Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Leah A. Jones papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1983-1997
Creator: Jones, Leah A. (1965-)
Extent: 7.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0304
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Chicago native and graduate of the University of Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in folders 1 and 2.

Arrangement: Two folders:  folder 1 shelved in SCVF;  folder 2 shelved in map case.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 418) were donated by Leah A. Jones in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Leah A. Jones papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Leah Wilson was born January 26, 1965 in Chicago, Illinois. She moved to Iowa City, Iowa, in 1983 to attend the University of Iowa and to escape the fear of violence that plagued her as a young African-American woman in Chicago. Wilson began her academic career as a business major but later changed her emphasis to social work. Wilson graduated with a B.A. in sociology in 1987 and received her Master's degree in Social Work from the University of Texas-Austin in 1992. She was active in her church choir and Voices of Soul, a University of Iowa-affiliated choral group, which promotes African-American musical culture, and was a member of the Black Student Association. She also served as a counselor for the University of Iowa's Upward Bound program. Wilson married Leroy Jones in 1988, one month after she graduated from college, and is employed as clinical social worker in Texas.

The Leah A. Jones papers date from 1983 to 1997 and consist of 7 items. The collection includes three sheets of laser-copied photographs which document the period when Jones lived in Iowa and attended the University of Iowa, her reminiscences of her experiences at the University of Iowa, a letter Jones wrote to her sister in 1985, a paper that she wrote for her Long-term Care Administration class in 1987, and a newspaper clipping from 1987.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Jones, Leah A., 1965-

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa

Dates:
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
African American women
Social service

Occupations:
College students

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs

Browse:
African American Women in Iowa