Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the ERA Iowa 1992 records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1980-1993
Creator: ERA Iowa 1992
Extent: 7.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0305
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Grassroots campaign initiated in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1991 to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa constitution in the 1992 election.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in boxes 3-4
1 audiocassette [AC475]

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records were donated by Betty Durden (donor no. 419) in 1997 and Loren Shultz (donor no. 891) in 2002.

Preferred Citation: ERA Iowa 1992 records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

ERA Iowa 1992 was a grassroots campaign initiated in 1991 in Des Moines, Iowa, to promote the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment to the Iowa constitution in the November 1992 election. The campaign staff's primary goal was to provide the citizens of Iowa with information to help them make an informed decision on election day. ERA Iowa 1992 attempted to achieve this goal through promotional meetings; rallies; television and radio advertisements; and the distribution of flyers, newsletters, and action kits. In September 1991, a fifteen-member steering committee was elected to direct this effort. The committee met monthly to plan campaign strategies, and to discuss finances and programs that might contribute to the amendment's passing. In addition to the steering committee, ERA Iowa was staffed by a group of volunteers from throughout the state. ERA Iowa 1992 disbanded after the November election when the amendment was defeated by a margin of 52 to 48 percent.

The ERA Iowa 1992 records date from 1980 to 1993 and measure 7.5 linear inches.  The records are arranged in six series: Administrative material, Media coverage, Ecumenical correspondence, Research files, ERA national campaign, and Artifacts.  The bulk of the ERA Iowa 1992 collection documents the Equal Rights Amendment campaign in Iowa from 1991 to 1992; however, there are related materials dating from 1980 to 1986.

The Administrative material series (1991-1993) contains membership lists, bylaws, articles of incorporation, and meeting minutes of committees and coalitions created for the ERA Iowa 1992 campaign. The series also includes a letter written by the Iowa director of elections that discusses the wording of the new amendment to be used on the ballot, a teaching packet used to educate local residents at a volunteer-based "campaign school,"and material pertaining to financial procedures in the organization.

The Media coverage series (1980-1993, scattered) includes promotional literature such as flyers and newsletters, speeches delivered at various ERA programs, television and radio advertisement scripts, and letters of endorsement from influential community members. The bulk of this series consists of clippings of newspaper editorials for and against the ERA and news articles that describe events that took place during the campaign.

The Ecumenical correspondence series (1992) includes letters written by members of the Ecumenical Ministries of Iowa stating their support of the amendment as well as a letter written by a Des Moines community member to the Catholic bishops of Iowa describing his feelings about their political stance. The Research files series (1992) contains data from surveys and studies conducted within the state about the ERA. The ERA national campaign series (1972-1992, scattered) consists of informational packets, articles, and case studies, conducted both locally and nationally on the ERA.
Ames NOW

Iowa NOW

Iowa Women Against the ERA

Johnson County ERA Coalition

Johnson County-Iowa City NOW

League of Women Voters of Johnson County

NOW Des Moines

NOW Dubuque

ERA IOWA 1998 Unprocessed records of the 1998 ERA campaign.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIAL
Series 2: MEDIA COVERAGE
Series 3: ECUMENICAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: RESEARCH FILES
Series 5: ERA NATIONAL CAMPAIGN
Series 6: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIAL
  • Box 1:
  • Steering committee information - 1991-1992
  • Coalitions - 1992-1993
  • Financial disclosure material - 1992
  • Fundraising information: Correspondence and related materials - 1992
  • Fundraising information: Donations - 1992
  • Ballot-language material - 1992
  • Campaign-school literature - 1992
  • Informational packet - 1992
  • Series 2: MEDIA COVERAGE
  • Box 1:
  • Audiocassette: E.R.A. Iowa: Bob Ray [AC475] - 1992
  • Pro-ERA literature - 1992
  • Anti-ERA literature - 1980-1992
  • Television and radio advertisement scripts - 1992
  • Programs - 1992
  • Newspaper clippings: News articles (2 folders) - 1991-1993
  • Newspaper clippings: Editorials (2 folders) - 1990-1993
  • Box 2:
  • Community endorsements and member list - 1992
  • Speeches - 1992
  • Series 3: ECUMENICAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • Ecumenical Ministries of Iowa - 1992
  • Catholic dioceses - 1992
  • Series 4: RESEARCH FILES
  • Box 2:
  • Statewide survey data - 1992
  • American Association of University Women (AAUW) Action Kit - 1992
  • Series 5: ERA NATIONAL CAMPAIGN
  • Box 2:
  • ERA National Campaign - 1972-1992
  • Series 6: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 3:
  • ERA promotional pins
  • Box 4:
  • ERA banner