Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Susan J. Norman papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1972-1984
Creator: Norman, Susan J. (19xx-)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0299
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City activist.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The Susan J. Norman papers (donor no. 409) were donated by Susan J. Norman in 1997.

Preferred Citation: Susan J. Norman papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Susan J. Norman was an Iowa City activist through the 1970s. She participated in consciousness-raising groups at the Emma Goldman Clinic and served on the board of Grace and Rubies. Grace and Rubies opened in 1976 and was aprivately owned incorporated business, which operated as a women-only restaurant and meeting space for two years. Norman was also involved in various pro-choice activities, including organizing a pro-choice rally in Iowa City in 1978. After leaving Iowa City, Susan Norman continued in her activist pursuits, organizing Women for Women at Bowling Green State University (BGSU) in Bowling Green, Ohio. Drawing on her experience with Iowa City's Rape Victim Advocacy Program (RVAP), Norman worked to develop Women for Women at BGSU from 1979-1984. Susan Norman returned to Iowa,and worked in social services before beginning a career as a realtor in 1993 inCedar Rapids, Iowa.

The Susan J. Norman papers date from 1972to 1984 and measure 2.5 linearinches. The papers arearranged in two series: Biographical and Political and Social Activism.

The Biographical series contains a photograph of Susan Norman from the Iowa City Press-Citizen, a rough biographical sketch, and an employment form from General Telephone Company of Ohio,where Susan Norman was an employee.

The Political and Social Activism series contains information and papers from Susan Norman's work with Women for Women in Bowling Green, Ohio, and the Women's Poetry Reading. Also included are the meeting minutes from Grace and Rubies restaurant from 1975 and a collection of "Fat Liberation" illustrations, poetry, essays, and fliers collected by Norman during a visit to California in 1977.
Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC) records (IWA)
Ain't I A Woman? records (IWA)
Emma Goldman Clinic records (IWA)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: POLITICAL AND SOCIAL ACTIVISM

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Miscellaneous - 1979
  • Series 2: POLITICAL AND SOCIAL ACTIVISM
  • Box 1:
  • "A Womens Poetry Reading" - 1972
  • Grace and Rubies minutes - 1975
  • Fat liberation - 1977
  • Women for Women [Rape victim advocacy] - 1979-1984