Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ruth Moe Christ papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1961
Creator: Christ, Ruth Moe (1943- )
Extent: 8.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0283
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: 4-H participant from Winnebago, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 386) were donated by Ruth Moe Christ in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Ruth Christ More papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Ruth Elaine Moe Christ was born September 26, 1943. She grew up on her parents' farm in Winnebago County, Iowa. Christ was involved in three 4-H clubs, Center Cinderellas, Center Champions, and Norway Nightingales. She won many ribbons at the county and state fairs, and represented her county at the state 4-H convention. Her 4-H activities culminated with Christ winning an Outstanding 4-H Girl plaque and a trip to Chicago in 1961.

The Ruth Moe Christ papers date from 1946 to 1961 and measure 8.5 linear inches. The papers are arranged alphabetically under five main headings: Awards, Extension service booklets, Projects, Long term record books, and Newspaper clippings. The collection documents Christ's eight years of 4-H activities from 1953 to 1961 and includes photographs of projects and 4-H club associates scattered throughout the Long term record book series. Her projects included studying electricity, land conservation, and showing livestock as well as more traditional female projects such as sewing, cooking and interior decorating.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Personal

  • Series 1: Personal
  • Sub-Series: Awards
  • Box 1:
  • Achievement and project pins, undated
  • Outstanding Girl - 1961 plaque, 1961
  • Ribbon - 1952-1961
    [artifacts: shelved in box3]
  • Sub-Series: Extension service booklets and pamphlets
  • Box 1:
  • Clothing - 1959-1960
  • Food and nutrition - 1946-1956
  • Food and nutrition - 1960-1961
  • Home furnishing - 1960
  • Sub-Series: Projects
  • Box 1:
  • Better groomed girl - 1960
  • Conservation - 1960]
  • Electrification activities - 1952-1956 and undated
  • Home economics decorative color schemes - undated
  • Sub-Series: Long term record books
  • Box 1:
  • 4-H girls' individual rating sheets, - 1954-1959
  • Activities poster materials - 1960-1961
  • Club records - 1955-1956
  • Member's activities records - 1953/1954-1958/1959
  • Box 2:
  • Member's activities records - 1961
  • Member's activities records - 1961
    (con.)
  • Member's activities records - 1961
    (con.)
  • Member's activities records - 1961
    (con.)
  • Sub-Series: Newspaper clippings
  • Box 2:
  • - 1960-1961 and undated
  • Sub-Series: Artifacts
  • Box 3:
  • Miscellaneous
  • Ribbons - 1952-1961

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Christ, Ruth Moe, 1943-

Dates:
1940-1949
1950-1959
1960-1969

Topics:
4-H clubs
Home economics
Livestock
Rural girls
Girls
Farm life

Occupations:
School children

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Winnebago County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women