Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Louise Goldman papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1933-1997
Creator: Goldman, Louise (1924-1998)
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0307
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Public servant, feminist activist, and poet from Davenport, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in Box 3.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 421) were donated by Louise Goldman in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Louise Goldman papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Louise Hilfman Goldman, public servant, feminist activist, and poet, was born in 1924 and grew up in Davenport, Iowa. She attended the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) and was a Phi Beta Kappa scholar who graduated with a degree in journalism in 1946. She married Bernard Goldman, then a medical resident, in 1947. He later became a doctor. The couple had two daughters. Goldman's concern for community mental health services led to appointments to the first Iowa Comprehensive Health Planning Council and the State Committee on Mental Hygiene. She served on the board of the Vera French Community Mental Health Center and on the founding board of Community Health Care of Davenport.

In 1958 Goldman was diagnosed with breast cancer and had a radical mastectomy. That experience led her to become one of the first volunteers in the Reach to Recovery program. Reach to Recovery volunteers, all former mastectomy patients, visited new mastectomy patients in the hospital to offer hope and practical advice for coping with the experience.

Goldman was the first woman to chair the Davenport Civil Service Commission. She ran as a Republican candidate for the Iowa House of Representatives in 1974 (losing by just four votes), and served on the State Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights. Her involvement in the women's movement included writing for the Quad City Times about the role of women in Latin American government, leading classes for the local Women's Community Leadership Institute Project (WCLIP), and speaking, writing, and marching in support of the Equal Rights Amendment. She participated in several women's conferences, including the 1977 National Women's Year Conference in Houston, Texas.

In her later years, Goldman began to spend more time nurturing her talent for writing. She became the poet-in-residence at Davenport's Lincoln Center for the Cultural Arts, where her efforts to foster the love of reading, writing, and reciting poetry in children and adults earned her the nickname "Grandma Goldman." Her first book of poems, Six Seasons, was published in 1990. Louise Goldman died in 1998 in Davenport, Iowa.

The Louise Goldman papers date from 1933 to 1997 and measure 1.25 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Personal material, State University of Iowa, Public Service, Feminist Activism, Speeches and notes, Poetry and other writings,  Photographs, and Artifacts.

The Personal material series (1933-1997) includes an autograph book from Goldman's childhood, diaries of trips she made by car and train to visit relatives in Colorado Springs in 1933 and 1936, and a short autobiography Goldman wrote for her grandchildren. It also includes materials from services and events at Goldman's synagogue, Temple Emanuel in Davenport, Iowa. Of particular note is a videotape of a special inter-generational Shabbat service organized by Goldman.

The State University of Iowa series (1943-1996) contains materials relating to Goldman's sorority, Sigma Delta Tau, including issues of the sorority's newsletter, The Torch of Sigma Delta Tau, which Goldman edited. This series also contains the 1944-45 Code for Coeds handbook, edited by Goldman for the University Women's Association. Also included in the series are scrapbook pages and memorabilia documenting Goldman's induction into the Alpha of Iowa chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa society, and reunion materials, including a poem Goldman wrote and presented at her fiftieth reunion in 1996.

The Public Service series (1970-1997) contains correspondence and newspaper clippings that document Goldman's volunteer service to many organizations, including the Vera French Community Mental Health Center, Community Health Care, Reach to Recovery, United Way, the Davenport Civil Service Commission, and the State Advisory Committee to the U. S. Commission on Civil Rights. It also contains materials from Goldman's campaign for the Iowa House of Representatives in 1974.

The Feminist Activism series (1972-1996) consists of newspaper clippings and memorabilia from Goldman's involvement with the Women's Community Leadership Institute Program (WCLIP), her articles about women in government positions in Latin America, and materials from the women's conferences she attended. This series contains newspaper clippings about the Equal Rights Amendment, including publicity generated from a day-long pro-ERA vigil in which Goldman participated. An audiotape of a 1978 interview with Goldman in which she discusses the barriers women face in career advancement completes the series.

The Speeches and notes series (1971-1979) contains notes, drafts, and related materials from various speeches Goldman presented as the featured speaker at many local conferences and events. Her talks had titles such as "The Truth About Women's Lib," "Women: Underdeveloped Natural Resource," and "Early Detection of Breast Cancer."

The Poetry and other writings series (1956-1997) includes newspaper clippings, memorabilia and some of Goldman's poetry, including the collection Six Seasons. This series contains notes and information from writing workshops and classes Goldman attended, as well as information about a writing group, The Quint-City Poets' Society, to which she belonged. The series includes material from the Davenport Public Library's Salute to Authors, at which Goldman was a guest, as well as a copy of the Bettendorf Public Library video of Goldman reading and discussing her poetry, entitled "Louise Goldman: Iowa Poet." This series also contains a 1957 article Goldman wrote for Baby Post magazine.

The Photographs series (1970-1996) contains photographs of Goldman and of Betty Ford taken at a 1972 rally for Republican Jim Leach, and photographs of Goldman taken for newspaper articles about Reach to Recovery. It also includes a group of photographs taken at a 1995 parade which celebrated women in Iowa's state legislature.

The Artifacts series (1944 and undated) consists of pins that Goldman collected during her educational, activist, and public service activities.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL MATERIAL
Series 2: STATE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA (UNIVERSITY OF IOWA)
Series 3: PUBLIC SERVICE
Series 4: FEMINIST ACTIVISM
Series 5: SPEECHES AND NOTES
Series 6: POETRY AND OTHER WRITINGS
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 8: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL MATERIAL
  • Box 1:
  • "My Trip to Colorado" [small notebook] - 1933
  • Memory book - 1934-1935
  • Colorado trip diary [original] - 1936
  • Colorado trip diary [photocopy] - 1936
  • Newspaper clippings and memorabilia - 1947-1998
  • Resumes - 1979
  • "G. G.'s Story Part I" [autobiography] - 1991
  • Hilfman family genealogy chart - 1996
  • Correspondence - 1991-1996
  • Temple Emanuel
  • Newspaper clipping and newsletters - 1936-1997
  • V189: Shabbat, May 3 - 1996
  • Series 2: STATE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA (UNIVERSITY OF IOWA)
  • Box 1:
  • Sigma Delta Tau sorority - 1943, 1949-1950
  • "Code for Coeds" - 1944-1945
  • Phi Beta Kappa Society - 1946
  • Miscellaneous material - 1942-1996
  • Series 3: PUBLIC SERVICE
  • Box 1:
  • Mental-health organization activities - 1971-1997
  • Reach to Recovery - 1970-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Candidacies for Iowa House of Representatives/Davenport School Board - 1974
  • Civil Service Commission - 1975-1979
  • Davenport City Administrator Selection Committee - 1977
  • State Advisory Committee to the U. S. Commission on Civil Rights - 1982-1983
  • Diana Award - 1988
  • United Way Volunteer Center - 1992
  • Community Health Care - 1994-1997
  • Series 4: FEMINIST ACTIVISM
  • Box 2:
  • Women Aware Conference - 1972
  • National Women's Year Conference, Houston, Texas - 1977
  • "Women in Government in Latin America" articles - 1977
  • Women's Community Leadership Project (WCLIP) - 1978-1979
  • Equal Rights Amendment: newspaper clippings and other materials - 1978-1982
  • Equal Rights Amendment: Prayer book, undated
  • Equal Rights Amendment: Television coverage [V190]
  • "Celebration of Woman," programs - 1995, 1996
  • Radio interview on "Telephone Line" WQUA radio with Bryan McGannon, "Is There Room at the Top?" [AC472]
  • Miscellaneous material - 1977-1996
  • Series 5: SPEECHES AND NOTES
  • Box 2:
  • Black Hawk County Mental Health Center - 1971
  • International Health Evaluation Association - 1972
  • Mid-Eastern Iowa Community Mental Health Center - 1972
  • Davenport Public Library - 1976
  • Iowa Medical Auxiliary - 1977
  • Chamber Women's Bureau - 1978
  • Gateway YWCA of Clinton, Iowa: Women's Recognition - 1978
  • Women in Politics, Centrum, Inc. - 1978
  • Davenport-Rock Island Singletons - 1978
  • Davenport High Twelve - 1978
  • Box 3:
  • Davenport Community Schools - 1978
  • Palmer Junior College - 1978-1979
  • National Hadassah - 1978
  • Davenport Retired Teachers Association - 1979
  • Series 6: POETRY AND OTHER WRITINGS
  • Box 3:
  • Miscellaneous poems - 1956-1997
  • "Help Your Baby Learn to Dress," Baby Post - 1957
  • Workshops and classes - 1982-1994
  • Lincoln Center for Cultural Arts newsletters - 1984-1996
  • "Six Seasons" (Friends of the Lincoln Center Foundation) - 1990
  • Newspaper clippings - 1990-1996
  • Quint-City Poets Society - 1991, 1996
  • Quad Cities Senior Olympics Silver Arts magazines - 1991-1992
  • "Louise Goldman: Iowa Poet," Bettendorf Public Library [V191] - 1993
  • Letters to the editor - 1994
  • Davenport Library Salute to Authors - 1994-1996
  • "Mother Goose's Nursery Rhymes: Celebrating Iowa's 150 Years" - 1996
  • "I'm a Girl!" workshop - 1997
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1970-1996
  • Series 8: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 3:
  • Lincoln Center for the Cultural Arts pin; Pro-Choice (abortion rights) pins
  • Public Service Volunteer pin; State University of Iowa Homecoming pin - 1944