Guide to the Henrietta Ruff papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1985-1996
Creator: Ruff, Henrietta
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0289
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Amana, Iowa, school teacher.

Administrative Information

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 396) were donated by Henrietta Ruff in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Henrietta Ruff papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Henrietta Ruff was a teacher in the Amana, Iowa, schools for thirty-five years beginning in 1940. She taught many subjects over the years including German, world history, and bookkeeping, though she was primarily a high school English teacher. Ruff received her bachelor's degree from Coe College. In the 1960s Ruff earned her certification as an elementary and secondary school librarian from the University of Iowa. During the 1970s, she was the school librarian for the Amana schools.

Ruff also published a book, Seasons to Remember: Recollections of an Amana Childhood, in 1996.


Content Description

The Henrietta Ruff papers date from 1985 to 1996 and consist of 3 items. Included are two articles Ruff wrote and a photograph of Ruff from 1994. The article entitled, "I Remember, I Remember," Ruff wrote for the Fiftieth Anniversary Book of Amana which was published in 1985. In it, she writes about her experiences teaching in the Amana schools. The other article is entitled, "Remembering 35 Years of Teaching." Ruff wrote this for the Winter 1996 issue of Willkommen, the Amana visitor's guide.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Ruff, Henrietta

Dates:
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
Women in education

Occupations:
Teachers
School librarians

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Amana

Genre/Form of Materials:
Memoirs
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs

Browse:
Teachers and Teaching
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories