Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Venise T. Berry papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1996-2004
Creator: Berry, Venise T. (1956-)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0344
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Novelist and associate professor of journalism and mass communication at the University of Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 472) were donated by Venise Berry.

Preferred Citation: Venise T. Berry papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Venise Torriana Berry, author, journalist and educator, was born in 1956 to Jean and Virgil Berry and reared in Des Moines, Iowa. In 1977, she received a bachelor's degree with a double major in journalism and mass communication from the University of Iowa. Two years later, she received her master's degree in communication studies, also from the University of Iowa. She earned her Ph.D. in Radio, Television and Film from the University of Texas in 1989.

Berry worked in various radio stations in Texas as a news reporter and director. While in Texas, she taught mass communication and had administrative responsibilities at Huston-Tillotson College and served as an instructor of telecommunications at Texas Southern University. In 1991, Berry returned to the University of Iowa to assume the position of assistant professor of journalism and mass communication.

Berry is the author of the novel So Good and co-editor of Mediated Messages and African-American Culture: Contemporary Issues, both of which were published in 1996. She is also the author of several articles pertaining to music and the media's influence on black society. In 1998, Berry received the Myers Center Award for the Study of Human Rights in North America for her work on Mediated Messages and African American Culture. This national award is given annually to the best scholarship on the subject of intolerance in North America.

Berry has one daughter named Averi, born in the fall of 1996.

The Venise Berry papers date from 1990 to 2004 and measure five linear inches. The papers consist of biographical material, three books, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, publicity material and writings.

The Biographical material consists of a copy of Berry's resume dated 1997 and information printed from the home page that she maintains on the Internet. The home page includes reviews of Berry's books.

The Newspaper clippings include interviews with Berry and reviews of her books So Good and Mediated Messages and African-American Culture. Announcements of Berry's readings are included in the publicity material. The collection also includes articles written by Berry, which examine the effects that the media and rap music have on blacks.

Copies of the hardcover and paperback versions of So Good and a version of Mediated Messages and African-American Culture are shelved in the printed works collection.
Jean Berry papers (IWA): Jean Berry is Venise Berry's mother.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Venise T. Berry

  • Series 1: Venise T. Berry
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical material - 1997
  • Newspaper clippings - 1996-2004
  • Publicity - 1996-1997
  • Articles - 1990-1994
  • So Good manuscript - 1996
  • So Good manuscript - 1996
  • So Good proofs (uncorrected) - 1996

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Berry, Venise T.

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
African American women
Twentieth century
African Americans

Occupations:
Journalists
College teachers
Novelists
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Texas
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Browse:
African American Women in Iowa