Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gladys Miller Ferguson papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-1978
Creator: Ferguson, Gladys Miller (1881-1976)
Extent: 6.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0316
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Teacher and high school girls basketball coach from Mechanicsville, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folder 1.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 432) were donated by Barbara O. Wallick in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Gladys Miller Ferguson papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Gladys Miller was raised in Mechanicsville, Iowa, where she graduated from high school in 1910. She graduated from Drake University in 1915 and taught school in Rockwell City and Spencer, Iowa. During this time, from 1917-1919, Miller coached the Rockwell City High School girls' basketball team. Miller married Everett Ferguson in 1920. They had four children and lived on a farm in Cedar County, Iowa. Ferguson ran unsuccessfully as a Democrat for State Representative from Cedar County in 1942. She was actively involved with the Mechanicsville Public Library for more than twenty years.

The Gladys Miller Ferguson papers date from 1919 to 1978 and consist of 6 items. Several of the items are undated. The collection contains three newspaper clippings, two photographs of Ferguson, and one handwritten account of her life from an unknown source.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.