Guide to the Anita Lowry papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1982-1996
Creator: Lowry, Anita (1950-1996)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0300
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa Librarian who was the first head of the Information Arcade at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1992-1996.

Administrative Information

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 410) were donated by Dwight VanHorn in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Anita Lowry papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Anita K. Lowry was born on February 26, 1950 in Logansport, Indiana to Dr. Charles Haven and Norma Lee McClintock Lowry. She graduated from high school in Logansport, and later graduated with a B.A. in comparative literature from Indiana University. She continued her studies and received an M.S. in library service from Columbia University, and also an M.A. in cinema studies from New York University. Anita Lowry married W. Dwight Van Horn III in June 1980 in Mount Kisco, New York. Lowry also was employed at Columbia University for twenty years, where she was the Deputy Head of the Butler Reference Department and co-founder and director of the Library's Electronic Text Service. In 1993 Lowry was hired by the University of Iowa Libraries to head the newly established Information Arcade at the Main Library. There she actively continued her long-standing interest in electronic resources for research and teaching. Lowry died in July 1996 following heart surgery.


Content Description

The Anita Lowry papers date from 1982 to 1996 and measure 5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Information Arcade, University of Iowa Libraries and Scholarly Writings.
 
The Information Arcade series (1987-1995) includes papers regarding the University of Iowa's Information Arcade, a ". . . library facility designed to support the use of electronic resources in teaching, learning and research." ("The Information Arcade: A Library and Electronic Learning Facility for 2000 and Beyond").
 
The Scholarly Writings series (1982-1995) includes articles written, co-written, or compiled by Lowry during her professional career. Both series are arranged alphabetically by folder title.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Lowry, Anita

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Libraries, Information Arcade

Dates:
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
Public services (Libraries)
Computer-assisted instruction
Women in library science
Information technology
Electronic information resources

Occupations:
Librarians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers