Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dorothy Carpenter papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1979-1995
Creator: Carpenter, Dorothy (1933- )
Extent: 2.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0278
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Republican who served in Iowa House of Representatives from 1980 to 1994.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 381) were donated by Dorothy Carpenter in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Dorothy Carpenter papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Dorothy F. Carpenter, a legislator and community volunteer, was born in 1933 in Ismay, Montana, to Daniel and Mary Ann George Fulton. She graduated from Custer County High School in Miles City, Montana, in 1951 and attended Grinnell College in Grinnell, Iowa, receiving a B.A. in 1955. She married Thomas Ward Carpenter that year; they had two children, Mary and James.

Carpenter taught elementary school in Texas from 1955 to 1957 and in Iowa in 1958. She was active in the Episcopal Church, the League of Women Voters of Metro Des Moines, and Planned Parenthood of Iowa; from 1977 to 1980 she served on the board of directors of Planned Parenthood Federation of America.

Carpenter, a Republican, was elected to the Iowa General Assembly in 1980. During her fourteen years in the Iowa House of Representatives, Carpenter served on several committees, including Ways and Means, Education, State Government, and House Administration and Rule. She was the Assistant Minority Floor Leader from 1980 to 1988. Carpenter retired from the General Assembly in 1994.

The Dorothy Carpenter papers date from 1979 to 1995 and measure 2.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in two series: Correspondence and Legislation. A curriculum vita is filed in the first folder.

The Correspondence series (1985-1992) contains letters from constituents, as well as Carpenter's replies, on issues of taxation, abortion and other topics. The series also includes one file of correspondence between Carpenter and Iowa's delegates to the United States Congress.

The Legislation series (1979-1995) contains four categories abortion, education, ethics, and state employee pensions.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 3: LEGISLATION

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Curriculum vita - 1996
  • Series 2: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Seventy-first General Assembly: A-N (8 folders) - 1985-1986
  • Box 2:
  • Seventy-first General Assembly: O-Z (5 folders) - 1985-1986
  • Seventy-third General Assembly: A-K (3 folders) - 1988
  • Box 3:
  • Seventy-third General Assembly: L-Y (3 folders) - 1988
  • Seventy-fifth General Assembly: A-Z (4 folders) - 1990
  • Seventy-seventh General Assembly: A-J (2 folders) - 1992
  • Box 4:
  • Seventy-seventh General Assembly: K-Z (4 folders) - 1992
  • United States Congressmen and Senators [Iowa delegation] - 1981-1991
  • Series 3: LEGISLATION
  • Sub-Series: Abortion
  • Box 4:
  • General - 1989-1990
  • Bills - 1990-1993
  • "'Facts On Reproductive Rights: A Source Manual" - 1990
  • Parental consent summaries - 1990-1993
  • Parental notification - 1990-1994
  • Episcopal Church's position on abortion - 1989-1990
  • Right to life - 1989-1990
  • Statistical reporting - 1981-1989
  • Box 5:
  • Pro-choice Iowa Republicans political action committee - 1991-1992
  • University of Iowa Early Termination of Pregnancy Clinic state funding - 1979-1981
  • Vote counts - 1989-1994
  • Sub-Series: Education
  • Box 5:
  • Collective bargaining - 1983-1985
  • Des Moines Independent Community School District - 1984-1989
  • Finance - 1980-1986
  • Home schooling - 1985-1989
  • Merged area schools - 1986
  • Merit pay for teachers - 1983-1984
  • Reorganization of school districts - 1982
  • School aid formula - 1994
  • Shared programs - 1984-1985
  • Special education - 1981-1986
  • Urban education network - 1985-1990
  • Sub-Series: Ethics
  • Box 5:
  • Advisory opinions - 1987-1994
  • Bills: Background information - 1986-1993
  • Box 6:
  • Bills: Rewrite ideas - 1992
  • Iowa's ethics laws - 1992-1995
  • "Ethics, Quality and Organizational Change" presentation by Michael Josephson - 1994
  • Iowa General Assembly policies - 1993-1994
  • Sub-Series: Pensions
  • Box 6:
  • General information - 1994
  • Bills - 1992-1993
  • Currently retired dividends - 1993
  • Iowa Public Employee Retirement System (IPERS): Basic - 1991-1992
  • (IPERS): Enhanced - 1991
  • (IPERS): Legal discussion - 1993
  • (IPERS): Regular protection occupations - 1994
  • (IPERS): Sheriffs and deputies - 1993-1994
  • Judicial retirement system - 1988-1993
  • The Municipal Fire and Police Retirement System - 1994
  • Pension [sub]committee - 1991
  • Pre-tax provision - 1991-1994
  • Police Officers Retirement System (PORS) - 1991-1994
  • Teacher's Insurance Annuity Association-College Retirement Equity Fund (TIAA-CREF)
  • Sub-Series: State Government Committee - 1993-1994
  • Box 6:
  • General