Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Grace Morris Allen Jones papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1927-1975
Creator: Jones, Grace Morris Allen (1876-1928)
Extent: 6.00 items.
Collection Number: IWA0277
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Burlington, Iowa born educator and wife of Dr. Laurence C. Jones, founder of Piney Woods Country Life School in Piney Woods, Mississippi.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Originals of these papers are housed at the Piney Woods Country Life School. To quote from these materials, please request permission from Angela Stewart, Piney Woods Country Life School Archives, P.O. Box 92, Piney Woods, Mississippi 39148.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 380) were donated by the Piney Woods Country Life School in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Grace Morris Allen Jones papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Grace Morris Allen Jones, educator, was born in Keokuk, Iowa on January 7, 1876 and grew up in Burlington, Iowa. In 1902, she established the Grace M. Allen Industrial School in Burlington for African-American students. The school was so successful that white students began to attend. Allen employed both African-American and white teachers. She closed the school in 1906.

In 1912, she married Dr. Laurence Jones, a University of Iowa graduate who founded the Piney Woods Country Life School in Piney Woods, Mississippi. Grace Jones was proficient at fundraising for the Piney Woods School and also taught laundry, sewing, domestic science, weaving and textiles, and basketry courses there. Jones was a member of the Mississippi State Federation of Colored Women's Clubs. As part of her club work, she taught the women of the area about child rearing and nutrition.

Jones was deeply involved in women's issues and was particularly concerned about the welfare of children. She led an effort to establish a training school for African-American children, which resulted in the founding of a school by the Mississippi State Federated Colored Women's Clubs in 1928. That institution, based in Learned, Mississippi, eventually was purchased by the State of Mississippi and renamed Oakley School. Jones was also concerned about health care and sanitation issues, particularly the number of tuberculosis cases among blacks in the same state. In 1923, she organized a state conference on health and welfare.

She died from the after-effects of pneumonia in 1928.

The Grace Morris Allen Jones papers date from 1927 to 1975 and contain 6 photocopied items. The papers include a photocopied section from Who's Who in Colored America (1927), three newspaper clippings about Jones, an article that Jones wrote for The Palimpsest , and a dedication address Jones presented at the Piney Woods Country Life School.
Additional information on Grace Morris Allen Jones is housed at the Piney Woods Country Life School Archives, Piney Woods, MS 39148. Phone: (601) 845-2114.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.