Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Cornelia Shrauger Day papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-2004
Creator: Day, Cornelia (1919-2004)
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0328
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Educated in journalism and law. Washington, Iowa, resident active in YWCA, Planned Parenthood and UNICEF.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 10 and 17.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 218) were donated by Cornelia Day in 1994 and succeeding years and Dianne Day in 2001 and suceeding years.

Preferred Citation: Cornelia Shrauger Day papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Cornelia Shrauger Day was born on May 7, 1919, the daughter of Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger and Harold Shrauger, Sr. of Atlantic, Iowa. Her grandfather was Dr. H. J. Prentiss (1867-1931), head of the anatomy department at the University of Iowa; her grandmother, Lue Bradley Prentiss (1868-1922). Day's brother was Harold Shrauger, Jr. (1916-2004) and her sister, Virginia S. Jones (1921- ). Cornelia Shrauger attended Atlantic High School and graduated from the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) in 1940 with a degree in journalism. In 1940 she and (John) Robert Day, a law student at the university, were married. Cornelia Day attended law school at the University of Georgia and Iowa. Following her husband's service in World War II, the Days moved to Washington, Iowa, where she lives now. Their two children, Dennis and Edward, were adopted in 1954 and 1957, respectively.

Cornelia Day worked as a journalist for the Washington Evening Journal from 1948 until 1951, when she began her illustrious career as a devoted community activist. She was active, locally and nationally, in the Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA), Planned Parenthood, and UNICEF. She was deeply committed to numerous programs for social reform and was officially recognized for her outstanding contributions. She was recognized as the YWCA Friend of the Child (1990) and was elected to the Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame (1990). In 1995 the Days received the Distinguished Alumni Service Award from the University of Iowa.

The Days hosted more than one hundred foreign visitors through the Experiment in International Living, a national program with headquarters in Vermont; the Foreign Leader Exchange Program of the U.S. State Department; the Rotary Club Foreign Student Exchange Program and the American Field Service Student Program.

Cornelia Day and her husband were inveterate travelers, having visited all fifty states and more than fifty countries in Europe, Asia, Africa, and South America.

The Cornelia Day papers date from 1890 to 2004 and measure 9 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Biographical, Correspondence, Foreign visitors, Foreign travel, Community activities, Photographs, and Scrapbooks. The papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, and photographs of the Shrauger and Day families as well as materials highlighting Day's commitment to the local, national, and international community.

The Biographical series includes information about Cornelia Shrauger Day, her husband Robert Day, and their sons; high school and college and memorabilia; and Shrauger family history.

The bulk of the Correspondence series is devoted to letters written by Cornelia Day to her parents from 1936 to 1984. Letters from her husband, Robert Day, before their marriage in 1940 and many written during World War II from the Pacific, where he served as an officer in the United States Navy, are part of this series. Also included are letters to Cornelia Day's father-in-law Wilbur Day, from her children Dennis and Ed, and from her sister Virginia Shrauger Jones. The entire set of the Christmas letters from Cornelia and Robert Day to their friends and family (1945-1994) completes the series.

The Days' involvement with the international community is revealed in the Foreign visitors series which documents, mostly in the form of correspondence, their participation in the Experiment in International Living and the Governmental Affairs Institute, a private cultural exchange organization in Washington, D. C. Folders for each of the more than sixty foreign visitors the Days hosted are arranged alphabetically. Photos and correspondence with some of these visitors can be found in the foreign visitors scrapbook and in the Visitor Service Program folders.

The Foreign travel series includes itineraries, correspondence, brochures and diaries of the Days'€™ many trips abroad, arranged chronologically by trip.

Cornelia Day's civic involvement is documented in the Community activities series comprising information primarily about her involvement in the YWCA and Planned Parenthood of Southeast Iowa. Materials from other organizations to which Day belonged, and histories she wrote of the Presbyterian church in Washington, Iowa, and the YWCA in that community complete the series. There is also considerable information about these activities in the Scrapbooks series.

The Photographs series contains an album kept by Cornelia Shrauger Day in the 193os and 1940s as well as photographs of the Day family and a sketch of Cornelia Shrauger Day drawn by her aunt Lilian Prentiss Schwartz.

The Scrapbooks contain a mix of family material and information about Cornelia Day's civic activities, as well as writings and letters.
Bradley Family papers. Iowa Women's Archives. The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.
Virginia Jones papers. Iowa Women's Archives. The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.
Prentiss Family Papers. Iowa Women's Archives. The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.
Shrauger Family Papers. Iowa Women's Archives. The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: FOREIGN VISITORS
Series 4: FOREIGN TRAVEL
Series 5: COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 7: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General, undated
  • Account book, ca. - 1942
  • Address book, undated
  • Atlantic High School, Javelin - 1935
  • Atlantic High School Senior Class - 1936
  • Hospitalizations - 1956-1966
  • Memorials - 2004
  • Physics notebook, undated
  • Awards, University of Iowa - 1995
  • "Memories of Co-op dorm living at the State University of Iowa", Charlotte Enger Jones - 1931-1955
  • University of Iowa, College of Law - 1945
  • Cedar Rapids Gazette profile - 1994
    [shelved in map case]
  • Box 2:
  • Edward Day, school reports - 1959-1966
  • Edward Day, correspondence - 1963-1987
  • Dennis Day, correspondence - 1966-1987
  • Shrauger family genealogy, undated
  • Shrauger family history - 1909-1997
  • Shrauger Family reunions - 1991-1997
  • Travel diary, Wyoming and Alberta, undated
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • Cornelia Day to parents, Cornelia and Harold Shrauger (17 folders) - 1936-1973
  • Box 4:
  • Cornelia Day to parents, Cornelia and Harold Shrauger (15 folders) - 1958-1984
  • Robert Day to Cornelia Day (2 folders) - 1938-1939
  • Box 5:
  • Robert Day to Cornelia Day (7 folders) - 1945-1946
  • Cornelia Day to the Wilbur Days (2 folders) - 1942-1945
  • Miscellaneous - 1938-1997
  • Miscellaneous - 1940-1990
  • To the Days - 1944-1947
  • Robert Day family correspondence - 1956-1973
  • Dick Chambers - 1945
  • Cornelia Mary Shrauger - 1950-1984
  • Box 6:
  • Other family - 1927-1997
  • Friends - 1937-1998
  • International friends (2 folders) - 1956-1995
  • Re: trips - 1956-1992
  • Postcards to and from the Days - 1956-1973
  • Ed day to parents - 1967-1970
  • Re: Ed Day - 1983
  • Sampling of letter from friends - 1970-1982
  • Dennis Day - 1996
  • Brad, Tim, and Erin Day to grandparents - 1996-1998
  • Jeanne Howorth, Cornie's best friend - 1988-1999
  • Condolences on Cornelia Prentiss Shrauger's death - 1985
  • Box 7:
  • Virginia Shrauger Jones, letters from overseas - 1945-1946
  • Virginia Shrauger Jones (4 folders) - 1970-1997
  • Cornelia and Virginia - 1997-1999
  • Dianne Day [re: move to assisted living] (3 folders) - 2001
  • Miscellaneous - 2001
  • Christmas newsletters - 1945-1997
  • Series 3: FOREIGN VISITORS
  • Box 8:
  • Experiment in International Living, correspondence (4 folders) - 1965-1974
  • Governmental Affairs Institute - 1962-1970
  • Other programs - 1972-1989
  • Abraham - 1970-1978
  • Ahmade - 1977
  • Allende - 1967
  • Ambizas - 1979
  • Andriamparivony - 1975
  • Blaettler - 1974
  • Cha - 1976-1983
  • Chable - 1971
  • Chen, Po-Jen - 1978
  • Chen, Ya - 1974
  • Dale - 1972
  • D'Souza - 1975-1977
  • Elahi - 1976
  • Evboumwan - 1975
  • Fenger - 1976
  • Guimaraes - 1978
  • Harima - 1975
  • Box 9:
  • Hatano - 1967-1974
  • Jadidi - 1971-1972
  • Jimenes - 1977-1978
  • Kaderali - 1970
  • Kawasaki - 1977
  • Kawakami and Tsuchihashi - 1975
  • Kocijancic - 1964
  • Hamada - 1975
  • Lam - 1972
  • LeGoff - 1973
  • Liu - 1979
  • Magang - 1976
  • Mahin - 1965
  • Mahfud - 1975
  • Mani - 1970-1971
  • Maylath - 1972
  • Menendez - 1978
  • Mukai - 1975
  • Noguchi - 1973
  • Noorzadi - 1978
  • Nunez - 1979
  • Obari - 1975
  • Pabon - 1972
  • Phon-Anh - 1967
  • Poisson - 1975
  • Royes - 1980
  • Schutz - 1980
  • Sencial - 1973
  • Shakami - 1978
  • Shiga - 1963
  • Shunya - 1974
  • Siddiky - 1978
  • Somboon, Chalirm - 1967
  • Suganthonaj - 1969
  • Sweans - 1978
  • Tatavoosian - 1979
  • Tokita - 1977
  • Tovar - 1975
  • Vines, undated
  • Wressing - 1980
  • Yam - 1970-1972
  • Yongkittikul - 1965
  • Yamada - 1978
  • Yamakawa - 1974
  • Yamaoka - 1974
  • Yan - 1976
  • Yoshida - 1974
  • Yao - 1964
  • Yong-An - 1965
  • Zepeda - 1974
  • Box 10:
  • Foreign visitors scrapbook [with photos] - 1959-1972
  • Visitor Program Service [with photos] (2 folders) - 1974-1987
  • Series 4: FOREIGN TRAVEL
  • Box 10:
  • Travel diaries - 1956-1971
  • Box 11:
  • Inventory of sourveniers in Day house, undated
  • Europe - 1956
  • Brussels World's Fair - 1958
  • Orient correspondence - 1968
  • Orient itinerary - 1968
  • Orient adventure - 1968
  • Ecuador, UNICEF briefing packet - 1970
  • Ecuador, UNICEF briefing packet ephemera - 1970
  • Europe (3 folders) - 1971
  • Europe, partial travelogues - 1971
  • Box 12:
  • Africa (3 folders) - 1970
  • Mediterranean (3 folders) - 1971
  • South Pacific - 1973
  • Around the world (3 folders) - 1974
  • A trip around the world…', undated
  • Box 13:
  • Russia and Eastern Europe (2 folders) - 1975
  • France (2 folders) - 1976
  • England and Wales - 1977
  • Portugal and Spain - 1978
  • Asia (2 folders) - 1979
  • Asia tour, UNICEF briefing packet - 1980
  • Box 14:
  • Asia tour [China and Indonesia], UNICEF report - 1980
  • Asia tour [China and Indonesia], correspondence - 1979-1983
  • Egypt - 1982
  • Europe - 1984
  • Soviet Union, Austria - 1986
  • Finland - 1988
  • Austria, Germany, East Germany - 1990
  • Europe - 1992
  • South Africa - 1993
  • Series 5: COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES
  • Box 15:
  • Abortion studies - 1966-1972
  • Certificates and awards - 1979-1998
  • City Council candidate - 1973
  • Clippings - 1979-1982
  • Cross-cultural committee - 1990-1993
  • Ecumenical Peace Luncheons, financial - 1983-1992
  • Halcyon House - 1984
  • Halcyon House, Washington Evening Journal - 1952-1959
  • Planned Parenthood of Southeast Iowa - 1973-1997
  • Planned Parenthood (2 folders) - 1977-1997
  • Planned Parenthood, financial - 1984-1993
  • Presbyterian Church History, Washington County: 1841-1989 - 1989
  • Speeches, undated
  • State Historical Society of Iowa - 1963
  • Box 16:
  • Tourism committee - 1970-1979
  • UNICEF: speeches - 1969-1983
  • U.S. Senate, subcommittee hearings on employment, poverty, and migrant labor - 1973
  • White House Conference on Children - 1970
  • Women's issues - 1967-1989
  • Women's Republic Club, undated
  • YMCA, community survey, Washington, Iowa - 1968
  • YMCA convention, Mexico City, undated
  • YWCA - 1964-1995
  • YWCA: administrative (2 folders) - 1964-1966
  • YWCA: Iowa Town and Country - 1972-1989
  • YWCA: Pooled income and fundraising - 1968-1976
  • YWCA: Speeches - 1971-1977
  • YWCA: The First Seventy Years: The "Incomplete" Complete History of the Washington, Iowa YWCA - 1995
  • YWCA: UNICEF - 1975-1990
  • Box 17:
  • Young House (2 folders) - 1986-1995
  • Other local organizations - 1969-1995
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 17:
  • Bradley-Shrauger family - 1999
  • Cornelia Shrauger: sketch by Lillian Schwartz, undated
  • Cornelia Shrauger Day, undated
  • Cornelia Shrauger photo album - 1930-1949
  • Day family - 1943-1989
  • Day family, undated
  • Series 7: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 18:
  • Grab and Kepp book - 1930-1939
  • Volunteer clipping book, ephemera (2 folders) - 1956-1994
  • Ephemera from various scrapbooks (4 folders), undated
  • Box 19:
  • Atlantic High School - 1930-1936
  • Box 20:
  • Atlantic High School - 1930-1936
  • Box 21:
  • State University of Iowa - 1936-1937
  • Box 22:
  • State University of Iowa - 1937-1938
  • Box 23:
  • State University of Iowa - 1938-1939
  • Box 24:
  • State University of Iowa - 1939-1940
  • Box 25:
  • General [includes early family photographs] - 1910-1981
  • Box 26:
  • Community activities - 1930-1989
  • Box 27:
  • Cornie's 70th Birthday - 1989
  • Box 28:
  • Red scrapbook A - 1980-1999
  • Red scrapbook B - 1994-1996
  • Red scrapbook C - 1994-1997
  • Box 29:
  • Green scrapbook - 1913-1999
  • Black scrapbook - 1930-1999
  • Blue scrapbook - 1990-1999

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Day, Cornelia, 1919-

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women in community organization
Voyages and travels

Occupations:
Community activists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Washington

Genre/Form of Materials:
Scrapbooks
Photographs
Personal papers
Archives