Guide to the Germaine Mayer Blake papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1948-1997
Creator: Blake, Germaine Mayer
Extent: 1.70 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0271
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Elementary school teacher who taught for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation High School in Stacyville, Iowa.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 audiocassette [AC531]
1 record album [RA1]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 375) were donated by Germaine Mayer Blake in 1996 and 1997.

Preferred Citation: Germaine Mayer Blake papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Germaine Mayer Blake was an elementary school teacher for over forty years. She worked for thirty-three years at the Catholic Visitation School in Stacyville, Iowa.


Content Description

The Germaine Mayer Blake papers date from 19481948 to 1997 and measure 1.7 linear feet. The papers are arranged in two series: Teaching materials and professional materials.

The Teaching materials series (1948-1997 and undated) contains lesson plans, learning activities, and educational materials for elementary school students. Also contained in this series is a collection of papers Blake wrote for children's education courses she took at the University of Northern Iowa during the late 1960s and early 1970s. These papers include the following: "Learning Styles of Children," "Problems of Reading 'Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development,''' "Providing for the Gifted Child," "The Art of Teaching," "Behavior Modification, Pavlovian Theory, Skinnerian Theory, Gestalt Theory," "Systematic Instruction of Learner Centered Programmed Paradigm," "Teaching Bright and Gifted Children," and "Life in the Netherlands: Education of the Slow Learner."

The Professional materials series (1953-1997, and undated) contains teaching contracts, classroom journals, teaching evaluations, faculty meeting notes, and materials from a variety of educational organizations, such as the Literary Leaders Reading Council.

Related Materials

Debra Blake papers, Iowa Women's Archives

Debra Blake is the daughter of Germaine Blake.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Blake, Germaine Mayer

Corporate Names:
Catholic Visitation School

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women in education

Occupations:
Elementary school teachers
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Staceyville

Genre/Form of Materials:
Personal papers
Archives

Browse:
Teachers and Teaching