Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1976-2005
Creator: University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women
Extent: 5.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0338
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Women seeking solutions to problems of sexual harassment, violence, homophobia, and childcare at the University.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 462) were donated by Delores Nesbitt in 1997 and Jan Warren in 2003.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women was founded by Vice President for Academic Affairs May Brodbeck following her participation in the International Women's Year program on women's education and employment in 1976. The council consisted of twenty voting members drawn from four distinct components of the University of Iowa community: students, faculty, professional and scientific staff, and merit staff. Faculty and staff members served three-year terms and students served one-year terms. The council met monthly from September to June.

The council served as an advocacy group for women on the University of Iowa campus. During its first two decades of service, the group focused on childcare, women's athletics, university safety and security, homophobia, and sexual harassment. Subgroups of the council met separately and orchestrated campus-wide surveys on salary and wage discrepancies between men and women, childcare needs, and sexual harassment on campus. From these studies, the groups proposed new campus policies regarding childcare centers, affirmative action, family leave, and sexual harassment grievance procedures.

The council was inactive during the 2001/02 and 2002/03 academic years. In 2003, the council initiated a review of the 2000 merger of the men's and women's athletics departments. The Athletics Merger Review Committee's report, issued in 2005, led to the formation of a Gender Equity in Athletics ad hoc committee.

The University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records date from 1976 to 2005 and measure 5.25 linear feet. The records are arranged in five series: Administrative, Subcommittee work, Parenting concerns/childcare subcommittee, Sexual harassment subcommittee, and Affirmative action subcommittee.

The Administrative series (1976-2005) contains organizational by-laws and mission statements, meeting minutes, correspondence, reference files, and a variety of other operational materials for the group.

The Committee work series (1977-2005) includes materials from small projects initiated by subcommittees of the Council on the Status of Women, including correspondence, meeting minutes, and research reports on campus lighting, homophobia, and sexism.

The series from the Parenting Concerns and Childcare Subcommittee (1976-1998) contains meeting minutes, correspondence, and reference files from the subgroup's work toward improved childcare for University of Iowa workers.

The series of materials from the Sexual Harassment Subcommittee (1977-2000) includes newspaper clippings on testimony from University of Iowa women with sexual harassment grievances. In addition, the series includes University of Iowa policies on sexual harassment and a 1992 sexual harassment survey of University of Iowa women by the subcommittee. It also includes the transcripts of anatomy professor Jean Y. Jew's sexual harassment lawsuit against the University of Iowa, as well as the materials relating to the Women's Rights Award that is named in her honor.

The Affirmative Action Subcommittee series (1976-2001) contains subcommittee rosters, meeting minutes, reference files, and correspondence from the subgroup's work. Also in the series are surveys and reports on the state of affirmative action at the University of Iowa compiled by the subcommittee in the late 1980s.
Jean Jew Justice Committee records (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: COMMITTEE WORK
Series 3: PARENTING CONCERNS AND CHILDCARE SUBCOMMITTEE
Series 4: SEXUAL HARASSMENT SUBCOMMITTEE
Series 5: AFFIRMATIVE ACTION SUBCOMMITTEE

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Activities 10th anniversary celebration - 1986-1987
  • Activities application forms - 1976-1988
  • Activities "Building a Community of Women" - 1995
  • Activities diversity dialogues - 2001
  • Activities female faculty reception - 1978
  • Activities "Making our voices heard" panel - 1991
  • Agendas - 1986-2001
  • By-laws - 1986-1993
  • By-laws task force proceedings - 1987-1990
  • Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Women´s Advocates Network (folder 1) - 1982-1996
  • Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Women's Advocates Network (folder 2) - 1982-1996
  • Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Women's Advocates Network (folder 3) - 1982-1996
  • Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) campus action plan - 1993-1995
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1976-1988
  • Correspondence - 1989-1990
  • Correspondence - 1991-2001
  • Correspondence Office of Federal Contract Compliance - 1993
  • Correspondence Peter E. Nathan, VP for Academic Affairs and Dean of faculty - 1992
  • Financial records budgets - 1988-2000
  • Financial records statements of account - 1993-2000
  • Forums - 1994-1995
  • Information from constituent groups - 1988-1990
  • International Women´s Month - 1975-1976, 1996
  • Logos - 1978
    Also includes undated material.
  • Mailing lists - 1992
    Also includes undated material.
  • Box 3:
  • Meetings minutes - 1976-1979
  • Meetings minutes - 1982-1985
  • Meetings minutes - 1986-1989
  • Meetings minutes - 1990-1992
  • Meetings minutes - 1993-2001
  • Meetings minutes - 2003-2005
  • Meetings notes - 1976-1977, 1985-1987
  • Membership advertising and application forms - 1989-1998
  • Membership rosters - 1976-2005
  • Membership selection - 1976-1984
  • Membership selection - 1985-1989
  • Box 4:
  • Membership selection - 1990-1995
  • Membership selection - 1996-1998
  • Mission statements - 1984, 1992-1994
  • Newspaper clippings - 1976-1991
  • President-chartered committee status - 1987-1988
  • Presidential search general - 1995
  • Presidential search Meet President Mary Sue Coleman - 1996
  • Provost search candidate materials - 1996
  • Provost search farewell reception for Dr. Nancy "Rusty" Barcelo - 1996
  • Reference files - 1977-1978
  • Reference files American Council on Education recommendations, undated
  • Reference files public records law, undated
  • Reference files reports 13th annual report, State of Iowa Commission on the Status of Women - 1985
  • Reference files reports Board of Regents Annual Salary Report, Fiscal Year 1994 - 1993
  • Reference files reports Federal Councils on the Status of Women, Established by Executive Order: Summary and Analysis - 1985
  • Reference files reports In Pursuit of Equity: Final Report of the Task Force on the Status of Women on Campus - Central College - 1994
  • Reference files reports Report on Minority Student Enrollment, Minority Faculty, and Minority Student Programs at Selected State Universities - 1987
  • Reference files reports Reports on the status of women, other institutions (folder 1) - 1980-1995
  • Box 5:
  • Reference files reports on the status of women, other institutions (folder 2) - 1980-1995
  • Reference files reports Strategic Study Group on Status of Women, Pennsylvania State University Recommendation Package #1 - 1986
  • Reference files reports Strategic Study Group on Status of Women, Pennsylvania State University Recommendation Package #2-3 - 1987
  • Reference files reports Strategic Study Group on Status of Women, Pennsylvania State University Recommendation Package #4 - 1987
  • Box 6:
  • Reference files reports Strategic Study Group on Status of Women, Pennsylvania State University Recommendation Package #5 - 1988
  • Reference files reports Strategic Study Group on Status of Women, Pennsylvania State University Final Report - 1988
  • Reference files reports A Survey of Services for Women Faculty and Academic Staff at Big Ten Universities - 1988
  • Reference files reports The University of California in the 21 st Century: Successful Approaches to Diversity - 1987
  • Reference files Student financial aid, University of Iowa - 1976-1978
  • Reference files Title IX - 1976
  • Reference files University of Iowa counseling service questionnaire on women - 1984
  • Reference files Women's Resource and Action Center, Iowa City - 1988
  • "Strategic Discrimination? Effects of the Proposed Budget Cuts on Diversity" - 1991
  • Surveys - 1995
  • Women´s Coalition - 1993-1994
  • Women´s Leadership Conference - 1994
  • Miscellaneous - 1989-1997
  • Series 2: COMMITTEE WORK
  • Box 6:
  • Athletic Merger Review Committee report - 2004-2005
  • Brochure subcommittee - 1986-1987
  • Coalition of Organizations Representing Women - 1986
  • Committee on University Safety and Security campus lighting - 1976-1978, 1989-1990
  • Committee on University Safety and Security task force on violence in the university - 1988-1989
  • Box 7:
  • Committee on University Safety and Security task force on violence in the university, violence resources - 1989-2001
  • Homophobia subcommittee Ad Hoc committee on associational/affectional preference - 1990
  • Homophobia subcommittee gay/lesbian campus concerns - 1992-1997
  • Homophobia subcommittee reports The Campus Climate for Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Persons - 1993
  • Homophobia subcommittee reports Executive Summary of the Surveys Conducted by the subcommittee on Campus Homophobia and Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual Concerns - 1993
  • Homophobia subcommittee reports Report of the Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual Student, Staff, and Faculty Survey of 1991 - 1992
  • Homophobia subcommittee University of Iowa task force on diversity materials - 1991
  • Salary and wage subcommittee - 1984-1991
  • Sexism subcommittee - 1977-1978
  • Series 3: PARENTING CONCERNS AND CHILDCARE SUBCOMMITTEE
  • Box 7:
  • Child daycare conference - 1985
  • Committee work - 1976-1990
  • Correspondence - 1985-1995
  • Family issues charter - 1993-1998
  • Forums - 1985-1987
  • Minutes - 1985-1992
  • Model infant-toddler daycare program at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics - 1987
  • Newspaper clippings - 1990
  • Reports The current status of childcare in American colleges and universities - 1987
  • Reports Report to the General Assembly regarding childcare needs at the universities of the state board of regents, submitted in compliance with section 59 of senate file 2312 - 1988
  • Reports miscellaneous - 1986-1990
  • Research files - 1985-1986
  • Research files Study to recommend a model employment policy for employees who are parents of young children, Report to the Iowa General Assembly from the Iowa Merit Employment Department - 1985
  • Box 8:
  • Research files lead paint materials - 1991-1992
  • "Revised recommendations regarding parenting and childcare at the University of Iowa" - 1989
  • Student senate daycare - 1986
  • Surveys childcare needs - 1985-1987
  • Surveys Parental leave policy of comparable universities - 1985
  • Surveys parenting-related benefits, undated
  • University of Iowa Student Association Childcare and Student Families Commission - 1991-1995
  • Miscellaneous - 1990-1993
  • Series 4: SEXUAL HARASSMENT SUBCOMMITTEE
  • Box 8:
  • Address to University of Iowa Board of Regents on Sexual Harassment, draft - 1993
  • Correspondence - 1977-1994
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case - 1989-1990
  • Box 9:
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case trial transcripts, volume 1 - 1989
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case trial transcripts, volume 2 - 1989
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case trial transcripts, volume 3 - 1989
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case trial transcripts, volume 4 - 1989
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case Women´s Rights Award general - 1992-2000
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case correspondence - 1992-2000
  • Box 10:
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case nominations - 1993-1997
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case nominations - 1998-2001
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case statements of account - 1993-2000
  • Jean Jew sexual harassment case miscellaneous - 1993-1998
  • Newspaper clippings - 1988-1994
  • Reference files - 1980-1994
  • Reference files Iowa City Community Schools sexual harassment policy - 1993
  • Reference files University of Iowa sexual harassment policy - 1977-1991
  • Reference files University of Iowa sexual harassment procedures - 1977-1994
  • Reports - 1993
  • Box 11:
  • Survey general - 1992-1993
  • Survey results - 1993
  • Task force on policy development - 1986
  • Miscellaneous, undated
  • Series 5: AFFIRMATIVE ACTION SUBCOMMITTEE
  • Box 11:
  • Correspondence - 1976-2001
  • Disability awareness census - 1991-1992
  • Gender equity study general - 1992-1995
  • Gender equity study Report Cards - 1995-1998
  • "Just the Facts" information series - 1996
  • Meeting notes and minutes - 1986-1991
  • Newspaper clippings - 1976, 1987-1995
  • Opportunity at Iowa - 1987-1990
  • Professional and Scientific team comparable worth studies - 1984-1992
  • Professional and Scientific team forums - 1990-1991
  • Box 12:
  • Professional and scientific team reports drafts - 1990-1991
  • Professional and scientific team reports Evaluation Review of Comparable Worth Study for the Professional and Scientific Staff at the University of Iowa - 1985
  • Professional and scientific team reports Follow-up Report on the Professional and Scientific Employee System: A System Review, 1989-1990 with Final Recommendations - 1992
  • Professional and scientific team reports The Professional and Scientific Employee System: A System Review, 1989-1990 - 1990
  • Professional and scientific team research files - 1988-1989
  • Professional and scientific team survey - 1989-1991
  • Professional and scientific team correspondence - 1988-1992
  • Recommendations - 1987
  • Reports Affirmative Action in the College of Education: A collegiate review - 1988
  • Reports Affirmative Action in the College of Pharmacy: A collegiate review general (folder 1) - 1988
  • Reports Affirmative Action in the College of Pharmacy: A collegiate review (folder 2) - 1988
  • Reports Affirmative Action in the College of Engineering: A collegiate review - 1989-1990
  • Annual reports - 1987-1988
  • Box 13:
  • Reports Report of the Faculty Senate Task Force on Affirmative Action - 1988
  • Reports Review of the Office of Affirmative Action - 1989
  • Reports University of Iowa Office of Affirmative Action Annual Report of Complaints and Inquiries - 1991-1994
  • Reports workforce reports - 1993-1994
  • Reports workforce reports EEO-6 comparisons - 1991-1994
  • Research files - 1976-1986
  • Research files - 1987-1991
  • Research files annual institutional equal opportunity/affirmative action report - 1985
  • Research files annual update of UI affirmative action program - 1985
  • Research files raw data on women faculty, women employees - 1988-1989
  • Research files UI affirmative action plan - 1986-1989
  • Research files UI affirmative action plan - 1990-1995
  • Box 14:
  • Research files department statements - 1987
  • Retention of women faculty general - 1992-1993
  • Retention of women faculty resources - 1988-1995
  • Assistant deanship selection - 1978
  • Department candidate selection - 1987
  • Director of affirmative action selection - 1985
  • Subcommittee rosters - 1988-1995
  • Testimony of Nancy R. Hauserman before the Legislative Higher Education Task Force - 1988
  • Administrative report card materials U of I - 1994-1997
  • Administrative report card materials U of I - 1998-1999