Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966-1997
Creator: Egenes, Joan Vander Naald (1936-)
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0332
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Des Moines-born clubwoman, community leader, businesswoman, and Republican Party activist.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 3
6 videocassettesà [V204-V209]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 455) were donated by Joan Vander Naald Egenes in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Joan Egenes, clubwoman, community leader, fundraiser, Republican Party activist, businesswoman, photographer, and substitute teacher, was born in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1936. She graduated from the University of Iowa in 1958 and began teaching at Ft. Dodge High School and Ft. Dodge Junior College. Egenes joined and led a wide variety of organizations in central Iowa. In 1965, she became the cofounder of the Iowa City Parents Preschool. In the early 1970s, Egenes was the president of the Webster City Jaycee Jaynes, the Ft. Dodge District Dental Auxiliary, the Boone Women's Club, and the Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations. Egenes was active in the Republican Party throughout the 1980s and 1990s. She began her active campaigning for the Republicans in 1980 by serving as the Boone County co-chairman to elect George Bush for President. In 1987, after serving on various committees to elect Republican candidates, Egenes became Club Development Chairman of the Iowa Federation of Republican Women. By 1990, she had attained the presidency of the Iowa Fourth District Republican Women. In 1994, Egenes became president of the Polk County Republican Women.

Joan Egenes was also a business owner. She oversaw her business, Global Education Services, from 1992 to 1997. The Des Moines-based business consortium organized cruises and tours, ran seminars, and represented artist Shixi Zhou, a Chinese watercolorist from Shanghai. Her business interests led Egenes to take an active role in the Des Moines Chamber of Commerce. She became the chair of fundraising for the Chamber Alliance in 1995, and successfully raised money for the Iowa Science Center. In 1996, Egenes turned her organizing prowess to the Des Moines Metro Opera Guild. She became president of the guild in 1996. This organization allowed her to profitably combine her interests in education and fundraising.

The Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers date from 1966 to 1997 and measure 2.5 222 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Iowa Parent Teacher Association; Boone, Iowa, Activities; Republican Party Activities; Chamber Alliance; Metro Women's Network; Educational Activities; Des Moines Opera Guild; and Global Education Services.

The Iowa Parent Teacher Association series (1966-1976) contains directories, president's reports, board minutes, bylaws, budgets, newsletters, and fundraising reports from the Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations. The council consisted of Bryant, Franklin, Lincoln, Lowell, Page, and Trinity Lutheran Parent Teacher Associations. This series also contains newspaper clippings, programs from various Parent Teacher Association events, and pamphlets (Attention Men! Make the PTA Your Business, Good Jobs Available) produced by the national Parent Teacher Association.

The Boone, Iowa, Activities series (1979, 1986) contains information about an American Cancer Society Benefit held in 1979 that Egenes organized. The 1986 dedication of the Boone Water Pollution Control Project is also featured. This series is rather sparse.

The Republican Party Activities series (1984-1997) includes correspondence, programs, menus, and photographs documenting Egenes' participation in the Republican Senatorial Inner Circle and the Presidential Roundtable. As a generous and faithful contributor to the Republican Party, Egenes attended the Ronald Reagan Republican Center Dedication in 1989, as well as the 1990 President's Dinner. Included are menus and programs from both events. The photograph album in box 3 contains photographs of Egenes' Republican Party activities at the national, state, and local level.

The Chamber Alliance series (1992-1995) contains board meeting minutes, membership directories, bylaws, budget reports, plans for educational programs, fundraising reports, and The Professional Connection newsletter. The most extensively documented part of this series is the "Champagne and Croquet" fundraiser that Egenes organized for the Iowa Science Center

The Metro Women's Network series (1992-1993) contains the 1992 membership list, the 1993 directory, November and December newsletters for 1992 and a pamphlet entitled Women and Investing.

The Educational Activities series (1987-1995) contains documents relating to Egenes' tenure on the Des Moines Area Community College Nursing Advisory Committee. Also included in this series is a 1995 council report, roster, and membership lists, and a mission statement from the Community Education Advisory Council.

The Des Moines Metro Opera Guild series (1993-1997) contains educational materials, board meeting minutes, correspondence, bylaws, treasurer's reports, newsletters, membership directories, and fundraising reports. The 1996 debate over the cutting of National Endowment for the Arts funding is also addressed in a report on NEA funding and a letter to Egenes on the topic from Senator Charles Grassley.

The Global Education Services series (1995) consists of Egenes' extended resume which gives a detailed account of her participation in a large number of organizations and activities. Also included is a videocassette featuring the time her company, Global Education Services, was featured on Success Stories, The Television Show for Business.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: IOWA PARENT TEACHER ASSOCIATION
Series 2: BOONE, IOWA, ACTIVITIES
Series 3: REPUBLICAN PARTY ACTIVITIES
Series 4: CHAMBER ALLIANCE (DES MOINES, IOWA)
Series 5: METRO WOMEN'S NETWORK
Series 6: EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES
Series 7: DES MOINES METRO OPERA GUILD
Series 8: GLOBAL EDUCATION SERVICES

  • Series 1: IOWA PARENT TEACHER ASSOCIATION
  • Box 1:
  • Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations: Boone Council program books - 1972-1974
  • Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations: Bylaws - 1974
  • Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations: Legislative programs - 1974-1975
  • Bryant Parent Teacher Association: Directories
  • Bryant Parent Teacher Association: Presidents reports - 1973-1975
  • Bryant Parent Teacher Association: Bylaws - 1972-1975
  • Bryant Parent Teacher Association: Proposed budget - 1966, 1974
  • Bryant Parent Teacher Association: Fun N Frolic night - 1973-1974, 1974-1975
  • Franklin Parent Teacher Association: Directories
  • Franklin Parent Teacher Association: Presidents reports - 1973-1975
  • Franklin Parent Teacher Association: Bylaws - 1972-1975
  • Franklin Parent Teacher Association: Treasurers report - 1971-1972, 1974
  • Franklin Parent Teacher Association: Meetings - 1974
  • Lincoln Parent Teacher Association: Directories - 1973-1975
  • Lincoln Parent Teacher Association: Presidents reports - 1973-1975
  • Lincoln Parent Teacher Association: Bylaws - 1972-1974
  • Lincoln Parent Teacher Association: Gift sale, undated - 1970
  • Lowell Parent Teacher Association: Directories - 1973-1975
  • Lowell Parent Teacher Association: Presidents reports - 1972-1975
  • Lowell Parent Teacher Association: Bylaws - 1973-1974
  • Lowell Parent Teacher Association: Proposed budget - 1974-1975
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Directory - 1973-1975
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Yearly reports - 1972-1976
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Bylaws - 1971, 1973-1974
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Page Paragraphs, newsletters - 1973-1974
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Executive board minutes - 1974
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Anticipated budget - 1974-1975
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Carnival report - 1972
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Bicycle rodeo - 1974
  • Page Parent Teacher Association: Newspaper clippings - 1975
  • Trinity Lutheran Parent Teacher Association: Annual programs - 1973-1976
  • Trinity Lutheran Parent Teacher Association: Presidents reports - 1972-1975
  • Trinity Lutheran Parent Teacher Association: Bylaws - 1969
  • Correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Health programs - 1973
  • Parent Teacher Association founders day - 1972
  • Officer installation service - 1976
  • Juvenile delinquency - 1973-1975
  • Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations, membership - 1974-1975
  • Memoranda - 1974
  • Blue star safety program - 1972-1975
  • Retired Teachers Tea - 1973
  • Sexism in education - 1974
  • Box 2:
  • General Federation of Womens Clubs, state of the family program - 1972-1974
  • Parent Teacher Association evaluation of television programs
  • Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations, art awards
  • Bulletins - 1972-1974
  • National Parent Teacher Association Bulletins - 1971-1972, 1974-1975
  • PTA News, Boone newsletter - 1972-1973
  • H. L. Taylor scholarship application, undated
  • Boone Council of Parent Teacher Associations, school finance - 1974
  • Leadership
  • Parent Teacher Association Publications (folder 1) - 1967, 1971-1975
  • Parent Teacher Association Publications (folder 2) - 1967, 1971-1975
  • Introduction: Dr. Wallace Ogg
  • Communication methods (folder 1)
  • Communication methods (folder 2)
  • Iowa Career Education Advisory Council: Career Action - 1974-1975
  • Area Education Agency Board of Education
  • Newspaper clippings - 1973-1975
  • Series 2: BOONE, IOWA, ACTIVITIES
  • Box 2:
  • American Cancer Society, Boone benefit - 1979
  • Dedication of water pollution control project - 1986
  • Series 3: REPUBLICAN PARTY ACTIVITIES
  • Box 2:
  • Republican Senatorial Inner Circle - 1989
  • Republican Senatorial Inner Circle - 1989
  • Box 3:
  • Republican Senatorial Inner Circle - 1989
  • Ronald Reagan Republican Center dedication - 1989
  • Presidential Roundtable - 1989-1990
  • Presidents dinner - 1990, 1992
  • Republican Senatorial Inner Circle - 1990, 1992, 1997
  • Correspondence - 1989-1993
  • Photograph album - 1989-1997
  • Iowa Board of Psychology Examiners - 1984-1993
  • Series 4: CHAMBER ALLIANCE (DES MOINES, IOWA)
  • Box 3:
  • Board of directors - 1994
  • Board of directors meetings - 1993-1994
  • The Professional Connection, newsletter - 1993-1994
  • Box 4:
  • Membership - 1992-1994
  • Bylaws - 1994
  • Budget - 1993-1994
  • Lunch and Learn: Janet Metcalf and Betty Grundberg - 1994
  • Proposed charter for Polk county - 1994
  • Standing committees
  • Meeting schedule - 1993
  • Seminars - 1993-1994
  • Board of directors - 1995
  • Programs - 1995
  • Bylaws - 1995
  • Board meetings - 1995
  • Membership - 1995
  • The Professional Connection, newsletter - 1995
  • Fundraising committee:
  • Fundraising committee: Meeting minutes - 1994-1995
  • Fundraising committee: Meeting agenda - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Meeting attendance - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Science Center of Iowa fundraiser (folder 1) - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Science Center of Iowa fundraiser (folder 2) - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Blue Ribbon Foundation fundraiser - 1994
  • Fundraising committee: Membership - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Fundraising activities
  • Feed the Children (Oklahoma City) - 1995
  • Budget - 1995
  • Polk county jail expansion - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Science Center of Iowa fundraiser (folder 1) - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Science Center of Iowa fundraiser (folder 2) - 1995
  • Fundraising committee: Science Center of Iowa fundraiser (folder 3) - 1995
  • Box 5:
  • Fundraising committee: Sister Patricia Clare Sullivan celebrity roast - 1994
  • Fundraising committee: Blue Ribbon Foundation fundraiser - 1993
  • Series 5: METRO WOMEN'S NETWORK
  • Box 5:
  • Directory - 1993
  • Newsletters, November-December - 1992
  • Membership - 1992
  • Women and Investing
  • Series 6: EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES
  • Box 5:
  • Des Moines Area Community College: Nursing advisory committee (folder 1) - 1987-1992
  • Des Moines Area Community College: Nursing advisory committee (folder 2) - 1987-1992
  • Community Education Advisory Council: Council Report - 1995
  • Community Education Advisory Council: Rosters - 1993-1995
  • Community Education Advisory Council: Meetings - 1994-1995
  • Community Education Advisory Council: Membership
  • Community Education Advisory Council: Community Education Advisory Council philosophy
  • Series 7: DES MOINES METRO OPERA GUILD
  • Box 5:
  • History - 1973-1994
  • Opera Guilds International membership directory - 1995-1996
  • Your Passport to the Opera - 1995
  • Chapter board - 1995-1997
  • Meeting agendas - 1993-1994, 1996-1997
  • Board meeting minutes - 1996-1997
  • Treasurers report - 1996-1997
  • Correspondence - 1994
  • Correspondence - 1995-1997
  • Box 6:
  • Membership - 1990-1992, 1995-1997
  • Projects - 1996-1997
  • Bylaws - 1986, 1997
  • Publicity - 1996-1997
  • Opera Guilds International - 1995-1997
  • Opera Guild Council: Roster - 1994-1997
  • Opera Guild Council: Schedule - 1997
  • Opera Guild Council: Correspondence - 1995
  • Opera Guild Council: Meeting minutes - 1995-1997
  • Opera Guild Council: Treasurers report - 1995-1997
  • Opera Guild Council: Reports - 1996-1997
  • Newsletter - 1995-1997
  • Membership directories - 1993-1997
  • Bank statement - 1995
  • Performance reservation form - 1995
  • Calendar of activities - 1996-1997
  • Education
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Volume 1: Faust & Rigoletto [V204] - 1973
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Volume 2: La Traviata & Daughter of the Regiment [V205] - 1973
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Volume 3: The Barber of Seveille & Lucia di Lammermoor [V206] - 1973
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Volume 4: Mignon & La Perichole [V207] - 1973
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Anna Russell: The Clown Princess of Comedy [V208] - 1977
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Your Passport to the Opera, evaluation
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Anna Russell, The Clown Princess of Comedy, evaluation
  • Who's Afraid of Opera? With Joan Sutherland, Who's Afraid of Opera? evaluation
  • Fundraisers: Pasta and Puccini - 1996
  • Fundraisers: Peanut Butter and Puccini - 1995
  • Fundraisers: Threads and Trills - 1997
  • Fundraisers: Gilbert and Sullivan fundraiser - 1997
  • Tours: Great European capitals of music - 1996
  • Tours: Opera Omaha - 1996
  • Tours: Music cruise - 1997
  • Previews
  • Metropolitan Opera Iowa district auditions - 1996
  • Holiday parties - 1995-1996
  • Publicity
  • OPERA Iowa, Rumpelstiltskin premiere - 1997
  • Opera course, Santa Fe - 1997
  • Ballad of Baby Doe - 1995
  • National Endowment for the Arts - 1996
  • Opera Guild International, regional conference photographs - 1995
  • Joan Bunke, Bravo, Metro! Des Moines Register, Jan 25 - 1997
  • Apprentice artist program - 1997
  • Programs - 1995, 1997
  • Series 8: GLOBAL EDUCATION SERVICES
  • Box 6:
  • Ireland Tour - 1995
  • Joan Vander Naald Egenes, resume
  • Success Stories, The Television Show for Business (VHS, 6 min.) [V209] - 1995