
  • Notes on "Women and their Importance to the Third World," undated
  • Box 2:
  • Peace Camp, Cedar Falls, Iowa, undated
  • Miscellaneous - 1986-2001
  • Series 4: CONFERENCES: UNITED NATIONS DECADE FOR WOMEN - 1975-1985
  • Box 2:
  • General - 1976-1985
  • Denmark - 1979-1980
  • Nairobi, Kenya: Preparation materials - 1984-1985
  • Nairobi, Kenya: NGO Forum: General - 1985
  • Nairobi, Kenya: Paul's notes, reports, and speeches - 1985
  • Nairobi, Kenya: Press coverage - 1985
  • Nairobi, Kenya: Slides, Script and description - 1985, 2006
  • Nairobi, Kenya: Slides - 1985
    [shelved in slide collection: Box S-10, tray a]
  • Nairobi, Kenya: UN Bulletin Special Issue - 1985
  • Nairobi, Kenya: Iowa follow-up events - 1985
  • "Forward Looking Strategies: Women 2000" - 1986-1989
  • Box 14:
  • Nairobi, Kenya: NGO Forum: Forum85, July 10-12 and 15-18 - 1985
  • Series 5: CONFERENCES: EARTH SUMMIT (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), 1992
  • Box 2:
  • Preparation: "International Forum on World Environmental Law and Institutions, Des Moines" - 1991
  • Preparation: Midwest public hearings on environment and development, Des Moines - 1991
  • Preparation: Midwest teleconference, University of Iowa - 1992
  • Programs and materials - 1992
  • Box 3:
  • Paul's notes and speeches - 1991-1992
  • Press coverage - 1992
  • Slides: Description - 1992, 2006
  • Slides: Slides - 1992
    [shelved in slide collection: Box S-10, tray b]
  • Local presentations - 1992-1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Grant proposal - 1992
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Working committee - 1992-1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Program - 1992-1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Community forums, Planning - 1992-1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Community forums, "Community Resources for a Sustainable Future," Ames - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Community forums, "A Children's Summit," Cedar Rapids - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Community forums, "The Garbage Society," Burlington - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Community forums, "Healing This Land," Oskaloosa - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Community forums, "Living Green in Our Community," Davenport - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," "Our Local Community and the Environment," Sheldon - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Statewide colloquium, Cedar Falls - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Report master, undated [c - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," Published final report - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," "Iowa Humanities Board Program Review" - 1993
  • "Beyond Rio: Earth Charter Iowa," An Earth Charter and Agenda 21 for Iowa - 1994
  • Series 6: CONFERENCES: FOURTH WORLD CONFERENCE ON WOMEN, (Beijiing, China), 1995
  • Box 4:
  • Preparation: "Priorities '95: Anticipating the UN World Conference on Women in Beijing" - 1994-1995
  • Preparation: World women and media workshop - 1995
  • Preparation: Problems with site for NGO Forum - 1995
  • Preparation: "Report of the Holy See," with Catholic feminist response - 1995
  • Preparation: International Women's Tribune Center - 1993-1995
  • Addresses of Madeleine Albright and Hillary Clinton - 1995
  • A Beijing Journal by Dorothy Paul - 1995
  • Delegate lists - 1995
  • Journal of the United Nations, No. 3, September 6 - 1995
  • NGO Forum on Women (folder 1) - 1995
  • NGO Forum on Women (folder 2) - 1995
  • "Platform for Action" - 1995
  • Publications: United Nations - 1992-1996
  • Publications: Other organizations - 1995
  • Box 14:
  • Newspapers: Forum '95, The Independent Daily of the NGO Forum - 1995
  • Newspapers: Beijing Watch, A Daily Paper of the Fourth World Conference on Women - 1995
  • Newspapers: The Earth Times, newspaper of record for the Fourth World Conference on Women - 1995
  • Newspapers: World Women, published by China Daily - 1995
  • Box 5:
  • Press coverage - 1995
  • Slides: Description - 2006
  • Slides: Slides
    [shelved in slide collection: Box S-10, tray b]
  • "The Status of Women," by Shareen Hertel - 1996
  • Unitarian Universalist Service Committee - 1995
  • United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) - 1995
  • U.S. commitments - 1995-1996
  • Local follow-up activities: "Bringing Beijing Back: Local Actions and Global Strategies," Davenport - 1995
  • Local follow-up activities: "Building on Beijing: United States NGO's Shape a Women's National Agenda" - 1997
  • Local follow-up activities: Campaign to ratify Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) - 1995-1996
  • Local follow-up activities: Caucus resolutions - 1996
  • Local follow-up activities: Iowa programs - 1995-1996
  • Local follow-up activities: Johnson County town meeting - 1996
  • Local follow-up activities: Speeches and notes by Paul - 1995
  • V337: Local follow-up activities: UNA-Beijing conference report, undated
  • Series 7: CONFERENCES: OTHER
  • Box 5:
  • "Containing Conflict: The Role of the United Nations" (Iowa City) - 1987
  • "Cross-Cultural Projections of Women" proposal (Iowa City) - 1984
  • "Facing the Global Challenge: Ethics and Responsibility" and "Professional Ethics in the Global Community" (Iowa) - 1988
  • "Habitat II," (Istanbul, Turkey) Notes and materials
  • Box 6:
  • "Human Rights in the Global Community," (Iowa City) - 1986
  • "National Women's Conference," (Houston, Texas) - 1977
  • "A New Decade for Iowa Women," (Des Moines) - 1986
  • "Nuclear Defense: What Does America Need?" (Iowa) [originally named 'Beyond Nuclear Freeze: A Comprehensive Approach to Peace'] (folder 1) - 1982-1983
  • "Nuclear Defense: What Does America Need?" (Iowa) [originally named 'Beyond Nuclear Freeze: A Comprehensive Approach to Peace'] (folder 2) - 1982-1983
  • "A Social Agenda for Iowa for the 21st Century," (Des Moines) - 1997
  • "Taking on the Challenge of Climate Change," (Des Moines) - 1999-2000
  • "UN at 50: Preferred Futures for the United Nations," (Iowa City) - 1995
  • "The United Nations and Children: Turning Promises into Progress," (Des Moines) - 1996
  • "United Nations on Trial in a Nuclear World," and "The Management of Global Change," (Iowa) - 1983-1984
  • "Women's Agenda Conference," (Des Moines) - 1988
  • Box 7:
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) Grant proposal - 1989
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) Planning committee - 1988-1990
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) Des Moines international colloquium (folder 1) - 1990
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) Des Moines international colloquium (folder 2) - 1990
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) Press coverage - 1990
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) "Achieving Distinction Globally" - 1990
  • "Women Hold Up Half the Sky," (Iowa) Community forums - 1991
  • Box 8:
  • "World Food Day," (Ames) - 1981
  • Miscellaneous - 1983-1998
  • Program evaluations - 1982-1986
  • Series 8: UNA-USA IOWA DIVISION
  • Box 8:
  • Administrative: Annual assembly - 1978-1980
  • Administrative: Annual assembly - 1981
  • Administrative: Annual assembly - 1982
  • Administrative: Annual assembly - 1985-2003
  • Administrative: Board and executive committee minutes - 1996-2001
  • Administrative: Directory of speakers - 1955-1976
  • Administrative: Garst Memorial Awards - 1983, 2003
  • Administrative: Letter from Eleanor Roosevelt - 1956
  • Administrative: National conventions - 1985, 1988, 1995
  • Administrative: Quadrennial report - 1974-1978
  • Projects: Feeding the World FAO and the United States - 1978-1980
  • Projects: 50th anniversary of Universal Human Rights Declaration,
  • Projects: 50th anniversary of Universal Human Rights Declaration, Iowa City plans and events - 1997-1998
  • V336: Projects: 50th anniversary of Universal Human Rights Declaration, "Women's Rights are Human Rights," March - 1998
  • International Youth Year (folder 1) - 1985
  • International Youth Year (folder 2) - 1985
  • Robert Ray luncheon - 1984-1985
  • Projects: Rotary International - 1994-1996
  • Projects: Twinning project (folder 1) - 1983-1985
  • Box 9:
  • Projects: Twinning project (folder 2) - 1983-1985
  • Projects: UNICEF Trick or Treat Drive - 1964-1976
  • Projects: The Unclaimed Birthright - 1975
  • Projects: War and Peace and Iowa - 1981-1983
  • Projects: Miscellaneous events - 1980, 1991
  • Paul's general files: A Weldon Walsh - 1977-1980
  • Paul's general files: Letters from Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, and George H.W. Bush (photos) - 1987, 1994, 1996
  • Paul's general files - 1970s
  • Paul's general files - 1980-1984
  • Paul's general files - 1985-1989
  • Paul's general files - 1990-1994
  • Paul's general files - 1995
  • Paul's general files - 1996-1999
  • Resignation: Letter and cards of appreciation - 2000
  • Resignation: Recognition dinner - 2000
  • Program committee - 2000-2005
  • Box 10:
  • Press clippings - 1979-2004
  • Press releases - 1979-1982
  • Publications: Iowa UNA Forum - 1979-2001
  • Publications: Iowa Resource Catalog - 1991
  • Publications: Global Sisterhood Projects - 1991
  • Publications: The Role of the UN in the Advancement of Women: Toward a Partnership World - 1993
  • Publications: Iowans Support the United Nations on its 60 th Anniversary: A History of Iowa's Connections to the United Nations - 2005
  • Ollio Handbags - 2014
  • Series 9: ADDITIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS ACTIVITIES
  • Box 10:
  • Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research - 1999-2005
  • International Women's Day programs - 2001-2004
  • International Women's Day programs, "Celebrating Women Locally, Connecting Women Globally" - 2001
  • Iowa City Human Rights Commission - 2000
  • "Spring Walk for Women in Afghanistan" (folder 1) - 2002-2004
  • "Spring Walk for Women in Afghanistan" (folder 2) - 2002-2004
  • "Spring Walk for Women in Afghanistan" (folder 3) - 2002-2004
  • University of Iowa Center for Human Rights: General - 2000-2004
  • University of Iowa Center for Human Rights: All Johnson County Reads the Same Book - 2001-2004
  • University of Iowa Center for Human Rights: One Community, One Book - 2004-2008
  • Series 10: RESOURCE FILES ON WOMEN
  • Box 11:
  • Feisty Feminists' mid-summer trip to the Orient: Reading packet, itinerary, and description of slides
  • Feisty Feminists' mid-summer trip to the Orient: Slides
    [shelved in slides collection: Box S-10, trays a-b]
  • Local publications - 1975-1997
  • "Restructuring the Ties that Bind: Local Experiences of the Global Economy in Rural Iowa," Nancy A. Naples - 1991
  • United Nations brochures and publications - 1980-1997
  • "Women and Transnational Corporations: A Bibliography" - 1980
  • Women . . . a world survey - 1985
  • Miscellaneous - 1972-2000
  • Series 11: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 11:
  • Press passes - 1992-1995
  • Buttons - 2004
  • Series 12: SLIDES
  • Box 11:
  • Identification - 2006
    [shelved in Box S-10, trays a-b]
  • "UN Decade for Women World Conference," Nairobi - 1985
    [shelved in Box S-10, trays a-b]
  • Feisty Feminist tour of China - 1987
    [shelved in Box S-10, trays a-b]
  • "Earth Summit," Rio de Janeiro - 1992
    [shelved in Box S-10, trays a-b]
  • Box 12:
  • "Fourth UN Conference on Women," Beijing - 1995
    [shelved in Box S-10, trays a-b]
  • Photo albums: Feminist tour of China - 1987
  • Photo albums: "Fourth World Conference on Women," Beijing - 1995
  • Box 13:
  • Photo albums: Feminist tour of Scandinavia - 1989
  • Series 13: CONFERENCES
  • Box 14:
  • "UN Decade for Women," Nairobi, Kenya - 1985
  • "Fourth World Conference on Women," Beijing, China - 1995
  • "Habitat II," Istanbul, Turkey - 1996