Guide to the Cynthia Hickok portfolio

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1996
Creator: Hickok, Cynthia (1936-)
Extent: 11.00 pages.
Collection Number: IWA0294
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Textile artist, teacher, and volunteer from Sac City, Iowa.

Administrative Information

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The portfolio(donor no. 401) was donated by Cynthia Hickokin 1997.

Preferred Citation: Cynthia Hickok portfolio, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Cynthia Hickok, textile artist, teacher, and community volunteer, was born December 11, 1936 in Sac City, Iowa. Hickok attended Iowa State University, graduating with a B.S. in applied art. Hickok was also educated through an apprenticeship with the Denwar Studios in Costa Mesa, California. Her preferred medium is embroidery, in which she has done many international exhibitions, including a five year residency in London. Hickok conducts workshops in the United States and Europe and spends several weeks each year volunteering her time and talents to her church and community in Houston, Texas.


Content Description

The portfolio's contents date from 1977 to 1996 and consist of a statement by Hickok concerning her career along with a list of exhibitions, awards, and books and periodicals which feature her work. Also included in the portfolio are the articles written by Hickok and published in international periodicals that include several examples of her work.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Hickok, Cynthia, 1936-

Dates:
1990-1999
1970-1979
1980-1989

Topics:
Embroidery
Artists and community
Women in education
Art

Occupations:
Teachers
Textile artists
Volunteers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Sac City
United States -- California -- Costa Mesa
United States -- Texas -- Houston

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers