Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Christine Grant papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-2005
Creator: Grant, Christine (1936-)
Extent: 17.30 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0329
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 42; 10 audiocassettes [AC989-AC998]; 2 videocassettes [V316-V317]; artifacts in Boxes 42-46.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 450) were donated by Christine Grant in 1997 and succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Christine Grant papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Sports administrator, professor, and gender equity activist Christine Grant was born in May 1936 in Bo'ness, Scotland, to Donald Annan and Jean (Orr) Grant. In 1956 Grant received her Diploma of Physical Education at Dunfermline College in Aberdeen, Scotland. After graduating she was a high school teacher and coach in Graeme, Scotland (1956-1961), and field hockey coach and umpire at the high school, collegiate, national and international levels in British Columbia (1961-1964), Ottawa (1964-1965), and Toronto(1965-1971). Grant moved to Iowa City, Iowa, to pursue a bachelor's degree in physical education at the University of Iowa. She received her bachelor's degree in 1969, and continued her graduate work, earning a master's degree in physical education in 1970, and a Ph.D. in physical education with an emphasis in administration in 1974.

Christine Grant began her tenure as the first and only athletic director of the Department of Women's Athletics at the University of Iowa in 1973, holding the position until her retirement in 2000. Grant also served as associate professor within the Department of Physical Education for Women (1973-2006). Grant has spoken and published widely and has held numerous leadership positions as an advocate of gender equity in sports. She served as the president of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) from 1980 to 1981, and testified as an expert witness and advisor in Title IX lawsuits. She received numerous awards and honors, including the prestigious Billie Jean King Award presented by the Women's Sports Foundation, two honorary doctorates, and induction into the University of Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame and the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame.

The Christine Grant papers date from 1952 to 2005 and measure 17.3 linear feet. The papers are arranged in ten series: Biographical information, Gender equity in athletics, Publications, Speeches, Professional and political involvement, University of Iowa, Newspaper Clippings, Photographs, Artifacts, and Audiovisuals.
Grant's professional career is documented in the Biographical Information series (1952-2005), which is comprised of certificates, job offers, awards, and a curriculum vita. Photocopies of the many plaques and trophies not held by the archives are included here. The correspondence in this series consists of congratulatory and thank-you letters. Newspaper articles concern Grant's career as an administrator and spokeswoman for gender equity, and also document the Grant Field dedication ceremony and her retirement from the athletics department. The bulk of this series dates from 1971-2005, with six pocket editions of Scottish Country Dance Books (1952-1956) completing the series.
The Gender Equity in Athletics series (1971-2003) documents Christine Grant's commitment to ensuring opportunities for girls and women in sport. The series includes legal documents, notes, correspondence, and Grant's testimony in the 1982 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) vs. Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) lawsuit. Material pertaining to Title IX legal action taken by universities and high schools nationwide includes court briefs, testimony, affidavits, correspondence, and media coverage. Grant's involvement as an expert witness can be viewed in her briefs, notes and other material used during her testimony, depositions, and expert reports. Included, are general documents dealing with Title IX compliance, self study surveys, reviews, government documents published by the Office of Civil Rights, and committee hearings, including Grant's testimony before the Postsecondary Education Committee and statements before the Senate Judiciary Committee and United States Commission on Civil Rights. Grant's resource files consist of articles, facts and figures that she used in speeches and publications, and a book about women's athletics that is shelved with the printed works collection in the Iowa Women's Archives: Silver Era Golden Moments: A Celebration of Ivy League Women's Athletics (1999) by Lynn Page Whittaker and Daniel H. Rosenthal.
The Publications series (1979-2002) consists of articles written by Grant for scholarly journals, newspaper editorials, and periodicals, along with drafts, manuscripts, and correspondence with editors, co-authors, and colleagues.
The speeches given by Grant at local clubs, schools, national and international organizations and banquets held by the University of Iowa Women's Athletics Program are located in the Speeches series (1972-2001). The speeches consist of reflections on women in sports, the impact of Title IX, the NCAA and AIAW, and a series of motivational speeches entitled "Jonathan Livingston Seagull." AIAW speeches and speeches presented by others, including N. Peggy Burke, complete the series.
Grant's involvement in a variety of professional organizations is documented in the Professional and Political Involvement series (1971-2002), which consists of constitutions, by-laws, handbooks, publications, studies, reports, position papers, and other material pertaining to the organizations. Included are papers relating to the dispute between the NCAA and the AIAW over intercollegiate championships for women. The series also documents Grant's participation in political organizations and causes including the Feminist Majority Foundation's Task Force on Women & Girls in Sports during the mid-1990s and her work on the 1982 fundraising campaign for Roxanne Conlin for Governor of Iowa.
The University of Iowa series (1974-2000) is arranged by Grant's work as Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Education for Women and as the Iowa Women's Athletics director. The series includes an executive summary on gender equity, marketing, and budget plans, a Title IX compliance self-study, and papers pertaining to the effects of restructuring the NCAA on her position as director of Women's Athletics. A ten-year plan written in the late 1970s and later committee reports, minutes, and a self-study conducted during the reorganization of the Department of Physical Education for Women complete the series.
Grant's fight to provide equal opportunities for girls and women in sport is reflected in the Newspaper Clippings series(1978-2002). The series consists of articles collected by Grant on racial and gender equity, Title IX, NCAA vs. AIAW lawsuits, and athletics at the University of Iowa.
Portraits of Grant used for publications and photographs of Grant at award ceremonies, conventions, and with colleagues at work and on the playing fields comprise the Photographs series.
The Artifacts series (1981-2000) contains award and membership plaques such as the Grant Field Dedication and the University of Iowa's AIAW Charter Membership Plaque.
The Audiovisual series (1992-2002) includes recordings of a debate between NCAA and AIAW leaders, and radio shows in which Grant and fellow gender equity activist Bonnie Slatton discuss issues of Title IX and high school and collegiate women's sports. There are two videocassettes. The first is student athletes speaking about the dangers of smoking and chewing tobacco. The second includes Iowa Women's Basketball game footage, interviews of coach Lark Birdsong, and athletes discussing six on six versus five on five women's basketball.
University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women records (IWA)

C. Pauline Spencer papers (IWA): Spencer was a 1923 graduate of the University's Department of Physical Education for Women and a standout athlete in many sports.

N. Peggy Burke papers (IWA): Burke was a faculty member in the University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women.

WSUI- Julie Englander, "100th Anniversary of UI Health and Sport Studies" (IWA): Audiotaped interviews with alumnae and faculty of the Department of Health and Sport Studies conducted by Englander during centennial reunion events in 2004.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: GENDER EQUITY IN ATHLETICS
Series 3: PUBLICATIONS
Series 4: SPEECHES
Series 5: PROFESSIONAL AND POLITICAL INVOLVEMENT
Series 6: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
Series 7: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 9: ARTIFACTS
Series 10: AUDIOVISUAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Sub-Series: Career
  • Box 1:
  • Curriculum Vitae - 1989, 1999
  • Job Offers - 1979-1993
  • Mentoring Program - 1993-1994
  • Newspaper Clippings: Career - 1992-2005
  • Newspaper Clippings: Grant Field Dedication - 1991
  • Newspaper Clippings: Retirement - 2000
  • Scottish Country Dance Books, Pocket Edition (6 volumes) - 1952-1956
  • Sub-Series: Awards
  • Box 1:
  • AIAW 9th President
  • Billie Jean King Award - 1995
  • Certificates - 1961-2003
  • Grant Field Dedication (University of Iowa) - 1991
  • Correspondence - 1991
  • Banquet - 1991
  • Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award - 1994
  • Luther College Honorary Degree, Doctor of Humane Letters - 2002
  • Men and Women of Distinction - 1980
  • National Women's Administrator of the Year - 1993
  • National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators (NACWAA) Honda Award of Merit - 1998
  • National Association for Girls and Women in Sport - 2002, 2003
  • National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Senior Woman Administrator, NCAA Woman of the Year - 1998
  • Pathfinder Award - 1993
  • University of Iowa Faculty Honors Reception - 2003
  • University of Iowa Varsity Club - 2001
  • Who's Who of American Women - 1988, 1992
  • Women of Influence Portrait - 1990
  • Women's Athletics Top 25 People - 1997
  • Women's Basketball Coaches Association Administrator's Award - 1992
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence (13 folders) - 1972-2003
  • Series 2: GENDER EQUITY IN ATHLETICS
  • Sub-Series: NCAA vs. AIAW: Lawsuit
  • Box 3:
  • Case as Presented in Textbook
  • John Allen Notes
  • Pretrial Brief Verified
  • Complaint, 9 October - 1981
  • Order, 9 October - 1981
  • Order, 28 October - 1981
  • Defendant NCAA's First Set of Interrogatories, 9 November - 1981
  • Defendant NCAA's First Request for Production of Documents, 9 November - 1981
  • Memorandum in Opposition to Plaintiff's Renewed Motion for Preliminary Injunction, 12 January - 1982
  • AIAW Resolution and Testimony Granting of Preliminary Injunction, 13 January - 1982
  • Defendant's First Statement of Contentions and Proof, 25 January - 1982
  • Reply Memorandum, 2 February - 1982
  • NCAA Response to AIAW
  • Initial Request for Production of Documents, 16 February - 1982
  • NCAA Documents in Adjudicating the Plaintiff's Motion for Preliminary Injunction (2 folders)
  • Emergency Motion for Preliminary Injunction Pending Appeal or in the Alternative for Summer Reversal, 19 February - 1982
  • NCAA Response to Opposition to AIAW Emergency Motion, 24 February - 1982
  • Decision and Order, 25 February - 1982
  • Defendant NCAA's Second Request for Admissions, 15 March - 1982
  • Response to AIAW to the Defendant NCAA's Second Request for Admissions, 25 March - 1982
  • NCAA Response to AIAW First Request for Admissions, 25 March - 1982
  • Box 4:
  • AIAW Ethics and Eligibility Committee, 9 April - 1982
  • Defendants' Outline of Witnesses and their Testimony, 21 April - 1982
  • Pretrial Brief for the Plaintiff, 23 August - 1982
  • Response to Plaintiff's Statements of Facts, 1 September - 1982
  • Plaintiff's Reply to Facts Affirmatively Stated in Defendant's Response, 8 September - 1982
  • Appeal: Brief for Appellee - 1983
  • Appeal: Brief for Appellant - 1983
  • Appeal: Reply Brief for Appellant - 1983
  • Appeal: United States Court of Appeals - 1984
  • Affidavit of Donna A. Lopiano: Appendix Vol. I
  • Affidavit of Donna A. Lopiano: Appendix Vol. II
  • Box 5:
  • Affidavit of Donna A. Lopiano: Appendix Vol. III
  • Testimony: Submission of Written Testimony - 1982
  • Testimony: Baker, Merrily Dean
  • Testimony: Berkey, Ruth M.
  • Testimony: Blackburn, Thomas H.
  • Testimony: Brown, Cynthia G.
  • Testimony: Byers, Walter
  • Testimony: Cerra, G. Jean
  • Testimony: DeVarona, Donna
  • Testimony: Finch, Nora Lynn
  • Testimony: Fritz, Harry
  • Testimony: Grant, Christine
  • Testimony: Holland, Judith R.
  • Testimony: Hunt, Virginia
  • Testimony: Klein, Paul L.
  • Testimony: Koch, James B.
  • Testimony: Lardner, Rex Lynford, Jr
  • Testimony: Lopiano, Donna A.
  • Testimony: Mason, Geoffrey
  • Testimony: Morrison, Lonnie Leotus
  • Testimony: Murray, Mimi
  • Testimony: Taylor, Sharon E.
  • Testimony: Tietz, William J., Jr.
  • Testimony: Toner, John L.
  • Testimony: Uhlir, G. Ann
  • Testimony: Watson, Arthur, D.
  • Sub-Series: NCAA vs. AIAW: General, AIAW
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Correspondence - 1979-1982
  • Correspondence, Christine Grant with Judith Holland - 1980
  • Directory - 1980-1981
  • Donna A. Lopiano- Final Delegate Assembly Presidential Address - 1982
  • Handbook - 1979-1982
  • Letters of Support - 1980
  • Merger Proposal - 1982
  • Petitions - 1980
  • Championships - 1980-1982
  • Drafting Committee - 1980-1981
  • Grant, Christine: Future of Women's Athletics
  • Grant, Christine: Notes and Fact Sheets
  • Legal Opinion - 1975-1983
  • Media - 1979-1981
  • Box 7:
  • Meeting Minutes - 1979-1980
  • NCAA Correspondence - 1980-1983
  • Proposed Governance Plan - 1980
  • Reports - 1975-1981
  • Telephone Conversations - 1981
  • University Position Papers - 1980-1981
  • Sub-Series: Title IX: Lawsuits [by school]
  • Box 7:
  • Anamosa Community School District - 1996
  • Baylor University - 1994
  • Boston College - 1996
  • Brooklyn College of the City University of New York - 1991
  • Box 8:
  • Brown: Commerce Subcommittee - 1993
  • Brown: Correspondence - 1992-1995, 1997-1998
  • Brown: House of Representatives Hearing - 1993
  • Brown: Newspaper Clippings - 1994-1996
  • Brown: Notes, undated
  • Brown: Postsecondary Education Subcommittee, Testimony- Vartan Gregorian - 1995
  • Brown: Supreme Court Briefs - 1997
  • Brown: US Court of Appeals - 1993
  • Brown: US Court of Appeals - 1995-1996
  • Brown: US District Court briefs (2 folders) - 1991-1992
  • Box 9:
  • Brown: US District Court briefs, undated
  • Brown: US District Court: Judgment - 1992, 1995
  • Brown: US District Court: Proposed Compliance Plan - 1995, 1997
  • Brown: US District Court: Testimony- Christine Grant - 1992
  • Brown: Women's Rights Law Reports - 1999
  • California State University - 1993
  • Calvert County Public Schools - 1996
  • Cardinal Stritch College - 1995
  • Cedartown High School - 1996
  • Clearfield Area School District - 1996
  • Colgate University - 1992, 1996
  • Colorado State University - 1993
  • Connecticut High Schools: Danbury Public School District - 1997
  • Connecticut High Schools: Wilton Public School District - 1997
  • Box 10:
  • Drake University - 1994
  • Duke University - 2002
  • Duquesne University - 1994
  • Eastern Illinois University - 1997
  • Grove City College - 1984
  • Gwinnett County Public Schools - 1992
  • Henry Broadcasting Co. - 1997
  • Howard County Public Schools - 1996
  • Illinois State University - 1999
  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania - 1992
  • Kentucky High School Athletic Association - 1994
  • Louisiana State University: Deposition- Christine Grant - 1995
  • Louisiana State University: Media Coverage - 1996, 2000
  • Louisiana State University: Notes
  • Louisiana State University: Opinion and Order - 1996
  • Louisiana State University: Plan for Compliance - 1996
  • Louisiana State University: Report- Christine Grant - 1995
  • Michigan High School Athletic Association: Cheerleading Not a Sport - 1999
  • Michigan High School Athletic Association: Complaint - 1998
  • Michigan High School Athletic Association: Deposition- Christine Grant - 1999
  • Michigan High School Athletic Association: Judgment and Order - 2000
  • Box 11:
  • Michigan State University - 1982
  • Midland Soccer Club - 1981
  • Montana High School Athletic Association: Depositions - 1995
  • Montana High School Athletic Association: Ad Hoc Seasons Committee Final Report - 1995
  • National Women's Law Center v. NCAA Championships - 1998
  • National Women's Law Center v. 25 Schools - 1997
  • Nebraska High Schools: Fremont Public Schools: Report- Christine Grant - 1996
  • Nebraska High Schools: Fremont Public Schools: Consent Decree - 1996
  • Nebraska High Schools: Minden Public School - 1996
  • Nebraska High Schools: North Platte Public School - 1996
  • New Mexico Highlands University: Complaint - 1997
  • New Mexico Highlands University: Defendants' Answers to Plaintiffs' Interrogatories
  • New Mexico Highlands University: Deposition- Christine Grant - 1999
  • New Mexico Highlands University: Testimony
  • Office of Civil Rights (OCR): Case List - 1995
  • Office of Civil Rights (OCR): Findings at Twenty Institutions
  • Oklahoma Public Schools - 1996
  • Orange-Windsor School Union - 1996
  • Presbyterian College - 2000
  • Rock Island School District: Complaint - 1998
  • Rock Island School District: Corrective Action Plan - 1995
  • Rock Island School District: Settlement Agreement - 1998
  • Box 12:
  • Saginaw Valley State - 2000
  • Shore Regional High School District - 1996
  • South Dakota High School Activities Association - 2000
  • Syracuse University - 1996
  • Temple University: Affirmations - 1986
  • Temple University: Amended Complaint - 1985
  • Temple University: Consent Decree - 1988
  • Temple University: Expert Report- Christine Grant - 1986
  • Temple University: Motion for a Temporary Restraining Order and Preliminary Injunction - 1986
  • Temple University: Newspaper Clippings - 1988
  • Temple University: Opinion - 1987
  • Texas A&M University Systems: Appeal - 1997
  • Texas A&M University Systems: Deposition- Christine Grant - 1998
  • Texas A&M University Systems: Report- Donna A. Lopiano - 1998
  • Texas A&M University Systems: Second Amended Complaint - 1997
  • University of Bridgeport - 1994
  • University of Illinois, Urbana - 1982
  • University of Iowa - 1976
  • University of Minnesota: Affidavit: Gildea, Lorie - 1998
  • University of Minnesota: Affidavit: Grant, Christine - 1997
  • University of Minnesota: Affidavit: Karon, Judith - 1998
  • University of Minnesota: Affidavit: Stead, David - 1998
  • University of Minnesota: Agreement to Resolve Complaint - 1997
  • University of Minnesota: Correspondence - 1997-1998
  • University of Minnesota: Deposition: Lindal, Renata - 1998
  • University of Minnesota: Deposition: Wongstrom, Alexandra - 1998
  • Box 13:
  • University of Minnesota: Memorandum in Support of Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment - 1998
  • University of Minnesota: Motions and Orders - 1998
  • University of Minnesota: News Publications - 1997 -1999
  • University of Minnesota: Notes Settlement Conference (2 folders)
  • University of Mississippi: Complaint - 2000
  • University of Mississippi: Report- Christine Grant - 2001
  • University of Missouri - 1982-1983
  • University of Nebraska at Omaha - 1998
  • University of Texas at Austin - 1992
  • University of Toledo - 1990
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute - 1993-1994
  • Washington State University - 1982-1988, 2003
  • Sub-Series: Title IX: Compliance
  • Box 14:
  • Chicago Public Schools - 1989
  • Florida State University: Florida Intercollegiate Athletics Equity Act - 1991
  • Florida State University: Title IX Surveys - 1980
  • Northampton Public Schools - 1991
  • Office of Civil Rights Workshop - 1988
  • San Jose State University
  • University In-House Audit University of New Hampshire - 1993
  • University of Maryland - 1991
  • Virginia Tech Washington County School District - 1993
  • Youngstown State University
  • Sub-Series: Title IX: Conferences
  • Box 14:
  • Arizona Sports Summit Accord- Pursuing Victory with Honor - 1999
  • Chicago, Illinois-NCAA Title IX Seminar - 1998
  • Box 15:
  • DePaul University- Legal Issues in Intercollegiate Athletics - 1993
  • Duke University- Gender and Sports in - 1995, 1995
  • Illinois State University- Gender Equity, c - 1994
  • Office of Civil Rights Title IX Athletics Coordinators Conference - 1998
  • Rutgers- Defining Title IX and Gender Equity in the 1990s - 1990-1999
  • Sub-Series: Title IX: General
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence - 1992
  • Box 16:
  • Facts and Figures
  • Hastert Study - 1999
  • High School Athletics - 2002
  • Implications of Grove City College v. Bell Decision - 1984
  • Media CoverageNational Coalition for Women and Girls in Education - 2002
  • National Survey of AIAW Institutions - 1978
  • O'Brien Equity Project Inc. - 1998
  • Box 17:
  • The Sanford Plan - 1979
  • Self-Study: Swarthmore College - 1987
  • Self-Study: University of Florida
  • So-called Demise of Non-revenue Men's Sports - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence - 1994-1999
  • Fair Play Act - 1997
  • Federal Register - 1995
  • Newspaper Clippings - 1995
  • Reports: Big 12 - 1998
  • Reports: Pac 10 - 1998
  • Box 16:
  • Reports: Pac 10 and Big 12 (2 folders) - 1998
  • Reports: Southeastern Conference - 1998
  • Worksheet - 1998
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • Box 16:
  • California State University, Fresno: Corrective Action Plan
  • California State University, Fresno: Compliance Review - 1994
  • East Stroudsburg - 1987
  • Title IX Intercollegiate Athletics Investigator's Manual - 1980
  • Northern Illinois University- Office of Civil Rights Report - 1993-1994, 1998
  • Box 17:
  • State University System of Florida- Report and Recommendations - 1986
  • University of California- Report and Recommendations - 1993
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore County- Office of Civil Rights Report - 1991
  • Washington County School District- Corrective Action Plan - 1993
  • Sub-Series: US Government
  • Box 17:
  • Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Changing Sex-Role Stereotyping and Sex Bias - 1979
  • Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Competitive Athletics: In Search of Equal Opportunities
  • Department of Health, Education, and Welfare: Proposed Regulations to Effectuate Title IX - 1974-1979
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: Guidance on Anti-Discrimination of Coaches' Pay - 1997
  • General Accounting Office: Intercollegiate Athletics Reports - 1992-1993, 1996
  • Hearings: Commerce, Consumer Protection, and Competitiveness Subcommittee: Intercollegiate Athletics: Statements - 1991
  • Hearings: Commerce, Consumer Protection, and Competitiveness Subcommittee: Intercollegiate Athletics: Testimony- Grant, Christine - 1992
  • Box 18:
  • Hearings: Consumer Affairs, Foreign Commerce and Tourism Subcommittee: Statement- Cantu, Norma V. - 1995
  • Hearings: Postsecondary Education Committee: Hearing on Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972: Correspondence (2 folders) - 1995
  • Hearings: Postsecondary Education Committee: Hearing on Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972: Statements (6 folders) - 1995
  • Hearings: Postsecondary Education Committee: Hearing on Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972: Testimonies (3 folders) - 1995
  • Hearings: Senate Judiciary Committee: Statement- Grant, Christine - 1998
  • Hearings: United States Commission on Civil Rights: Statement- Grant, Christine - 1979
  • McMillen Athletic Bill - 1991
  • Office of Civil Rights (OCR): Blue Ribbon Award Nomination - 1997
  • OCR: Exemption of Revenue Producing Sports - 1995
  • OCR: Federal Register - 1975-1979
  • OCR: HEW News, US Department of Health, Education, and Welfare - 1978-1979
  • OCR: Intercollegiate Athletics Workshop - 1989
  • OCR: Interpretation of Title IX for Sex Separate Departments - 1976
  • OCR: Investigator's Manual and Recommendations - 1990, 1994
  • OCR: Lopiano, Donna- Different Does Not Mean Discriminatory: Rules Differences in Collegiate Athletics - 1980
  • OCR: Policy Interpretation - 1978-1979
  • OCR Three-Prong Test: Norma Cantu Correspondence - 1995
  • OCR Three-Prong Test: Policy Clarification Guidelines - 1995-1996
  • Box 19:
  • Women's Sports Foundation Report - 1997
  • United States Senate- Correspondence - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Resources [reference material]
  • Box 19:
  • Acosta, Vivian, "Status of Women in Athletics: Changes and Causes" - 1985
  • Acosta, Vivian and Linda Jean Carpenter: Women in Sport Study - 1980-1991
  • Acosta, Vivian and Linda Jean Carpenter: Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance, "Status of Women in Athletics: Changes and Causes" - 1985
  • American Civil Liberties Union - 1975
  • Arena Review, Vol. 8, No. 2, July, "The Politics of Women's Sport" - 1984
  • The Athletic Educator's Handbook - 1976
  • Athletic Management, "Charging Ahead" - 1999
  • Barr, Carol, Sports Law Review, "One For All: Title IX Case" - 1998
  • Birrell, Susan, "Separatism as an Issue in Women's Sport" - 1983
  • Bonnette, Valerie, Title IX Basics
  • Boring, Phyllis, A Feminist Looks at Sports
  • Burke, Peggy, "Title IX- A Woman's View" - 1978
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education, "Title IX Facts and Figures" - 1999
  • Craig, Albert, "Rules and Ethics in Sports" - 1971
  • Curtis, Mary C., "Philanthropy in the United States" - 1994
  • Decline of Women in Sport: Data and Information - 1971-1990
  • Decline of Women in Sport: Administrators: Jeanne Rowlands - 1987-1991
  • Decline of Women in Sport: Administrators: Charlotte West - 1985-1988
  • Duke Journal of Gender Law and Policy, "The Path of Most Resistance: The Long Road Toward Gender Equity in Intercollegiate Athletics" - 1996
  • Dunkle, Margaret, "Title IX: What it Means and Doesn't Mean to Athletic Programs" - 1976
  • "The Education of Sports Women"
  • Engstrand, Gary, "Athletics, Administrators, Women and the Law"
  • The Equal Rights Amendment Facts and Action Guide - 1986
  • Box 20:
  • The Female Athlete - 1980
  • Fox, Margaret, "Title IX Equality: Reality or Myth?" - 1976
  • Frankel, Eleanor, Athletic Management, "Charging Ahead: Gender Equity Movement" - 1992
  • Freedman, James O., Statistics on Women's Progress - 1986
  • Frey James H., "Institutional Control of Athletics"
  • Government Action on Sex Bias in the Schools - 1977
  • Hall, M. Ann and Dorothy A. Richardson, Fair Ball: Towards Sex Equality in Canadian Sport - 1982
  • "Has Title IX Delivered an 'Air Ball' to Coaches?"
  • Hilton, Lisette, Mid-Atlantic Sports World, "Women's Sports: Who Needs Title IX?" - 1996
  • Holmen, Milton and Bonnie Parkhouse, "Multivariate Considerations in the Selection of Coaches for Female Athletes" - 1980
  • Hult, Joan, "The Role of Governing Bodies in Athletics"
  • The Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance, "Title IX at Twenty: Mature Programs or Still Toddling" - 1992
  • Journal of Sport Law, "Pay Equity: A Legal and Practical Approach to the Compensation of College Coaches" - 1996
  • Kramer, Bill, "Title IX in Intercollegiate Athletics: Litigation Risks Facing Colleges and Universities" - 1993
  • Kurtz, Paul, "A Secular Humanist Declaration"
  • Lopiano, Donna: "Different Does Not Mean Discriminatory: Rules Differences in Collegiate Athletics" - 1980
  • Lopiano, Donna: "What NCAA Control Could Mean to Women's Intercollegiate Athletics" - 1982
  • Lopiano, Donna: "Fundraising Programs for Non-Revenue Sports" - 1983
  • Lopiano, Donna: "Modern History of Women in Sports" - 2000
  • Morris, L. Delyte, "A Socio-Psychological Study of Highly Skilled Women Field Hockey Players" - 1971
  • NCAA vs. AIAW articles - 1979-1980
  • National Women's Law Center, Title IX and Men's Minor Sport: A False Conflict
  • O'Brien, Timothy, NCAA Title IX Seminar: "Recent Case Development" - 1998
  • "One Fine Day"
  • Professional Sports Journal, "Should Football and Basketball Be Excluded from Title IX? Bonnie Slatton vs. Thomas Hansen"
  • Project on the Status and Education of Women, Update on Title IX and Sports - 1978
  • Resource Center on Sex Roles in Education, "Complying with Title IX: The First Twelve Months," undated
  • Schafer, Susan, A Working Model for the Equity Professional - 1984
  • Shavlick, Donna, "Women and the Olympic Spirit" - 1983
  • Smith, Karen, "Title IX and Gender Equity" - 1992
  • Sports Illustrated Women, "Who's Afraid of Title IX" - 2003
  • Sports Inc., "Women and Sports"
  • State of Iowa Department of Public Instruction- "Title IX, Physical Education and Athletics" - 1978
  • Box 21:
  • Telander, Rick, "Something Must Be Done," Sports Illustrated - 1989
  • Thorgren, Connie, "Keeping the Female Coach" - 1990
  • Title IX Articles - 1979-1980
  • University of Iowa Theses: Green, Michael, "The History of the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women: With an Iowa Perspective" - 1997
  • UI Theses: Hacket, Linda, Analysis of Basketball Season Ticket Holders - 1989
  • UI Theses: Hoogestraat, Fran M., "Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: NCAA Division I Basketball" - 1993
  • UI Theses: Meyer, Ruth Ann, "Likert's Management System Theory" - 1983
  • University of Texas at Austin:"Gender Equity in Intercollegiate Athletics: The Inadequacy of Title IX Enforcement by the U.S. Office for Civil Rights" - 1993
  • University of Texas at Austin: "It's Not Whether You Win or Lose, But Whether You Get to Play" - 1994
  • US Commission on Civil Rights, New Perspectives - 1988
  • Weistart, John, "Title IX: The Problem of Structural Bias in Athletic Department Decision-Making" - 1996
  • Women Studies International Forum - 1987
  • Whittaker, Lynn Page and Daniel H. Rosenthal. Silver Era Golden Moments: A Celebration of Ivy League Women's Athletics
  • Lanham , Maryland: Madison Books [shelved with Iowa Women's Archives printed works] - 1999
  • Series 3: PUBLICATIONS
  • Sub-Series: Grant, Christine
  • Box 22:
  • Arena, "Title IX is a Civil Rights Issue" - 1979
  • Arena Review, "The Gender Gap in Sport" - 1994
  • At Iowa, "Harmony Through Partnership"
  • California Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (CAHPERD) Journal Times, "The Essence of Sport: The Empowerment of Women" - 2002
  • College Sports, "Questions and Answers on Gender Equity" - 1993
  • The Counseling Psychologist, "Reaffirming the Coach-Athlete Relationship" - 1993
  • Des Moines Register, "Title IX" - 1992
  • Educational Record, "Institutional Autonomy on Intercollegiate Athletics" - 1979
  • "The Essence of Sport: The Empowerment of Women" - 2002
  • Journal of Gender, Race and Justice, "Women in Intercollegiate Sport: A History and Practice of Discrimination" - 2000
  • Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance, "Recapturing the Vision: Future Directions of Women in Sport" - 1989
  • Melpomene Journal, "Title IX: Twenty Five Years of Struggle" - 1997
  • On Campus With Women, "A Woman's Model for Colleges: The Scholar/Athlete" - 1991
  • "A Position Paper on Equal Opportunity in Sport" - 1992
  • Professional Women's Network, "Gender Equity" - 1993
  • "Title IX" - 1992
  • Umpiring for Field Hockey
  • USA Today, Editorial
  • USA Weekend, "200 Opinion Leaders Speak Out on Civil Rights" - 1991
  • U.S. Women's Interest Groups: AIAW: "Where We've Been"
  • U.S. Women's Interest Groups: AIAW: Women in Higher Education - 1993-1998
  • U.S. Women's Interest Groups: AIAW: Women's Issues Groups: National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators - 1992
  • U.S. Women's Interest Groups: AIAW: Women's Sports Roundtable - 1987
  • Sub-Series: Other authors
  • Box 22:
  • Burke, N. Peg, Christine Grant and Yvonne Slatton, "The Design Process/Product Model to Create Change in Intercollegiate Athletics"
  • Curtis, Mary and Christine Grant, "Even with Football Equity can Become a Reality"
  • Curtis, Mary, Charles F. Darley and Christine Grant, "Gender Equity: Demise or Reaffirmation?" - 1995
  • Darley, Charles F., Yvonne Slatton and Christine Grant, "Guiding Principles for Intercollegiate Athletics: A Reconsideration" - 1995
  • Grant, Christine and Charles F. Darley: "Reaffirming the Coach-Athlete Relationship"
  • Grant, Christine and Charles F. Darley: "Equity: What Price Equality" - 1993
  • Grant, Christine and Charles F. Darley: Women in Sport: Issues and Controversies
  • Box 23:
  • Grant, Christine and Robert Foldesi, Readings in Higher Education, "Playing Fair with Coaches' Compensation" - 2001
  • Grant, Christine and Carol Gruber, "Gender Equity and the Welfare of the Student Athlete"
  • Series 4: SPEECHES
  • Sub-Series: Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW)
  • Box 23:
  • Eastern Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (EAIAW): Oglesby, Carole A. and Carole L. Mushier -- Reflections - 1982
  • Eastern Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (EAIAW): Rowlands, Jeanne -- Megatrends in Athletics
  • Fourth Annual Delegate Assembly: Burke, N. Peg -- Promises to Keep and Miles to Go Before We Sleep - 1977
  • Looking Toward the Future - 1984
  • Lopiano, Donna A. -- AIAW v. NCAA - 1981
  • Massachusetts Speak Out
  • Midwest Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women
  • Burke, N. Peg -- What Are You Saying - 1974
  • Presidential Address: Philosophical Principles - 1979
  • Presidential Address: Celebration of Women in Sports - 1980
  • Presidential Address: The Era of the Roses - 1980
  • Presidential Address: The Meaning of the Existence of the AIAW - 1980
  • Presidential Address: Past, Present and Future - 1981
  • Presidential Address: Lopiano, Donna A. -- AIAW v. NCAA - 1982
  • Presidential Address: We Aspire to the Highest Ideals in Athletics - 1982
  • President's Summit Conference: Hanford, George H. -- Intercollegiate Athletics Today and Tomorrow - 1976
  • Problems in Women's Athletics - 1975
  • Recruiting - 1977
  • Region I Delegate Assembly- The Meaning of the Existence of the AIAW - 1980
  • Region II Delegate Assembly: Lopiano, Donna A. -- How Can AIAW Most Effectively Serve You? - 1980
  • Region III Delegate Assembly: Burke, Peg, N. - Would you tell me please, which way I ought to go from here? - 1976
  • Region IX Delegate Assembly -- Liberty, Equality and Sorority
  • Slatton, Yvonne- AIAW: Reasonable Alternative
  • Southern Region II Delegate Assembly: Lopiano, Donna A. -- NCAA/AIAW and AIAW Issues: Perhaps Some Answers - 1980
  • University of Iowa
  • Mushier, Carole L. -- 1979-1980 Delegate Assembly - 1980
  • Sub-Series: Speeches by Christine Grant
  • Box 23:
  • Calendar of Speaking Engagements - 1992-1994
  • Data Overheads
  • Material -- Quotes, Poetry, Clippings
  • Programs - 1988, 2000
  • An Alternate Approach to Equality
  • Alumni Leadership Conference -- Public Service - 1990
  • American Alliance of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD): The Essence of Movement - 1975
  • AAHPERD: As Former AIAW President - 1985
  • AAHPERD: AIAW: Our History, Our Legacy, Our Future - 1989
  • AAHPERD: How to Get Involved and Effectuate Change in Governance of Collegiate Sport - 1991
  • AAHPERD: AIAW: The Foresight - 1992
  • AAHPERD: Status of State Laws to Remedy Sex Discrimination - 1992
  • AAHPERD: Rachel Bryant Lecture -- A Sport for Every Girl and Every Girl in a Sport - 1996
  • American Heart Association -- Essence of Women's Intercollegiate Athletics - 1984
  • ACCT -- Title IX Positives and Negatives - 1976
  • American Council of Education (ACE) 61st Annual Meeting, Intercollegiate Athletics - 1980
  • Box 24:
  • Army Corps of Engineers -- Women's Equality Day Luncheon - 2000
  • Barnard College Columbia University -- Celebration of Women in Sports - 1980
  • Bethany High School Athletic Banquet -- The Search for Excellence - 1986
  • Big Ten: Championships Tennis Banquet
  • Big Ten: Do Your Best - 1985
  • Big Ten: Lasting Friendships - 1994
  • Big Ten: Separate Departments Rationale - 1975
  • Big Ten: Support Personnel -- The "Student" in Student-Athlete - 2000
  • Big Ten: Where We've Been, Where We Are, Where We're Going: Women's Athletics in the 1990s - 1990-1999
  • Buena Vista College -- The Search for Excellence - 1986-1987
  • Burlington Rotary Club -- Women's Intercollegiate Athletics - 1999
  • Cedar Rapids Area Business Luncheon -- Japan Basketball Friendship Tour
  • Cedar Rapids Professional Women -- The Handmaid's Tale - 1987
  • Central College, Pella Iowa -- Ethics in Sport
  • Changing Family Conference -- Increasing Opportunities for Women in Sport - 1986
  • Citizens for Sports Equity -- The Spirit of Equity in Girls and Women's Sports - 1991
  • College Field Hockey Coaches Association -- All in Each and Each in All - 1993
  • Compromised Values in Division I Programs
  • Cornell College First Women's Athletic Banquet -- Women Sports: Exciting Prospects - 1975
  • Cosida Convention -- 1978 Interpretations of Title IX - 1979
  • Council of Collegiate Women's Athletic Administrators (CCWAA): Employment of Women in Athletic Programs (3 folders) - 1985
  • CCWAA: President-Elect Speech -- Women of Courage, Women of Conviction - 1987
  • CCWAA: Honors Luncheon -- Honor Award Presentation - 1989
  • CCWAA: Tribute to Women in Business and Industry -- Growing Up Female - 1990
  • Council of Ten -- Recommendations for the Direction of Women's Athletics
  • Davenport Athletic Banquet -- The Lessons of Sport - 1988
  • Delta Psi Kappa -- Involvement Today: An Athletic Director's View - 1982
  • Dental Hygiene Alumni Conference and Reunion -- The Rising of the Women - 1998
  • Des Moines Business and Professional Women -- Women's Athleticsin the midst of a revolution - 1992
  • Des Moines Register Banquet -- Achieving Excellence
  • Division III National Basketball Banquet -- History in the Making: Liberty, Equality and Sorority - 1980
  • Duke University -- Confirming Victory for the Women in Sport - 1995
  • Equality for Women
  • Evergreen State College- Issues in Governance of Amateur Women's Sport - 1984
  • Expo '96 -- Pay Equity: The Dilemma in NCAA Div I Athletics Programs - 1996
  • Exposing Mythical Limitations: A Feminist Analysis - 1983
  • FIPSE Proposal -- Communication and Support within Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Foremothers
  • Forum on Local and Global Meaning of the Olympic Games -- Sport, Media and National Identity
  • Girl Scout award, Vivian Stringer
  • Grinnell Symposium -- Sports and the National Character - 1984
  • Box 25:
  • Hills Bank Luncheon -- Vivian Stringer - 1988
  • Hope College Critical Issues Symposium -- Sport and American Life - 1997
  • I-Club: Foundation Board of Directors - 1994-1996
  • I-Club: Linn County -- The Handmaid's Tale in Our Society - 1987
  • I-Club: Vinton -- University of Iowa's '86-'87 Year - 1987
  • I-Club: Women's Athletics Fundraising - 1993
  • International Field Hockey -- An Alternate Athletics Model - 1974
  • Iowa City Booster Club -- Basketball Breakfast - 1988
  • Iowa City Chamber of Commerce: Community Leadership Program - 1995
  • Iowa City Chamber of Commerce: Would You Mind Stepping Outside? A Perspective on Ethics - 1995
  • Iowa City Community School District -- Recipe for a Team - 1991
  • Iowa City Rotary Club -- Call for Assistance
  • Iowa Commission on Status of Women -- Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls - 1998
  • Iowa High School Girls Athletic Union -- Coaching is God's Work - 2000
  • Iowa State University Women's Center -- Women and Power - 1988-1989
  • Joint Service Club Luncheon -- Excitement Surrounding Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Jonathan Livingston Seagull: Jane Marie Athlete is No Ordinary Person
  • Jonathan Livingston Seagull: The Search for Excellence
  • Junior Achievement Advisors Convention -- Tomorrow's Leaders - 1981
  • Junior Achievement Banquet -- Jonathan Livingston Seagull was No Ordinary Bird
  • Kinnick Society Dinners -- Overview of Accomplishments - 1997-1999
  • Knox College -- A Broader View of Ethics for Athletics - 1989
  • Lock Haven University: Awards Banquet -- Liberty, Quality, Sorority - 1981
  • Lock Haven University: 20th Anniversary of Women's Athletics -- Athletic Revolution - 2000
  • MCI Corporation -- Recipe for a Team - 1994
  • Minneapolis -- For Equity: Continuing Struggle for Girls and Women in Sport - 1985
  • Montana State University -- Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Where We've Been, Where We Are, Where We Are Going - 1980
  • Muscatine High School Commencement Address -- Jonathan Livingston Seagull - 1989
  • National Association of Academic Athletics Advisors -- The Challenge Facing Intercollegiate Athletics in the 21st Century - 2000
  • National Association of Bank Women -- Partners in a Societal Revolution
  • National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention -- AIAW National Championships - 1981
  • National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators (NACWAA) -- Title IX and Gender Equity - 1995
  • National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges -- Councils on Student Affairs
  • National Association of Women Business Owners -- The Similarities of Operating a Women's Collegiate Sports Department and Business - 1994
  • National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Inaugural Rowing Championship -- Timeline - 1997
  • NCAA: National Forum -- Improvements for the Student Athlete - 1989
  • NCAA: Title IX Seminar -- Title IX: The 21st Century - 1990-1999
  • National Girls and Women in Sport Symposium at Slippery Rock University: Gender Equity Notes - 1993
  • National Girls and Women in Sport Symposium at Slippery Rock University: The Legacy of and Options for Women in Sport - 1992
  • North Liberty Community Development Commission -- How A Successful Organization Stays Successful in a Competitive World - 1991
  • Northern Michigan Athletic Banquet -- Revolution: Freedom for Women to Be and to Become - 1982
  • Ohio Female Athletes Conference -- The AIAW Plan for the NCAA - 1980
  • Box 26:
  • Ohio State -- Continuing Struggle for Girls and Women in Sport - 1991
  • Olympics - 1984
  • Omicron Delta Kappa Homecoming Breakfast -- Leading from Ahead - 1996
  • Optimist Club and Lion Club -- Women's Athletics: In the Midst of a Revolution - 1987
  • Options for Creating Equitable Participation for Women
  • Phi Delta Kappa Presentation -- Problems and Challenges Facing Intercollegiate Athletics - 1982
  • Problems in Women's Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Professional Ethics in the Global Community Colloquium -- A Broader View of Ethics for Athletics - 1988
  • Professional Women's Network: Equal Opportunity for Girls and Women in Sport - 1993
  • Professional Women's Network: Ethics in Sport - 1989
  • Professional Women's Network: Tying Knots, Building Fires, and Keeping Watch: Feminine Leadership in 2000 - 1999
  • Rhodes University -- Bigger Dreams for the Women's Athletic Program
  • Rotary Club: Contribute to the Future of Iowa Women - 1988
  • Rotary Club: Independence -- Put Iowa On the Map - 1986
  • Rotary Club: Iowa City
  • Rotary Club: National Issues/Trends in Intercollegiate Athletics - 1994
  • Snell Symposium: Coaching is God's Work II - 2000
  • Snell Symposium: History of Women in Sport - 2000
  • Snell Symposium: The Empowerment of Women through Sport - 2001
  • Snell Symposium: Encouraging Women to Enter the Field of Coaching
  • Tiawan Delepatur [sic] -- Women's Athletics in the U.S.
  • Tipton Chamber of Commerce -- Making Iowans Proud - 1985
  • Tipton High School -- Jonathan Livingston Seagull: Value Bravery - 1992
  • Title IX Presentation Packet -- Data and Newspaper Clippings
  • United States Olympic Academy XIII -- The Olympics, Amateur or Professional - 1989
  • University of Bath, England Sports Colloquium: Correspondence - 1995-1996
  • University of Bath, England Sports Colloquium: Equity for Women in Sports - 1996
  • University of Bath, England Sports Colloquium: Newspaper Clippings - 1996
  • University Club -- Increasing Opportunities for Women in Sport - 1986
  • University of Denver 25th Anniversary of Women's Athletics -- The Exhilaration of Sport - 2000
  • University of Iowa: Associated University Women: Building a Community of Women - 1998
  • University of Iowa: Associated University Women:The University of Iowa Women's Athletic Program - 1991, 1994
  • University of Iowa: Proposed Model to Implement Title IX Equity Requirements
  • University of Iowa: Retain the Physical Education Requirement
  • University of Iowa: Women's Coalition Speech -- Call for Commitment of Women's Programs on Campus
  • Box 27:
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Advisory Council Reception - 1989
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Womanhood - 1990
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Embracing Diversity and Sports like Behavior - 1991
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Questions of Identity and Destiny - 1993
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Pulling Together and Paying Forward - 1994
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Heroines of the Mind and Heart - 1995
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Good Pride - 1996
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Seize the Spirit: Be Fair - 1997
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Connecting - 1998
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Values and Choices - 1999
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Persons of Character through Sport
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Athletes Meeting: Athletic Responsibilities
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: All-Sports Banquet -- Lifelong Bonds - 1996
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Alumni Leadership -- Behind the Scenes - 1989
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Basketball Banquet -- A Challenging Journey - 1993
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Casey Mahon Appreciation - 1986
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Dedication Ceremony -- Embarking into a New Era - 1983
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Embryonic Stage - 1972
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Faculty Meeting -- Equal Opportunity - 1982
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Field Hockey Banquet
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: First Club Luncheon -- '96 Olympics - 1996
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Ground Breaking Ceremony -- West End Facility - 2000
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Head Volleyball Coach Introduction - 1991
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Klotz, Don, Honorary
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Licensing and Merchandising
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Olson, Lute and Hayden Fry Luncheons - 1981
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Pearl Field Softball Dedication - 1999
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Post NCAA Basketball Championships Luncheon - 1988
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Retirement of Harley Feldick
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Rowing -- Stella Stanford and Mary Louise Smith Boat Christenings
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Softball Banquet -- Hard Work and Dedication - 1989
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Softball Grandstand Campaign - 1997
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Women's Athletic Banquet: Let Us Be Brave - 1985
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Women's Athletic Banquet: Women of Courage - 1986
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: WSUI Radio -- The Uncertain Future of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: 20th Anniversary Celebration Banquet - 1993
  • University of Michigan Journal of Law Reform's Symposium -- Competing in the 21st Century: Title IX, Gender Equity and Athletics - 2000
  • University of Rhode Island Scholar --Athlete Games -- Title IX Compliance is Possible - 1995
  • University of Rochester -- Women Changing the Style of Leadership in Sport - 1998
  • Way UP XVII Conference -- Leading From Ahead - 1999
  • Western Illinois University -- A Revolution of Women's Athletics - 1989
  • Women as Leaders Conference: My Expectations from Workshops as an AD - 1982
  • Women as Leaders Conference: Feminism and Sport - 1984
  • Women as Leaders Conference: Leadership Strategies - 1985
  • Women and Sport Conference -- Salary Equity for Women and Minorities in Coaching and Administration - 1992
  • Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Where Are We Know?
  • Women's Management Council -- Womanly Honor - 1994
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Billie Jean King Contribution Award Acceptance - 1995
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Summit -- Screening Sport Coaches, Third Party Contractors and Employees: Legal and Ethical Perspectives - 1996
  • Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA): Tribute to Women of Achievement: The Rising of the Women - 1997
  • YWCA: Tribute to Women in Business and Industry -- Being Friends in the 1990s - 1990
  • Sub-Series: Speeches by Others
  • Box 27:
  • Burke, N. Peg -- Western Michigan University: American Council on Exercising 61st Annual Meeting, Title IX -- A Woman's View - 1978
  • Burke, N. Peg -- Western Michigan University: Subcommittee on Equal Opportunity, Relevant Purpose or Focus Statements of Commission on Collegiate Athletics - 1978
  • Burke, N. Peg -- Western Michigan University: Eastern Association for Physical Education of College Women, Intercollegiate Athletics: Educational Activity or Big Business - 1980
  • Burke, N. Peg -- Western Michigan University: The NCAA Governance and Championships Proposals - 1980
  • Burke, N. Peg -- Western Michigan University: Vancouver, Title IX - 1980
  • Clancey, Lee -- Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA), Keynote Tribute to Women - 1996
  • Curtis, Mary -- Advanced Administration of Athletics
  • Women's Progress in Sport
  • DeVarona, Donna -- United States Olympic Committee, The Struggles and the Triumph
  • Ellis Jr., Dorsey D. -- University of Iowa, Women's Athletic Banquet, The Role of Athletics in a University - 1987
  • Box 28:
  • Griffiths, Anne M. -- Slippery Rock State College, Pac Man: The Insatiable Thirst to Conquer!
  • Hogan, Candace Lyle -- The Media Game: Why and How to Win Coverage
  • Kleinberg, S. J. -- University of Tennessee, Women's Sport in American Life: You've Come A Long Way, Baby; but Look How Far You Have to Go
  • Lopiano, Donna A.: American Association of State Colleges and Universities, The Financial Impact of NCAA and NAIA Initiation of Women's National Championships - 1980
  • Lopiano, Donna A.: Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance, National Convention Presentation, High School Athletics: Coaches/Controversy/Crisis - 1980
  • Lopiano, Donna A.: Higher Education Group, Can Higher Education Handle Equal Opportunity for Women - 1980
  • Lopiano, Donna A.: University of Iowa, Faculty Senate Symposium, Public Expectations, the University and Athletics - 1989
  • Mushier, Carole L. -- Syracuse University Conference, Women in Sport in the 80s - 1980
  • Nelson, Mariah Burton -- Sharing Your Skills: It's A Kick to Coach Kids, and There's A Crying Need - 1993
  • Oglesby, Carole A. -- EAPECW, Title IX: Where Are We Seven Years Later? - 1979
  • Pritchard, Ross -- American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), Intercollegiate Athletics and Title IX - 1976
  • Rosenbrock, Pat -- Women as Leaders Workshop, Feminism and Sport: Connections and Directions - 1982
  • Sage, George H. -- Central Association for Physical Education of College Women, Fertile Field: Humanism in Sport - 1975
  • Uehling, Barbara S. -- National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics, Athletics: A Part Of or Apart From the University - 1980
  • West, Charlotte -- Council of Collegiate Women's Athletic Administrators (CCWAA), Spectrum: Our Heritage, Reality and Future - 1989
  • Series 5: PROFESSIONAL AND POLITICAL INVOLVEMENT
  • Box 28:
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW): Correspondence - 1988, 1994-1995
  • AAUW: Legal Advocacy Fund - 1988, 1993, 1997-2000
  • AAUW: Reports and Publications - 1988, 1992-1997
  • American Council on Education (ACE): George Hanford -- A National Survey Study of Intercollegiate Athletics - 1974
  • ACE: Special Report and Resolution - 1987, 1998
  • Box 29:
  • American Women's Trans-Antarctic Expedition - 1991
  • Athletic and Recreation Foundation of College Women - 1971
  • Black Coaches Association - 1993-1995
  • Carnegie Mellon Advisory Board: Correspondence - 1998
  • Carnegie Mellon Advisory Board: Notes
  • Carnegie Mellon Advisory Board: Program Brochures
  • Carnegie Mellon Advisory Board: Reports and Summaries - 1997-1998
  • Carnegie Mellon Advisory Board: Student Handbook - 1998
  • Center for the Study of Athletics - 1987-1988
  • Center for the Study of Sport in Society (CSSS): Annual Report - 1990-1991, 1993-1994
  • CSSS Digest - 1989-1992
  • CSSS: Correspondence - 1987-1994
  • CSSS: Media Coverage
  • Box 30:
  • CSSS: Mission Statement
  • CSSS: News Summary (3 folders) - 1986-1988
  • College Football Association -- Position on Title IX - 1995
  • Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) - 1994
  • Council of Collegiate Women's Athletic Administrators: Resolution Summary of Trends in the Employment of Women in Sport - 1985
  • Council of Collegiate Women's Athletic Administrators: Supporting Materials - 1985
  • Division for Girls and Women's Sports (DGWS) - 1971, 1973
  • Drake Conference -- Corruption in College Sports: Program and Material - 1999
  • Drake Conference -- Corruption in College Sports: Correspondence - 1999-2000
  • Feminist Majority Foundation Task Force on Women and Girls in Sports: Correspondence - 1993-1998
  • Feminist Majority Foundation Task Force on Women and Girls in Sports: Minutes - 1993, 1997
  • Box 31:
  • Feminist Majority Foundation Task Force on Women and Girls in Sports: Miscellaneous - 1993
  • Feminist Majority Foundation Task Force on Women and Girls in Sports: Reports - 1993, 1995
  • Feminist Majority Foundation Task Force on Women and Girls in Sports: Newspaper Clippings - 1992-1993
  • Field Hockey World Championship - 1979
  • Fundraising Campaign -- Conlin for Governor - 1982
  • Georgia Women's Intersport Network
  • Institute for International Sport - 1990-1991, 1995, 1997
  • International Olympic Committee - 1996
  • Iowa Commission on the Status of Women - 1986, 1989-1993
  • Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance - 1985
  • Miller Light Report on American Attitudes Toward Sports - 1983
  • The Minnesota Coalition to Promote Women in Athletic Leadership - 1993
  • National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators (NACWAA) - 1996, 2002
  • National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS): Correspondence - 1983-2002
  • NAGWS: GWS News - 1987, 1991-1992, 1997-1999, 2002
  • NAGWS: Gender Equity Through Physical Education and Sport - 1995
  • NAGWS: Mission and Presidential List
  • NAGWS: National Girls and Women in Sport Day - 1987-1999
  • NAGWS: Women in Sport Leadership - 1993
  • Box 32:
  • National Association for Physical Education of College Women (NAPECW): Biennial Record - 1973-1977
  • NAPECW: Briefings - 1975-1976
  • NAPECW: Conference Reports - 1976, 1978
  • NAPECW: A History of the Purpose of NAPECW - 1924-1974, 1975
  • National Association for Sport and Physical Education
  • National Coalition for Women and Girls in Education (NCWGE) - 1994-1995
  • National Girls and women in Sport Symposium - 1993
  • National Organization for Women (NOW)
  • National Women's Law Center
  • New England Women's Eight Basketball Championship - 1993
  • President's Commission on Olympic Sports - 1975-1977
  • President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports: Physical Activity and Sport in the Lives of Girls - 1997
  • The Project to Eliminate Homophobia in Sport
  • Society for the Study of Legal Aspects of Sport and Physical Activity - 1996-1998
  • The Sporting Woman Exhibit - 1993
  • Box 33:
  • Susan B. Anthony University Center -- University of Rochester - 1997-1998
  • United Nations Decade for Women - 1988
  • United States Olympic Committee (USOC): Amateur Sports Act of 1978 - 1978
  • USOC: Constitution and By-Laws - 1979
  • USOC: Correspondence - 1986-1995
  • USOC: Leadership Positions in USOC Member Organizations - 1989-1990
  • USOC: Title IX Seminar - 2002
  • United States Sports Academy - 1993
  • University of Toronto Gender Equity Task Force Report - 1994
  • Women in Research - 1986
  • Women's Basketball Coaches Association - 1990, 1993
  • Women's Lives, Voices, Solutions - 2000
  • Women's Research and Education Institute - 1987
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Awards Gala - 2002
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Coaches Advisory Roundtable - 1988-1990
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Correspondence - 1989-2001
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Publications - 1984-2002
  • Women's Sports Foundation: Wilson Report - 1988
  • Women's Sports Leadership - 1987
  • Series 6: UNIVERSITY OF IOWA
  • Sub-Series: Department of Physical Education for Women
  • Box 33:
  • N. Peg Burke Retirement Banquet - 1996
  • Educational Directions for the University of Iowa - 1979
  • Fight Against Department Budget Cuts - 1991-1992
  • People in Sport and Physical Activity: An Application of Ideas - 1977
  • Box 34:
  • Reorganization: Committee Reports - 1991-1993
  • Reorganization: Correspondence - 1982-1993
  • Reorganization: Enrollment - 1984-1987
  • Reorganization: Faculty Gender Equity - 1978-1991
  • Reorganization: Faculty Meeting Minutes - 1987
  • Reorganization: Historical Data - 1989, 1992
  • Reorganization: Self Study (34 folders) - 1988-1995
  • Ten Year Plan - 1976-1978
  • Women's Coalition Committee - 1989-1994
  • Iowa Men's Athletic Program: Procedures and Practices - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Women's Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Box 34:
  • ACE Recommendations for the Improvement of Women's Conditions - 1988
  • Anniversary Celebration - 1992-1993
  • Basketball - 1978-1979, 1984
  • Board in Control of Athletics - 1982
  • Box 35:
  • Budget: Correspondence - 1991-1999
  • Budget: Summaries - 1994-2000
  • Budget: Calendars - 1978-1980
  • Budget: Coaches File
  • Budget: Correspondence - 1974-1996
  • Budget: Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act - 1995-1997
  • Budget: Facts and Figures
  • Budget: Five-Year Plan - 1975-1976
  • Box 36:
  • Fundraising - 1993-1995, 1998-1999
  • Gender Equity Executive Summary - 1992-1995
  • Hawkeye Arena Fundraising Campaign - 1979
  • Marketing Plan - 1993-1994
  • Media Guides - 1977-1978
  • Media Guides - 1992-1999
  • Memorial -- Gladys Scott - 1990-1992
  • Minority Report: Organization and Structure Committee - 1980
  • Program Merger - 2002
  • Progress in Equity Award (AAUW) - 1994
  • Report on Women's Intercollegiate Athletics - 1975-1976
  • Strategic Plans - 1989, 1993-1994
  • Student Athlete Handbook - 1999-2000
  • Title IX Compliance: Allocation of Funds and Resources - 1982
  • Title IX Compliance: Enforcement Recommendations - 1974
  • Title IX Compliance: Office of Civil Rights - 1979-1982
  • Box 37:
  • Title IX Compliance: Review (5 folders) - 1975-1981
  • Title IX Compliance: UI Title IX Self Study - 1981
  • National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA): Amateurism Reform - 2001
  • NCAA: Annual Reports - 1979-1980
  • NCAA: Athletic Operations Survey - 1995-1996
  • NCAA: Convention - 1981-1983
  • Box 38:
  • NCAA: Convention - 1984
  • NCAA: Correspondence - 1981-2002
  • NCAA: Division I Football Finances Study - 2001
  • NCAA: Financial Aid - 1998
  • NCAA: Football Television Committee Report - 1981
  • NCAA: Guide for the College-Bound Student Athlete - 1982
  • NCAA: Honors Luncheon - 1985
  • NCAA News Online Participation Study - 1999
  • NCAA: Restructuring - 1993-1996
  • NCAA: Rowing Championship - 1995-1997
  • NCAA Sports Action Lottery Distribution: Background Information
  • NCAA Sports Action Lottery Distribution: Committee Correspondence - 1990-1997
  • NCAA: Sports Medicine Handbook - 1982
  • NCAA: Subcommittee on Agents and Amateurism - 2001-2002
  • NCAA: Survey on Graduation Rates - 1981
  • NCAA: Task Force on the Black Athlete - 1978
  • Box 39:
  • NCAA: Task Force on Equity (4 folders) - 1991
  • Series 7: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 39:
  • Christine Grant on Gender Equity - 1978-2002
  • Decline of Women in Sport - 1987-2002
  • Gender Equity - 1981-2003
  • General Interest - 1984-1991
  • Box 40:
  • Drake Conference -- Corruption in College Sports - 1999-2000
  • Legal Action - 1978-1993
  • Racial Equality - 1984-1992
  • NCAA v. AIAW (3 folders) - 1979-1983
  • NCAA - 1978-2001
  • Title IX (4 folders) - 1978-2002
  • Box 41:
  • Title IX (2 folders) - 1978-2002
  • University of Iowa Athletics (3 folders) - 1985-1991
  • University of Iowa: Athletics Merger - 1979-2000
  • University of Iowa: Sports Arena - 1979-1980
  • UI Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Basketball (2 folders) - 1975-2002
  • UI Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Iowa Women's Archives - 1992-1997
  • UI Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Field Hockey - 1990-2000
  • UI Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Softball - 1991
  • UI Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: Volleyball - 1989-1991
  • UI Women's Intercollegiate Athletics: 20 Year Anniversary - 1992-1993
  • University of Iowa: Women's Rights Issues - 1980-1998
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 42:
  • At Work and Play
  • Events and Awards
  • Portraits
  • Series 9: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 42:
  • University of Iowa Grant Field Dedication [posters in map case] - 1991
  • University of Iowa: Iowa Hawkeyes Needle Point - 1988
  • Box 43:
  • University of Iowa: Department of Physical Education and Dance, M. Gladys Scott Award - 1981
  • Big 10 Volleyball, Whistle of Pride Award - 1993
  • Business and Professional Women, Woman of Achievement Award - 1993
  • CCWAA/NACWAA President - 1987-1989
  • Council of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators, Board Member
  • Box 44:
  • Feminist Majority Foundation, In recognition - 2000
  • Mississippi Valley Girl Scout Council, In appreciation
  • National Girls and Women in Sports Day, Lou Henry Hoover Sporting Woman Award - 1992
  • Women's Basketball Coaches Association, Special Recognition Award - 1992
  • Box 45:
  • National Girls and Women in Sports Symposium, Hall of Fame Recipient - 1994
  • AIAW Charter Membership
  • AIAW, "Women Winning! 1899-1985" [poster in map case] - 1985
  • Series 10: AUDIOVISUAL
  • Sub-Series: Audiocassettes
  • Box 45:
  • Deford, Frank, 20th Anniversary of Title IX: A look at where women's college and high school sports stand today [AC998] - 1992
  • Grant, Christine: AIAW/NCAA Meeting, undated [AC989]
  • Grant, Christine: National Public Radio News, Talk of the Nation: Title IX is 6 Years Old [AC991]
  • Grant, Christine: 7th Annual Women as Leaders Workshop [AC992]
  • Olney, Warren, To the Point: College Athletics [AC990] - 2001
  • WSUI Public Radio, Iowa City, Iowa: Slatton, Bonnie and University of Iowa President Mary Sue Coleman: Role on Athletics [AC997] - 1996
  • WSUI: University of Iowa Radio Forum's Athletics at Iowa: Grant, Christine, Bonnie Slatton, Jennings, and Egeland, Fundraising for Women's Athletics [AC995-AC996] - 1999
  • WSUI Public Radio, Iowa City, Iowa: Amateurism [AC993-AC994] - 2000
  • Sub-Series: Videocassettes
  • Box 45:
  • Iowa Banner -- Women's Basketball Game Footage and Interviews [V317]
  • University of Iowa Athletes: Non-Smoking Promo [V316]