Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Maggie Tinsman papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-1997
Creator: Tinsman, Maggie (1936-)
Extent: 14.70 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0348
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 6

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 476) were donated by Maggie Tinsman in 1997 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Maggie Tinsman papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Margaret Bruce Neir, the daughter of Francis E. and Elizabeth Lourie Neir, was born on July 14, 1936, in Moline, Illinois. She attended Moline public schools and then earned her B.A. from the University of Colorado, Boulder, in 1958. At college, she was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa, Pi Gamma Mu, and Mortar Board. Following her graduation, Margaret Neir lived in Salt Lake City, Utah, and worked as an airline steward for four months until her engagement, when company rules required her to quit. On February 21, 1959, she married Robert Hovey Tinsman, Jr.

The Tinsmans, known to everyone as Maggie and Hovey, began their life together in eastern Iowa, in the area known as the Quad Cities. Hovey Tinsman, trained as a chemical engineer, founded the Twin-State Engineering and Chemical Company. Maggie Tinsman's primary role in the early years of her marriage was that of wife and mother. The couple had three children, Hovey III, Heidi, and Bruce. Though Maggie Tinsman did not work outside the home, she became very involved in volunteering at the schools and in such areas as juvenile probation.

In 1974, Maggie Tinsman earned a Master of Arts degree in social work from the University of Iowa. Her thesis was entitled The Changing Role of the Middle Class Volunteer. She began doing more community service, working for the next three years with the Children and Youth Project, a division of the Scott County Department of Health. The majority of her work was related closely with social service agencies and nursing and hospital services. She also worked with United Way, and she originated the Women's Community Leadership Institute Project, which trained women as potential board members for government agencies. In 1979, Maggie Tinsman was named Iowa Social Worker of the Year.

In addition to her interest in social work, Maggie Tinsman was also active in politics. A loyal Republican, Maggie Tinsman acted as precinct Committee Person in Bettendorf, Iowa, as well as a delegate to several county and state conventions. In 1978, she was appointed to fill an unexpired term on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and was elected that same year to a four-year term. She kept her seat for more than ten years, relinquishing it only when she became a State Senator in 1989.

As a County Supervisor, Maggie Tinsman was involved in several organizations of county officials. These included the Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, the National Association of Counties, Women Officials in the National Association of Counties, and the Iowa State Association of Counties. In 1983, the German Marshall Plan, a project spearheaded by Maggie Tinsman, was selected by the Reagan administration as the United States county government representative to the German-American Federalism Symposium.

As a State Senator, Maggie Tinsman has served on committees dealing with education, human resources, appropriations, the judiciary system, health and human rights, and local government. She has also been an active leader in Medicaid and welfare reform. In 1996, Maggie Tinsman, a pro-choice Republican, who labeled herself a "fiscal conservative and a social centrist," lost a bid for a seat in the United States Senate.

(Biographical data taken chiefly from Maggie Tinsman's resume dated 8/97 and from "Margaret Neir Tinsman." Baraks, Gloria et al. Profiles in Leadership: Dynamic Men and Women of the Quad Cities. Rock Island, Illinois: Quest Publishing, 1981. 220-225.

The Maggie Tinsman papers date from 1977-1997 and measure 14.7 linear feet. The papers are arranged in five series: Biographical Information, Scott County Board of Supervisors, Organizations of County Officials, Iowa General Assembly, and Artifacts. The collection focuses on the activities of a regional woman politician of the late twentieth century and her interest in social welfare. The majority of the collection consists of topical files relating to Tinsman's career as a Scott County Supervisor, 1978-1989.

The Biographical information (1979-1997) series consists of resumes, newspaper clippings, political campaign brochures, and personal letters of recommendation.

The Scott County Board of Supervisors (1978-1993) series consists primarily of topical files relating to Maggie Tinsman's position as County Supervisor. Also included in this series are several plans and reports produced and/or used by the Scott County Board of Supervisors.

The Organizations of County Officials (1977-1988) series consists of three subseries: the Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations ( Iowa ACIR), the Iowa State Association of Counties (ISAC), and the National Association of Counties (NACO). The Iowa ACIR subseries is made up of topical files and reports issued by Iowa ACIR. The ISAC subseries include chronological files, topical files, Board of Directors' agendas, and manuals created by ISAC. The NACO subseries includes chronological files, general information on the organization, and a series of printed works entitled Local Elected Officials Handbook Series. This subseries also includes the records of Women Officials in the National Association of Counties (WON). The WON materials consist of chronological files, general information and newsletters.

The Iowa General Assembly (1990) series consists of the original results of a survey sent out by State Senator Maggie Tinsman in February 1990. The ten-question survey was designed to elicit residents' feeling on many budget-related issues.

The Artifacts (c. 1989) series includes two items: a political campaign pin which reads, "Maggie Tinsman Republican," and a poster which reads "Elect Maggie Tinsman Iowa Senate." The poster is housed in the map case.

Maggie Tinsman's thesis for her Master of Arts degree in social work from the University of Iowa is entitled, The Changing Role of the Middle Class Volunteer. It has been separately catalogued and is shelved in the Iowa Women's Archives printed works collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: SCOTT COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
Series 3: ORGANIZATIONS OF COUNTY OFFICIALS
Series 4: IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY
Series 5: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • General (newspaper clippings, excerpts, campaign brochures)
  • Letters of recommendation (2 folders)
  • Resumes (2 folders)
  • Social work
  • Series 2: SCOTT COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
  • Sub-Series: Topical files
  • Box 1:
  • Administration and Evaluation (2 folders) - 1978-1988
  • Agenda--First Meeting, Jan. 20 - 1978
  • Ambulance Service
  • Bill of Rights for the chronically mentally ill, mentally retarded and developmentally disabled. (2 folders)
  • Box 2:
  • Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission: Budget Plans and Minutes - 1986-1989
  • Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission: Finance and Personnel Committee - 1981-1983
  • Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission: Great River Bend Area Agency on Aging (2 folders)
  • Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission: Joint Purchasing Organization - 1985-1986
  • Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission: Project Review Committee - 1983-1984
  • Box 3:
  • Bi-State Metropolitan Planning Commission: Transportation Policy Committee - 1983-1987
  • Blue Grass Road
  • Board Organization
  • Board of Social Welfare - 1984
  • Bonds
  • Budget Indicator Reports
  • Cemetery (Oakdale Cemetery Company)
  • Charter Home Rule
  • City Assessor (2 folders) - 1981-1984
  • City/County Assessor Merger
  • Cleaveland Associates Ltd.
  • Community Health Care (2 folders) - 1979-1983
  • Box 4:
  • Community Mental Health Center (2 folders) - 1978-1983
  • Comparable Worth
  • Compensation Board (2 folders)
  • Correspondence - 1978-1985
  • Correspondence: Incoming - 1986-1988
  • Correspondence: Outgoing - 1986-1988
  • County Assessor (2 folders) - 1982-1984
  • Box 5:
  • County Attorney - 1982-1984
  • County Engineer - 1983-1984
  • County Finance Bill
  • Countywide Addressing System
  • Courts and Computer Equipment
  • Criminal Justice Davenport Chamber of Commerce: Legislative Committee (4 folders) - 1984-1989 (4 folders)
  • Criminal Justice Davenport Chamber of Commerce: Local Government Council
  • Davenport Community School District Long Range Planning Advisory Committee
  • Davenport Special Charter
  • Decategorization
  • Deinstitutionalization
  • Department of Human Services - 1983-1987
  • Deputy Sheriff
  • Detox Center
  • Developmental Disabilities Forum ( University of Iowa)
  • Duck Creek Flood Plain
  • Economic Development (2 folders)
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Employee Programs
  • Energy
  • Equal Employment Opportunity
  • Expenses
  • Box 6:
  • Fair Labor Standards Act
  • Federal Budget Balancing - 1985
  • Finance Award
  • Funeral Services and Burials
  • General Relief (2 folders) - 1978-1983
  • General Relief Court Suit - 1978
  • General Relief Guidelines
  • General Services
  • German-American Symposium [includes photographs] (3 folders) - 1983
  • Box 7:
  • German Marshall Fund - 1984
  • Goal Setting Session - 1982
  • Goals (4 folders) - 1980-1988
  • Governor's Budget - 1987
  • Great River Bend Services, Inc.
  • Grievances
  • Handicapped Development Center
  • Health Insurance
  • Health Policy in Iowa (regarding the elderly)
  • Hills and Dales (child development center in Davenport, Iowa)
  • Home Rule
  • Homeless/Mentally Ill
  • Human Resources Appeals
  • Humane Society
  • Hyvue (home for mentally retarded adults in Davenport)
  • Box 8:
  • Illinois/Iowa Construction Labor Management Council
  • Iowa Citizen Assembly - 1987
  • Iowa Caucus - 1988
  • Iowa Homecoming - 1986
  • Iowa Quad Cities Night - 1989
  • Industrial Park
  • International Trade
  • Intergovernmental Cooperation
  • Issues in Iowa
  • Jail Advisory Committee
  • Jail Bond Referendum
  • Jail Health Care
  • Box 9:
  • Jail Inspection
  • Jail Lawsuit
  • Jail overcrowding/alternatives to incarceration Jail Project - 1980
  • Jail Remodeling - 1988
  • Job Descriptions
  • Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA)
  • Junior League Training
  • Juvenile Detention Center (2 folders)
  • Box 10:
  • Juvenile Detention Center Staffing
  • Juvenile Diversion Program
  • Land Preservation and Development Policy
  • Land Use
  • Leadership of Iowa
  • Legislation (2 folders) - 1980-1983
  • Box 11:
  • Legislation (4 folders) - 1984-1988
  • Legislation (Freezing local property taxes) - 1986
  • Legislation (Restructuring and downsizing Iowa State government) - 1986
  • Legislative Forum (2 folders) - 1985, 1986
  • Lieutenant Governor's Iowa and the Future Conference - 1984
  • Lobbying
  • Local Option Taxes
  • Box 12:
  • Long Term Care (2 folders)
  • Lost Grove Lake
  • Maintenance Facility
  • Maternity Leave
  • Medic Emergency Medical Services
  • Meetings with F. Glen Erickson - 1985-1988
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation
  • Advisory Committee
  • Box 13:
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation: Case Management
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation: Children
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation: Consultant
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation: Expenditures
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation: National Technical Assistance Center for Mental Health Planning
  • Mental Health/Mental Retardation: Prevention Planning
  • Mercy Hospital Psychiatric Costs
  • Microwave Feasibility Report
  • Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency
  • Mississippi Queen Program, "Business Women and the Political World: New Partnerships" - 1986
  • Mississippi Valley Fair
  • Nashville Draft House (license revocation) - 1982
  • News Releases
  • Box 14:
  • 911 Dispatching
  • Oath of Offices
  • Older Women's League
  • Open Meetings Law
  • People to People Iowa State Leadership Initiative
  • Personnel, Employee Handbook
  • Pineknoll Health Care Facility (psychiatric care for adults in Davenport, Iowa)
  • Plainview Lawsuit (Scott County v. Plainview) - 1984
  • Pleasant Valley Economy Task Force
  • Pleasant Valley Theater Group
  • Pre-Trial Release
  • Practicum students (4 folders) - 1979-1988
  • Public Health Subcommittee, Perinatal Care
  • Box 15:
  • Public Relations/Communications Task Force
  • Quad-City Council of Chambers of Commerce, Labor-Management symposium - 1987
  • Quad-City Development Group (4 folders) - 1987
  • Quad-City Development Group (3 folders) - 1988
  • Box 16:
  • Quad-City Development Group - 1988
  • Quad-City Regional Economic Finance Authority
  • Quad-City Times Roundtable
  • Quad Cities Annual Women's Conference - 1985-1989
  • Railroad Taxes
  • Recognition Ceremony: County Employees - 1987
  • Rejuvenate Davenport
  • Republican Party
  • Revenue Sharing (3 folders)
  • Revitalize Iowa's Sound Economy (RISE) Risk Management Advisory Committee
  • Rudy's Softball Field
  • Sears Building Renovation
  • Secondary Roads Department, Class B Road System
  • Secondary Roads Department, Financial Data
  • Box 17:
  • Seventh Judicial District Department of Correctional Services
  • School of Social Work, University of Iowa
  • Scott County Employee Newsletter - 1986-1988
  • Scott County Regional Industrial Park (SCRIP) lots
  • Scott County Sesquicentennial
  • Serious Traffic Offender Patrol Program (STOP)
  • Sheriff's Office
  • Snow Removal
  • Social Security
  • Social Welfare
  • Speeches (3 folders) - 1978-1987
  • State Papers, Indigent Patient Care
  • Box 18:
  • Stanley Foundation Conference - 1984
  • Strategic Planning (University of Iowa and the Quad-City Times)
  • Subdivision Ordinance - 1979
  • Suicide
  • Target Issues - 1987-1989
  • Tax Assessments (2 folders) - 1982-1983, 1985
  • Tax Deed Properties/Auction
  • Telephone Trunk Study
  • Title XX Advisory Committee (3 folders)
  • Box 19:
  • Tourism
  • T.R.A.I.N. (Teach, Rehabilitate, Aid Iowa's Neglected) Community Action Agency
  • Transportation, Blue Ribbon Task Force
  • Travel
  • Treasurer
  • Unions (2 folders)
  • United Neighbors, Incorporated
  • United Way
  • United Way, Government Relations (2 folders)
  • Box 20:
  • United Way, Planning (3 folders)
  • U.S. West Direct Iowa Quad Cities Task Force
  • Valley Shelter Homes, Inc.
  • Venture Capital Fund
  • Visiting Nurse and Homemaker Service, Inc.
  • Veterans
  • Box 21:
  • Washington Economic Development Meetings - 1987
  • Welfare Reform
  • Window Replacement
  • Women Active in Scott County
  • Women and the Future: A Celebration of Aging: conference proceedings, September 16 - 1985
  • "Women as Candidates in the 1984 Congressional Elections": post-election survey, November - 1984
  • Women Elected Officials
  • Women, Issues
  • Women, National Seminars
  • Women, National Women's Education Fund
  • Women, Resources for Women and Public Leaders
  • Women Supervisors in Iowa
  • Workfare
  • Zoning
  • Sub-Series: Plans and Reports
  • Box 21:
  • A Selected Annotated Bibliography on Black Families - 1978
  • Proposed Policy on the Administrative Structure/Board of Supervisor's Objectives for the Administration - 1979
  • Development Plan, Scott County, Iowa, December - 1980
  • Box 22:
  • The Region: Information on Scott and Muscatine Counties, Iowa; Henry, Mercer and Rock Island Counties, Illinois - 1981
  • Scott County Courthouse, Scott County, Iowa: Final Report - 1987
  • Scott County, Iowa 1988-1989 Budget Plan - 1988
  • Box 23:
  • Information and Referral of the Quad Cities : Handbook for Board Members (2 folders) - 1993
  • Series 3: ORGANIZATIONS OF COUNTY OFFICIALS
  • Sub-Series: Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations (Iowa ACIR)
  • Box 23:
  • Background Information
  • Bylaws
  • Commission
  • Correspondence, Incoming
  • Correspondence, Outgoing
  • County Government Study - 1985
  • County Reform, Indianapolis Information
  • Box 24:
  • County Reform Public Hearings
  • Current Issues
  • Future Issues (2 folders) - 1981-1984
  • Government Services and Finance Task Force (2 folders) - 1982-1984
  • Iowa's Infrastructure Executive Summary - 1986
  • Legislation (2 folders) - 1983-1984
  • Legislative Council Meeting - 1984
  • Legislative Priorities (2 folders) - 1984, 1986
  • Box 25:
  • Liquor Regulation Testimony - 1983
  • Local Government Investment Pools
  • Media clippings
  • Meetings - 1982-1983
  • Reports (2 folders) - 1983-1986
  • Speeches - 1982-1984
  • Tort Liability
  • United States ACIR
  • United States ACIR meeting, Phoenix, AZ - 1984
  • Sub-Series: Iowa State Association of Counties (ISAC)
  • Box 26:
  • General (5 folders) - 1979-1981, 1983, 1985
  • School of Instruction (9 folders) - 1980-1981, 1983-1987
  • Box 27:
  • School of Instruction (2 folders) - 1988
  • Department of Social Services - 1980-1981
  • Supervisors and Engineers - 1988
  • Supervisors' Winter Meeting - 1988
  • Board of Directors Meeting Agendas (3 folders) - 1984-1985
  • Box 28:
  • Board of Directors Meeting Agendas (2 folders) - 1986
  • District VI meetings (3 folders) - 1982-1988
  • Executive Board meetings - 1982-1988
  • Box 29:
  • Health and Welfare Committee (7 folders) - 1981-1988
  • Large County Boards of Supervisors
  • Box 30:
  • Women Supervisors of Iowa
  • A Manual for County Supervisors of Iowa - 1978
  • Manual of Instruction for Newly Elected County Officials, undated
  • Sub-Series: National Association of Counties (NACO)
  • Box 30:
  • Health and Education Steering Committee (7 folders) - 1981, 1983-1988
  • Health Care Cost Containment Committee - 1984-1985
  • Rural Health Subcommittee - 1984
  • Employment Policy and Human Resources Conference - 1984
  • Box 31:
  • Primary Care, Prevention and Mental Health Subcommittee (2 folders) - 1985-1986
  • Mental Health Advisory Panel Meeting - 1987
  • Mental Health/Substance Abuse/Disabilities Subcommittee - 1987-1988
  • Application Procedure and Letters for NACO Board of Directors - 1986
  • Board of Directors' Meetings (4 folders) - 1984-1986
  • Iowa Congressional Meeting - 1986
  • Legislative Conferences (2 folders) - 1980-1983
  • Box 32:
  • Legislative Conferences (4 folders) - 1984-1987
  • Annual Conferences (7 folders) - 1982-1988
  • Box 33:
  • Correspondence - 1984-1986
  • Directory, staff and presidents - 1987, 1989
  • Local Elected Officials Handbook Series (9 booklets) - 1977
  • Sub-Series: Women Officials in the National Association of Counties (WON)
  • Box 33:
  • Purposes and Bylaws - 1981-1985
  • General (5 folders) - 1982-1988
  • Finances - 1984-1985
  • Membership - 1984-1985
  • Box 34:
  • Correspondence - 1984-1985
  • Conferences (2 folders) - 1985
  • Legislative Conference - 1986
  • Board Appointment Nominations - 1986
  • Meetings - 1986-1987
  • Newsletters - 1985-1987
  • Series 4: IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY
  • Box 34:
  • Iowa Legislative Survey results (2 folders) - 1990
  • Box 35:
  • Iowa Legislative Survey results (5 folders) - 1990
  • Series 5: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 35:
  • Political campaign pin ["Maggie Tinsman Republican"] - 1989
  • Political campaign poster ["Elect Maggie Tinsman Iowa Senate"] - 1989
    [shelved in map case]