Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Susan Boyd papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1929-2012
Creator: Boyd, Susan (1927-)
Extent: 4.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0312
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Journalist and writer who published several articles in Mademoiselle. She also served as University of Iowa First Lady from 1969-1981.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 4-11 and 14.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 427) were donated by Susan Boyd in 1997 and 2011.

Preferred Citation: Susan Boyd papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Susan Elizabeth Kuehn was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1927 to Mr. and Mrs. Henry Kuehn. Kuehn attended Lochinvar-West High School in Minneapolis. She continued her education at Wellesley College in Massachusetts, majoring in English Composition. In 1945 Kuehn was Mademoiselle's guest fiction editor. The following year her short story 'The Rosebush' won Mademoiselle's College Fiction Contest. That same story was also selected for publication in the 1947 edition of the O. Henry Prize Story Collection and Herschell Brickell's Prize Stories. Kuehn graduated from Wellesley in 1947 and began her six-year stint at the Minneapolis Star and Tribune, first as a reporter, and later as an editor of the Women's Pages.

At age twenty-two, she won a $2,000 creative writing fellowship at Stanford in Palo Alto, California. There, she published 'The Hunt', which was featured in Herschell Brickell's Prize Stories of 1950, and 'The Searchers,NULL which she wrote under the guidance of Wallace Stegner and published in Stanford Short Stories and Best American Short Stories. After a year, Kuehn returned home to the Minneapolis Star and Tribune. She continued to write fiction, as well as non-fiction, and her work was published in magazines such as Redbook, The Writer, and Harpers. In addition, Kuehn performed graduate work at the University of Minnesota.

On August 28, 1954, Kuehn married Willard 'Sandy' Boyd, Jr. The Boyds settled in Iowa City, where Willard Boyd taught at the law school of the University of Iowa. He became president of the University of Iowa in 1969 and remained in that position until 1981. The Boyds lived in Iowa City for nearly twenty-six years, where they raised their three children-Willard 'Bill' Boyd III, Elizabeth 'Betsy', and Tom. In 1981, the Boyds moved to Chicago, where Willard Boyd acted as the director of the Field Museum. The Boyds returned to Iowa City in 1997.

The Susan Boyd papers date from 1929 to 2012 and measure 4.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Biographical material, Activities, Short Stories, Non-Fiction Articles, Newspaper clippings, Scrapbook preservation, and Photographs. The bulk of this collection consists of Boyd's writing, both fiction and non-fiction.

Biographical material (1929-2006) includes the script and score from the musical tribute to Susan Boyd, 'It's a great day', which have been removed from their original binder for preservation. The series also contains newspaper clippings and magazine articles about Boyd, correspondence with friends and editors, and programs from Minneapolis Star and Tribune and University of Iowa functions. A magazine article featuring Boyd's father completes the series.

The Activities series (1930-2012) contains materials from various activities that Boyd participated in throughout her life. The series includes awards, a music book, an autograph book, and invitations and programs to events in Chicago including dinners for foreign dignitaries.Correspondence and photographs of Boyd's involvement in various organizations during her time in Chicago include the Field Natural History Museum, Urban Gateways and Know Your Chicago, and her role as First Lady at the University of Iowa are also included in this series.

Short Stories and Non-Fiction articles (1942-1990) consist of stories and articles written by Boyd that were published in magazines such as Mademoiselle, The Writer, and Redbook, as well as her work for school books in the early 1960s.Her correspondence with agents and publishers and programs of writers' conferences are also included.

The Newspaper clippings (1947-1961 and undated) are articles Boyd wrote while employed at the Minneapolis Star and Tribune.

The Scrapbook series (1951-1981) contains Boyd's scrapbooks documenting her Wellesley college years, including photographs, programs, and notes. In addition, it includes scrapbooks of clippings from her work as a journalist for Mademoiselle and the Minneapolis Star and Tribune. The final scrapbook documents her life in Iowa City as the wife of the University of Iowa president. In the course of the preservation work, some loose items were removed and placed in separate folders in the series. In addition, some scrapbooks of articles were photocopied onto acid-free paper for preservation.

Photographs series (1948-2003) contains photographs from Boyd's work as a writer, her life at the University of Iowa, and her activities in Chicago.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL
Series 2: ACTIVITIES
Series 3: SHORT STORIES
Series 4: NON-FICTION WRITINGS
Series 5: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 6: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL
  • Box 1:
  • Bank account book - 1929-1947
  • College - 1940-1945
  • Correspondence - 1946-2000
  • Newspaper clippings - 1947-2006
  • Score and script from 'It's a great day" - 1969
  • Biographical short stories, undated
  • "Manhattan Girl With a Job," "Mademoiselle" - 1946
  • "Revolution on Campus," "Flair" - 1950
  • "A Conversation with James Hearst," "The Iowan" - 1979
  • "The Ace of Clubs," featuring Boyd's father, "Minneapolis/St. Paul" - 1983
  • "My Odyssey," Unitarian Universalist Society of Iowa City, May 5 - 2002
  • Series 2: ACTIVITIES
  • Box 1:
  • Music lesson book - 1930-1939
  • Autograph book - 1930-1939
  • U.N. house tour materials - 1960-1963
    [articles photocopied from scrapbook]
  • Awards - 1972, 1978
  • Clippings - 1976
  • Event invitations and programs - 1937-1980
  • Box 2:
  • Event invitations and programs - 1981-1997
  • Event planning (2 folders) - 1978-1995
  • Field Museum - 1983-1996
  • Field Museum farewell party album - 1996
  • Know Your Chicago - 1991-1998
  • Know Your Chicago correspondence - 1991-1998
  • Rose Bowl materials - 1981
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches/talks - 1955-2010
  • Truman Library opening - 1997
  • UI First Lady - 1968-1993
  • UI President's Club - 1993-1994
  • Urban Gateways - 1994-1999
  • The University Club - 1957-2012
  • Series 3: SHORT STORIES
  • Box 3:
  • Programs about writing - 1951-1961
  • Correspondence with publishers and agents - 1953-1990
  • Short Story drafts and correspondence book - 1945-1946
  • Box 4:
  • Short Story drafts and correspondence book - 1969-1970
  • "One-Two-Three, Trip!" "Loch invar-West High School" - 1942
  • "'The Rosebush," "Mademoiselle" - 1946
  • "Retirement," "We of Wellesley" - 1947
  • "The Hunt," "Mademoiselle" - 1949
  • "The Searchers," "Harpers" - 1951
  • "Too Long To Wait," "Mademoiselle" - 1955
  • "The Hunt," "Literary Cavalcade" - 1956
  • "Spring Weekend," "Redbook" - 1957
  • "Spring Weekend," "Co-ed" - 1959
  • "Two Kinds of Games," "A Teaching Program in Human Behavior and Mental Health" - 1960
  • Box 5:
  • Short stories in "A Teaching Program in Human Behavior and Mental Health"
  • "The Cub's Picnic" - 1961
  • "Steve's New Books" - 1961
  • "Bashful Ronald" - 1961
  • "The Day the Bus was Late" - 1961
  • "It's time for Dinner" - 1961
  • "Going Fishing" - 1961
  • Short stories "A Teaching Program in Human Behavior and Mental Health"
  • "The Day the Bus was Late" - 1962
  • "Robert was Always Tired" - 1962
  • "Eco and the Sky Children" - 1962
  • "Rules of the Game" - 1962
  • "You Used to Say the Nicest Things," "Woman's Own" - 1963
  • "What Can We Talk About Now?" "Redbook" - 1963
  • "Insieme, Come Una Volta," "Grazia " - 1963
  • "Vad Har Vi Att Saga Varandra?" "Femina" - 1963
  • "Encounter With A Stranger," "Redbook" - 1965
  • Story for Sunday school class - 1963
  • Series 4: NON-FICTION WRITINGS
  • Box 5:
  • Book reviews, "Wellesley News" and "Mademoiselle" - 1945-1947
  • "Poliomyelitis and the Kenney Concept," hygiene class paper - 1947
  • "Who Should Tell The Story?" "The Writer" - 1953
  • "Authoress In An Apron," "The Writer" - 1959
  • "The Fortunate Failures," "The Writer" - 1966
  • "The Dorothy and Ellie Show," "The Iowan" - 1976
  • "The ABA's First Section: Assuring a Qualified Bar" - j1982, 1993
  • Series 5: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 6:
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune - 1947-1948
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune - 1949-1951
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune - 1952
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune - 1953
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune - 1954
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune - 1960-1961
  • Minneapolis Star and Tribune, undated
  • Series 6: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 7:
  • Wellesley College - 1943-1944
  • Box 8:
  • Wellesley College - 1945-1947
  • Box 9:
  • Wellesley College - 1947
  • Box 10:
  • Journalism: "Mademoiselle" articles - 1944-1945
  • Box 11:
  • Journalism: Minneapolis newspaper articles - 1947-1950
  • Box 12:
  • Journalism: Minneapolis newspaper articles - 1951
  • Box 13:
  • First Lady of the University of Iowa - 1969-1981
  • Box 14:
  • Loose items removed from scrapbook - 1943
  • Photographs removed from scrapbook - 1945-1947
  • Loose newspaper clippings from scrapbook - 1951
  • Loose newspaper clippings from scrapbook - 1969-1981
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 14:
  • Writing career - 1948-1983
  • University of Iowa - 1975-1996
  • Activities - 1991-2003

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Boyd, Susan, 1927-

Corporate Names:
Wellesley College
University of Iowa
University of Minnesota

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Women

Occupations:
Authors
College students
First ladies
Journalists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Scrapbooks