Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Quota Club (Sioux City, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-1997
Creator: Quota Club (Sioux City, Iowa)
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0342
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Professional women's service club formed before 1935, which is active in community and world service, with special emphasis on hearing and speech aid.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in Box 3
Photographs in Box 3
One audiocassette [AC467]

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 470) were donated by the club in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Quota Club (Sioux City, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Quota International, a professional women's service club, was formed in 1919 in Buffalo, New York. The founder, Wanda Frey Joiner, had attended a special "ladies night" of the local Kiwanis club in 1918 and decided that a similar classified service club would be of benefit to executive women and the community.
First Impressions, a new member orientation handbook (in box 1) states:
Quota International, Incorporated, is a non-profit, nonpartisan, nonsectarian organization of executive business and professional women and men dedicated to a common cause-helping those in need. Organized in twelve countries, Quota International links its members of all ages, occupations, and nationalities in a worldwide network of service and friendship. . . . The Latin word "quota" refers to the proportional share of one part to a whole. The founders of Quota knew that they wantedto share their talents with the world's less fortunate.

The club is active in community and world service, with special emphasis on hearing and speech aid (adopted in the 1970s as Quota International's unified service project).

Eligibility in Quota International was originally based upon a potential member's job title and caliber of position. Quota International sought the representation of executive women from various professions, and classified its members by the type of business, government office or professional office that the member owned, managed or represented. Eligibility requirements were changed in the mid 1990s to permit retirees to belong. The classification of members was also discontinued, though Quota International still seeks members from diverse backgrounds.

The Sioux City club was formed before 1935, and in 1996 had the largest membership of any Quota Club in the world. Its projects have included hosting parties and activity nights for senior citizens and the disabled, funding Girl Scout camp scholarships, and hosting an annual luncheon honoring female ninth grade students in the Sioux City area for improvements in their academic work.

In 1989, the Quota International articles of incorporation were amended to delete gender references. While Quota International has opened its doors to male members, both regional and national materials demonstrate that Quota International is a club dedicated to the leadership, teamwork and service of women.

The Quota Club (Sioux City) records date from 1960 19601 to 1997 and measure 1.25 linear feet. The records are arranged in eight series: General, Committee reports, Service committee, Minutes, Seventh District, Quota International Convention, Photographs and Artifacts.

The General series (1981-1997) contains new member orientation materials, a Quota International resource book for club presidents, and a club-produced resource booklet for the hearing-impaired in Sioux City. It also contains Sioux City mayoral proclamations for "Sioux City Quota Club Week" (November 11-17, 1985) and "Better Hearing and Speech Month" (May 1986). Correspondence (1983-1985), flyers from the national Quota Club office (1996), a national club directory (1996), miscellaneous paperwork (1987-1988), and an audio tape of a motivational song from 1996, "Everyday Gift," which is housed in the audiocassette collection [AC467], are also included in this series.

The Committee reports series contains reports from all committees in the 1981-1982 and 1982-1983 fiscal years, as well as comparable reports from 1992-1994. These records are useful in analyzing the changes the club experienced during this period. The committees represented are: Attendance; Bylaws; Civic and Public Affairs; Finance; Hospitality and Big Sister; House; Membership; Program; Promotion; Publicity; Shatter Silence; Special Events; Welfare; and Yearbook.

Reports from the program and special events committees detail the activities and entertainment at the monthly meetings. The 1981-1983 reports from the House committee, responsible for lunch reservations and menu selection, contain menu information and correspondence from hotel restaurant staff about the unique food requests of a "ladies" group. The 1992-1994 subseries contains a menu listing for all luncheons during the 1993-1994 fiscal year. The Shatter Silence committee's coloring book entitled "Ear Care," which was distributed to first graders, can be found in the 1992-1994 subseries.

The Service committee series (1960-1983, 1992-1993) records the extensive community service which club members undertook over the years from 1960 to 1983 and 1992 to 1993. Records for some years are lacking. Records include charts of volunteer hours, donations, menus and lists of door prizes, as well as narrative descriptions of activities and attendance. While the Service Committee had a variety of interests, including aid to the hearing impaired, the elderly, and the developmentally disabled, their especial project was supporting the achievement of young women.

The annual Honors Luncheon commended the efforts and accomplishments of two-ninth grade girls from each Sioux City area school. The luncheons were held at hotel ballrooms and restaurants and usually featured a guest lecturer or entertainment. Newspaper clippings and committee reports show that topics ranged from lectures on the care of "new fabrics" (1964), to home movies of Europe (1966), to a ukulele player advertised as a "man who can feel your feelings" (1971). Records of luncheon planning provide a window into the etiquette and social graces of the Quota Club women during the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s. The records from 1992-1993 are not as extensive.

The Minutes series (1979-1984 and 1993) contains minutes of board and business meetings. These minutes are concise and administrative in nature. They provide a synopsis of committee activities as well as detail the financial health of the Quota Club.

The Seventh District series contains records of regional Quota Clubs and the annual district conferences. The 1971 Conference and the 1979 Conference (1978-1979) subseries contain planning materials from the 36th and 44th Annual Seventh District Conferences, which were hosted by the Sioux City club. The 1971 Conference contains various receipts and financial records. The 1979 Conference material is heavier on scheduling and program content. Yearbooks (1991-1995) contains mailing lists and general information from Sioux City and other clubs in the district. The Conferences subseries (1978-1996, lacking 1981, 1985-1991) contains the official minutes from the annual district conferences. The conference minutes situate the Sioux City Quota Club in the regional organization and provide a comparison of activities, service hours, and fundraising among the clubs in the district.

The Quota International Convention series (1996) contains the 1996 international convention notebook.

The Photographs series (1962, 1969, and undated) contains three photographs of Sioux City Quota Club members at district conferences and at the 1969 national convention in Washington, D.C. with Iowa congressman Wiley Mayne.

The Artifacts series (undated) contains labels reading "Quota International serves the hearing & speech handicapped", a large decal, and a sheet of Quota Club stationery with an envelope.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: COMMITTEE REPORTS
Series 3: SERVICE COMMITTEE
Series 4: MINUTES
Series 5: SEVENTH DISTRICT
Series 6: QUOTA INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Club Directory - 1996
  • Correspondence - 1983-1985
  • Audiocassette AC467: "Everyday Gift" - 1996
  • First Impression, new member orientation handbook - 1992
  • Flyers - 1996-1997
  • Hearing-impaired resource booklet - 1992
  • Presidents manual - 1993
  • Proclamations: "Sioux City Quota Club Week" (November 11-17) - 1985
  • Proclamations: "Better Hearing and Speech Month" (May) - 1986
  • Miscellaneous - 1981-1988
  • Series 2: COMMITTEE REPORTS
  • Box 1:
  • Committee reports - 1981-1983
  • Committee reports - 1992-1994
  • Series 3: SERVICE COMMITTEE
  • Box 1:
  • Service committee - 1960-1964
  • Service committee (lacking 1968) - 1964-1971
  • Service committee - 1973-1976
  • Service committee (lacking 1981) - 1977-1983
  • Service committee - 1992-1993
  • Series 4: MINUTES
  • Box 2:
  • Board meetings - 1979-1984
  • Business meetings - 1979-1984
  • Board and business meetings - 1993
  • Series 5: SEVENTH DISTRICT
  • Box 2:
  • Conference - 1971
  • Conference - 1979, 1978-1979
  • Yearbooks - 1991-1995
  • Conference official minutes (4 folders) - 1978-1982
  • Box 3:
  • Conference official minutes (2 folders) - 1983-1984
  • Conference official minutes (5 folders) - 1992-1996
  • Series 6: QUOTA INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION
  • Box 3:
  • Notebook - 1996
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 3:
  • Photographs [includes Wiley Mayne] - 1962, 1969
  • Series 8: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 3:
  • Stickers, undated
  • Quota Club stationery