Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary Dickens papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1991-1993 and undated
Creator: Dickens, Mary (1925-2014)
Extent: 7.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0314
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Community activist, volunteer, and poet in Waterloo.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 430) were donated by Mary Dickens in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Mary Dickens papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary Dickens was a Waterloo community activist and poet. Born August 20, 1925, Dickens grew up in Greenwood, Mississippi and spent 23 years in Chicago before moving to Waterloo in 1974. Her community involvement began in Chicago when she organized community residents and worked with mayor Richard Daley to get a swimming pool for their neighborhood. In Waterloo, she volunteered at four nursing homes and was active in Habitat for Humanity, Operation Threshold, Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA,) Waterloo Women's Civic Club, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), and the United Methodist Church, among other organizations. She headed Waterloo's National Night Out celebration for several years. Dickens's service to her community also included baking her famous pies and other treats for area shut-ins, school children, and the Salvation Army.

The papers date from 1991 to 1993 and consist of seven items. The materials are comprised of newspaper clippings and poems. The newspaper clippings are photocopies of newspaper articles about National Night Out in Waterloo, dating from 1992, and an article, circa 1991, about Dickens's baking for shut-ins. The collection also includes photocopies of Dickens's poems. The first, "Just Say 'No' to Drugs," is photocopied from Great Poems of Our Time (Maryland, National Library of Poetry, 1993).
United Sisters of Black Hawk County records (IWA): Dickens is a member of this organization.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Dickens, Mary, 1925-

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
African American women

Occupations:
Community activists
Poets
Volunteers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Waterloo

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Browse:
African American Women in Iowa