Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the E. Marie Hawkins papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1991-1997
Creator: Hawkins, E. Marie (1931-)
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0333
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City elementary school teacher.

Alternate Extent Statement: One videocassette [V133].

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF; one videocassette [V133] shelved in videocassette collection.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 457) were donated by E. Marie Hawkins in 1997.

Preferred Citation: E. Marie Hawkins papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

E. Marie Hawkins, educator, was born November 19, 1931. She has served as a teacher or an administrator in elementary schools in Iowa City, Iowa since 1967. Her husband, Dr. Benny Hawkins, is an associate professor of periodontics in the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. From 1992 to 1993, Marie Hawkins was assistant principal of Longfellow Elementary School. Since 1993, she has been a special-education teacher at Weber Elementary School. Hawkins specializes in working with students who are in need of academic help and building students' self-esteem.

Marie Hawkins is the author of an article and co-author of two instruction manuals for teachers. In 1996, she received the Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award. She received an Excellence in Education grant from the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust in 1997.

The E. Marie Hawkins papers date from 1991 to 1997 and measure 1 linear inch. The papers consist primarily of materials relating to Hawkins's Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award, including her acceptance speech, a photograph of Hawkins with Michael Milken, a program and agenda from the awards ceremony, and a videocassette containing television news coverage of the ceremony. Newspaper clippings pertaining to Hawkins's receipt of the Excellence in Education grant from the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust are also included in the collection, as is an article, "Moving Learners Toward Independence: The Power of Scaffolded Instruction" (The Reading Teacher: A Journal of the International Reading Association, May 1991), in which Hawkins and co-authors Penny L. Beed and Cathy M. Roller examine a method of teaching.


Two manuals co-authored by Hawkins are shelved in the printed works collection of the Iowa Women's Archives: Iowa Women: Our Unsung Heroines (Iowa City, 1991), written with Judy Miller and Marian Coleman, and Building Self-Esteem with a Diverse Population (Iowa City, 1992), co-authored by Diana Henry.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.