Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Anita Lowry papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1982-1996
Creator: Lowry, Anita (1950-1996)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0300
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa Librarian who was the first head of the Information Arcade at the University of Iowa Libraries, 1992-1996.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 410) were donated by Dwight VanHorn in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Anita Lowry papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Anita K. Lowry was born on February 26, 1950 in Logansport, Indiana to Dr. Charles Haven and Norma Lee McClintock Lowry. She graduated from high school in Logansport, and later graduated with a B.A. in comparative literature from Indiana University. She continued her studies and received an M.S. in library service from Columbia University, and also an M.A. in cinema studies from New York University. Anita Lowry married W. Dwight Van Horn III in June 1980 in Mount Kisco, New York. Lowry also was employed at Columbia University for twenty years, where she was the Deputy Head of the Butler Reference Department and co-founder and director of the Library's Electronic Text Service. In 1993 Lowry was hired by the University of Iowa Libraries to head the newly established Information Arcade at the Main Library. There she actively continued her long-standing interest in electronic resources for research and teaching. Lowry died in July 1996 following heart surgery.

The Anita Lowry papers date from 1982 to 1996 and measure 5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in two series: Information Arcade, University of Iowa Libraries and Scholarly Writings.
 
The Information Arcade series (1987-1995) includes papers regarding the University of Iowa's Information Arcade, a ". . . library facility designed to support the use of electronic resources in teaching, learning and research." ("The Information Arcade: A Library and Electronic Learning Facility for 2000 and Beyond").
 
The Scholarly Writings series (1982-1995) includes articles written, co-written, or compiled by Lowry during her professional career. Both series are arranged alphabetically by folder title.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: INFORMATION ARCADE, UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES
Series 2: SCHOLARLY WRITINGS

  • Series 1: INFORMATION ARCADE, UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1993-1995
  • Academic Libraries as High-tech Gateways : A Guide to Design and Space Decisions - 1995
  • ALA/Meckler Library of the Future Award - 1994
  • "Building Partnerships: Computing and Library Professionals" Proceedings of Library Solutions Institute Number 3 - 1994
  • "The Information Arcade at the University of Iowa," Cause/Effect - 1994
  • Information Arcade Bulletin - 1993-1996
  • "The Information Arcade: A Library and Electronic Learning Facility for 2000 and Beyond," Managing Information Technology as a Catalyst of Change, Proceedings of the CAUSE Annual Conference - 1993
  • Information Arcade mission statement - 1993
  • Scholarly Information Center Journal - 1987
  • The University of Iowa Libraries Newsletter - 1993-1995
  • Series 2: SCHOLARLY WRITINGS
  • Box 1:
  • "Beyond BI: Information Literacy in the Electronic Age"
  • Research Strategies - 1990
  • "Bibliographic Databases: Online and CD-ROM," The Humanities Computing Yearbook - 1989-1990, 1991
  • "CD-ROM in Academic Libraries," Online Kensaku - 1989
  • "The CD-ROM 'Revolution' at Columbia: Year One," The Serials Partnership: Teamwork, Technology and Trends, Proceedings of the North American Serials Interest Group, Inc. (NASIG) 4th Annual Conference - 1989
  • "Computer Files and the Research Library" - 1990
  • "Electronic Texts in English and American Literature," Library Trends - 1992
  • "Electronic Texts and Multimedia in the Academic Library: A View from the Front Line," Literary Texts in an Electronic Age - 1994
  • Humanities Computing at Columbia - 1991
  • Information Technology and Libraries - 1994
  • "Landlords and Tenants: Who owns Information, Who Pays for It, and How?" - 1993
  • Scholarship in the Electronic Age - 1987
  • "Searching the Humanities Online: An Analysis of the Francis Database," Databases in the Humanities and Social Sciences - 1985
  • Technicalities - 1982