Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Shirley M. Sandage papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1927-2007
Creator: Sandage, Shirley M. (1927-2012)
Extent: 7.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0318
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Mason City, Iowa-born civil rights activist, United States field representative for the Christian Children's Fund and director of program development for the National Organization on Disability.
View Selected Items Online:Mujeres Latinas Digital Collection

Alternate Extent Statement: 10 audiocassettes [AC447-AC456]
4 videocassettes [V186-188]
1 DVD [d0050]

Access: The papers are open for research, with the exception of the manuscript "Something of Substance Across Main Street" and the Frederick Police Department files, which will open in 2018.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa, except for that of the manuscript "Something of Substance Across Main Street," writing considered to be "work for hire," and photographs, for which the donor has retained copyright.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 434) were donated by Shirley Sandage in 1997 and succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: Shirley M. Sandage papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Shirley Sandage, born in Mason City, Iowa, in 1927, was a homemaker and mother of three when she began her career as a social activist and "professional agitator." Her church's involvement with migrant farm workers in the late 1960's inspired Sandage to start and direct the Migrant Action Program in Mason City. This program provided daycare, education, vocational training, food, and medical services to migrant families. Sandage's experiences with migrant laborers led her to collaborate with photographer Jo Moore Stewart to create Child of Hope, a book about the plight of migrant workers. During this time Sandage helped author a migrant child labor bill, which was passed into Iowa law in 1967. In 1969 Sandage began dividing her time between Mason City and Washington, D.C., where she conducted the first national study of the social, economic and demographic conditions of migrant farm workers. Sandage then went to work for the United States Department of Labor. There she redesigned a welfare program for rural families and led a task force to implement court orders that resulted from a civil suit against the Secretary of Labor. She authored the guidelines which reorganized the United States Employment Service and integrated the US Rural Manpower Service.

In 1975 Sandage returned to Iowa full-time, where she and her associate Margaret Garrity conducted a groundbreaking study on industrial hazardous waste in the state. The study led to the passage of legislation to regulate hazardous waste disposal in Iowa. In 1977 Sandage helped to establish and became the director of The Door Opener, a resource center for women. The Door Opener staff provided services such as vocational rehabilitation, counseling, job placement, and crisis intervention for displaced homemakers and women of all ages in the Mason City area. In 1980 the founders of the national Displaced Homemakers Network, Tish Sommers and Laurie Shields, asked Sandage to organize the first White House Mini-Conference on Older Women, which was held in Des Moines. Sommers and Shields, along with Sandage and other conference participants, then formed the Older Women's League (OWL), which became a national organization dedicated to the awareness and resolution of older women's issues. In 1983 Sandage left Iowa to become the executive director of the Older Women's League and to establish its national office in Washington, D.C.

In1986 Sandage became the United States field representative of the Christian Children's Fund (CCF), an international sponsorship program for needy children. She ran the United States program, which provided aid mainly to Native American children. She also completed a study of child poverty in the United States, determining the counties in which children were at extreme risk.

From1988 until her retirement in 1996, Sandage served as the director of program development for the National Organization on Disability (NOD) in Washington, D.C. She directed the office of former White House Press Secretary James Brady, who served as NOD's vice-chairman. This position involved directing Brady's Calling on America campaign, which promoted the full inclusion of people with disabilities into community life. It also included writing Brady's speeches, as well as numerous brochures, newsletters, and manuals. After her retirement from NOD, Sandage continued to collaborate with Brady, establishing the James S. Brady Center for Fellows in Public Policy.

Sandage's volunteer activities since her retirement have included serving as the chair of the Frederick County (Maryland) Human Relations Commission. In this position she monitored the Frederick Police Department's affirmative action procedures, and planned and implemented events and programs to promote the celebration of diversity in Frederick County.

In 1998 Sandage served as a member of the Frederick Community College curriculum committee to establish the Institute for Learning in Retirement. She designed and teaches a "Tales for Grandchildren" course at the college.

Shirley Sandage, born in Mason City in 1927,began her lifelong career as an activist and "professional agitator" when she was a housewife and mother of three sons. She served as president of the local League of Women Voters and of Church Women United. Her church's work with local migrant farm workers led her to establish and head the Migrant Action Program in Mason City, which provided services such as schooling, daycare, adult education, vocational training, and medical care to migrant families. During this time she drafted legislation which limited migrant child labor. It was passed into Iowa law in1967. Her work for local migrant services led her to Washington, D. C., where she conducted the first national demographic, social, and economic study of migrant workers in the United States. In the early seventies she worked for the U S. Department of Labor, redesigning welfare programs for rural families and supervising a special task force to implement court orders resulting from a civil suit against the U S Secretary of Labor. In 1975 to 1976, Sandage and business partner Margaret Garrity conducted a groundbreaking study of industrial hazardous waste in Iowa, which led to the passage of state legislation to regulate waste disposal.

In 1976 Sandage established and directed The Door Opener, a drop-in resource center for women. This was the state's first independent women's center and provided vocational rehabilitation and training, counseling, and a range of other services to displaced homemakers and women ofall ages and circumstances. In 1983 she became the Executive Director of The Older Women's League, a national feminist organization which sought to provide awareness of and resolution to the problems of older women in the United States, which included social security reform.

The Shirley Sandage papers date from 1927 to 2007 and measure 7.25 linear feet. A detailed bibliography written by Sandage is included in the collection (Box 1) and should be consulted for more complete information about the contents of this collection.

The papers are arranged in seven series: Autobiography, Family and personal history, Migrant activism, Women's activism, Other national activities, Consulting, and Volunteer activities. The collection holds significant materials for research in the civil rights movements of migrant workers, women and children, older Americans, and the disabled.

The Autobiography series 1997 contains draft excerpts of chapters from Sandage's manuscript autobiography, which she prepared to accompany her papersa nd provide additional information about the events in each series. These excerpts are portions of the autobiography that refer mainly to Sandage's professional experiences. Restrictions: These excerpts are open to researchers but may not be photocopied, cited, or quoted without permission. This series also includes the complete, unpublished manuscript Something of Substance Across Main Street, which is closed to researchers..

The Family and personal history series 1927-1998 contains a genealogy report of father's side of the family, photograph of Sandage and her sons, her sons' resumes, correspondence from her sons, a copy of Sandage's birth certificate, and correspondence with Marquis Publishers regarding her inclusion in Who's Who. A letter from Sandage's son Scott to the Iowa Women's Archives summarizes Sandage's career, the contents of the collection, and its importance to researchers. The series also contains the eulogy Sandage and her son Scott wrote for the memorial service of Sandage's aunt, Berenice Reynolds Pippert. Also included in this series is a copy of a paper Sandage wrote for a 1996 community-college course. The paper, entitled "Fighting Back: Anger, Anxiety and Activism," compares the African-American activist Anne Moody and the Native American activist Wilma Mankiller. Two audiocassettes of interviews with Sandage conducted by her son Scott complete this series. The first is a 1983interview of Sandage and her sister, Joy Swab, who discuss their childhood memories. In the 1984 oral history interview, Sandage tells stories about her experiences with the Migrant Action Program and the Migrant Research Project, her journey from housewife to The Older Women's League, her time with the United States Department of Labor, the effect gender had on the Iowa Hazardous Wastes Study, and the community backlash against The Door Opener in Mason City.

The Migrant Activism series 1964-1996 contains materials from Sandage's work with the Migrant Action Program (MAP) in Mason City and the national Migrant Research Project (MRP). The MAP subseries contains a scrapbook of newspaper clippings and photographs of Sandage and the program participants. It also contains Sandage's book Child of Hope, (A. S. Barnes & Co., 1968), copies of the program's annual reports, Sandage's statement before the United States Commission on Civil Rights, and an audiocassette tape of the Iowa House debate over passage of a child labor law for migrant children. Sandage co-authored the original bill, which passed and was signed by Governor Harold Hughes in 1967. The Migrant Research Project subseries chronicles the years 1969 to 1971 when Sandage and Margaret Garrity conducted the first national study of migrant workers' demographic, economic and social conditions. It includes annual reports and project reports, as well as an audiocassette in which Sandage and Garrity discuss the training of indigenous aides in their program.

The Women's Activism series 1977-1995 contains papers that document Sandage's involvement with The Door Opener, The Displaced Homemakers Network, and the Older Women's League. It also contains materials from Sandage's 1981 trip to China as part of a women's delegation of the National Committee for United States-China Relations. The Door Opener subseries contains documents and publications used at The Door Opener. It includes materials Sandage developed for a skills transfer program that helped identify skills a homemaker possesses which could be translated into the paid workforce. It also contains Sandage's speeches and press coverage, including photographs of former First Lady Rosalynn Carter's visit to The Door Opener. The National Committee on United States-China Relations subseries consists of Sandage's journals, memos, and photographs of her three-week trip to Chinato observe Chinese women's lives. The Displaced Homemakers Network subseries contains Sandage's papers and notes from her involvement with the network. It includes a copy of the Network News newsletter, conference planning papers, and lyrics to a song which Sandage penned to tell the history of the network.

The Older Women's League (OWL)subseries contains photographs, correspondence, press coverage, minutes, conference planning papers, publications, audiocassettes and a video cassette from Sandage's time as executive director of the

Older Women's League. It includes papers from the 1980 White House Mini-Conference on Older Women, where OWL was started. Copies of the OWL publications Wingspan, The OWL Idea, OWL Field Advocate, The OWL Observer, and the Gray Papers are included in the collection. A copy of OWL co-founder Laurie Shield's book Displaced Homemakers: Organizing for a New Life (McGraw-Hill, 1981), autographed by Shields and Tish Sommers, is included in this series and shelved in the printed works collection of the Iowa Women's Archives. This subseries also contains the correspondence Sandage maintained with Dr. Kathleen Kautzer in order to document and correct errors in Dr. Kautzer's Ph.D. dissertation about the Older Women's League. Also in this subseries is the correspondence Sandage maintained with Dr. Pat Huckle to document and correct errors in Huckle's book about OWL and its founder, Tish Sommers. The OWL subseries also contains an artifact: an OWL pendant necklace. A photograph of Sandage wearing the necklace appears in a Prevention article on Sandage, also located in this subseries. The audiovisual material in this subseries consists of audio recordings of Sandage speaking before a conference on aging, and radio and television interviews with Sandage.

The Other National Activities series 1971-1997 contains papers and audiovisual materials from Sandage's work for the United States Department of Labor in the early 1970s, the Christian Children's Fund (CCF) in 1986 and 1987, and the National Organization for Disability from 1988 to 1996. It also includes developmental material for the James S. Brady Center for Fellows in Public Policy.

The United States Department of Labor subseries contains papers written by Sandage when she was a consultant to the Department of Labor's Opportunities for Families Program, which was a welfare-reform program established by then-President Richard Nixon. This subseries also documents the work Sandage did for the Department of Labor's Employment Service. It includes documents from a civil suit filed against the Secretary of Labor as well as Sandage's federal personnel files.

The Christian Children's Fund subseries contains correspondence, research, and other materials from Sandage's work for that organization, where she served as Director of the United States Field Office from 1986 to 1987. This subseries includes correspondence between Sandage and the program manager, annual and quarterly reports, Sandage's studies on child poverty in the United States, training materials, a brochure, and an audiocassette of a training conference Sandage led for Native American parents of CCF children in Rapid City, South Dakota.

The National Organization on Disability (NOD)subseries consists of photographs, publications, reports, training materials, and speeches from Sandage's years with the National Organization on Disability(NOD.) This subseries contains documentation of NOD's major programs, including the Community Partnership Program and the National Organizations Partnership Program. This subseries includes television coverage of Sandage discussing the Americans With Disabilities Act; of Sandage and James Brady discussing NOD, and video of a NOD-sponsored training seminar in Frederick, Maryland. An audiocassette tape of Sandage and James Brady discussing their work together and their plan for developing the James S. Brady Center for Fellows in Public Policy is also included in this series.

The Consulting series 1974-1990 contains materials related to work Sandage performed as a consultant. The Garrity-Sandage Associates subseries consists of materials related to the study of industrial hazardous waste in Iowa which Sandage and Margaret Garrity conducted in 1975 and 1976. It includes copies of both volumes of the resulting Special Substances Report of 1977. conducted. This includes an address Sandage gave before the National Environmental Manpower Planning Conference, the Special Substances Report, Volumes I and II, and press coverage of the report from the Des Moines Register. Please see Sandage's bibliography for more information about the study and the materials in this series.

The Door Opener series consists of papers related to Sandage's work as Executive Director for The Door Opener, a drop-in resource center for women in Mason City. It includes brochures and descriptive information about the center, annual reports for 1979-1982, curriculum and training guides for the center's programs, and speeches about The Door Opener which Sandage presented before various audiences. Also included are photographs of Sandage with Rosalyn Carter at the White House and during Carter's visit to The Door Opener. A scrapbook containing newspaper clippings, letters, and telegrams related to The Door Opener 1977-1982 is included in this series and (shelved in box_)

The National Committee on United States-China Relations series contains papers, memorabilia and photographs of Sandage's three week trip to China as a participant in a women's delegation to the country. It includes Sandage's journals and notes from the trip, official documentation including biographical information about each of the delegates, and three photograph albums.

The Iowa Governor's Commission on Health Care Costs series contains correspondence and other information related to Sandage's service as a member of the commission.

The Displaced Homemakers Network series contains papers pertaining to Sandage's involvement with the Network, including organizational newsletters, planning papers for national conferences, and a song parody, "The Birth of the Network," which Sandage wrote to chronicle the history of the Network.

The Older Women's League series consists of papers related to Sandage's work with The Older Women's League, which began when she directed the White House Mini-Conference on Older Women in Des Moines. It continued when she became the League's Executive Director. This is a sizable series which contains photographs of Sandage and Margaret Garrity as well as League founders Tish Sommers and Laurie Shields, annual reports and convention reports, testimony of Tish Sommers and Sandage before public groups and congressional committees, Older Women's League (OWL) publications, minutes, and a hardcover edition of Displaced Homemakers: Organizing for a New Life, by Laurie Shields. The bulk of the series is correspondence between Sandage and Sommers. For a detailed explanation of the papers in this series, including a complete list of the correspondence, please see Sandage's bibliography. Also included in this series are audio cassettes of Sandage's address before the Mid-America Conference on Aging, radio interviews with Sandage, and a videocassette of Sandage's appearance on the television show "Congressional Update," on which she represented the Older Women's League and discussed earnings sharing. There are also subseries containing papers relating to the consulting Sandage completed for the Older Americans Consumer Cooperative in 1985; for the MD-IPA, a health care provider for seniors, in 1986; for Traveler's Aid International and Lightnet Industries in 1988; and for the National Association of Social Workers in 1990.
Tish Sommers papers (San Diego State University Library): Sommers was co-founder of the Displaced Homemakers Network and the Older Women's League.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: AUTOBIOGRAPHY DRAFT EXCERPTS [cannot be photocopied or cited without author's permission]
Series 3: FAMILY AND PERSONAL HISTORY
Series 4: MIGRANT ACTIVISM
Series 5: WOMEN'S ACTIVISM
Series 6: OTHER NATIONAL ACTIVITIES
Series 7: CONSULTING
Series 8: VOLUNTEER ACTIVITIES

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Collection bibliography [Sandage's detailed descriptions of the collection, with explanatory notes]
  • Series 2: AUTOBIOGRAPHY DRAFT EXCERPTS [cannot be photocopied or cited without author's permission]
  • Box 16:
  • "The Years on the Road: The Migrant Research Project 1969-1971"
  • "Working Within The System For Change 1971-1975"
  • "Part I: The Opportunities for Families Program and Welfare Reform"
  • "Part 2: Civil Action 2010-72, NAACP, Western Region, et al. vs. Peter J. Brennan, et al."
  • "Rising From the Ashes Like a Phoenix 1971-1972"
  • "Garrity-Sandage Associates 1975-1977"
  • "Opening New Doors for Women 1977-1983"
  • "A Time of Turmoil 1983-1984"
  • "Aging, Organizing and Agonizing 1983-1984"
  • "Not Another Decade! 1986-1996"
  • "Not A Hand-Out; But a Hand-Up! 1988-1996"
  • "The Road Before Me 1996 and Beyond"
  • Box 19:
  • Autobiography manuscript [CLOSED]
  • Series 3: FAMILY AND PERSONAL HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Genealogy - 1998
  • Shirley Sandage's sons (2 folders) - 1985-1997
  • Miscellaneous - 1927-1987
  • Letter and Shirley Sandage resume from Scott Sandage - 1996
  • Eulogy to Berenice Pippert (aunt)
  • Essay for journal writing class - 1996
  • Audiocassettes
  • Shirley Sandage and her sister, Joy Swab, discuss memories [AC447] - 1983
  • Oral history interview [AC448] - 1984
  • Series 4: MIGRANT ACTIVISM
  • Sub-Series: Migrant Action Program (Mason City, Iowa)
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1969, 1970, 1996
  • Loose items and selected photocopies from scrapbook
  • Child of Hope (A. S. Barnes & Co.) [shelved in the printed works collection] - 1968
  • Annual report - 1966
  • Annual report - 1967
  • Annual reports - 1968, 1969
  • Upper Iowa University talk - 1968
  • Statement before United States Commission on Civil Rights - 1969
  • Letter from Governor Hughes - 1967
  • Head Start Proposal, undated
  • "The Vanishing Migrant, His Need for Education," by Shirley Sandage, Vocatio (January) - 1968
  • Board of directors
  • Board of directors - 1970
  • Audiocassette: Debate, Iowa House File #178 (migrant child labor) [AC449] - 1967
  • Box 17:
  • Migrant Action Program (Mason City, Iowa) Scrapbook - 1964-1968
  • Sub-Series: Migrant Research Project
  • Box 1:
  • Annual reports - 1969, 1970
  • Title I Minnesota Project, undated
  • Mechanization vs. migrant employment - 1971
  • Wisconsin Project - 1969, 1971
  • Box 2:
  • Michigan Housing Report - 1970
  • Press release - 1970
  • Audiocassette: Sandage and Margaret Garrity discuss training [AC450] - 1969
  • Sub-Series: Migrant School Program in North Iowa Area, summer
  • Box 2:
  • Final Report - 1965
  • Series 5: WOMEN'S ACTIVISM
  • Sub-Series: The Door Opener (Mason City, Iowa)
  • Box 2:
  • Loose items and selected photocopies from scrapbook
  • Descriptive information, undated
  • Trademark - 1978-1980
  • Annual reports and strategic plan - 1979-1985
  • "Day's Bouquet" press coverage and other miscellaneous - 1980, 1981, 1995
  • The Helpmate: A Resource Guide for Women - 1980
  • Non-sexist Vocational Acquaintanceship Program - 1980-1981
  • Agricultural Services Job Creation Project - 1980
  • Ford Foundation proposal - 1982
  • Curriculum for Jobs Club, undated
  • Crisis Line training, undated
  • From Homemaking to Entrepreneurship: A Readiness Training Program, United States Department of Labor - 1985
  • Skills Transfer Project, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Skills Transfer Project, undated
  • Farm Journal article - 1983
  • Winthrop Rockefeller Award for Distinguished Rural Service - 1979
  • Nomination for "Women: A Status Report," undated
  • Photographs at the White House/Rosalynn Carter - 1978
  • Rosalynn Carter visits The Door Opener: Photographs and correspondence - 1980
  • Rural Development Act Signing Ceremony - 1982
  • Speeches - 1979-1982
  • Box 18:
  • The Door Opener Scrapbook - 1977-1982
  • Sub-Series: National Committee on United States-China Relations
  • Box 3:
  • Journals and notes - 1981
  • Annual report '79 and related memorandum - 1979, 1981
  • Magazines and memorabilia - 1979-1981
  • Newspapers - 1981
  • Box 4:
  • Photographs - 1981
  • Box 10:
  • National Committee on United States-China Relations: Photograph albums [3] - 1981
  • Box 11:
  • Weekly program reports (2 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Weekly reports - 1991
  • Weekly reports - 1992
  • Weekly reports - 1993
  • Weekly reports - 1994
  • National Partnership Program Award Winners - 1990-1996
  • National Organizations Partnership Program membership - 1996
  • Community Partnership Program - 1988-1996
  • Community Partnership Awards - 1988-1995
  • State liaisons - 1995-1996
  • Program Information Network (PIN), undated
  • Office of Vice-Chairman James Brady - 1991-1996
  • Jim Brady's "Calling on America" campaign
  • Artifact: Jim Brady campaign button, undated
  • Box 12:
  • Jim Brady Campaign material - 1991-1992
  • Miscellaneous - 1988-1989
  • The Brady Brigade, undated
  • James S. Brady speeches (written by Sandage) - 1991
  • James S. Brady speeches (written by Sandage) - 1992
  • James S. Brady speeches (written by Sandage) - 1993
  • James S. Brady speeches (written by Sandage) - 1994
  • James S. Brady speeches (written by Sandage) - 1995
  • James S. Brady speeches (written by Sandage) - 1989-1994
  • James S. Brady columns, undated
  • Box 13:
  • Annual reports - 1992-1996
  • Training materials - 1988-1989
  • How-to materials - 1989
  • Americans With Disabilities Act Title II, undated
  • Presentations - 1989-1991
  • Selected proposals - 1989-1990
  • Report to J. M. Foundation, undated
  • Newsletters - 1989-1995
  • Personnel policies - 1989-1993
  • Employment records - 1987-1994
  • Performance evaluations - 1989-1994
  • Work-related injury claim - 1991, 1993
  • Brochures and publicity materials, undated
  • Resignation and consultant contract - 1996
  • Letters and cards received - 1996
  • Brady's resignation - 1996
  • Box 14:
  • Community Partners Local Projects (3 folders) - 1995
  • Videocassette: Sandage and Representative Richard Geist discuss the Americans with Disabilities Act 1994/ Sandage and James Brady discuss the National Organization on Disability [V186] - 1993
  • Videocassette: Sandage and James Brady appear at an Americans With Disabilities Act seminar [V187] - 1993
  • Audiocassette: Sandage and James Brady discuss the National Organization on Disability/Sandage and Brady discuss plans for the James S. Brady Center for Fellows in Public Policy [AC455] - 1996
  • James S. Brady Center for Fellows in Public Policy - 1997
  • Sub-Series: The Displaced Homemakers Network
  • Box 4:
  • Leadership; officers; staff; funders - 1978-1982
  • Network News (September) - 1982
  • Note to Sandage from officers - 1983
  • "The Birth of the Network" - 1982
  • Pittsburgh conference agenda - 1982
  • Leadership Development for National Conference - 1982
  • Sub-Series: The Older Women's League
  • Box 4:
  • Resumes and photographs/Sandage and Garrity - 1980-1984
  • Photograph: Executive Directors of major women's organizations - 1984
  • Brief history of the Older Women's League, undated
  • Des Moines conference/Founding of the Older Women's League - 1980
  • OWL Conference, Louisville KY - 1982
  • OWL Second National Convention, Washington, DC - 1984
  • Annual reports and Conference reports - 1984
  • Miscellaneous testimony of Tish Sommers - 1977-1983
  • Sandage's Congressional testimony - 1983-1984
  • Selected Sandage presentations - 1983-1984, 1988
  • Miscellaneous media/public relations/speeches - 1983-1984
  • Artifact: OWL pendant necklace
  • Prevention (January) - 1984
  • Appointment by Edison Electric Institute - 1984
  • Wingspan Vols. I, II, III, VI, VII - 1984
  • Older Women and Their Issues - 1984
  • The OWL Idea - 1984
  • Box 5:
  • OWL Field Advocate - 1984-1985
  • The OWL Observer - 1983-1985, 1994
  • Gray Papers: Issues for Action - 1979-1980
  • OWL publications - 1979, 1984
  • OWL public service announcements, undated
  • Shields, Laurie, Displaced Homemakers: Organizing For a New Life (McGraw-Hill paperback) [shelved in the printed works collection] - 1981
  • Curriculum guides - 1984
  • Curriculum guide for employment seminar, undated
  • Milwaukee OWL chapter workshop, undated
  • Citizen's Council on Earnings Sharing - 1982-1984
  • Policy manual and legal documents - 1980-1984
  • Fringe benefits plan for OWL staff - 1983-1984
  • Organizing manual - 1984
  • Long-range Plan for Membership Growth - 1983-1985
  • Box 6:
  • Plan of action with budget - 1984
  • Minutes of board of directors - 1984
  • Notes from fall board meeting - 1984
  • Needmor Foundation proposal - 1984
  • Correspondence - 1980-1982
  • Correspondence - 1983
  • Correspondence - 1984
  • Sandage resignation - 1985
  • Letters from OWL staff - 1984-1994
  • Miscellaneous communication - 1985, 1987
  • Kathleen Kautzer/Sandage correspondence - 1992-1997
  • Patricia Huckle/Sandage correspondence - 1992-1993
  • Settlement correspondence - 1992-1994
  • Transcript of interview with Tish Sommers - 1984
  • Sommers/Shields interview - 1985
  • Public service announcement: Newsweek (June 6) - 1983
  • Audiocassettes
  • Keynote address before the Mid-America Conference on Aging, interview with Sandage about Margaret Garrity [AC451] - 1984
  • Radio interview with Sandage/Citizen's Council on Earnings Sharing press conference [AC452] - 1982
  • "Prime Time" AARP radio show, undated [AC456]
  • Videocassette: "Congressional Update," [V185] - 1984
  • Series 6: OTHER NATIONAL ACTIVITIES
  • Sub-Series: National Center For Human Development
  • Box 6:
  • Proposal, undated
  • Sub-Series: United States Department of Labor
  • Box 6:
  • Welfare Reform: Strategy papers - 1972
  • Box 7:
  • Welfare Reform: Strategy papers - 1972
  • Welfare Reform: Rural Development Act of 1972 - 1972
  • Audiocassette: Interview with Dr. Arnold Paulsom. Iowa State University, undated [AC453]
  • Sub-Series: United States Employment Service
  • Box 7:
  • 13-point program (2 folders) - 1971-1973
  • Rural Manpower service report - 1973
  • 13-point program field memorandums (3 folders) - 1972-1975
  • Box 8:
  • Performance evaluations - 1974
  • Personnel file - 1972-1974
  • Sub-Series: The Christian Children's Fund
  • Box 8:
  • Sandage/Manning correspondence (2 folders) - 1986
  • Sandage/Manning correspondence (3 folders) - 1987
  • Annual and quarterly reports - 1986-1987
  • Box 9:
  • Suffer Little Children . . .Part I - 1987
  • Children in Poverty . . .A Five Year Plan - 1987
  • Children in Poverty . . .A Five Year Plan, Revised - 1987
  • Sandage field trips - 1986-1987
  • Children's risk index book - 1986
  • Training material - 1986-1987
  • US Field Office brochure, undated
  • Fiscal Year 1987-1988 Goals: Management Retreat - 1987
  • Exhibits related to Sandage termination - 1987-1988
  • Termination grievance - 1987-1988
  • Miscellaneous letters - 1987-1988
  • Map of children's risk areas [oversize: shelved in map case]
  • Audiocassette: Keynote Presentation, Rapid City, South Dakota, undated [AC454]
  • Sub-Series: National Organization on Disability
  • Box 9:
  • Photographs of Jim Brady and Sandage - 1991
  • Series 7: CONSULTING
  • Box 14:
  • Garrity-Sandage Associates, Inc.: Stock certificate - 1976
  • Garrity-Sandage Associates, Inc.: Talks to National Environmental Manpower Planning Conference - 1974
  • Garrity-Sandage Associates, Inc.: Special Substances Report, Volume I - 1977
  • Garrity-Sandage Associates, Inc.: Special Substances Report, Volume II - 1977
  • Establishment of Garrity-Sandage Associates - 1977
  • Garrity-Sandage Associates, Inc.: Newspaper clippings - 1977
  • Older Americans Consumer Cooperative - 1985
  • MD-IPA Health Maintenance - 1986
  • Travelers Aid International - 1988
  • Lightnet Industries - 1988
  • National Association of Social Workers - 1990
  • Series 8: VOLUNTEER ACTIVITIES
  • Box 15:
  • Japanese International Christian University Foundation, undated
  • Iowa Governor's Commission on Health Care Costs - 1981-1982
  • Hearing Officer, Section VII Housing - 1988
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Appointment letters - 1993, 1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Basic documents - 1989, 1997
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Bylaws - 1995
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Strategic-planning retreat - 1995
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Appeals training - 1994-1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Monitoring Title VII Frederick Community College - 1995-1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: "Get an Attitude" Conference (3 folders) - 1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Keynote address - 1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Americans With Disabilities Act Seminar for Public Officials - 1993
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Affirmative action plan, goals and progress (2 folders) - 1994-1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Ethnic Festival - 1996
  • Box 16:
  • Frederick County Human Relations Commission: Newspaper - 1996
  • Frederick County Human Relations Department information - 1995
  • Videocassette: Shirley Sandage appears on Focus on Frederick [V188] - 1995
  • Taskers Chance Homeowners Association - 1995
  • Frederick Senior Recreation Council - 1996-1997
  • Weinberg Center for the Arts - 1997
  • Frederick Community College courses: Tales for Grandchildren - 1998
  • Frederick Community College courses: "Power Skirts of America!" - 2007
  • Frederick Community College courses: "Power Skirts of America!" [d0050 shelved in digital collection] - 2007
  • Frederick Community College courses: It's Never too Late to Change the World
  • Volunteer activities, Columns - 2006-2007
  • Box 20:
  • Legal documents/Charge of discrimination against Frederick Police [CLOSED] - 1996-1997
  • Frederick Police Department Affirmative Action [CLOSED] (2 folders) - 1994-1997