Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Doris Bender Hughes papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1945-2013
Creator: Hughes, Doris Bender
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0326
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Student who attended the University of Iowa in the 1940s and later became a teacher and child-welfare worker.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 447) were donated by Doris Bender Hughes in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Doris Bender Hughes papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Doris Bender Hughes, teacher and child welfare worker, attended Russell Sage College in Troy, New York, and transferred as a junior to the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) in September 1945. She graduated in 1947 with a B.A. in psychology.

After graduation Doris Bender worked at the Child Welfare Station with Ruth Updegraff from 1947 until 1950, first as a student teacher and then as head teacher. She worked in the State University of Iowa preschool from 1948 until 1950. In September 1949, Doris Bender began to work towards an M.A. in psychology at the State University of Iowa, completing the degree in August 1950.

In February 1949, Doris Bender became engaged to Richard Hughes, a native of Iowa City. Both taught in Coralville, Iowa, starting in September 1950. The couple married in October 1950.

After four years of teaching kindergarten in Coralville, Doris Hughes left her job to raise a family. Through the years Doris Hughes taught in Iowa City schools, worked in North Hall at the Early Childhood Center for eight years, and served as an Academic Advisor at the University of Iowa.

The Doris Bender Hughes papers date from 1945 to 2013 and measure 2 linear inches. The papers are divided into three series: Correspondence, General, and Photographs. The Doris Bender Hughespapers center on her activities as an undergraduate student at the State University of Iowa.

The Correspondence series (1945-1950), which forms the bulk of the collection, contains letters written by Doris Bender in Iowa City, Iowa, to her parents in Norwich, New York. The letters highlight student social life at the State University of Iowa. Topics discussed in the personal correspondence include finances, classes, and social entertainment. The letters help to illuminate the relationship between a daughter attending an out-of-state college and her family.

The General series includes a retrospective scrapbook containing photocopies of images, newspaper clippings, and historical information concerning the State University of Iowa in the mid-1940s to the early 1950s, an autobiographical narrative by Doris Bender Hughes, and excerpts from letters and from informational publications issued by the State University of Iowa in the 1940s. A reminscence of Coralville, Iowa, in the 1950s written by Hughes in 2013 completes the series.

The Photographs (1945-1950)include many photographs of friends and the State University of Iowa's campus. Also included are several photographs of children who attended the preschool where Doris Bender worked. Identification of the subject matter of the photographs is provided on the back of the photographs.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL
Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • September-December - 1945
  • January-March - 1946
  • April- July - 1946
  • August-December - 1946
  • January- May - 1947
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Happy 150th U of I, 50 Year Old: Memories in a Sesquicentennial Year, 1945-1947, Iowa City, Iowa and the University of Iowa" - 1997
  • Coralville, Iowa, 1950s - 2013
  • Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 1:
  • State University of Iowa - 1945-1950
  • State University of Iowa Preschool - 1948-1950