Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marjorie Marsh papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1993-1997
Creator: Marsh, Marjorie (1913-)
Extent: 7.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0321
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Fort Madison, Iowa, native, and active club member and volunteer.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 441) were donated by Marjorie Marsh in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Marjorie Marsh papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Marjorie Woods Marsh, an active volunteer, was born in Fort Madison, Iowa, on February 4, 1913. She graduated from Fort Madison High School in 1930 and attended Stowe Teacher's College in St. Louis, Missouri for a short time before leaving to marry Ferrell Turner.

In 1932 Marsh returned to Fort Madison and divorced Turner. She married Ben Lewis in 1937. Lewis died in 1969, and she married Tom Marsh who passed away in 1989. Marjorie Marsh has one son, Ferrell Turner, Jr. and her step-son, Leo Lewis died in 1989.

Marsh worked at the Harper Clinic in Fort Madison as a receptionist and medical assistant for twenty years. For six years after that, Marsh served as a switchboard operator at the Sacred Heart Hospital until her retirement at age 62.

Marsh has been active in the Retired Senior Volunteer Program, the Senior Silver Steppers, and the Booster Women's Club, in addition to her church and other organizations in the Fort Madison area.

The Marjorie Marsh papers date from 1993 to 1997 and consist of 7 items. The collection contains two newspaper clippings from 1997, two letters of recommendation, Marsh's nomination form for the 1993 Outstanding Woman of the Year award, her certificate from the 1993 Outstanding Woman of the Year award presented by the Business and Professional Women of Fort Madison, and undated biographical information received from Virginia Harper.
Virginia Harper papers (IWA).

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.